فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / سوريا

الجمهورية العربية السورية

سوريا
سوق الحميدية، دمشق، سوريا. Photo: LOUAI BESHARA / AFP

سوريا (والاسم الرسمي الجمهورية العربية السورية) دولةٌ تقع على الساحل الشرقي للبحر الأبيض المتوسط في جنوب غرب آسيا. وتشمل سوريا أراضي في مرتفعات الجولان تحتلها إسرائيل منذ عام 1967م. تحدها من الشمال تركيا، ومن الشرق والجنوب الشرقي العراق، ومن الجنوب الأردن، ومن الجنوب الغربي لبنان وإسرائيل. وبحسب موقع وكالة الاستخبارات الأمريكية، فإن مساحة سوريا 187,437 كم٢، تشمل 1,295 كم٢ من الأراضي التي تحتلها إسرائيل.

العاصمة دمشق تقع في الزاوية الجنوبية الغربية للبلاد على سفح جبل قاسيون. وتحمل دمشق عدّة أسماء وألقاب، فهي “لؤلؤة الشرق”، وعاصمة الكتاب المقدس للآراميين، وعاصمة الدولة الأموية في صدر الإسلام. ويعتقد العديد من العلماء أن دمشق أقدم مدينة مأهولة في العالم.

بعد حصول سوريا على الاستقلال في عام 1946م، عانت البلاد لفترةٍ طويلة من انعدام الاستقرار على مستوى الحياة السياسية.

ويرجع ذلك إلى حد كبير إلى الاحتكاك الشديد بين المجموعات الاجتماعية والدينية والسياسية في البلاد. وفي عام 1970م، خضعت سوريا لحكم الرئيس حافظ الأسد، الذي تضمنت أهدافه الرئيسية تحقيق الأمن القومي والاستقرار الداخلي واستعادة الأراضي السورية التي احتلتها إسرائيل عام 1967م.

خريطة سوريا
خريطة سوريا. Photo: Fanack

ألزم الأسد بلاده بشراء كميات هائلة من الأسلحة، ما وضع ضغوطاً شديدة على الميزانية الوطنية، ولم يترك سوى القليل للتنمية. بعد وفاة الأسد عام 2000، أصبح نجله “بشار الأسد” رئيساً للبلاد. ورغم اتخاذ بعض الخطوات المبكرة نحو الإصلاح السياسي، واصل بشار الأسد في نهاية المطاف السير على نهج والده الاستبدادي في الحكم، فاستخدم القوات العسكرية والأمنية القوية في سوريا لقمع المعارضة السياسية. وأدت التوترات الداخلية التي تم قمعها إلى اندلاع الحرب الأهلية السورية في عام 2011م.

يقدر عدد السكان بنحو 19.4 مليون نسمة وفقاً لتقديرات وكالة الاستخبارات الأمريكية عام 2020م. أما موقع World Population Review، فيقدّر عدد السكان في عام ٢٠٢٠ بـ ١٧.٤ مليون نسمة.

ووفقًا للتقسيم العرقي، يشكل العرب المشرقيون ٩٠٪ من مجموع السكان. أما الأكراد فيبلغ عددهم في سوريا ٢ مليون نسمة، في حين يتراوح عدد تركمان سوريا بين ٠.٧٥ إلى ١.٥ مليون نسمة.

اللغة العربية هي اللغة الرسمية، وهناك لغات أخرى يجري تداولها في سوريا كالكردية، والأرمينية، والآرامية، والشركسية، والفرنسية، والإنجليزية.

يشكل المسلمون 87% من إجمالي عدد السكان (74% سنة و13% علويين وإسماعيليين وشيعة)، فيما يشكل المسيحيون 10% من مجموع السكان (يشملون الأرثوذكس، والبابويين، والنسطوريين). ويشكل الدروز 3% من إجمالي عدد السكان، أما القلة المتبقية فتتضمن بعض اليهود المقيمين في دمشق وحلب.

العملة المحلية الليرة السورية. والموارد الطبيعية هي البترول، والفوسفات، وخامات الكروم والمنغنيز، والأسفلت، وخام الحديد، والملح الصخري، والرخام، والجبس، والطاقة الكهرومائية.

من الناحية العسكرية، حلت سوريا في المرتبة ٥٥ من ١٣٨ بين الدول التي شملها تقرير Global Firepower لعام ٢٠٢٠.

تعتبر سوريا من أخطر الأماكن في العالم على الصحفيين بسبب الظروف الحالية التي تعيشها هذه الدولة. وتحتل سوريا المرتبة ١٧٤ من أصل 180 بلداً على مؤشر منظمة “مراسلون بلا حدود” لحرية الصحافة في عام ٢٠٢٠.

وفي أعقاب انتفاضة عام 2011م، سنّت الحكومة السورية سلسلة من التدابير التشريعية لتحسين حرية الإعلام وتهدئة السكان. وحظر قانون عام 2011 احتكارات وسائل الإعلام ومنع “اعتقال الصحفيين أو استجوابهم أو تفتيشهم.” ويكفل الدستور السوري الذي تم إقراره في عام 2012 “حرية الصحافة والطباعة والنشر ووسائل الإعلام واستقلاليتها وفقاً للقانون”. ومع ذلك، فقد تم تقويض هذه الأحكام من خلال التشريعات الحالية للحكومة والمبادرات الجديدة الرامية إلى قمع المعارضة. ومن الأمثلة على ذلك قانون مكافحة الإرهاب لعام 2012م الذي يسمح باعتقال الصحفيين واحتجازهم تحت تهمٍ غامضة على شاكلة “القيام بالدعاية عن الأعمال الإرهابية”.

وأتاح نمو وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي وصحافة المواطن للسوريين قدراً من حرية التعبير. كما لعبت هذه المنصات الجديدة دوراً هاماً في نقل المعلومات خلال انتفاضة 2011م ضد حكومة الأسد.

من الوجوه البارزة في سوريا المعارض السوري رياض الترك؛ ورجل الأعمال غسان عبود؛ والمفتي المثير للجدل أحمد بدر الدين حسون.

يتولى اتحاد كرة القدم السوري إدارة المنتخب الوطني والدوري الممتاز. ورغم عدم تأهل المنتخب السوري إلى كأس العالم على الإطلاق، فإنه لا يمكن إنكار شغف السوريين بكرة القدم. وسبق لمنتخب سوريا التأهل ست مرات لبطولة كأس آسيا. وازدادت مشاركة المرأة في الألعاب الرياضية. وفازت غادة شعاع بالميدالية الذهبية الأولى والوحيدة لسوريا في دورة الألعاب الأولمبية الصيفية لعام 1996م.

ومن الرياضات الأخرى التي تحظى بمتابعة كبيرة في سوريا كرة السلة والتنس والسباحة. وسبق للمنتخب السوري لكرة السلة الفوز ببطولة الدورة العربية المقامة عام ١٩٩٢، بالإضافة إلى الوصول إلى نصف نهائي نسخة كأس آسيا التي أقيمت عام ٢٠٠١ في شنغهاي.

مناخ الساحل والجبال الغربية متوسطي، والطقس جاف بين شهري مايو وأكتوبر. وفي أقصى الشمال الغربي، تهطل أمطار خفيفة خلال فصل الصيف. والصيف حار في الساحل، في حين الشتاء من معتدل إلى بارد في الداخل. وفي المناطق الصحراوية كتدمر ودير الزور، تتراوح درجات الحرارة القصوى في الصيف بين 30 و40 درجة مئوية. وقد يحدث تساقط للثلوج في فصل الشتاء بعيداً عن الساحل، ويتشكل الصقيع في بعض المناطق.

لسوريا خطٌ ساحلي قصير نسبياً، يمتد لمسافة 110 ميلاً (180 كم) على طول المتوسط بين تركيا ولبنان. وتتناوب الخلجان الرملية على الشاطئ مع الرؤوس الصخرية والمنحدرات المنخفضة.

تقع سلسلة جبال الأنصارية على حدود السهل الساحلي وتمتد من الشمال إلى الجنوب. يبلغ متوسط عرض الجبال 20 ميلاً (32 كم)، وينخفض متوسط ارتفاعها من 3000 قدم (900 متر) في الشمال إلى 2000 قدم في الجنوب. أعلى نقطة لها تقع شرق اللاذقية.

أبرز الأماكن جذباً للسياحة دمشق القديمة والمسجد الأموي، وقلعة حلب، وأوابد تدمر القديمة وجزيرة أرواد.

قيادة العربات تعتمد على الجهة اليمنى لعجلة القيادة كما باقي دول الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا، والنطاق الزمني لسوريا (GMT+3). أما رمز الاتصال الدولي فهو 963+.

إقرأ المزيد

آخر التحديثات: صفحة تقدّم نظرة تاريخية عامة عن مقالات ملف البلد التي نُشرت على موقع Fanack وقائع وأحداث © Copyright Notice Please contact us in case o...
سوريا التي تعيش في الآونة الأخيرة مخاضاً عسيراً تحمل في جعبتها الكثير من الأحداث والتقلبات التاريخية. فهذه الدولة التي يحكمها...
حقائق وبيانات
لمحة عامة عن جغرافية سوريا من خلال وصف حدودها، والمناخ المحلي، والموارد الطبيعية.
نظرة عامة عن الحكم في سوريا، بما في ذلك وصف مختلف فروع حكومتها وتحديات الحكم.
أصبح مفهوم حقوق الإنسان معروفاً ومصطلحاً مقبولاً يتم تداوله على نطاقٍ واسع. نظرة عامة عن حقوق الإنسان في سوريا.
يصنف البنك الدولي الاقتصاد السوري على أنه ذو أدنى مستوى دخل متوسط في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا. الاقتصاد السوري تديره ا...
وُجوه
يوفر موقع "فاناك" لمحة عامة عن سكان والتراكيب السكانية في سوريا، بما في ذلك لمحة عامة عن مختلف الأعراق والهويات.
ثلاثة أرباع السوريين هم من السنّة. من بين سكان سوريا، هناك أيضاً أقليات مسيحية وعلوية ودرزية وإسماعيلية. لفترة طويلة من الزمن...

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: LOUAI BESHARA ©AFP | LOUAI BESHARA ©AFP | ©Fanack

ملف التحديث الإقليمي COVID-19

احصل على آخر تحديث عن تفشي فيروس كورونا في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

تطورات فيروس كورونا

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

Fanack Home / Syria

Syrian Arab Republic

Syria
Hamidiya market, Damascus, Syria. Photo: LOUAI BESHARA / AFP

Syria (official name: Syrian Arab Republic) is a state located on the eastern coast of the Mediterranean in the southwest of Asia. Syria includes lands in Golan Heights which have been occupied by Israel since 1967. It is bordered by Turkey on the north, Iraq on both east and southeast, Jordan on the south and Israel and Lebanon on the southwest. According to the CIA’s website, Syrian lands account for 187,437 km2, of which 1,295 km2 are occupied by Israel.

The capital Damascus is located on the southwest corner of the country, on the foot of Mount Qasioun. Damascus goes by many names and titles; it is “The Pearl of the East”, Capital of the Holy Book of the Arameans and Capital of the Umayyad State during Islamic Era. Many scholars believe that Damascus is the most ancient inhabited city in the world.

After its independence in 1946, Syria has suffered a long period of political instability. It was attributed to the severe dispute between social, religious, and political groups in the country. In 1970, Syria came under the rule of President Hafez al-Assad, who aimed to achieve national security, internal stability, and restoration of the Syrian lands occupied by Israel in 1967.

Syria
Map of Syria. Photo: Fanack

He committed the country to purchase a massive amount of weapons, which put severe pressures on the national budget, leaving only so little space for development. After his death, his Son “Bashar al-Assad” became president. Despite taking some early steps towards political reformation, Bashar continued on his father’s authoritarian course eventually. He utilized the powerful military and security forces to oppress political opposition. The oppressed internal tensions eventually led to the Syrian Civil War in 2011.

The population is estimated at 19.4 million according to the CIA in 2020. However, the World Population Review official website estimates the population at 17.4 million in 2020.

In terms of ethnic allocation, eastern Arabs account for 90% of the total population. Kurds account for 2 million in Syria, while Turkmens account for 0.75 to 1.5 million.

Arabic is the official language, and there are some other languages used in Syria, such as Kurdish, Armenian, Aramaic, Circassian, French, and English.

Muslims account for 87% of the total population (74% Sunni and 13% Alawites, Isma’ilis, and Shiites), while Christians account for 10% of the total population (Orthodox, Papal, and Nestorian). Druze account for 3% and the remaining include some Jews living in Damascus and Aleppo.

The Syrian Lira is the local currency. Natural resources include oil, phosphates, chromium and manganese ores, asphalt, iron ore, rock salt, marble, gypsum, and hydroelectric power.

In military terms, Syria ranked 55th out of 138 countries in the Global Firepower Index of 2020.

Syria is considered among the most dangerous areas in the world to journalists due to the country’s current circumstances. Syria ranked 174th out of 180 counties in the index of “Reporters without Borders” report for freedom of journalism of 2020.

In the aftermath of the 2011 uprising, the Syrian government took a chain of legislative measures to improve the media’s freedom and to calm the populace. The 2011 law banned the monopolization of media platforms and prohibited “arresting, questioning or searching journalists”. The Syrian constitution that was established in 2012 granted “freedom of press, printing, publishing, and media platforms, and their independence according to the law”. Despite all of that, these laws were restricted through the current legislations of the government and the new initiatives aiming to oppress the opposition. For instance; the 2012 Anti-Terrorism Act that allowed the detention of journalists based on vague accusations like “promoting terrorist activities”.

The development of social media platforms and citizen press allowed Syrians a portion of freedom of expression. Besides, these new platforms played a critical role in transferring information during the 2011 uprising against al-Assad’s regime.

Among the prominent faces of the opposition; the Syrian politician Riad al-Turk, the businessman Ghassan Aboud, and the controversial Mufti Ahmad Badr al-Din Hassoun. .

The Syrian Arab Federation of Football manages the national team and the premier league. Despite that the Syrian national team didn’t qualify for the world cup at all, Syrian’s passion for football is undeniable. The Syrian team qualified 6 times for the AFC Asian Cup. Women’s participation in sport has increased. Ghada Shouaa won the first and last Golden Medal for Syria in the 1996 Summer Olympics.

Other sports that are well watched in Syria include basketball, tennis, and swimming. The Syrian basketball national team won the Pan Arab Tournament in 1992 and reached the semi-finals of the 2001 Asian cup tournament in Shanghai.

The coast and the western mountains have a Mediterranean climate with a long dry season from May to October. In the extreme northwest there is some light summer rain. On the coast, summer is hot, while it’s mild to cold during winter in inland. In desert areas such as Palmyra and Deir ez-Zor, the maximum summer temperatures range between 30 and 40 degrees Celsius. Snowfall may occur in winter away from the coast, and frost is formed in some areas.

Syria has a relatively short coastal line, extending to 110 miles (180 km) along the Mediterranean between Turkey and Lebanon. The sandy bays of the beach alternate with rock heads and low slopes.

The Ansariyya Mountains lay on the border of the coastal plain and extend from north to south. The mountains’ average width is 20 miles (32 km), while their average height ranges from 3000ft (900m) in the north to 2000ft in the south. The highest point of these mounts lay east of Latakia.

The most popular tourist attractions are ancient Damascus, the Umayyad Mosque, Aleppo Citadel, the ruins of Palmyra, and Arwad Island.

Driving vehicles is right sided, similar to the same state in the rest of the MENA countries. Time zone for Syria is (GMT+3). The international dialing code is +963.

Further Reading

Page with a chronological overview of the country file articles published on the Chronicle website.
Syria has recently been in a crisis, which holds a lot of historic fluctuations and incidents. Ruled by al-Ba’ath Party and al-Assad family for more than half a century, this country was the center of the Umayyad caliphate. More...
Fanack offers an overview of basic facts and figures concerning Syria's political leadership, geography, population and economy.
Fanack provides an overview of Syria's geography, including its state borders, local climate, and natural resources.
Fanack provides an overview of the governance and politics of Syria, with an overview of its different branches of government and governance challenges.
The concept of human rights has become a well-known and widely accepted term to use. An overview of human rights in Syria.
The World Bank has classified Syria's economy as having a lower middle income level within the region Middle East & North Africa. Syria's economy is essentially state-run, although it has remained partly private, as for exampl...
Faces of Syria have names, we hear about them but do not get the entire picture. Get to know these influential people in Fanack’s ‘Faces’ section.
Fanack provides an overview of Syria's population, including the areas of habitation, ethnic and religious groups and socio-economic composition.
Three quarters of the Syrians are Sunnis. Within the Syrian population there are also Christian, Alawite, Druze and Ismaili minorities. For centuries, the various religious and ethnic communities lived separately from each other, ...

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: LOUAI BESHARA ©AFP | LOUAI BESHARA ©AFP | ©Fanack

"Ignorance leads to fear, fear leads to hatred, and hatred leads to violence.
This is the equation."

IBN RUSHD/AVERROES (1126 – 1198)

We are a Dutch not for profit organisation (NGO), financed solely by individuals who share our belief in the importance of publishing and disseminating reliable, unbiased information on the Middle East & North Africa region. To represent the voice of the region’s people, we carefully echo the region’s heartbeat by offering fact-checked and therefore credible information.

Your support is greatly appreciated and helpful!

COVID-19 UPDATE

Get the latest update on the Coronavirus outbreak in the Middle East and North Africa.

Regional Update