فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الإمارات العربية المتحدة

الإمارات العربية المتحدة

الإمارات العربية المتحدة
خريطة الإمارات العربية المتحدة. @Fanack ©Fanack

الإمارات (والاسم الرسمي دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة) دولةٌ اتحادية تتواجد على الساحل الشرقي من شبه الجزيرة العربية وتتكون من سبع إمارات (أبوظبي، وعجمان، والفجيرة، والشارقة، ودبي، وأم القيوين، ورأس الخيمة). يحد دولة الإمارات الخليج العربي/الفارسي من الشمال والشمال الغربي، والسعودية من الغرب والجنوب، وسلطنة عمان من الشرق والجنوب. وتمتد الإمارات على مساحة 71,023.6 كيلومتر مربع تقريبـاً من اليابسة، وتشمل هذه المساحة مجموعة من الجزر الموجودة في الخليج. أما مساحة البحر الإقليمية فتبلغ حوالي 27,624.9 كيلومتر مربع.

وتعد إمارة أبوظبي أكبر الإمارات السبع بمساحة تصل إلى 67,340 كم، أي أن مساحتها اليابسة تشكل حوالي 84% من إجمالي مساحة الدولة. وشهدت إمارة أبوظبي تطوراً كبيراً على مدار السنوات الأربعين الماضية، ما يعود الفضل فيه إلى وفرة موارد النفط والغاز الطبيعي.

أما دبي فتعتبر ثاني أكبر الإمارات من حيث المساحة. ويعود تاريخ تأسيس هذه الإمارة إلى عام 1833م، حيث استقرت حينذاك مجموعة أشخاصٍ من قبيلة بني ياس في منطقة الخور بقيادة آل مكتوم. ويعتمد اقتصاد دبي بشكل أساسي على قطاعات التجارة، والخدمات، والتمويل، والسياحة. وتتميز إمارة دبي بتنوعها الثقافي، ومعالمها البارزة، وباستقبالها لملايين الزوار سنوياً.

وكانت المنطقة التي تضم الإمارات السبع اليوم موطئ قدم للعشائر والعائلات العربية تاريخياً. كما أنها متأثرة بالثقافة الفارسية بسبب قربها من إيران.

في القرن الثامن عشر، بسطت البرتغال وهولندا سيطرتهما على هذه المنطقة، إلا أن هذا الوضع اختلف مع نمو القوة البحرية البريطانية هناك. فبحلول عام 1892م، وقعت بريطانيا سلسلة من الاتفاقيات مع مشيخات الخليج. ووفقاً لهذه الاتفاقات، تعهد الشيوخ بعدم الدخول في اتفاقيات أو بإجراء اتصالات مع أية قوة أو دولة أخرى عدا الحكومة البريطانية. ومقابل ذلك، تعهّد البريطانيون بتحمّل مسؤولية الدفاع عن المنطقة من أيّ عدوان خارجي. وحافظت هذه الاتفاقيات على سلامة الطريق البحري، ومهدت لنشوء إمارات الساحل المتصالح. وفي عام ١٩٦٨، أعلنت الحكومة البريطانية نيّتها الانسحاب من الخليج مع نهاية عام 1971م.

في يوليو 1971م، قرّر حكّام إمارات أبوظبي، ودبي، والشارقة، وعجمان، وأم القيوين، والفجيرة تكوين دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة. وفي 2 ديسمبر 1971م تمّ الإعلان رسمياً عن تأسيس دولة اتحادية مستقلة ذات سيادة. وفي 10 فبراير 1972م، انضمّت رأس الخيمة إلى الاتحاد، فأصبح الاتحاد متكاملاً باشتماله على الإمارات السبع.

منذ ذلك الحين، عاش الاتحاد على وتيرة التنافس القائم بين آل نهيان في أبوظبي وآل مكتوم في دبي. بيد أن الأحداث الخارجية المماثلة لحرب الخليج (1990-1991م) والنزاع الإقليمي المستمر مع إيران ساهمت في تعزيز التماسك السياسي للإمارات.

يقدّر عدد السكان بنحو 9.771 مليون نسمة وفقاً لتقديرات عام 2019م؛ ويشكل الوافدون نحو 87.9% من إجمالي عدد السكان. ووفقاً لتقديرات عام 2015م، يشكل أبناء جنوب آسيا 59.4% من إجمالي عدد السكان (الهنود 38.2%، والبنغال 9.5%، والباكستانيون 9.4%، وجنسيات أخرى 2.3%). فيما يشكل المصريون 10.2%، والفلبينيون 6.1%، أما الجنسيات الأخرى فتبلغ حصتها 12.8%.

اللغة العربية هي اللغة الرسمية. كما يجري استخدام الإنجليزية على نطاق واسع. ومن اللغات المتداولة في الإمارات الهندية، والمالايامية، والأوردو، والباشتو، والتغالوغ، والفارسية.

الإسلام الدين الرسمي للدولة، كما يسمح بمُمارسة المعتقدات الدينية الأخرى. وتحتضن دولة الإمارات العديد من الكنائس والمعابد التي تمارس فيها مختلف الجنسيات من مختلف الأديان شعائرها الدينية.

الدرهم الإماراتي هو العملة الرسمية، ويرتبط رسمياً بالدولار الأمريكي. والموارد الطبيعية تشمل البترول والغاز الطبيعي.

من الناحية العسكرية، حلت الإمارات في المرتبة ٤٥ من ١٣٨ بين الدول التي شملها تقرير Global Firepower لعام ٢٠٢٠.

أما البيئة الإعلامية الإماراتية فيعمل فيها العديد من وسائل الإعلام الإماراتية المحلية ومقدّمي الأخبار الدوليين الرئيسيين، حيث تعمل هذه الجهات مع بعضها البعض في بيئةٍ عالمية الطابع. وعلى الرغم من تمتع الإمارات بمكانةٍ عالمية تتيح لها العمل كمركزٍ إعلامي في المنطقة، إلا أن البيئة الإعلامية في هذه الدولة تعاني من قمعٍ شديد نتيجة التشريعات المفروضة على هذا المستوى منذ عام ١٩٨٠. وتحتل الإمارات المرتبة ١٣١ من أصل 180 بلداً على مؤشر حرية الصحافة لمنظمة مراسلون بلا حدود لعام ٢٠٢٠.

من الوجوه البارزة في الإمارات حاكم دبي الشيخ محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم والوجه الجديد في القيادة الإماراتية الشيخ منصور بن زايد والدبلوماسي يوسف العتيبة.

كرة القدم هي الرياضة الأكثر اهتماماً وشعبية في البلاد، على الرغم من التمسك بالرياضات التقليدية للمنطقة تقليديا، مثل الصقور وسباق الجمال. وتأهل المنتخب الإماراتي لكرة القدم إلى كأس العالم 1990م. كما سبق لهذا المنتخب الفوز ببطولة كأس الخليج في نسختي 2007 و٢٠١٣. واستضافت الإمارات كأس العالم تحت 20 سنة عام 2003م.

مناخ الإمارات صحراوي الطابع، فهو دافئ ومُشمس شتاءً، وحار ورطب صيفاً. ويكون المناخ أكثر اعتدالاً، وأقل رطوبة في الجبال الشرقية. وتعتبر الإمارات صحراء بالكامل، وهو ما يجعلها تحتوي على مساحات واسعة من الرمال. وتقع الواحات الهامة في العين على بعد 100 ميل (160 كم) شرق أبو ظبي.

وتزخر دولة الإمارات بالعديد من المعالم المثيرة للزوار؛ ابتداءً من المباني الحديثة ومروراً بالبقع الثقافية الساحرة ووصولاً إلى العديد من المدن المذهلة. ويتيح هذا الأمر لدولة الإمارات أن تكون من أهم الوجهات السياحية في العالم. ومن أبرز المناطق السياحية برج خليفة في دبي، وهو أطول مبنى في العالم على ارتفاع 800 متر، وجزيرة نخلة الجميرة التي تعتبر أكبر جزيرة اصطناعية في العالم، ومسجد الشيخ زايد الكبير بأبوظبي.

قيادة العربات تعتمد على الجهة اليمنى لعجلة القيادة كما باقي دول الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا، والنطاق الزمني للإمارات (GMT+4). أما رمز الاتصال الدولي فهو 971+.

إقرأ المزيد

منذ ما يقرب من قرن، منذ نهاية القرن التاسع عشر، كانت المنطقة التي هي الآن دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة ضمن منطقة نفوذ بريطاني...
حقائق وبيانات
يوفر موقع "فاناك" لمحة عامة عن جغرافية الإمارات، بما في ذلك حدود البلاد، والمناخ المحلي، والموارد الطبيعية.
نظرة عامة عن الحكم في الإمارات العربية المتحدة، بما في ذلك وصف مختلف فروع حكومتها وتحديات الحكم.
أصبح مفهوم حقوق الإنسان معروفاً ومصطلحاً مقبولاً يتم تداوله على نطاقٍ واسع. نظرة عامة عن حقوق الإنسان في الإمارات العربية الم...
استخدمت الإمارات العربية المتحدة عائدات النفط (الذي تم اكتشافه في أوائل الستينيات) وشبكة متنامية من العلاقات التجارية والمال...
تُعتبر الإمارات العربية المتحدة من بين الدول الأغنى في العالم، حيث بلغ إجمالي الدخل القومي للفرد الواحد (تعادُل القدرة الشرائ...
تشتهر الإمارات العربية المتحدة أكثر من أي بلد في شبه الجزيرة العربية بناطحات السحاب ومجمعات التسوق الفخمة والمراكز السياحية. ...
وُجوه
ملفات خاصة: نظرة عامة على المقالات المحلية المتعمقة المرتبطة بهذا وغيرها من ملفات البلدان على موقع Fanack

© Copyright Notice
Click on link to view the associated photo/image:
©Fanack | ©Fanack

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / United Arab Emirates

United Arab Emirates

UAE map
Map of the UAE. @Fanack ©Fanack

Emirates (Official name: United Arab Emirates) is a federal state located on the eastern coast of the Arabian Peninsula. It consists of seven Emirates (Abu Dhabi, Ajman, Fujairah, Sharjah, Dubai, Umm Al Quwain, and Ras Al Khaimah). UAE is bordered by the Arabian/Persian Gulf from north and northwest, By Saudi Arabia from south and west, by Oman from east and south. The total land area of the Emirates is around 71,023.6 km2, including some islands in the Gulf. The territorial sea area is about 27,624.9 km2.

The Abu Dhabi is the largest emirate with a land area of 67,340 km2, accounting for 84% of the country’s total land area. This Emirate witnessed a mass development over the past 40 years, due to the abundance of oil and natural gas resources.

Dubai is the second largest Emirate. It was established in 1833 when a group of people from the tribe of Bani Yas settled in Al-Khor, led by Al Maktoum. Dubai’s economy relies mainly on trade, services, funding, and tourism sectors. Dubai is featured by its cultural diversity, prominent landmarks, and having millions of visitors each year.

This area containing the seven Emirates has been the domain of Arab tribes and families over history. Nevertheless, it was culturally influenced by the Persian culture due to its proximity to Iran.

In the 18th century, Portugal and The Netherlands extended their dominance in this area. However, this situation changed due to the growth of the British naval power there. By 1892, Britain signed a chain of treaties with the Sheikhdoms of the Gulf. According to these treaties, the sheikhs of the Gulf promised and agreed not to make any agreements or communications with any other force except the British government. In return, the British took the burden of defending the region against any external aggression. These treaties preserved the peace of the naval route and set the stage for the emergence of the Trucial States. In 1968, the British government declared its intention to withdraw from the Gulf by the end of 1971.

In July 1971, the leaders of Abu Dhabi, Dubai, Sharjah, Ajman, Umm Al Quwain, and Fujairah decided to form the United Arab Emirates. On the 2nd of December 1971, the establishment of an independent Sovereign federal state was announced officially. On the 10th of February 1972, Ras Al Khaimah joined the federation, and with that, the federation was complete with its seven Emirates.

Since then, the federation lived in a lasting competition between Al Nahyan in Abu Dhabi and Al Maktoum in Dubai. However, foreign events similar to the Gulf war (1990 – 1991) and the ongoing territorial conflict with Iran contributed to further reinforcing the political unity of Emirates.

The population is estimated at 9.771 million according to the estimates of 2019. Expatriates comprise about 87.9% of the total population. According to 2015 estimates, expatriates from south Asia account for 59.4% of the total population (38.2% Indians, 9.5% Bengals, 9.4% Pakistanis, 2.3% other nationalities). Other ethnic groups include Egyptians who account for 10.2% and Philippines who account for 6.1%. The remaining nationalities account for 12.8%.

Arabic is the official language. English however is widely used. Among the other languages used in Emirates are Hindi, Malayalam, Urdu, Pashto, Tagalog and Persian.

Islam is the official religion of the state, but it is also allowed to practice other religious beliefs. Emirates has a lot of churches and religious temples, where different nationalities practice their different liturgies.

The UAE dirham is the official currency, and it is officially linked to the USD. Natural resources include oil and natural gas.

Regarding the military, Emirate is ranked 45th out of 138 countries included in the Global Firepower index report for 2020.

The media environment in the UAE has a lot of local Emirati media outlets and major international news providers, which operate alongside each other in a cosmopolitan environment. Emirates holds an international position providing it with the opportunity to operate as a media center in the region. Nevertheless, the restrictive media legislation that has been in force since 1980 led to implementing a severe oppression on the media environment. Emirates ranks 131th out of 180 counties included in the “Reporters without Borders” free press index for 2020.

The list of prominent Emirati faces includes Sheikh Sheikh Muhammed Bin Rashid Al Maktoum, the new face in the Emirati leadership Sheikh Sheikh Mansour Bin Zayed and the diplomatic politician Yousef Al Otaiba.

Football is the most revered and watched sport in the country, despite holding still to the traditional sports of the region, such as hawks and camel racing. The Emirati national football team had qualified for the World Cup in 1990. It also won the Arabian Gulf Cup in 2007 and 2013. Emirates has hosted the FIFA U-20 World Cup in 2003.

The UAE maintains a desert climate. Winter is warm and sunny, while summer is hot and humid. It is more mild and cool in the eastern mountains. Emirates in its whole is a desert, which means it has vast areas of sand. The important oases are located in Al-Ain, 100 miles away (160 km) from east of Abu Dhabi.

Emirates is full of exciting attractions for visitors; from modern buildings to the cultural mystic spots to many amazing cities. This allows the country to be one of the hottest spots for tourists. The list of the most famous tourist destinations includes Burj Khalifa in Dubai, which is the longest high building in the world with a height of 800m. The list includes also Palm Jumeirah Island which is considered the biggest industrial island in the world and Sheikh Zayed Grand Mosque in Abu Dhabi.

Driving vehicles is right sided, similar to the rest of the countries in the Middle East and North Africa. The UAE time zone is (GMT+4). The international calling code is +971.

Further Reading

Page with a chronological overview of the country file articles published on the Chronicle website.
For almost a century, the territory which today makes up the United Arab Emirates (UAE) fell under Great Britain's sphere of influence. Peace treaties laid the basis for British rule in the Gulf, in exchange for which London promi...
Basic facts and figures regarding the politics, geography, population, and economy of the United Arab Emirates (UAE).
An overview of the UAE's geography, including its state borders, local climate, and natural resources.
Fanack provides an overview of the UAE's governance and politics, with an overview of its different branches of government and governance challenges.
The concept of human rights has become a well-known and widely accepted term to use. An overview of human rights in the United Arab Emirates.
The UAE used its oil revenues (discovered in the early 1960s) and a growing network of commercial and financial ties to attract global investment, skilled expatriate professionals, and migrant workers to achieve phenomenal economi...
Fanack provides an overview of the UAE's population, including a description of its ethnicities and other demographics.
More than any other country on the Arabian Peninsula, the United Arab Emirates (UAE) are known for their skyscrapers, luxurious shopping malls and tourist centres. The traditional Arab culture, which forms the backbone of the UAE'...
faces

© Copyright Notice
Click on link to view the associated photo/image:
©Fanack | ©Fanack

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.