الصفحة الرئيسية / الصراع العربي- الاسرائيلي- الفلسطيني

الصراع العربي- الاسرائيلي- الفلسطيني

المقدمة

منذ أن وعدت بريطانيا العظمى، خلال أوائل القرن العشرين، اليهود بـ”وطن قومي” في فلسطين، على الرغم من أن الأغلبية الساحقة من السكان الأصليين آنذاك تتألف من غير اليهود (الفلسطينيين)، زُرِعت بذور صراعٍ مستمر. وبدعمٍ من الإنتداب البريطاني خلال فترة الانتداب البريطاني على فلسطين، ازداد تدفق المستوطنين اليهود إلى فلسطين. وخلال ولاية الأمم المتحدة على فلسطين، تم تقديم خطة التقسيم التي يتم بموجبها تقسيم ولاية فلسطين إلى دولة يهودية منشأة حديثاً ودولة “عربية.”

أدت الموافقة على هذا القرار من قبل الجمعية العامة للأمم المتحدة إلى تمهيد الطريق لإنشاء دولة إسرائيل في عام 1948. وفي الوقت نفسه، كانت تجري حملة معقدة من التطهير العرقي للسكان الفلسطينيين على قدمٍ وساق، والتي كان من المفترض أن تضمن أن التركيبة السكانية للدولة الجديدة تناسب اليهود. هذه الأحداث، التي يصفها الفلسطينيون “بالنكبة،” أدت إلى هجرة أعداد كبيرة من الفلسطينيين من منازلهم ونزوحهم إلى مناطق أخرى في فلسطين والبلدان المجاورة.

وخلال حرب حزيران من عام 1967، احتلت إسرائيل الضفة الغربية والقدس الشرقية وقطاع غزة ومرتفعات الجولان، وهي مناطق تم تشجيع استيطان اليهود فيها من جميع أنحاء العالم، على حساب السكان الفلسطينيين المتبقين. اقيمت المستوطنات اليهودية الإسرائيلية بدعم من دولة إسرائيل، مما أدى إلى زيادة عدد السكان اليهود الإسرائيليين في الأراضي الفلسطينية (الضفة الغربية، بما فيها القدس الشرقية) من 600 مستوطن يهودي إسرائيلي في عام 1968 إلى أكثر من 550,000 في عام 2015، وذلك وفقاً لأطلس “الإنسانية” التابع لمكتب الأمم المتحدة لتنسيق الشؤون الإنسانية (أوتشا) في فلسطين.

هذه المستوطنات الإسرائيلية في الأراضي الفلسطينية غير قانونية بموجب القانون الدولي، وتعتبر، على نطاقٍ واسع، عقبة رئيسية في طريق السلام بين الفلسطينيين والإسرائيليين، حيث أن انتهاكها للأرض الفلسطينية يشكل عقبة أمام إقامة دولة فلسطينية قابلة للحياة ضمن حدود ما قبل عام 1967.

كما تظهر عقبات أخرى للسلام بين الفلسطينيين والإسرائليين منها وضع القدس، وحق عودة اللاجئين الفلسطينيين إلى ديارهم في فلسطين، وإطلاق سراح الأسرى الفلسطينيين من السجون الاسرائيلية.
وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، منذ اتفاقات أوسلو لعام 1993 و1995، التي قسّمت الضفة الغربية إلى مناطق (أ) (تحت السيطرة الفلسطينية)، ومناطق (ب) (تحت السيطرة العسكرية الاسرائيلية، والسيطرة الفلسطينة المدنية)، ومناطق (ج) (تحت السيطرة الاسرائيلية)، وإنشاء السُلطة الفلسطينية، أنشأت اسرائيل حقائق غير قابلة للنقض على أرض الواقع من أجل مشروعها الاستيطاني. ومن خلال إنشاء نظام منفصل من الطرقات والحواجز، وبناء جدار الفصل العنصري (الذي تخترق أجزاء منه عمق الضفة الغربية)، وتوسيع المستوطنات في المناطق الاستراتيجية، جعلت اسرائيل استمرارية أراضي الدولة الفلسطينة في المستقبل أمر غير قابل للتحقيق. كما فرض جدار الفصل العنصري قيوداً شديدة على تنقل الفلسطينيين وحدّ بشكلٍ أكبر من الأراضي المتاحة لهم.

وفي المنطقة (ج)، والتي تغطي أكثر من 60% من أراضي الضفة الغربية، تحتفظ إسرائيل تقريباً بالسيطرة الحصرية، بما في ذلك إنفاذ القانون والتخطيط والبناء. كما أن 70% من المنطقة (ج) مشمولة داخل حدود المستوطنات الإسرائيلية، كما أن استخدام وتنمية الأراضي المتبقية في المنطقة مقيّد بشدة على الفلسطينيين.

وعلى الرغم من عدة جولات من المفاوضات بين الفلسطينيين والإسرائيليين برعاية العديد من الأطراف، بما في ذلك الولايات المتحدة، فشل الجانبين في التوصل إلى حل للصراع. وبات في عام 2015 ما يسمى حل الدولتين (دولة فلسطينية مستقلة قابلة للحياة ومحاذية للحدود مع دولة إسرائيل)، الذي يعدّ الخيار المفضل من قبل المجتمع الدولي، أبعد من أي وقت مضى.

أما في قطاع غزة، الذي سحبت منه اسرائيل مستوطناتها في عام 2005، لا تزال الأوضاع أليمة. فمنذ عام 2007، يخضع قطاع غزة الذي تُسيطر عليه حركة حماس تحت الحصار الاسرائيلي، مما يؤدي إلى نقص حاد في المواد الغذائية ومواد البناء والمستلزمات الطبية. ووفقاً لمكتب تنسيق الشؤون الإنسانية، يعاني 57% من سكان القطاع من انعدام الأمن الغذائي وارتفاع البطالة التي تصل إلى حوالي 44%. وبسبب الحصار الاسرائيلي، يُحظر على سكان غزة دخول الضفة الغربية أو البحث عن عمل في اسرائيل. كما لا يُسمح بالصيد التجاري لأبعد من ستة أميالٍ بحرية من الساحل، مما يؤدي إلى انخفاض الإيرادات وارتفاع البطالة.

وفي الوقت نفسه، تستمر اسرائيل، التي يتم التساهل معها من قِبل المجتمع الدولي، بتوسيع مستوطناتها في الضفة الغربية والقدس الشرقية بينما يتم حرمان الفلسطينيين من حقوقهم الثابتة، مثل حق العودة والحق باستقلال وطني، والحق بالسيادة، والحق بتقرير المصير.

وفي ضوء تاريخٍ يزخر بعقودٍ من الاحتلال الاسرائيلي لفلسطين والاحباطات الفلسطينية التي اشعلها دور السُلطة الفلسطينية كوسيط للاحتلال، دفعت زيادة التوترات حول البلدة القديمة في القدس الفلسطينيين إلى رفع مستوى مقاومتهم للاحتلال الاسرائيلي في خريف عام 2015، مما أدى إلى اشتعال ما يُطلق عليه البعض “الانتفاضة الثالثة.”

وقد رافق الاحتجاجات واسعة النطاق التي أدت إلى اشتباكات عنيفة مع قوات الأمن الاسرائيلية عمليات طعن أو محاولات طعن اسرائيلين بشكلٍ يومي تقريباً من قِبل شباب فلسطينيين في كلٍ من الضفة الغربية واسرائيل. ووفقاً لمكتب تنسيق الشؤون الإنسانية، استشهد في الفترة ما بين الأول من أكتوبر و30 نوفمبر، 103 فلسطيني، بما في ذلك 23 طفل، خلال إطلاقٍ للنار وغيرها من الاشتباكات مع قوات الأمن الاسرائيلية. وخلال هذه الفترة، طُعن 17 مواطن اسرائيلي حتى الموت.

في هذا الملف، تقدم Fanack نظرة متعمقة حول العديد من الموضوعات المتعلقة بالنزاع، بما في ذلك المفاوضات العربية الاسرائيلية، والحرب العربية الاسرائيلية، واللاجئين الفلسطينيين، والمستوطنات الإسرائيلية.

Palestinians fleeing their homeland
فلسطينيون يهربون من بلادهم
أرشيف الأونروا

israel_settlement_West-Bank_Camp-Kadum_1976_magnumhh_01425288_03_a658fa0d52
معسكر كدوم, مستوطنة إسرائيلية أنشأت عام 1976. Photo Hollandse Hoogte

Har Homa
هار حوما (جبل أبو غنيم), مستوطنة إسرائيلية أنشأت شمال بيت لحم عام 1997. Photo Fanack

الجدار في القدس / Photo Fanack
الجدار في القدس / Photo Fanack

حي الشجاعية شرق مدينة غزة, تشرين الأول/أكتوبر 2014
حي الشجاعية شرق مدينة غزة, تشرين الأول/أكتوبر 2014 /Photo SIPA Press

خارطة تفاعلية للمستوطنات الإسرائيلية في الضفة الغربية. اضغط على الخارطة لتكشف الخارطة الكاملة.

فلسطينيون يصلون صلاة الجمعة تحت سيطرة قوات الاحتلال خارج الاقصى Photo Anadolu Agency
فلسطينيون يصلون صلاة الجمعة تحت سيطرة قوات الاحتلال خارج الاقصى Photo Anadolu Agency

image_pdfimage_print

Home / Arab-Palestinian-Israeli Conflict

Arab-Palestinian-Israeli Conflict

Introduction

Ever since Great Britain, during the early 20th century, promised the Jews a “national home” in Palestine, even though the overwhelming majority of the existing population consisted of non-Jews (Palestinians), the seeds for an ongoing conflict have been sown. With the support of the British mandatory during the British Mandate of Palestine, the influx of Jewish settlers into Palestine increased. During the United Nations mandate of Palestine, a partition plan on the basis of which the mandate of Palestine would be divided into a newly established Jewish state and an “Arab” state was presented.

The approval of this resolution by the UN General Assembly paved the way for the establishment of the state of Israel in 1948. Meanwhile, a sophisticated campaign of ethnic cleansing of the Palestinian population was underway, which was meant to ensure that the demographic structure of the new state would favour Jews. These events, which Palestinians call the “Nakba” (catastrophe), led to a huge exodus of Palestinians from their homes and their displacement to other parts of Palestine and neighbouring countries.

During the June War of 1967, Israel conquered the West Bank, East Jerusalem, Gaza, and the Golan Heights, territories where the settlement of Jews from all over the world was encouraged, at the expense of the remaining Palestinian population. Israeli jewish settlements were erected with the support of the state of Israel, leading to an increase of the Israeli jewish population in the Palestinian territories (West Bank, including East Jerusalem) from 600 Israli settlers in 1968 to more than 550,000 in 2015, according to the Humanitarian Atlas of the United Nations Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs (UNOCHA) in Palestine.

These Israeli settlements in the Palestinian territories, illegal under international law, are widely considered a major obstacle to peace between Palestinians and Israelis, as their encroachment on Palestinian land is an obstacle to the establishment of a viable Palestinian state with pre-1967 borders.

Other obstacles to peace between Palestinians and Israelis are the status of Jerusalem, the right of return for Palestinian refugees to their homes in Palestine, and the release of Palestinian prisoners from Israeli jails.

In addition, since the Oslo Accords of 1993 and 1995, which divided the West Bank into areas A (Palestinian control), B (Israeli military control, Palestinian civil control) and C (Israeli control) and created the Palestinian Authority, Israel has created irreversible facts on the ground for the sake of its settlement project. By creating a segregated system of roads and closures, building the Separation Wall (parts of which run deep into the West Bank), and expanding settlements in strategic areas, Israel has rendered unattainable the territorial continuity of a future Palestinian state. The Separation Wall has created severe restrictions on the movement of Palestinians and has further reduced the land available to them.

In Area C, which covers more than 60 per cent of the West Bank, Israel retains nearly exclusive control, including of law enforcement, planning, and construction. 70 per cent of Area C is included within the boundaries of Israeli settlements, and Palestinian use and development are heavily restricted in the remainder of the area.

Despite many rounds of negotiations between Palestinians and Israelis under the auspices of several parties, including the United States, the two sides have failed to reach a resolution of the conflict. The so-called two-state solution (a viable independent Palestinian state bordering the state of Israel), which is the option preferred by the international community, is, in 2015, further away than ever.

In the Gaza strip, from which Israel withdrew its settlements in 2005, the situation remains dire. Since 2007, the Hamas-ruled Strip has been under Israeli siege, leading to severe shortages of food, construction materials, and medical supplies. According to UNOCHA, 57 per cent of the population in the densely populated Strip is food insecure and unemployment is high, at about 44 per cent. Due to the Israeli blockade, Gazans are prohibited from entering the West Bank and from seeking work in Israel. Commercial fishing may not be carried out beyond six nautical miles from the coast, leading to decreased revenues and increasing unemployment.

Meanwhile, Israel, tolerated by the international community, continues to expand its settlements on the West Bank and in East Jerusalem while denying Palestinians their inalienable rights, such as the right of return and the rights to national independence, sovereignty, and self-determination.

With a history of decades of Israeli occupation of Palestine and Palestinian frustrations sparked by the role of the Palestinian Authority as facilitator of the occupation, increasing tensions over sovereignty in the Old City of Jerusalem led Palestinians to increase their resistance against the Israeli occupation in the autumn of 2015, leading to what some have dubbed the “Third Intifada.”

Widespread protests leading to violent clashes with the Israeli security forces were accompanied by almost daily stabbings or attempted stabbings of Israelis by young Palestinians in both the West Bank and Israel. According to UNOCHA, between 1 October and 30 November, 103 Palestinians, including 23 children, were killed during shootings and other clashes with Israeli security forces. During this period, 17 Israeli citizens were stabbed to death.

In this Special File, Fanack presents in-depth insight into several topics concerning the conflict, including Arab-Israeli negotiations, Arab-Israeli wars, Palestinian refugees, and Israeli settlements.

Palestinians fleeing their homeland
Palestinians fleeing their homeland
UNRWA Photo Archive. Click for more pictures.

israel_settlement_West-Bank_Camp-Kadum_1976_magnumhh_01425288_03_a658fa0d52
Camp Kadum, an Israeli settlement established in 1976. Photo Hollandse Hoogte

second intifada
The Second Intifada. Photo Hollandse Hoogte

The separation wall running through Jerusalem / Photo Fanack
The separation wall running through Jerusalem. Photo Fanack

Interactive map of Israeli settlements in the West Bank. Click to go to the map.

jewish settlement construction
Construction in an illegal Israeli settlement in the West Bank. Photo Fanack

Shuja’iya neighbourhood east of Gaza City, October 2014 / Photo SIPA Press
Shuja’iya neighbourhood east of Gaza City, October 2014. Photo SIPA Press

Muslims perform their Friday Prayer under Israeli security forces' control outside al-Aqsa Mosque on 1 August 2014 in Jerusalem / Photo Anadolu Agency
Muslims perform their Friday Prayer under Israeli security forces’ control outside al-Aqsa Mosque on 1 August 2014 in Jerusalem. Photo Anadolu Agency

image_pdfimage_print