فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / المملكة العربية السعودية

المملكة العربية السعودية

Saudi arabia
الرياض. Photo: FAISAL AL-NASSER / AFP)

السعودية (والاسم الرسمي المملكة العربية السعودية) مملكةٌ ذات كثافة سكانية منخفضة في منطقة الشرق الأوسط. وتمتد رقعة السعودية لتشمل معظم الأراضي الشمالية والوسطى من شبه الجزيرة العربية، وهي دولةٌ شابة وتحظى بتاريخ غني ومساحتها 2,149,690 كيلو متر مربع. يحدها من الشمال الأردن والعراق والكويت، ومن الشرق الخليج العربي/الفارسي وقطر والإمارات وعمان، ومن الجنوب الشرقي قسمٌ من عمان؛ ومن الجنوب والجنوب الغربي اليمن. أما من الغرب فيحدها البحر الأحمر وخليج العقبة.

وتقع الحجاز في المرتفعات الغربية الممتدة على طول البحر الأحمر، وهي المنطقة التي ولد فيها الإسلام وفيها أقدس المدن الإسلامية مكة والمدينة. وفي العمق الجغرافي للمملكة، تتواجد منطقة نجد، وهي منطقةٌ قاحلة شاسعة سكنتها القبائل البدوية حتى وقت قريب.

أما إلى الشرق، على طول الخليج العربي/الفارسي، تقع حقول النفط الوفيرة في البلاد التي جعلت السعودية مرادفاً للثروة البترولية منذ عام 1960م. هذه العناصر الثلاثة – الدين والقبلية والثروة التي لا تنضب – غذت تاريخ البلاد اللاحق.

الرياض، هي العاصمة، وسميت بهذا الاسم بسبب الخصوبة الطبيعية التي يوفرها موقعها عند التقاء واديي حنيفة والبطحاء. وتسلب أضواء المدينة الساحرة الألباب عندما تشاهد من الطائرة.

مع صعود عائلة آل سعود -مجموعة نجدية تم تسمية البلاد باسمها- وتوطيد سلطتها على البلاد أوائل القرن العشرين، بدأت السعودية في التعرف على خصائص الدولة الحديثة، وتسارعت وتيرة الحياة بسرعة.

المملكة العربية السعودية. Photo: Fanack

ولطالما وفّر تدفق الحجاج المستمر إلى مكة والمدينة إمكانية التواصل مع العالم الخارجي. وأثارت الثروة النفطية الهائلة استثمارات ضخمة وسريعة في البنية التحتية للمملكة. وانعكس ذلك على حياة المواطنين. واتسع التفاعل مع العالم الخارجي نتيجة الابتكارات في النقل والتكنولوجيا والتنظيم. وأحدثت الثروة النفطية المتزايدة في المملكة أيضاً تغييرات جذرية من الناحية التعليمية، والاجتماعية، والاقتصادية. وفُرضت أساليب الإنتاج الحديثة على المجتمع التقليدي مع إدخال ملايين العمال الأجانب وتوظيف مئات الآلاف من السعوديين في وظائف غير تقليدية.

يقدر عدد السكان بنحو 34.17مليون نسمة وفقاً لتقديرات عام 2020م. ويشكل (الوافدون) غير السعوديين 38.3% من مجموع السكان؛ بحسب تقديرات عام 2019م.

اللغة العربية هي اللغة الرسمية للبلاد. والديانة الإسلامية هي الديانة الوحيدة للمواطنين (85-90% سنة و10-15% شيعة). وإلى جانب المسلمين الوافدين يوجد آخرون (يشملون الأرثوذكس الشرقيين، والبروتستانت، والروم الكاثوليك، واليهود، والهندوس، والبوذيين، والسيخ).

وعلى الرغم من وجود عدد كبير من الوافدين والمغتربين من مختلف الديانات (أكثر من 30% من السكان)، فإن معظم أشكال التعبير الديني العام التي تختلف مع التفسير الحكومي للإسلام السني مقيدة؛ حيث لا يُسمح لغير المسلمين بالحصول على الجنسية السعودية، ولا يُسمح بأماكن للعبادة لغير المسلمين.

العملة المحلية الريال السعودي. والموارد الطبيعية هي البترول والغاز الطبيعي وخام الحديد والذهب والنحاس.

من الناحية العسكرية، حلت السعودية في المرتبة ١٧ من ١٣٨ بين الدول التي شملها تقرير  Global Firepower لعام ٢٠٢٠.

البيئة الإعلامية السعودية تعتبر واحدة من الأكثر قمعاً في العالم. وتحتل المملكة المرتبة ١٧٠ من أصل 180 بلداً في الترتيب العالمي لمؤشر حرية الصحافة الصادر عن منظمة مراسلون بلا حدود لعام ٢٠٢٠.

لا يضمن الإطار القانوني في المملكة العربية السعودية حرية التعبير، وخلال الربع الأخير من القرن العشرين، تمسكت المملكة العربية السعودية بإخضاع وسائل إعلامها المحلية لسلطتها. فقد جرّم المرسوم الملكي حول الصحافة والمطبوعات لعام 1982م انتقاد الصحافة للأسرة المالكة أو السُلطات الدينية. ولا يزال النظام الأساسي لعام 1992م يُجرم نشر أية معلومات مضرة بالوحدة الوطنية، أو يمكنها الإضرار بالأمن القومي أو تسبب الشقاق فضلاً عن التشهير. وتم تعزيز سطوة هذه التشريعات عبر فرض قانون عام 2014 المتعلق بجرائم وتمويل الإرهاب.

من الوجوه البارزة في السعودية المحامية بيان محمود زهران، والأمير الملياردير الوليد بن طلال، والناشطة في مجال حقوق المرأة إيمان النفجان.

من الرياضة التقليدية في المملكة العربية السعودية سباق الهجن. وكانت هذه الرياضة ولا تزال تحظى بشعبية كبيرة في البلاد، حيث يرتبط تاريخ السعوديين ارتباطاً وثيقاً بإبلهم.

وتعتبر كرة القدم الرياضة الوطنية الأكثر شعبية في السعودية. ويقوم الاتحاد السعودي بإدارة المنتخب السعودي لكرة القدم، فضلاً عن تنظيمه للدوريات السعودية وكأس المملكة.

شارك المنتخب السعودي لكرة القدم خمس مرات في كأس العالم لكرة القدم (1994، 1998، 2002، 2006، 2018). كما شارك الأخضر السعودي في بطولة أمم آسيا ١٠ مرات، وفاز بكأس البطولة 3 مرات أعوام 1984 و1988 و1996. وحلّ الأخضر وصيفاً لبطل كأس آسيا أعوام 1992 و2002 و2006.

المملكة تتواجد فيها ثلاث مناطق مناخية: الأولى صحراء تنتشر في كل مكان تقريباً، والثانية سهوب تمتد على طول المرتفعات الغربية، والثالثة منطقة صغيرة رطبة وذات درجات حرارة معتدلة وصيفها طويل، وهي تتواجد في المرتفعات المتاخمة لشمال اليمن.

تهيمن على شبه الجزيرة العربية هضبة ترتفع فجأة من البحر الأحمر وتنخفض برفق نحو الخليج العربي/ الفارسي. في الشمال، ترتفع المرتفعات الغربية لأعلى بمقدار 5000 قدم (1500 متر) فوق مستوى سطح البحر، وتنخفض قليلاً إلى 4000 قدم (1200 متر) في محيط المدينة المنورة. يعتبر جبل السودة، الذي يقع بالقرب من أبها في الجنوب، أعلى نقطة في البلاد. وتتراوح تقديرات ارتفاعه من 10,279 إلى 10,522 قدم (3,133 إلى 3,207 متر).

أبرز الأماكن جذباً للسياحة برج المملكة في الرياض، وحصن المصمك، ومنتزه الملك عبد الله، والمسجد العائم، فضلا عن الأماكن المقدسة.

قيادة العربات تعتمد على الجهة اليمنى لعجلة القيادة كما باقي دول الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا، والنطاق الزمني للسعودية (GMT+3). أما رمز الاتصال الدولي فهو 966+.

إقرأ المزيد

آخر التحديثات عن السعودية
تعود جذور المملكة العربية السعودية إلى الحضارات الأولى في شبه الجزيرة العربية والتي لعبت دوراً مهماً في التاريخ بوصفها مركزا...
حقائق وبيانات
.تكافح المملكة العربية السعودية بشكل رئيسي ضد التصحّر واستنزاف الموارد المائية الجوفية والافتقار إلى الأنهار دائمة الجريان و...
نظام الحكم في المملكة العربية السعودية ملكي مطلق، مع قانون أساسي وعدم وجود أحزاب أو اتحادات سياسية أو أية أنواع أخرى من الجمعي...
أصبح مفهوم حقوق الإنسان معروفاً ومصطلحاً مقبولاً يتم تداوله على نطاقٍ واسع. نظرة عامة عن حقوق الإنسان في السعودية.
يرتكز اقتصاد المملكة العربية السعودية على موارد البلاد النفطية الهائلة. (مع أنّ للمملكة العربية السعودية احتياطي كبير من الغا...
وُجوه
يوفر موقع فَنَك لمحة عامة عن السكان في السعودية، بما في ذلك وصف الأعراق والتراكيب السكانية الأخرى.
شكل عام، المجتمع السعودي تقليدي وجماعي ومحافظ. فرضت المملكة العربية السعودية المذهب المتشدد من الإسلام والفصل الصارم بين الج...

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: FAISAL AL-NASSER ©AFP | FAISAL AL-NASSER ©AFP

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

ملف التحديث الإقليمي COVID-19

احصل على آخر تحديث عن تفشي فيروس كورونا في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

تطورات فيروس كورونا

Fanack Home / Saudi Arabia

The Kingdom of Saudi Arabia

Saudi Arabia
Riyadh. Photo: FAISAL AL-NASSER / AFP

Saudi Arabia (Official name: Kingdom of Saudi Arabia) is a sparsely populated Kingdom in the Middle East. Extending across most of the northern and central parts of the Arabian Peninsula, Saudi Arabia is a young country with a rich history and an area of 2,149,690 K2. It is bordered by Jordan, Iraq, and Kuwait to the north; by the Arabian/Persian Gulf, Qatar, the United Arab Emirates, and Oman to the east; by a portion of Oman to the southeast; by Yemen to the south and southwest; and by the Red Sea and the Gulf of Aqaba to the west.

In the western highlands, along the Red Sea, lies the Hejaz, which is the cradle of Islam and the site of the religion’s holiest cities, Mecca and Medina. In the country’s geographic heartland lies a region known as Najd, a vast arid region that until recent times was populated by nomadic tribes.

To the east, along the Arabian/Persian Gulf, are the country’s abundant oilfields that, since the 1960s, have made Saudi Arabia synonymous with petroleum wealth. Those three elements—religion, tribalism, and the endless wealth—have fueled the country’s subsequent history.

Riyadh is the capital city of Saudi Arabia. The city is named for the natural fertility of its location at the juncture of Wadis of Hanifah and Al Batha’, and the city’s lights watched from a plane in the air are spectacular.

Map Saudi Arabia
Map of Saudi Arabia. Photo: Fanack

With the rise of the Al Saud family — a Najdi group after which the country is named — and its eventual consolidation of power in the early 20th Century, Saudi Arabia began to identify the characteristics of a modern country, and the pace of life accelerated rapidly.

The constant flow of pilgrims to Mecca and Medina has always provided the country with outside contacts. Also, Saudi Arabia’s growing petroleum wealth has resulted in huge and fast infrastructure investments in the Kingdom, which reflected in the citizens’ life. Moreover, interaction with the outside world has expanded with innovations in transportation, technology, and organization. The expanding oil wealth in the Kingdom has effected drastic changes on educational, social and economic aspects. Modern methods of production have been superimposed on a traditional society by the introduction of millions of foreign workers to the country and by the employment of hundreds of thousands of Saudis in nontraditional jobs.

The Saudi population is estimated at 34.17 million in 2020. Non-Saudi (expatriates) make up 38.3 percent of the total population, according to estimates of 2019.

Arabic is the official language of the country. Islam is the only religion of citizens (85 -90 percent are Sunnis, while 10 -15 percent are Shia). In addition to Muslim expatriates, other groups (including East Orthodox, Protestants, Roman Catholics, Jews, Hindus, Buddhists and Sikhs) live in Saudi Arabia too.

Although the country has a large number of expatriates of different religions (more than 30 percent of the population are expatriates), most of the general religious expressions that differ with the government interpretation of Sunni Islam are restricted; non-Muslims are not allowed to hold Saudi citizenship, and places of worship for non-Muslims are banned.

The local currency is the Saudi riyal, and natural resources are petroleum, natural gas, iron ore, gold and copper.

In military terms, Saudi Arabia ranked 17th out of 138 among the countries listed in the 2020 Global Firepower Index.

The Saudi media environment is one of the most repressive in the world. The Kingdom ranked 170th out of 180 countries in the Reporters Without Borders’ (RSF) 2020 World Press Freedom Index.

The legal framework in Saudi Arabia does not guarantee freedom of expression. During the last quarter of the 20th Century, Saudi Arabia adhered to subjecting Saudi local media to its authority. The 1982 Royal Decree on Press and Publications criminalized criticism by the press of the royal family or religious authorities. The 1992 Basic Law continues to criminalize the dissemination of any information that is harmful to national unity, or that may harm national security or cause discord and defamation. Such legislation has gained further strength with the introduction of the 2014 Law for the Crimes of Terrorism and its Financing.

Among the prominent faces in Saudi Arabia are Bayan Mahmoud Zahran; billionaire Prince Alwaleed bin Talal, and women’s rights activist Eman al-Nafjan.

Traditional sports in Saudi Arabia include camel racing, a sport that has been, and continues to be, very popular across the country because the history of Saudis is inseparably connected to their camels.

Football is the most popular national sport in Saudi Arabia. The Saudi Arabian Football Federation manages the Saudi Football Team and organizes Saudi leagues and the King Cup championship.

The Saudi National Team participated five times in the FIFA World Cup (1994, 1998, 2002, 2006, 2018). It also participated in the Asian Cup tournament 10 times and won the title three times in 1984, 1988 and 1996. The Saudi Team was the runner-up of the Asian Cup champion in 1992, 2002 and 2006.

There are three climatic zones in the kingdom: (1) desert almost everywhere, (2) steppe along the western highlands, and (3) a small area of humid and mild temperature conditions, with long summers, in the highlands just north of Yemen.

The Arabian Peninsula is dominated by a plateau that suddenly rises from the Red Sea and falls gently toward the Arabian/Persian Gulf. In the north, the western highlands rise 5,000 feet (1500 meters) above the sea level and fall slightly to 4,000 feet (1200 meters) on the periphery of Medina. Located near Abha in the south, Jabal Sawda (Sawda Mountain) is the highest point in the country, and the estimates of its height range from 10,279 to 10,522 feet (3,133 to 3,207 meters).

The most prominent tourist attractions are the Kingdom Center Tower in Riyadh, the Masmak Fort, King Abdullah Park, the Floating Mosque, in addition the holy places.

Saudi Arabia uses the right-hand-traffic rule of the road as in the rest of Middle East and North Africa countries. The Standard Time in Saudi Arabia is (GMT+3), and the international calling code is +966.

Further Reading

Page with a chronological overview of the country file articles published on the Chronicle website.
The Kingdom of Saudi Arabia has its roots in the early civilizations of the Arabian Peninsula, which played an important role in history as an ancient commercial center and a cradle of Islam.
Basic facts and figures regarding the politics, geography, population, and economy of Saudi Arabia.
Fanack provides an overview of Saudi Arabia's geography, including its state borders, local climate, and natural resources. Saudi Arabia's main environmental struggles are with desertification, depletion of underground water resou...
Saudi Arabia is an absolute monarchy, with a Basic Law, but no political parties, unions, or other types of political association. The country's basic system of governance – an alternative to a constitution – was established i...
The concept of human rights has become a well-known and widely accepted term to use. An overview of human rights in Saudi Arabia.
The economy of Saudi Arabia is centred on the country’s enormous petroleum resources and since the 1970s, the country has been the world’s largest crude-oil exporter.
Faces of Saudi Arabia have names, we hear about them but do not get the entire picture. Get to know these influential people in Fanack’s ‘Faces’ section.
In 2017, the population of the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia was about 32.55 million, compared to 31.47 million according to the demographic survey of 2016, with an average annual growth rate of 2.52 per cent, according to the General A...
Society in Saudi Arabia is generally traditional, collective, and conservative. Saudi Arabia has enforced a strict religious interpretation of Islam and strict gender segregation in government and education. A strict dress code is...

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: FAISAL AL-NASSER ©AFP | FAISAL AL-NASSER ©AFP

COVID-19 UPDATE

Get the latest update on the Coronavirus outbreak in the Middle East and North Africa.

Regional Update

"Ignorance leads to fear, fear leads to hatred, and hatred leads to violence.
This is the equation."

IBN RUSHD/AVERROES (1126 – 1198)

We are a Dutch not for profit organisation (NGO), financed solely by individuals who share our belief in the importance of publishing and disseminating reliable, unbiased information on the Middle East & North Africa region. To represent the voice of the region’s people, we carefully echo the region’s heartbeat by offering fact-checked and therefore credible information.

Your support is greatly appreciated and helpful!