Home / About Fanack / Events / NATO Security and the Arab World

NATO Security and the Arab World

NATO security and the arab world Jamie Shea
Jamie Shea, NATO’s Deputy Assistant Secretary General for Emerging Security Challenges, gives his speech at The Hague Institute for Global Justice, in The Hague, The Netherlands, 17 January 2017. Photo The Hague Institute for Global Justice

On 17 January 2017, Fanack held its MENA conference at The Hague Institute. The conference on NATO Security and the Arab World shed light on the role of NATO in the Middle East, and the challenges it faces there. The introduction to the conference was provided by Herman van Campenhout, Director of the Fanack Foundation International, and Max Christern, Deputy Managing Editor at Fanack and former NRC correspondent, who also moderated the expert panel following the keynote presentation. Beatrice Maneshi gave an overview of Fanack’s different programs, which include the Chronicle, an Academy, and development projects. Jamie Shea, NATO’s Deputy Assistant Secretary General for Emerging Security Challenges, was the keynote speaker.

Mr Shea explained that, whereas the East poses a traditional security challenge, “a classical type of threat” which NATO can draw on Cold War experiences to address, the Global South has a distinct character that is marked by on-going instability and fragmentation, especially in the Arab world.

A number of recent challenges must be addressed in order to create more stability and security in the region. As long as conflicts continue, they will continue to exacerbate radicalization, violence and poverty. A decline in good governance allows for increased corruption and criminal activity. Climate change and its consequences for resources and water availability, as well as the migration flows it generates, put further pressure on existing tensions in the Global South. Terrorism hinders development and affects human security gravely.

From a security point of view, specifically, it must be considered how terrorist groups utilize technological developments. NATO and international partners must be aware of the ever-changing circumstances in which they operate. ISIL’s outreach and recruitment of foreign fighters, for example, is unprecedented, and international cooperation is needed to prevent or limit terrorist groups’ exploitation of new technologies.

Relating to the role of NATO, this difficult mix of interconnected challenges from the South will be hard to resolve. Mr. Shea stated that the Arab world cannot be framed as a “soft security” issue only, as the security risks that emanate from the Middle East and North Africa can also take the form of classic threats. Additionally, a new headquarters in the region could improve upon the command structure in the South, as well as build upon NATO’s situational awareness which has already been enhanced e.g. by the utilization of drone technology.

Mr. Shea also emphasized the important role of local actors. Local action is more effective, politically sustainable, and cheaper than continued NATO intervention.

NATO and security in the arab world panel discussion
A panel discussion among experts follows Jamie Shea’s keynote speech, at The Hague Institute for Global Justice, 17 January 2017. Photo The Hague Institute for Global Justice

Following the keynote presentation, a panel of experts further discussed the points Mr. Shea raised. Anna Borshchevskaya, Ira Weiner Fellow at the Washington Institute, focused on Russia’s policy towards the Middle East. According to Ms.
Borshchevskaya, Russia is not genuinely interested in ending the conflict in Syria, but is asserting its influence in the region and trying to undermine the position of the U.S. and the EU. “What will be important going forward is that western institutions are brought back to the forefront… Western presence is a source for stability and peace.”

Robert Serry, until recently the United Nations Special Coordinator for the Middle East Peace Process and the UN Secretary-General’s Personal Representative to the Palestine Liberation Organization and the Palestinian Authority, remarked on NATO’s previous cooperation with the EU. “For an institution like NATO, success always means that others will have to complement in terms of nation building.” NATO should reconsider its emphasis on military successes, because those are not enough to “bring democracy to the Arab world.”

Nikolaos van Dam, former Dutch ambassador in Iraq, Egypt, Turkey, Germany, Indonesia, Azerbaijan and Special Envoy for Syria, stated that in some cases, doing nothing is better than doing the wrong thing. Yet politicians in western democracies have to do something – “they have other priorities.” He said that military interventions have created many problems rather than solving them, and, following Ms Borshchevskaya’s and Mr Serry’s points about creating sustainable stability, posited that “if you have the principle of the responsibility to protect, then you also have to have aftercare.”

الصفحة الرئيسية / عن الموقع / فعاليات / أمن حلف شمال الأطلسي (الناتو) والعالم العربي

أمن حلف شمال الأطلسي (الناتو) والعالم العربي

 أمن حلف شمال الأطلسي والعالم العربي جايمي باترك
جايمي باترك شي، نائب الأمين العام المساعد لقسم التحديات الأمنية الناشئة، يُلقي خطابه في معهد لاهاي للعدالة الدولية، في لاهاي، هولندا، 17 يناير 2017. Photo The Hague Institute for Global Justice

عقدت مؤسسة Fanack في 17 يناير 2017 مؤتمرها حول منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا في معهد لاهاي. سلط المؤتمر الذي حمل عنوان “أمن حلف شمال الأطلسي (الناتو) والعالم العربي،” الضوء على دور حلف شمال الأطلسي (الناتو) في الشرق الأوسط والتحديات التي يواجهها هناك. إفتتح المؤتمر السيد هيرمان فان كامبنهاوت، مدير مؤسسة Fanack الدولية، وماكس كريسترن، نائب مدير التحرير في Fanack ومراسل سابق في NRC، الذي ترأس أيضاً الحلقة النقاشية بعد عرض الخطاب الرئيسي. كما قدمت بياترس مانيشي لمحةً عامة عن برامج Fanack المختلفة، والتي تشتمل على Fanack المؤرخ للأحداث (the Chronicle)، وأكاديمية Fanack، ومشاريع التنمية الأخرى. كان السيد جايمي باترك شي، نائب الأمين العام المساعد لقسم التحديات الأمنية الناشئة في مقر حلف شمال الأطلسي في بروكسل، المتحدث الرئيسي.

أوضح السيد شي، أنه في حين يشكل الشرق تحدياً أمنياً تقليدياً، “نمطٌ تقليدي من التهديد،” والذي يمكن لحلف شمال الأطلسي (الناتو) الإنتفاع من خبراته في الحرب الباردة لمعالجته، فإن الطابع المختلف للدول النامية يمتاز بعدم الاستقرار والتجزئة المستمرة، وبخاصة في العالم العربي.

ينبغي معالجة عدد من التحديات المستجدة من أجل خلق المزيد من الاستقرار والأمن في المنطقة. وطالما استمرت الصراعات، ستتواصل مفاقمة التطرف والعنف والفقر، إذ يسمح تراجع الحكم الرشيد بزيادة الفساد والنشاط الإجرامي. كما يضع تغير المناخ وآثاره على الموارد وتوافر المياه، فضلاً عن تدفقات الهجرة التي يولدها، المزيد من الضغوطات على التوترات القائمة في الدول النامية. كما يُعيق الإرهاب، التنمية، ويؤثر على الأمن البشري إلى حدٍ كبير.

ومن الناحية الأمنية، تحديداً، ينبغي النظر في كيفية استفادة الجماعات الإرهابية من التطورات التكنولوجية. ولا بد أن يكون حلف شمال الأطلسي (الناتو) والشركاء الدوليين على علمٍ بالظروف المتغيرة التي يعملون بها، فعلى سبيل المثال، إنتشار تنظيم الدولة الإسلامية “داعش” وتجنيده للمقاتلين الأجانب، أمرٌ لم يسبق له مثيل، إذ تبرز الحاجة إلى تعاونٍ دوليّ لمنع أو الحدّ من استغلال الجماعات الإرهابية للتكنولوجيا الجديدة.

وفيما يتعلق بدور حلف شمال الأطلسي (الناتو)، فسيكون من الصعب حل هذا المزيج المعقد من التحديات المتشابكة في جنوب الكرة الأرضية. كما صرح السيد شي أنه لا يمكن تأطير العالم العربي بمشكلة “الأمن الناعم” فحسب، ذلك أنّ المخاطر الأمنية التي تنطلق من منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا قد تتخذ أيضاً شكل تهديداتٍ تقليدية. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، يمكن لمقرات القيادة الجديدة في المنطقة أن تتحسن نظير هيكل القيادة في الجنوب، إلى جانب الاعتماد على إلمام حلف شمال الأطلسي بالأوضاع، الذي سبق أن تم تعزيزه بواسطة استخدام تكنولوجيا الطائرات بدون طيار، على سبيل المثال.
كما أكدّ السيد شي أيضاً على أهمية دور الجهات الفاعلة المحلية، فالإجراءات المحلية أكثر فعالية، واستدامةً من الناحية السياسية، وأقل ثمناً من استمرار تدخل حلف شمال الأطلسي.

 أمن حلف شمال الأطلسي والعالم العربي حلقة نقاشية
حلقة نقاشية بين مجموعة من الخبراء بعد إنتهاء خطاب السيد جايمي باترك شي، المتحدث الرئيسي، في معهد لاهاي للعدالة الدولية، 17 يناير 2017. Photo The Hague Institute for Global Justice

بعد الخطاب الرئيسي، ناقش مجموعة من الخبراء بشكل أكثر استفاضة النقاط التي أثارها السيد شي. فقد ركزت السيدة آنّا بورشفسكايا، زميلة “آيرا وينر” في معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى، على سياسة روسيا تجاه الشرق الأوسط. فوفقاً للسيدة بورشفسكايا، روسيا ليست مهتمةً حقاً بإنهاء الصراع في سوريا، بل بالتأكيد على نفوذها في المنطقة ومحاولة إضعاف موقف الولايات المتحدة الأمريكة والاتحاد الأوروبي. “من المهم للمضي قدماً إعادة المنظمات الغربية إلى الواجهة… الوجود الغربي مصدرٌ للاستقرار والسلام.”

أما السيد روبرت سيري، الذي كان يشغل حتى وقتٍ قريب منصب منسق الأمم المتحدة الخاص لعملية السلام في الشرق الأوسط والممثل الشخصي للأمين العام للأمم المتحدة لدى منظمة التحرير الفلسطينية والسلطة الفلسطينية، فقد أشار إلى تعاون حلف شمال الأطلسي (الناتو) السابق مع الإتحاد الأوروبي. “بالنسبة لمنظمة مثل حلف شمال الأطلسي، النجاح يعني دائماً أنّ الآخرين سيكونون الأساس المكمل فيما يتعلق ببناء الأمة.” كما أشار أيضاً إلى أنه ينبغي على حلف شمال الأطلسي (الناتو) إعادة النظر في تركيزه على النجاحات العسكرية، لأنها لا تكفي “لجلب الديمقراطية إلى العالم العربي.”

كما صرّح السيد نيقولاوس فان دام، السفير الهولندي السابق في العراق ومصر وتركيا وألمانيا وإندونيسيا وأذربيجان والمبعوث الخاص لسوريا، أنه في بعض الحالات، عدم القيام بشيء أفضل من اتخاذ قراراتٍ خاطئة. إلا أن الساسة في الديمقراطيات الغربية عليهم القيام بشيء- “لديهم أولويات أخرى.” كما أضاف أن التدخل العسكري قد خلق العديد من المشاكل عوضاً عن حلها، وبعد أن أثارت السيدة بورشفسكايا والسيد سيري نقاطاً حول تحقيق الاستقرار المستدام إفترض السيد فان دام أنه “إذا كنت تمتلك مبدأ المسؤولية عن الحماية، فلا بد أن تقدم أيضاً الرعاية اللاحقة.”