فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / اليمن / المجتمع والإعلام والثقافة / المجتمع

المجتمع

صنعاء Photo Shutterstock
صنعاء Photo Shutterstock

المحتويات

المقدمة

المرأة
الفتيات

التعليم

الصحة

الفقر

الجريمة

 

رغم أن اليمن آخذ بالتحضر السريع، إلا أنه بلد ريفي للغاية. يعيش ما يقارب من ثلاثة أرباع السكان حياة ريفية تقليدية في القرى الجبلية، وبعضهم في مناطق نائية جداً. ينتشر الفقر على نطاق واسع، والظلم الاجتماعي عميق. والتسول شائع في شوارع المدن الكبرى. المرأة محرومة من المساواة في المجتمع. غير أن الرعاية الصحية تتحسن بسرعة.

المرأة

يضع القانون اليمني المرأة على قدم المساواة مع الرجل، ولكن غالباً ما تعيق التقاليد تنفيذ القانون. فعلى سبيل المثال، تتمتع المرأة بحرية السفر وفقاً للقانون، ولكن غالباً ما يتم إرجاع النساء غير المتزوجات دون محرم في المطارات. وتحتاج المرأة المتزوجة إلى موافقة زوجها للسفر إلى الخارج. تبلغ أجور النساء 30% فقط من أجور الرجال. وفي استطلاع عام 2003، خلصت الأمم المتحدة إلى أن 50% من النساء المتزوجات يتعرضن للعنف الذكري. وفي استطلاع عام 2003، أفادت منظمة الصحة العالمية بأن 38,2% من النساء بين سن 15 و 49 عانين شكلاً من أشكال الختان. وعلى لائحة الأمم المتحدة 2011 للمساواة بين الجنسين، تحتل اليمن المرتبة 146.

يقال بأن النساء يبشرن بأمل كبير لليمن. فغالباً ما تنجز الفتيات بشكل أفضل في المدرسة، كون الحياة المهنية هي أفضل وسيلة لتحقيق الاستقلال. للفتيات متسع من الوقت للدراسة، حيث لا يفترض بهن قضاء الوقت خارج المنزل. يتم تنفيذ أغلب الأعمال المكتبية من قبل النساء، مع أن غالباً ما يكون رؤسائهن من الرجال. وبشكل عام، المرأة غير مقبولة في المناصب الإدارية والسياسية. أشار استطلاع للرأي أوائل عام 2008 أن 53% من الذين أجري عليهم البحث – ثلاثة أرباعهم من الذكور الشباب – عارضوا انتخاب أنثى لمنصب المحافظ في صنعاء.

عام 2006، جعل المؤتمر الشعبي العام الحاكم أحد أهدافه دمج عدد أكبر من النساء في الاقتصاد، واضعاً هدف 15% من المناصب الحكومية. غير أنه لم يتم وضع موعد نهائي لتنفيذ هذا الهدف. وتشكل النساء 22% من القوة العاملة. وتكون هذه النسبة 38% في الاقتصاد غير الرسمي، في حين أن نصيب الإناث من القطاع العام الرسمي هو 9% فقط. عام 2010، حدد تقرير التنمية البشرية الخسائر الاقتصادية الناجمة عن عدم المساواة بأكثر من 80%، مقارنة مع هولندا 17% والصين 45% وقطر 67% والعراق 75%.

Gender and education in Yemen society
الجنس والتعليم في المجتمع اليمني

Life expectancy and economic outlook Yemen
متوسط العمر المتوقع والتوقعات الاقتصادية

المالفتياترأة

بشكل عام ليس للفتيات اليمنيات فرص كثيرة للتطور الذاتي. فنسبة الفتيات اللواتي يبلغن 14 عاماً ولم يلتحقن بمدرسة أو بعمل هي الأعلى في العالم: 44% (الذكور 18%)، مع فارق بين المناطق الحضرية (18%) والريفية (52%) (تقرير التنمية العالمية 2007). عام 2010، بم يلتحق 567,702 طفل في سن الذهاب إلى المدرسة الابتدائية في مدرسة إبتدائية أو ثانوية (المصدر: البنك الدولي) وفي معظم العائلات يتم إخراج الفتيات من المدرسة في سن مبكرة من أجل إعدادهن للأمومة. وفي العقود الأخيرة، ارتفع سن الزواج من 10 إلى 15 عاماً (والرجال من 21 إلى 21,5)، غير أن 52% من الفتيات لا يزلن يتزوجن قبل أن يبلغن 18 عاماً (7% بالنسبة للذكور) (تقرير التنمية العالمية 2006).

تتزوج واحدة من أصل سبع فتيات قبل أن تبلغ الرابعة عشرة من عمرها. والتباينات الجغرافية كبيرة. ففي المكلا (على الساحل الجنوبي) كان متوسط سن الزواج عشر سنوات، بينما كان في الحديدة وحضرموت ثماني سنوات. ويجري التحديث في المدن الكبيرة. حيث تدخل الفتيات الآن الأماكن العامة بأرقام تشهد نمواً سريعاً، غير أنها لا تزال محجبة وأقلية. عام 2008، رفض البرلمان التعديل الذي اقترحته اللجنة الوطنية للمرأة لرفع السن الأدنى للزواج إلى 18 عام. لفتت قضية نجود علي، فتاة من صنعاء عمرها 9 سنوات تم تزويجها قسراً إلى رجل عنيف يبلغ من العمر ثلاث أضعاف عمرها، انتباه العالم، فقام البرلمان بالموافقة على اقتراح رفع سن الزواج إلى سبعة عشر عاماً، ولكنه رفض بعد ذلك لأسباب غير معروفة.

التعليم

كان التعليم حكراً على أبناء النخبة من الأسياد والقضاة حتى ثورة عام 1962. وكان هناك عدد قليل من المدارس. ومنذ الثورة، تم بناء المدارس في جميع أنحاء البلاد، لتعليم الأجيال الجديدة. تبلغ نسبة البالغين المتعلمين اليوم 60%، وتلحق النساء بركب التعليم بسرعة من خلال مراكز محو الأمية في المدن والبلدات الرئيسية.

تقع المدارس على قمم التلال بين القرى. عادة يحضر تلاميذ المرحلة الابتدائية الدروس الصباحية، ويستخدم الأطفال الأكبر سناً نفس الصفوف في فترة بعد الظهر. تم تحديد الرسوم على بضعة مئات من الريالات (بضعة دولارات) في السنة، بالإضافة إلى تكاليف الزي المدرسي. عام 2009، دخل أكثر من 80% من مجموع الأطفال إلى المدرسة الابتدائية، وتابع 40% من الطلاب التعليم الثانوي، وتلقى 10% من الطلاب التعليم العالي. الأرقام بالنسبة للفتيان أعلى بكثير من الفتيات. ينهي معظم الذكور مرحلة التعليم الابتدائي. أما بالنسبة للفتيات، ينهي فقط نصف الـ 64% (عام 2005، حيث ارتفعت من 45% عام 2001) من الفتيات تعليمهن، واللواتي التحقن بالمدرسة بشكل فعلي. أما البقية فينقطعن عن الدراسة عند أول إشارة إلى النضج الجنسي. ونسبة الالتحاق بالمدرسة الثانوية هي 27% بالنسبة للإناث و 47% بالنسبة للذكور (2009). ويأتي المعلمون من الخارج (من مصر وسوريا و الأراضي الفلسطينية المحتلة عادة).

من غير الواضح ما إذا كان الأطفال الذين ينتمون إلى طبقة الأخدام الدنيا يتلقون التعليم، ولا عددهم في حال ذلك. فالقاعدة غير المكتوبة تقول بأن الأخدام غير مؤهلين للحصول على الخدمات الاجتماعية، وذلك لأن القليل من اليمنيين يسمحون لأبنائهم بالاختلاط بهم.

Literacy Yemen
معرفة القراءة والكتابة

Education enrolment rate Yemen
معدل الالتحاق بالصف

الصحة

كانت الرعاية الصحية المؤسساتية في اليمن معدومة عملياً حتى ستينات القرن العشرين. ومنذ ذلك الوقت، تم بناء العديد من المستشفيات والعيادات الطبية في المناطق الريفية النائية، وتم تخريج آلاف الأطباء والعاملين في مجال الصحة. وتأرجح الإنفاق الحكومي على الرعاية الصحية عام 2009 حول 5% من مجموع النفقات (المتوسط العالمي 10%)، مع وجود ثغرات تم ملؤها عن طريق المساعدات الخارجية. يتم إنفاق ما يقارب من ثلث مجموع النفقات العامة والخاصة في مجال الصحة خارج اليمن. وهناك أقل من خمسين طبيباً يمنياً لكل 100,000 شخص (المتوسط العالمي 112).

يعيش عدد كبير من اليمنيين الريفيين في قرى منعزلة، على بعد ساعات من المساعدات الطبية. والمعرفة بالقضايا الصحية في المناطق الريفية لا تزال محدودة للغاية. ونتيجة لذلك، تتفشى حالات الأمراض بشكل منتظم، مثل السل والكوليرا، كما يتفشى شلل الأطفال وحمى الوادي المتصدع وأنفلونزا الطيور بشكل دوري. أكثر من نصف السكان (الذين يعيشون على السفوح وطول الساحل) عرضة للإصابة بمرض الملاريا، والتي تسبب 30,000 حالة وفاة سنوياً. وهناك فقط ما يزيد عن 2000 حالة مسجلة لفيروس نقص المناعة البشرية/الإيدز، غير أن المكتب الإقليمي لمنظمة الصحة العالمية يقدر الرقم الفعلي بـ 23,000 عام 2009، 237 منهم فقط يتلقون العلاج.

على مدى عدة عقود، كانت المرأة اليمنية هي الأكثر خصوبة في العالم، حيث تلد أكثر من سبعة أطفال وسطياً. انخفض هذا المعدل إلى 4,7 الآن، وذلك نظراً للجهود المتواصلة التي يبذلها تحالف عريض من زعماء سياسيين ودينيين وقبليين للتأكيد على فوائد الأسرة النووية. ارتفع استخدام وسائل منع الحمل من 10% إلى 25% خلال العقد الماضي. وانخفضت وفيات الأمهات من 1,4% إلى 0,3%، وذلك نتيجة لتواجد عاملي الرعاية الصحية في واحدة من كل أربع ولادات. ويعادل الرقم الأخير ضعف الرقم الذي كان عام 1990، وذلك بفضل تدريب الآلاف من القابلات. وانخفضت وفيات الأطفال (دون سن الخامسة) من 142 لكل 1000 طفل عام 1990 إلى 78 عام 2009، كان 68 منهم من الرضع.

يعاني حوالي نصف الأطفال اليمنيين من نقص الوزن وثلثهم من الوهن الشديد بسبب سوء التغذية. الاستخدام الواسع النطاق والمتزايد للقات يضر بالصحة لأنه يكبح الجوع مما يؤدي إلى اضطرابات في الأكل والنوم. علاوة على ذلك، أدى الاستخدام المتزايد للأسمدة والمبيدات في زراعة القات إلى مشاكل صحية عديدة. يبلغ متوسط العمر المتوقع لنساء اليمن 67 وللرجال 63، وهذا هو المتوسط الإقليمي بالضبط، ولكنه دون المتوسط العالمي (71 و 68).

Fertility rate projection Yemen
معدل الخصوبة

Life expectancy Yemen
متوسط العمر المتوقع

الفقر

وفق الأرقام الدولية، يعتبر اليمن أفقر دولة في الشرق الأوسط وواحد من أفقر الدول في آسيا. ربما من المفيد أن نقارن مقاييس اليمن بمقاييس أفريقيا. عام 2011، احتلت اليمن المرتبة 154 في مؤشر التنمية البشرية للأمم المتحدة من أصل 187 دولة، فوق السنغال ونيجيربا مباشرة وتحت بلدان مثل بابوا وغينيا الجديدة وتنزانيا. يبلغ متوسط الدخل السنوي 2,213 دولار مقارنة مع 5,269 في مصر (المرتبة 101) و 23,274 دولار في المملكة العربية السعودية (المرتبة 55). يعيش نصف السكان تقريباً (45%) على أقل من دولارين، و 17,5% على 1.25 دولار أو أقل يومياً.

الفروقات في اليمن كبيرة، حيث يشكل الـ 10% الأغنى 30% من الدخل القومي، بينما يشكل الـ 10% الدنيا 1,3% فقط. تشير الأرقام إلى أن سكان الريف هم الأفقر، ولكنها قد تكون مضللة أحياناً لأن سكان الريف مكتفون ذاتياً إلى حد كبير مع تراجع في الإنتاج المحلي. أما بالنسبة لفقراء المناطق الحضرية فالوضع أسوأ، حيث لا مفر لهم من الجوع. ويجوب المتسولون شوارع المدينة. وينتظر الجياع مخلفات الطعام خارج المطاعم التي على طرفي الطريق. بالكاد تحسن الوضع خلال العقدين الماضيين، يتم ترجيح أي تحسن وفق معدل النمو السكاني المرتفع.

مع ذلك، هناك العديد من السكان الأثرياء وطبقة متوسطة نامية. لا يتم تسجيل قسم كبير من أموال النفط وأرباح القات والتحويلات المالية للعمال المغتربين، غير أنها تغذي الاقتصاد غير الرسمي دون شك. ونتيجة لذلك، يهيمن الاقتصاد غير الرسمي على اليمن.

الجريمة

على مدى سنوات عديدة، كانت اليمن تعتبر من أكثر الدول تسليحاً في العالم، حيث تحظى الأسلحة النارية الصغيرة بشعبية كبيرة بين سكان القبائل. تملأ صور أفراد القبائل المسلحين ببنادق كلاشنيكوف والمسدسات والخناجر العديد من الأخبار وتقارير البلاد. ولا تزال الأسلحة النارية الصغيرة تحظى بشعبية كبيرة في المناطق الريفية. ولكن الحظر الأخير على الأسلحة وضع حداً لحمل السلاح في المناطق الحضرية. ومن المعتقد بأن هناك 6-9 ملايين سلاح ناري صغير في البلاد (50 مليون سابقاً)، وهو ما يعادل 40 قطعة سلاح لكل مئة شخص، وهو نصف الرقم المسجل في الولايات المتحدة.

ساهم الحظر المفروض على الأسلحة في المناطق الحضرية في انخفاض معدلات الجريمة إلى حد كبير، حيث انخفضت بنسبة 35%. وهناك زيادة بطيئة في الجرائم المرتكبة من قبل أشخاص غير مسلحين، إلا أنها تبقى مشكلة صغيرة مقارنة بالدول الأخرى. يبلغ المعدل الرسمي للجريمة في اليمن 1,2 لكل 100 شخص. وتكاد تكون السرقة والسطو معدومة، فالمدن آمنة جداً ليلاً ونهاراً. فالقوانين المتعلقة بالجريمة والعقوبة، على أساس الشريعة الإسلامية، قاسية، ويتم عرضياً تنفيذ حكم الشنق العلني للقتلة والجلد العلني وقطع اليد للصوص والسارقين والرجم العلني للزناة. ويتراوح عدد السجناء من 3000 إلى 14,000. ونتيجة صراع العصابات الشمالية والاضطرابات الجنوبية، يتزايد عدد السجناء السياسيين المحتجزين دون تهمة أو محاكمة.

غالباً ما احتلت اليمن عناوين الصحف العالمية بأخبار عن اختطاف السياح من قبل قبليين. ففي الفترة بين عامي 1996 و 2001، حدثت 47 عملية خطف لأجانب، تشمل 114 سائحاً و 43 مغترباً. ولكن عمليات الخطف اليمنية تختلف عن عمليات الخطف الجنائية العادية. فالسبب الرئيسي لعملية الخطف هو الضغط على الحكومة (وشركات النفط الأجنبية) لبناء المدارس و الطرقات و المرافق الطبية في المناطق القبلية المهملة. وهو استمرار لتقليد قديم، حيث يقوم الحكام بموجبه باحتجاز أبناء القبائل لإجبار زعماء القبائل على الخضوع لهم. وعادة تتم معاملة السياح المختطفين والمغتربين كضيوف، ويتم إطلاق سراحهم دون أذى. وأصبحت الحكومة أقل تساهلاً تجاه عمليات الاختطاف بعد حادثتي عام 1999 (التي حدثت على أيدي أعضاء في تنظيم القاعدة بدلاً من قبليين).

إقرأ المزيد

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: G Allen Penton ©Shutterstock | ©Fanack | ©Fanack | ©Fanack | ©Fanack | ©Fanack | ©Fanack

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

ملف التحديث الإقليمي COVID-19

احصل على آخر تحديث عن تفشي فيروس كورونا في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

تطورات فيروس كورونا

Fanack Home / Yemen / Society Media Culture / Society

Society

Sanaa Photo Shutterstock
Sanaa Photo Shutterstock

Contents

Introduction
Women
Girls
Education
Health
Poverty
Crime

Introduction

Although it is urbanizing rapidly, Yemen is still a very rural country. Nearly three-quarters of the population leads a traditional life in mountain villages, some of them very remote. Poverty is widespread, social injustice is deep. Begging is common in the streets of the big cities. Women are denied an equal position in society. Health care is, however, improving rapidly.

Women

Yemeni law places women on an equal footing with men, but the execution of the law is often impeded by tradition. For instance, according to the law, women enjoy freedom of travel, but unmarried women who are not accompanied by a male relative are often turned back at airports. A married woman requires her husband’s consent to travel abroad. Women’s wages are only 30 percent of men’s. In a 2003 survey the UN concluded that 50 percent of all married women were subject to male violence. According to the World Health Organization (WHO), in 2003 an estimated 38.2 percent of women between 15 and 49 years of age suffered a form of genital mutilation. On the 2011 UN Gender Inequality Index, Yemen ranked an extremely low 146th.

That said, women hold much promise for Yemen. Girls often perform better at school, as a professional career is the best way to achieve independence. Girls have ample time to study, as they are not supposed to spend time outside the home. Most office work is performed by females, although their superiors are usually men. Women are generally not accepted in managerial and political positions. An opinion poll in early 2008 indicated that 53 percent of the respondents – of whom three-quarters were educated young males – opposed the election of a female mayor in Sanaa.

In 2006, the ruling General People’s Congress (GPC) made it one of its goals to integrate more women into the economy, setting a target of 15 percent of all government positions. A deadline for meeting this target has not, however, been established. Women constitute 22 percent of the total labour force. For the informal economy the figure is 38 percent, while the female segment of the formal public sector is only 9 percent. In 2010 the Human Development Report put the economic loss due to gender inequality at over 80 percent, compared with the Netherlands (17 percent), China (45 percent), Qatar (67 percent), and Iraq (75 percent).

Gender and education in Yemen society
Gender and education in Yemen society

Life expectancy and economic outlook Yemen
Life expectancy and economic outlook Yemen

Girls

Yemeni girls generally do not have much opportunity for self-development. The percentage of fourteen-year-old girls neither in school or employed in Yemen is the highest in the world: 44 percent (boys 18 percent), with an urban-rural split of 18 percent and 52 percent (World Development Report 2007). In 2010, 567,702 primary-school-age children were not enrolled in primary of secondary school (source World Bank). In most families, girls are taken out of school at a young age in order to prepare for maternity. In the last decades, the average marriage age has risen from ten to fifteen years (for men, from 21 to 21.5), although 52 percent of girls still marry before they turn 18 (7 percent for boys) (World Development Report 2006).

One in seven girls marries before reaching the age of fourteen. Geographical variations are great. In al-Mukalla (on the south coast), the average marriage age was ten, while in al-Hudayda and the Hadramawt it was eight. In the larger cities, modernization is proceeding. Girls are now entering the public space in fast-growing numbers, although they remain veiled and are still a minority. In 2008, an amendment proposed by the National Women’s Committee to raise the minimum marriage age to eighteen years was rejected by Parliament. The case of Nujood Ali, a nine-year-old Sanaa girl forcibly married to a violent man three times her age, drew global attention, after which a proposal to raise the marriage age to seventeen years was accepted by Parliament but then rejected for unknown reasons.

Education

Until the revolution of 1962, education was the privilege of the elite offspring of sayyids and qadis. Only a few schools existed. Since the revolution, schools have been built across the country, educating new generations. Today, 60 percent of all Yemeni adults are literate, with women catching up rapidly through adult-illiteracy-eradication centres in all major cities and towns.

Schools are located on hill tops, between villages. Primary pupils usually attend morning sessions, and the older children use the same classroom in the afternoons. Fees are limited to a few hundred riyals (a few dollars) per year, plus the cost of a school uniform. In 2009 over 80 percent of all children entered primary school, 40 percent continued into secondary schooling, and 10 percent received tertiary education. The figures for boys are much higher than for girls. Most of the boys finish primary school. Of the girls, only half of the 64 percent (2005, up from 45 percent in 2001) who enrol actually finish school; the rest drop out at the first sign of sexual maturity. Secondary school enrolment is 27 percent for girls and 47 percent for boys (2009). Teachers come from abroad (traditionally from Egypt, Syria, and the Occupied Palestinian Territories).

It is unclear whether children belonging to the Akhdam underclass receive an education, and if so, how many. It is an unwritten rule that the Akhdam do not qualify for social services, because few Yemenis allow their children to mix with them.

Health

Institutional health care in Yemen was virtually non-existent until the 1960s. Many hospitals and outlying medical clinics have since been built, and thousands of doctors and health workers have been educated. Government expenditure on health care in 2009 hovered around 5 percent of total expenditure (world average, 10 percent), leaving gaps to be filled by foreign-aid organizations. Nearly a third of all public and private health-related expenditure is spent outside of Yemen. There are fewer than fifty physicians for every 100,000 Yemenis (world average, 112).

Many rural Yemenis live in isolated villages, hours from medical assistance. Knowledge of health issues in rural areas is still very limited. As a consequence, there are regular outbreaks of diseases such as tuberculosis and cholera, and periodic outbreaks of polio, Rift Valley fever, and bird flu. More than half the population (living in the foothills and along the coast) is prone to malaria, which causes 30,000 deaths a year. There are just over 2,000 reported cases of HIV/AIDS, although the regional office of the World Health Organization estimates the actual figure to be 23,000 (2009), of which only 237 receive treatment.

Yemeni women have for decades been the most fertile of the world, producing more than seven children on average. This figure has now dropped to 4.7 percent, due to continuing efforts by a broad coalition of political, religious, and tribal leaders to emphasize the advantages of the nuclear family. The use of contraceptives has risen from 10 percent to 25 percent in the last decade. Maternal death has dropped from 1.4 percent to 0.3 percent, as skilled health-care workers are now present at one in every four births. This latter is nearly double the figure of 1990, thanks to the training of thousands of midwives. Child mortality (under five years) has dropped from 142 per 1,000 in 1990 to 78 in 2009, of whom 68 were infants.

About half of all Yemeni children are underweight and a third severely stunted due to malnutrition. The widespread and increasing use of qat harms health, as it suppresses hunger, which results in eating and sleeping disorders. Furthermore, the increasing use of fertilizers and pesticides in qat cultivation has led to numerous health problems. Life expectancy for Yemeni women is 67 and for men 63, which is exactly the regional average but below world averages (71 and 68).

Fertility rate projection Yemen
Fertility rate projection Yemen

Life expectancy Yemen
Life expectancy Yemen

Poverty

According to international figures, Yemen is the poorest country in the Middle East and one of the poorest in Asia. It is perhaps more useful to compare Yemen’s standards of living with those of Africa. In 2011, Yemen ranked 154th on the UN’s Human Development Index of 187 nations, just above Senegal and Nigeria but below countries such as Papua New Guinea or Tanzania. Average annual income stands officially at USD 2,213, compared to Egypt USD 5,269 and Saudi Arabia USD 23,274. Almost half the population (45 percent) lives on less than 2 US dollars a day, and 17.5 percent on only USD 1.25 or less.

The disparities in Yemen are great, the top 10 percent making 30 percent of the national income, while the bottom 10 percent makes only 1.3 percent. The figures suggest that the rural population is poorest, but this might be misleading, as the rural population is largely self-sufficient, with home-grown produce to fall back on. The situation is worse for the urban poor, for whom there is no escape from hunger. Beggars roam the city streets. Hungry people wait for leftovers outside roadside restaurants. The situation has barely improved during the last two decades, any advance being outweighed by the high rate of population growth.

Nevertheless, there are many wealthy inhabitants and a growing middle class. A significant portion of the oil money, qat profits, and remittances from expatriate workers goes unrecorded but nonetheless fuels the informal economy. As a result, Yemen is dominated by its informal economy.

Crime

For many years, Yemen was considered one of the most heavily armed countries in the world, small firearms being popular among the tribal population. Tribal people armed with Kalashnikovs, pistols, or daggers have illustrated many news and country reports. Small firearms remain popular in rural areas, but a recent arms ban has ended the carrying of weapons in urban areas. It is now believed there are between six and nine million small firearms present in the country (previously fifty million), which equates to 40 guns per hundred people, which is half the figure for the United States.

The ban on weapons in urban areas has contributed greatly to the decline in crime, which has reportedly dropped by 35 percent. There is a slow increase in crimes perpetrated by unarmed people, but it remains a minor problem compared to other countries; Yemen has an official crime rate of 1.2 per capita, per 100 people. Theft and robbery are virtually non-existent; cities are very safe night and day. Laws on crime and sentencing, based on Sharia, are harsh, with occasional public hangings of murderers, public flogging and hand amputation of thieves and robbers, and public stoning of adulterers. The number of prisoners varies between 3,000 and 14,000. As a result of the northern guerrilla conflict and southern unrest, increasing numbers of political prisoners are purportedly being held without charge or trial.

Yemen has often made world headlines with news of the kidnapping of tourists by tribal people. In the period between 1996 and 2001, there were 47 kidnappings of foreigners, involving 114 tourists and 43 expatriates. Yemeni kidnappings are, however, different from ‘ordinary’ criminal kidnappings. The primary reason for the abductions is to pressure the government (and foreign oil companies) to build roads, schools, and medical facilities in neglected tribal areas. This is a continuation of an old tradition, according to which rulers held tribal sons in order to force tribal leaders into submission. The kidnapped tourists and expatriates are usually treated as guests and released unharmed. After two deadly kidnappings in 1999 (reportedly by al-Qaeda affiliates rather than by tribal people), the government became less lenient towards abduction.

Further Reading

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: G Allen Penton ©Shutterstock | ©Fanack | ©Fanack | ©Fanack | ©Fanack

"Ignorance leads to fear, fear leads to hatred, and hatred leads to violence.
This is the equation."

IBN RUSHD/AVERROES (1126 – 1198)

We are a Dutch not for profit organisation (NGO), financed solely by individuals who share our belief in the importance of publishing and disseminating reliable, unbiased information on the Middle East & North Africa region. To represent the voice of the region’s people, we carefully echo the region’s heartbeat by offering fact-checked and therefore credible information.

Your support is greatly appreciated and helpful!

COVID-19 UPDATE

Get the latest update on the Coronavirus outbreak in the Middle East and North Africa.

Regional Update