فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / اليمن

الجمهورية اليمنية

عدن
مدينة عدن. Photo: Saleh Al-OBEIDI / AFP

اليمن (والاسم الرسمي الجمهورية اليمنية) دولةٌ تقع في الزاوية الجنوبية الغربية لشبه الجزيرة العربية. ويشترك اليمن بمعظم حدوده الشمالية مع المملكة العربية السعودية. ويحده من الجنوب خليج عدن وبحر العرب، ومن الغرب البحر الأحمر، ومن الشرق سلطنة عمان.

وتبلغ مساحة اليمن527,968 كيلو متر مربع. وتشمل أراضي اليمن أيضاً عدداً من الجزر كجزر كمران وجزر حنيش في البحر الأحمر، وجزر سقطرى وبئر علي في بحر العرب.

صنعاء هي العاصمة، وتقع في الجزء الغربي من البلاد على سفح جبل نقم الغربي، ليزيد بذلك ارتفاع عن 7200 قدم (2200 متر) فوق مستوى سطح البحر. وتُعد صنعاء منذ قرون عديدة المركز الاقتصادي والسياسي والديني الرئيسي للمرتفعات اليمنية، علماً بأن اسمها يعني “المكان المحصن”.

تأثر تاريخ اليمن وثقافته واقتصاده وسكانه بالموقع الاستراتيجي للبلاد. فالمدخل الجنوبي للبحر الأحمر هو مفترق طرق التجارة القديم والحديث للعالم. وكانت الدول التي احتلت المنطقة المعروفة اليوم باسم اليمن تسيطر على توريد سلع مهمة كاللبان والمر.

وبفضل خصوبته وازدهاره التجاري، كان اليمن موقعاً لعدد من الممالك القديمة. وفي وقت لاحق، كان اليمن المكان الذي تم فيه زراعة البن لأول مرة تجارياً، قبل إدخال نباتات القهوة إلى أجزاء أخرى من العالم.

خريطة اليمن
خريطة اليمن. @Fanack

تأسست الجمهورية اليمنية الحالية في مايو 1990م عندما اندمجت الجمهورية العربية اليمنية (اليمن الشمالي) مع جمهورية اليمن الديمقراطية الشعبية (اليمن الجنوبي). وبموجب اتفاقية الوحدة اعتمدت صنعاء –عصمة الشطر الشمالي سابقاً- كعاصمة سياسية للبلاد، في حين اعتمدت عدن -عاصمة الشطر الجنوبي سابقاً- كعاصة اقتصادية للبلاد.

شهد شطري اليمن، تاريخين مختلفين بشكل لافت للنظر. فبينما لم يمر الشطر الشمالي بأي فترة من الحكم الاستعماري على يد قوة أوروبية، كان اليمن الجنوبي جزءاً من الإمبراطورية البريطانية بين عامي 1839-1967م. والحدود المعاصرة هي إلى حد كبير نتاج أهداف السياسة الخارجية وأفعال بريطانيا والإمبراطورية العثمانية والمملكة العربية السعودية.

عانى اليمن بعد الوحدة من الفساد المزمن والصعوبات الاقتصادية، ولعبت الانقسامات القائمة على أساس الدين والقبلية والجغرافيا دوراً مهماً في السياسة اليمنية، ما عزز اللجوء للعنف بين وقت وآخر.

يقدر عدد السكان بنحو 29.88 مليون نسمة وفقاً لتقديرات عام 2020م. ويشكل العرب غالبية السكان، بالإضافة بعض السكان من أصول أفريقية، وجنوب آسيوية، وأوروبية.

اللغة العربية هي اللغة الرسمية للبلاد، وتستخدم لغة سقطرى المتميزة على نطاق واسع في جزيرة سقطرى وأرخبيلها.

الإسلام هو الدين الرسمي، حيث يشكل المسلمون نحو 99.1% من إجمالي عدد سكان البلاد (ويقدر أن 65% هم من السنة و35% من الشيعة) وفقاً لتقديرات عام 2010م. بينما البقية الباقية، فتشمل اليهود، والبهائيين، والهندوس، والمسيحيين، والعديد منهم لاجئون أو مقيمون أجانب مؤقتون.

الريال اليمني هو العملة الرسمية للبلاد. والموارد الطبيعية تشمل البترول، والأسماك، والملح الصخري، والرخام، والرواسب الصغيرة من الفحم والذهب والرصاص والنيكل والنحاس؛ فضلاً عن التربة الخصبة في الغرب.

من الناحية العسكرية، حل اليمن في المرتبة ٧٤ من ١٣٨ بين الدول التي شملها تقرير Global Firepower لعام ٢٠٢٠.

تحتل الدولة المرتبة ١٦٧ من بين 180 دولة في مؤشر حرية الصحافة العالمي لمراسلون بلا حدود لعام ٢٠٢٠. ويعود السبب الكامن وراء وجود اليمن في هذا المركز المتدني في حالة الانقسام السياسي التي تعيشها البلاد بين الحوثيين في صنعاء وحكومة الرئيس عبد ربه منصور هادي في عدن. وباتت البيئة الإعلامية معادية للحريات الصحفية بشكل متزايد بعد الانتفاضة التي قادها الحوثيون ضد الحكومة اليمنية في 2014م وما تلا ذلك من حربٍ جوية شنتها السعودية على الأهداف التابعة للحوثيين.

من الوجوه البارزة في الإمارات المخرجة خديجة السلامي، وزعيم الحوثيين عبد الملك الحوثي، والرئيس عبد ربه منصور هادي.

تعتبر رياضة قفز الجمل من الرياضات التقليدية في اليمن، إذ يجب على المرء القفز فوق صف من الجمال، والفائز هو الذي يقفز على أكبر عدد من الإبل. وبمرور الزمن، وقع اليمنيون في حب كرة القدم، وهي الآن الرياضة الأكثر شعبية في البلاد. ويدير هذه الرياضة الاتحاد اليمني لكرة القدم. ولم يسبق اليمن الفوز بأي بطولة، على الرغم من استضافة هذه الدولة لكأس الأمم الخليجية في عام 2010م. وتم اختيار علي النونو كأفضل لاعب يمني لمهاراته الاستثنائية وهو يلعب كمهاجم للأهلي صنعاء. وعلى الرغم من مشاركة اليمن الموحد في الألعاب الأولمبية الصيفية اعتباراً من عام 1992م، لكنه لم يفز بأي ميداليات.

يقع معظم اليمن في المنطقة الفاصلة بين نوعين رئيسيين من الرياح وهما الرياح الشمالية المعتادة (من حوض البحر الأبيض المتوسط) والرياح الموسمية الجنوبية الغربية. وتهيمن الرياح الشمالية خلال فصل الشتاء، بينما في الصيف تجلب الرياح الموسمية الجنوبية الغربية الأمطار الرئيسية. وتستثنى المناطق الجنوبية الهامشية على خليج عدن عن هذا النمط بالجبال الوسطى، وتتميز بمناخ استوائي ملحوظ.

يمكن تقسيم اليمن إلى خمس مناطق رئيسية: سهل ساحلي يمتد من الشمال إلى الجنوب يعرف باسم تهامة، والمرتفعات الغربية، والجبال الوسطى (مرتفعات اليمن)، والمرتفعات الشرقية، وأخيراً المناطق الصحراوية الشرقية والشمالية الشرقية. ويتراوح عرض السهل الساحلي من 5 أميال (8 كيلومترات) إلى 40 ميلاً (65 كم).

ومن أبرز المزارات السياحية باب اليمن بمدينة صنعاء التاريخية، وقصر دار الحجر، وحمامات حضرموت، والساحل الذهبى في عدن.
قيادة العربات تعتمد على الجهة اليمنى لعجلة القيادة كما باقي دول الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا، والنطاق الزمني لليمن (GMT+3). أما رمز الاتصال الدولي فهو 967+.

إقرأ المزيد

لا ترتسم البسمة على محيّا اليمن منذ سنواتٍ طويلة. فهذا البلد الذي كان يسمى يوماً باليمن "السعيد"، يعيش نزاعاً طويلاً تتراقص فيه...
حقائق وبيانات
لمحة عامة عن جغرافية ومناخ اليمن، والذي يتضمن وصفا للموارد الطبيعية والبيئة
نظرة عامة عن الحكم في اليمن، بما في ذلك وصف مختلف فروع حكومتها وتحديات الحكم.
أصبح مفهوم حقوق الإنسان معروفاً ومصطلحاً مقبولاً يتم تداوله على نطاقٍ واسع. نظرة عامة عن حقوق الإنسان في اليمن.
يوفر موقع "فاناك" لمحة عامة عن الاقتصاد اليمني، بما في ذلك مختلف القطاعات وأهم الأنشطة الاقتصادية في البلاد.
يوفر موقع "فاناكk" لمحة عامة عن سكان اليمن، بما في ذلك وصف مختلف الأعراق والهويات.
رغم أن اليمن آخذ بالتحضر السريع، إلا أنه بلد ريفي للغاية. يعيش ما يقارب من ثلاثة أرباع السكان حياة ريفية تقليدية في القرى الجبل...
وُجوه
ملفات خاصة: نظرة عامة على المقالات المحلية المتعمقة المرتبطة بهذا وغيرها من ملفات البلدان على موقع Fanack

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: SALEH AL-OBEIDI ©AFP | SALEH AL-OBEIDI ©AFP | ©Fanack

ملف التحديث الإقليمي COVID-19

احصل على آخر تحديث عن تفشي فيروس كورونا في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

تطورات فيروس كورونا

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

Fanack Home / Yemen

Republic Of Yemen

Aden
City of Aden. Photo: Saleh Al-OBEIDI / AFP

Yemen (official name: Republic Of Yemen) is a country located on the southwest corner of the Arabian Peninsula. Yemen shares most of its northern borders with the KSA. It is bordered by the Gulf of Aden and the Arabian Sea from south, by the Red Sea from west and by Oman from east. Yemen has a land area of 527,968 km2. This includes several islands such as Kamaran and Hanish islands in the Red Sea, and Socotra and Bi’r Ali in the Arabian Sea.

Sana’a is the capital. It is located in the western part of the country, on the foot of the western Jabal Nuqm, which is 7200ft (2200m) high above sea level. Over many centuries, Sana’a is considered an economic, political, and religious main center for the Yemeni heights, noting that its name means “the fortified place.”

Yemen’s history, culture, economy, and inhabitants were influenced by the strategic location of this country. The Red Sea southern entry is an ancient and modern trade crossroads for the whole world. The powers that earlier occupied the nowadays Yemen monopolized the supply of crucial products such as frankincense and myrrh.

Due to its fertile land and trade prosperity, Yemen was home to several ancient kingdoms. Later on, Yemen was the first place to grow coffee for trade purposes, before coffee plants were spread to other parts of the world.

Map of Yemen
Map of Yemen. @Fanack

In May 1990, the Republic of Yemen was established when the Arab Republic of Yemen (Northern Yemen) merged with the People’s Democratic Republic of Yemen (Southern Yemen). According to the Yemeni Unification Agreement, Sana’a (Capital of Northern Yemen) was declared the political capital of Yemen, while Aden (Capital of Southern Yemen) was declared the economic capital of Yemen.

Both Yemens (Southern and Northern) witnessed remarkably different histories. While northern Yemen hadn’t ever fallen under European colonization, southern Yemen was a part of the British Empire between 1839 and 1967. The present borders of Yemen are mostly the result of foreign political agendas, and the doings of Britain, the Ottoman Empire, and the KSA.

Yemen suffered from chronic corruption and economic difficulties after the unification. Religious, tribal, and geographical divisions played a vital role in Yemeni politics, something that enhanced the occurrence of violence from time to time.

The Yemeni population is estimated at 29.88 million according to 2020 estimates. Arabs comprise the majority of the population, while some inhabitants have African, South Asian, and European origins.

Arabic is the official language of the country. Socotra language is widely used in Socotra Island and its archipelagos.

Islam is the official religion, as Muslims comprise about 99.1% of the total population (it is estimated that 65% are Sunni, and 35% and Shiite) according to 2010 estimates. The remaining include Jews, Baha’is, Hindus, and Christians, of which many are refugees or temporary foreign residents.

The Yemeni Riyal is the official currency of the country. Natural resources include oil, fish, rock salt, marble, and small deposits of coal, gold, lead, nickel, and copper; in addition to the fertile soil in the west.

In terms of military issues, Yemen is ranked 74th out of 138 countries included in the 2020 Global Firepower Index report..

Yemen ranks 167th out of 180 countries included in the 2020 World Press Freedom Index made by Reporters without Borders. The reason behind this low ranking might be attributed to the political division in the country between the Houthis in Sana’a and the government of President Abdrabbuh Mansur Hadi in Aden. The media environment became increasingly hostile towards press freedoms after the Houthis’ uprising against the Yemeni government in 2014, and air warfare or the KSA on the pro-Houthis targets.

The list of the Yemeni prominent faces includes the producer and director Khadija Al-Salami, the Leader of the Houthis Abdul-Malik Badr al-Din al-Houthi and the president Abdrabbuh Mansur Hadi.

Camel Jumping is one of the traditional sports in Yemen. A player has to jump over a line of camels, and the winner is the one who can jump over the most camels. Over time, Yemenis fell in love with football, and it became the most popular sport in the country. This sport is managed by the Yemen Football Association. Yemen has not won any tournament, though it hosted the Arabian Gulf Cup in 2010.

Due to his exceptional skills, the forward of Al-Ahli Sanaa club Ali al-Nono was selected as the best Yemeni footballer. Unified Yemen didn’t participate in the Summer Olympics until 1992. However, Yemen has not been able so far to win a medal.

Most of Yemen is located in the region separating between two main types of winds; the usual north wind (from the Mediterranean basin) and the southwest seasonal wind. Winter is dominated by north wind, while the southwest seasonal wind brings the main rains in summer. The marginal southern regions of the Gulf of Aden are excluded from this pattern in the central mountains and have a remarkable tropical climate.

Yemen can be divided into 5 main regions: the coastal plain extending from north to south which is known as Tihamah; the western highlands; the central mountains (Yemen highlands); eastern highlands; and the eastern and northeastern desert areas. The coastal plain’s width ranges from 5 miles (8 km) to 40 miles (65 km).

The list of most popular tourist attractions includes Bab al-Yemen in the historic city of Sana’a, Dar Alhajar palace, baths of Hadhramaut, and the Golden Coast in Aden.

Driving vehicles is right sided, similar to the rest of the countries in the Middle East and North Africa. Time range for Yemen is (GMT+3). The international calling code is +967.

Further Reading

Page with a chronological overview of the country file articles published on the Chronicle website.
For many long years, Yemen is struggling. Once called “The Happy” Yemen, the country is stuck in a prolonged struggle where Yemeni parties became a pawn to territorial and international interests.
Basic facts and figures regarding the politics, geography, population, and economy of Yemen.
An overview of Yemen's geography and climate, which includes a description of its natural resources and environment.
Fanack provides an overview of Yemen's governance and politics, with an overview of its different branches of government and governance challenges.
The concept of human rights has become a well-known and widely accepted term to use. An overview of human rights in Yemen.
Fanack provides an overview of Yemen's economy, including its various sectors and key economic activities.
Fanack provides an analysis of Yemen's population and demographics, with an overview of different ethnicities and identities.
Although it is urbanizing rapidly, Yemen is still a very rural country. Nearly three-quarters of the population leads a traditional life in mountain villages, some of them very remote.
Faces of Yemen have names, we hear about them but do not get the entire picture. Get to know these influential people in Fanack’s ‘Faces’ section.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: SALEH AL-OBEIDI ©AFP | SALEH AL-OBEIDI ©AFP | ©Fanack