فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / مصر

جمهورية مصر العربية

أهرامات الجيزة
أهرامات الجيزة، القاهرة. Photo: KHALED DESOUKI / AFP

مصر (واسمها الرسمي جمهورية مصر العربية) تقع في الزاوية الشمالية الشرقية لأفريقيا، على الشاطئ الجنوبي للبحر الأبيض المتوسط، وعند مفترق الطرق بين شمال أفريقيا وغرب آسيا، وبين أوروبا والشرق.

وتبلغ مساحتها 1001450 كيلو متر مربع، يتركز حوالي 95% من السكان في شريطٍ ضيق من الأراضي الخصبة على طول نهر النيل، وهو ما يمثل حوالي 5% فقط من مساحة الأراضي المصرية.

مصر من الدول التي يجري فيها نهر النيل، حيث يمتد فيها بنحو 1500 كيلومتر من الحدود الجنوبية للبلاد حتى البحر الأبيض المتوسط. يحدها من الشرق ليبيا ومن الجنوب السودان ومن الغرب البحر الأحمر وفلسطين وإسرائيل ومن الشمال البحر المتوسط.

وفي الجزء الشرقي من البلاد، تربط قناة السويس البحر الأحمر في الجنوب بالبحر الأبيض المتوسط في الشمال عبر مسافة تبلغ 162 كيلومتراً.

القاهرة هي العاصمة وأكبر مدن مصر على الإطلاق، وتعد أكبر مدينة عربية من حيث تعداد السكان والمساحة، وتحتل المركز الثاني أفريقياً والسابع عشر عالمياً من حيث التعداد السكاني. ويبلغ عدد سكان القاهرة 9.5 مليون نسمة حسب إحصائيات عام 2017، وهم يمثلون نحو 10% من إجمالي تعداد سكان البلاد.

كانت مصر موطناً لإحدى أهم الحضارات في الشرق الأوسط القديم، وموقعًا لواحدة من أقدم المجتمعات الحضرية في العالم. وازدهرت مصر الفرعونية لمدة 3000 سنة من خلال سلسلة من السلالات المحلية التي تخللتها فترات وجيزة من الحكم الأجنبي. وتحت حكم الأسرة البطلمية اليونانية، ازدهر مجتمع متعلم متقدم في مدينة الإسكندرية، إلى أن غزاها الرومان عام 30 قبل الميلاد. وظلت مصر جزءا من الإمبراطورية الرومانية ومن ثم الإمبراطورية البيزنطية حتى وصول العرب المسلمين لها بين عامي 639 و642م.

Egypt map
خريطة مصر. @Fanack

وباتت مصر منذ ذلك الحين من المراكز الفكرية والثقافية في العالم العربي الإسلامي. وبحلول القرن الثالث عشر، تعززت المكانة التي تحظى بها مصر بعد قضاء الجيوش المغولية على الخلافة العباسية في بغداد وانتقالها بصورةٍ شكلية إلى مصر تحت سلاطين المماليك. وفي عام 1517م، هزمت الإمبراطورية العثمانية المماليك وأحكمت سيطرتها على مصر إلى حين تمكن الفرنسيين من احتلال البلاد لفترةٍ وجيزة بين عامي 1798 و1801م. وبات موقع مصر الاستراتيجي مركزاً لطريق التجارة بين أفريقيا وأوروبا وآسيا. وهذه الميزة الطبيعية عُززت عام 1869م بعد افتتاح قناة السويس. وفي عام ١٨٨٢، احتلت المملكة المتحدة مصر واستمرت في ممارسة تأثيرها القوي على البلاد حتى نهاية الحرب العالمية الثانية (1939-1945م).

في عام 1952م، قام انقلاب عسكري بتثبيت نظام ثوري شجع على مزيج من الاشتراكية والقومية العربية. وأثار الخطاب السياسي للنظام الجمهوري الجديد وتأميمه لشركة قناة السويس أزمة السويس لعام 1956م، والتي تم حلها فقط من خلال تدخل الولايات المتحدة والاتحاد السوفياتي، الأمر الذي جعل وجود مصر في منطقة البحر الأبيض المتوسط بعد ذلك في دائرة الضوء الدولية، إلى اليوم.

ويقدر عدد السكان بنحو 104 مليون نسمة في عام 2020م؛ واللغة العربية هي اللغة الرسمية للبلاد، وتُفهم الإنجليزية والفرنسية على نطاق واسع من قبل الطبقات المتعلمة.

يعتنق  المصريون في غالبيتهم الديانة الإسلامية وفقًا للمذهب السني، بالإضافة إلى أقلية شيعية لا تتجاوز مليون نسمة حسب معظم التقديرات. والإسلام هو دين الدولة ومصدر التشريع فيها. يحتل المسيحيون بطوائفهم المختلفة (الأقباط، الكاثوليك، الأرثوذكس والبروتستانت) المرتبة الثانية من حيث الاعتقاد الديني للسكان.

العملة المحلية (الجنيه) ويرتبط رسمياً بالدولار الأمريكي 1$=16 جنيهاً تقريبًا في 2020م. والموارد الطبيعية تتمثل في البترول، والغاز الطبيعي، وخام الحديد، والفوسفات، والمنغنيز، بالإضافة إلى الحجر الجيري، والجبس، والتلك، والأسبستوس، والرصاص، والعناصر الأرضية النادرة والزنك.

من حيث القوة العسكرية، حلت مصر في المرتبة 12 من 137 بين الدول التي شملها تقرير  Global Firepower لعام 2019. وهي الدولة الوحيدة في الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا التي تملك حاملتي طائرات.

تمتلك مصر واحدة من أكثر صناعات وسائل الإعلام رسوخاً وتأثيراً في الشرق الأوسط. ويمكن تتبع أصول وسائل الإعلام الحديثة في مصر إلى عام 1828م، مع إدخال الصحافة المطبوعة وتأسيس أول صحيفة في البلاد وهي صحيفة “الوقائع المصرية”. وبعد ذلك، تأسست صحيفة الأهرام عام 1875م، والتي تعدّ الصحيفة القائمة الأقدم في العالم العربي.

وفي عام 2010، كان هناك 142 صحيفة مسجلة في البلاد، في حين ازداد الرقم إلى 567 بحلول عام 2012. وبصورة عامة، تنقسم الصحف بين المنشورات التي ترعاها الدولة، وتلك التي تتبع حزباً أو مؤسسة سياسية معينة. ويجري بث مجموعة كبيرة من القنوات الفضائية الخاصة، وتحتفظ الإذاعة المصرية بشعبية كبيرة، وكذلك شبكة القنوات التلفزيونية المملوكة للدولة.

من الوجوه البارزة في مصر المفكر يوسف زيدان، المحامي المُعارض خالد علي، والشيخ يوسف القرضاوي.

وزارة الشباب والرياضة هي المسؤولة عن إدارة الألعاب الرياضية في مصر بمختلف مجالاتها. وتعتبر كرة القدم اللعبة الشعبية الأولى في مصر، علماً بأن ينقسم المجتمع المصري على فريقين تاريخياً هما النادي الأهلي ونادي الزمالك. كما تعد مصر صاحبة الرقم القياسي على مستوى عدد الألقاب التي حققتها في بطولة كأس الأمم الأفريقية، إذ سبق لها الفوز بسبعة ألقاب. وهناك حضور مصري دولي في العديد من الرياضات الأخرى ككرة اليد، والإسكواش وكرة السلة ورفع الأثقال. وتتبوأ مصر الصدارة عالميا في لعبة الإسكواش. وتُشارك مصر عادة في الألعاب الأولمبية بأنواعها، ويعود التاريخ الأولمبي لمصر إلى عام 1910م.

الشتاء الدافئ نسبياً والمعتدل يسمح بالزراعة طيلة العام. كما يسمح قصر فترة زراعة أغلب الحاصلات بالزراعة متعددة المحاصيل حيثما توافرت المياه. والصيف صحراوي جاف حار.

وتنقسم البلاد جغرافياً إلى المناطق الرئيسية التالية:

أ – الوادي والدلتا، والأخيرة منطقة غرينية مثلثة قمتها في القاهرة وقاعدتها على البحر الأبيض المتوسط. وتتصف المنطقتان بالخصوبة الشديدة.

ب – الصحراء الغربية وتشمل نحو ثلاثة أرباع المساحة الكلية.

ج – الصحراء الشرقية وتتكون من سلسلة من الجبال تمتد بطول البحر الأحمر، ويتجاوز ارتفاعها 2000 متر في بعض الحالات وتبلغ مساحتها 220 كيلومتراً مربعاً.

د – شبه جزيرة سيناء وهي مفتاح مصر، وتربطها بالشرق العربي.

تزخر مصر بالعديد من المعالم الأثرية التي تشد السياح، من بينها أهرامات الجيزة، ومعبد الكرنك بالأقصر.

تعتمد قيادة العربات على الجهة اليمنى لعجلة القيادة كما باقي دول الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا، والنطاق الزمني لمصر ساعتان بعد توقيت جرينيتش (GMT+2). ورمز الاتصال الدولي هو 002+.

إقرأ المزيد

آخر التحديثات: صفحة تقدّم نظرة تاريخية عامة عن مقالات ملف البلد التي نُشرت على موقع Fanack وقائع وأحداث © Copyright Notice Please contact us in case o...
اعتلى محمد حسني مبارك سدة الرئاسة في العام ذاته، إلى أن تم الإطاحة به بثورة شعبية عام 2011. فخلفه مرشح التيار الإسلامي محمد مرسي ...
حقائق وبيانات
يوفر موقع "فاناك" لمحة عامة عن جغرافية مصرمن خلال وصف حدودها، والمناخ المحلي، والموارد الطبيعية.
تقدم فَنَك لمحة عامة عن نظام الحكم في مصر بما في ذلك الرئاسة والسلطة التشريعية والتنفيذية والقضائية والفساد والبيروقراطية.
أصبح مفهوم حقوق الإنسان معروفاً ومصطلحاً مقبولاً يتم تداوله على نطاقٍ واسع. نظرة عامة عن حقوق الإنسان في مصر.
تقدم فنك لمحة عامة عن إقتصاد مصر بما في ذلك كافة القطاعات الصناعية والزراعية والتجارية والقطاع المصرفي ةقطاع السياحة....
الغالبية العظمى من السكان هم من المسلمين السّنة. وتتألف الأقلية الكبرى من المسيحيين الأقباط؛ ولكن لا تتوفر إحصاءات رسمية حديث...
مصر ليست فقط هامة من الناحية السياسية. فحتى فترة متقدمة من القرن العشرين، كانت مركزاً فكرياً وثقافياً في العالم العربي: حيث جر...
وُجوه

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: KHALED DESOUKI ©AFP | KHALED DESOUKI ©AFP | ©Fanack

ملف التحديث الإقليمي COVID-19

احصل على آخر تحديث عن تفشي فيروس كورونا في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

تطورات فيروس كورونا

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

Fanack Home / Egypt

The Arab Republic of Egypt

Pyramids of Giza
Pyramids of Giza, Cairo. Photo: KHALED DESOUKI / AFP

Egypt (Officially the Arab Republic of Egypt) is located in the northeastern corner of Africa on the southern shore of the Mediterranean. The country bears a strategic place as it sits at crossroads between North Africa, West Asia, Europe and the Orient. With an area of 1001,450 km2, about 95% of the population live in a narrow strip of fertile land along the Nile. This strip does not exceed 5% of the whole Egyptian land area.

Egypt is one of the countries in which runs the Nile River for about 1500 km starting by the southern border of the country and ending by the Mediterranean Sea. Egypt is bordered by Libya to the east, by Sudan to the south, by the Red Sea, Palestine and Israel to the west, and by the Mediterranean to the north. In the eastern part of the country, the Suez Canal connects the Red Sea in the south to the Mediterranean in the north. The length of the canal amounts to 162 km.

Cairo is the capital and the biggest city in Egypt. It is the largest Arab city in terms of population and area. In terms of population, Cairo ranks second in Africa and seventeen in the world. According to 2017 statistics, the population of Cairo is 9.5 million, representing about 10% of the total population of the country.

Egypt was home to one of the most important civilizations in the ancient Middle East, let alone that it was the site of one of the oldest urban societies in the world. Pharaonic Egypt flourished for 3000 years through a series of local dynasties interspersed with short periods of foreign rule. Under the rule of the Greek Ptolemaic dynasty, an advanced and educated community flourished in Alexandria, until it was conquered by the Romans in 30 BC. Egypt remained part of the Roman Empire and then the Byzantine Empire until the arrival of Muslim Arabs between 639 and 642 AD.

Map Egypt
Egypt Map. @Fanack

Since then, Egypt has become one of the intellectual and cultural centers in the Arab Islamic world. By the thirteenth century, Egypt’s position has been strengthened when the Mongol armies annihilated the Abbasid caliphate in Baghdad. The caliphate has been then formally transferred to Egypt under the Mamluk sultans. In 1517, the Ottoman Empire defeated the Mamluks and tightened its control over Egypt until the French managed to occupy the country for a short period between 1798 and 1801. Egypt’s strategic location has become the center of the trade route between Africa, Europe and Asia. This natural feature was strengthened in 1869 after the establishment of the Suez Canal. In 1882, the United Kingdom occupied Egypt and continued to exercise strong influence over the country until the end of World War II (1939-1945).

In 1952, a military coup resulted in forming a revolutionary regime that encouraged a mixture of socialism and Arab nationalism. The political discourse and the nationalization of the new republican system sparked the Suez crisis in 1956. This crisis was only resolved after the intervention of the United States and the Soviet Union. After that, Egypt’s presence in the Mediterranean region has been put in the international spotlight until nowadays.

The population is estimated at 104 million in 2020. Arabic is the official language of the country, while English and French are widely understood by the educated classes.

The majority of Egyptians are Muslims according to the Sunni doctrine. According to most estimates, there is a Shiite minority in Egypt that does not exceed a million people. Islam is the state religion and the source of legislation in it. Christianity in its various denominations (Copts, Catholics, Orthodox and Protestants) is ranked second in terms of religious belief of the population.

The pound is local currency of Egypt. It is officially linked to the US dollar (1 $ = 16 pounds in 2020). Natural resources include petroleum, natural gas, iron ore, phosphates and manganese, in addition to limestone, gypsum, talc, asbestos, lead, rare earth elements and zinc.

In terms of military strength, Egypt is ranked 12 out of 137 among the countries included in the 2019 Global Firepower Report. It is the only country in the Middle East and North Africa to own two aircraft carriers.

Egypt has one of the most established and influential media industries in the Middle East. The origins of the modern media in Egypt can be traced back to 1828 when the printed press was introduced with the first newspaper in the country “Al-Waqa’i’ al-Misriyya”. After that, Al-Ahram newspaper was founded in 1875, which is the oldest existing newspaper in the Arab world.

In 2010, there were 142 newspapers registered in the country. By 2012, this number increased to 567. Generally, newspapers are divided between state-sponsored publications and those of a specific political party or institution. A large group of private satellite channels is being broadcasted. At the same time, Egyptian radio channels are very popular, and the same applies to the network of state-owned television channels.

The list of the prominent faces in Egypt includes Yusef Zaidan, the opposing lawyer Khaled Ali and Sheikh Yusuf al-Qaradawi.

The Ministry of Youth and Sports is responsible for managing sports in Egypt in all its fields. Football is the most popular game in Egypt. Egyptian football fans are historically divided between Al-Ahly and Zamalek. Egypt is also the record holder for the number of African Cup of Nations titles that it has won with 7 titles. There is an international Egyptian presence in many other sports such as handball, squash, basketball and weightlifting. Egypt takes the lead globally in squash. Egypt usually participates in the Olympic Games. The Olympic history of Egypt dates back to 1910.

The relatively warm and temperate winters facilitates cultivation throughout the year. The short period of cultivation allows most crops to grow multi-crops where water is available. Summer is hot dry desert.

The country is divided geographically into the following main regions:

A – The valley and the Delta which is a triangular, alluvial region with a summit in Cairo and its base on the Mediterranean Sea. Both regions are very fertile.

B – Western Sahara, which includes about three quarters of the total area.

C – the Eastern Desert, which consists of a series of mountains that extend along the Red Sea, and exceeds a height of 2000 meters in some cases. Its total area amounts to 220 square kilometers.

D – the Sinai Peninsula, which is the key to Egypt and links it to the Arab East.

Egypt has many monuments that attract tourists, including the Pyramids of Giza and the Karnak Temple in Luxor.

Vehicle driving is right sided as the rest of the Middle East and North Africa. Egypt’s time zone is (GMT+2) while the international dialing code is 002+.

Further Reading

Page with a chronological overview of the country file articles published on the Chronicle website.
Egypt has been a cradle of many civilizations and kingdoms. This country has the oldest recorded history in the world. This history might be divided into two eras: the prehistoric era, and the second historical era.
Basic facts and figures about the politics, geography, population, and economy of Egypt.
Fanack provides an overview of Egypt's geography, including its state borders, local climate, and natural resources.
Fanack presents an overview of Egypt's governance and politics, including its different branches of government and governance challenges.
The concept of human rights has become a well-known and widely accepted term to use. An overview of human rights in Egypt.
Fanack provides an overview of Egypt's economy, outlining its various economic sectors and activities.
The vast majority of the population is Sunni Muslim. The largest minority consists of Coptic Christians, but there are no recent official statistics for their number. According to the census of 1986, 6 percent of population was Co...
In the 20th century Egypt was an intellectual and cultural centre in the Arab world. In recent decades, however, it has lost much of its prestige
Faces of influential people of Egypt, people that are/were Egypt's game changers.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: KHALED DESOUKI ©AFP | KHALED DESOUKI ©AFP | ©Fanack



"The heritage of knowledge is more valuable than gold."
Yahya ibn Abi Kathir (769-848)

We are a Dutch not for profit organisation (NGO), financed solely by individuals who share our belief in the importance of publishing and disseminating reliable, unbiased information on the Middle East & North Africa region. To represent the voice of the region’s people, we carefully echo the region’s heartbeat by offering fact-checked and therefore credible information.

Your support is greatly appreciated and helpful!