فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / عن الموقع / فعاليات / الفعالية السنوية لفَنَك- 2018

الفعالية السنوية لفَنَك- 2018

العائلات الملكية والثوّار: المعركة السعودية الإيرانية من أجل مستقبل الإسلام والشرق الأوسط

@Fanack.com

عقدت مؤسسة فَنَك، في 16 أكتوبر 2018، مؤتمرها السنوي في هت سبانسخا هوف، في لاهاي. نظراً للعدد الكبير من طلبات الحصول على نُسخٍ من الخطابات، قررنا نشر خطابات كلٍ من المتحدث الرئيسي في المؤتمر، روجر كوهين- الصحفي والمؤلف وكاتب العمود في صحيفة نيويورك تايمز، ومعين رباني- المحلل الهولندي الفلسطيني لشؤون الشرق الأوسط والمتخصص في الصراع العربي الإسرائيلي.

استضاف المؤتمر مؤسس موقع Fanack.com، الدكتور أنتوني داكا.

Fanack- Roger Cohen
Roger Cohen. @Fanack

في وقتٍ سابق من هذا العام، قمت بزيارة الدوحة وقابلت وزير الخارجية القطري محمد بن عبدالرحمن آل ثاني. من بين الأمور غير المسؤولة التي قام بها ولي عهد المملكة العربية السعودية، محمد بن سلمان، فرض حصارٍ افتراضي على قطر، متهماً إياها بدعم بالإرهاب. أن يصدر مثل هذا من السعوديين أمرٌ مثيرٌ للسخرية نوعاً ما. لذا، سألت آل ثاني، ما رأيك بهذا المبتدىء البالغ من العمر 33 عاماً، محمد بن سلمان؟

قال لي “لا يمكنك نزع ثوب الإرهاب” الذي كانت “ترتديه [المملكة العربية السعودية] لأكثر من 40 عاماً وتُلبسه لقطر على هذا النحو.” وتابع آل ثاني القول بأنه بالنسبة للسعوديين “الإرهاب ليس ارتكاب عملٍ إرهابي. الإرهاب هو أن تعارضني.”

الإرهاب هو أن تعارضني.

Fanack- Mouin Rabbani
Mouin Rabbani. @Fanack

طُلب مني تقييم أثر المنافسة الإقليمية بين إيران والسعودية على الصراع الإسرائيلي الفلسطيني. أود بدايةً، قبل استعراض تقييمي، الإشارة إلى أنه كان من الصعب جداً في عام 2018 البحث في هذه المسألة بمعزلٍ عن غيرها من أشكال الاستقطاب الإقليمي والدولي التي ظهرت في الشرق الأوسط في السنوات الأخيرة. يرجع هذا لأسباب ليس أقلها أن هذه الاستقطاباتٍ غالباً ما تكون متشابكةً على مستوى ما.

أفكر على وجه الخصوص بأزمة دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي وتحريض المملكة العربية السعودية والإمارات العربية المتحدة والعديد من الحكومات العربية الأخرى ضد قطر؛ ولعبة الشد والجذب الإقليمية بين السعودية وإيران وتركيا؛ والأبعاد المختلفة للصراع السوري. ولكن هناك أيضاً غيرها.

Fanack- Paul Aarts
Paul Aarts. @Fanack

1. تعليقي الأول حول ملاحظات السيد كوهين عن “التنافس السُني- الشيعي.” لا أظن أن الأمر ذو صلة كما أشار. من المؤكد أن لدي هواجسي الخاصة عندما يتم الإشارة صراحةً لمعركة كربلاء (680). من خلال قيامه بذلك، ألا يُجازف بالمبالغة بتقدير دور الدين، أي الاختلافات الدينية، في حين يمكن فهم الصراع الإيراني السعودي، على نحوٍ أفضل، بكونه شكلٌ آخر من أشكال الحرب الباردة، حيث تطلع [كل دولة] إلى توسيع نطاق تأثيرها الإقليمي؟

انطلاقاً من ذلك، نعم، صحيحٌ أن الطائفية بدأت تتسلل على نحوٍ متزايد، وبخاصة كما يظهر في السياسة الخارجية الإيرانية في السنوات الأخيرة (هنا أشير صراحةً إلى إحضار الميليشيات الشيعية من العراق وباكستان وأفغانستان إلى مناطق الحرب في سوريا). ومع ذلك، وبشكلٍ عام، بمقارنة السياسات الخارجية لإيران والمملكة العربية السعودية في هذا الصدد، فبالتأكيد تمتلك المملكة العربية السعودية توجه يُركز على السُنة على نحوٍ أكبر بكثير من التوجه الشيعي الإيراني.

Fanack- Carolien roelants
Carolien Roelants. @Fanack

لم يكن الإعلام التركي فحسب من مُنح حريةً غير مسبوقة لتغطية اختفاء أو قتل الصحفي السعودي جمال خاشقجي. فالصحافة الإيرانية أيضاً تحتفل بأفضل الأوقات، فهذه المرة، لم تكن إيران أو المرشد الأعلى مصدر الشرور في نظر العالم، بل غريم إيران الرئيسي، ولي العهد محمد بن سلمان. فقد ذكرت وكالة الأنباء الإيرانية “تبدو المملكة العربية السعودية مرعبة.” في الواقع. كم هذا رائع.

قبل أن ترفعوا أيديكم جميعاً احتجاجاً: إيران نفسها ليست غريبةً عن حملات الاغتيال- على افتراض أن خاشقجي قد قُتل، كما يبدو أن السعوديين قد أكدوا بعد عشرة أيامٍ من النفي الرسمي. لكني أتذكر جيداً كيف اغتيل رئيس الوزراء السابق شابور بختيار في فرنسا عام 1991، وكيف قتل أربعة من زعماء المعارضة الكردية الإيرانية في مطعم يوناني في برلين في العام التالي. فقد اعتبرت محكمةٌ ألمانية أن المرشد الأعلى علي خامنئي، والرئيس علي أكبر هاشمي رفسنجاني، على علمٍ، على الأقل، بخطط التصفية. بالطبع، لا تذكر وسائل الإعلام الإيرانية هذه الحوادث في تغطيتها لقضية خاشقجي.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: ©Fanack | ©Fanack | ©Fanack | ©Fanack | ©Fanack

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

ملف التحديث الإقليمي COVID-19

احصل على آخر تحديث عن تفشي فيروس كورونا في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

تطورات فيروس كورونا

Fanack Home / About Fanack / Events / Fanack Annual Event 2018

Fanack Annual Event 2018

Royals and Revolutionaries: The Saudi-Iranian Battle for the Future of Islam and the Middle East

@Fanack.com

On 16 October 2018, Fanack held its annual conference at Het Spaansche Hof in The Hague. Due to the high number of requests for copies of the speeches, we have decided to publish the speeches by our keynote speaker Roger Cohen, journalist, author and columnist for The New York Times, and Mouin Rabbani, Dutch-Palestinian Middle East analyst specialized in the Arab-Israeli conflict.

Hosted by the founder of Fanack.com, Dr Antonie Dake.

Fanack- Roger Cohen
Roger Cohen. @Fanack

Earlier this year, I went to Doha and met with the Qatari foreign minister, Mohammed bin Abdulrahman Al-Thani. Among the erratic things that the Crown Prince of Saudi Arabia, Mohammed bin Salman, has done is to impose a virtual blockade on Qatar, accusing it of underwriting terrorism. That, from the Saudis, is a bit rich. So, I asked Al-Thani, what do you make of this 33-year-old upstart, M.B.S.?

“He cannot strip away the dress of terrorism,” that Saudi Arabia “was wearing for more than 40 years and now just put it on Qatar like this,” he said.

For the Saudis, Al-Thani went on, “terrorism is not the act of terror. Terrorism is you are disagreeing with me.”

Terrorism is you are disagreeing with me.

Fanack- Mouin Rabbani
Mouin Rabbani. @Fanack

I have been asked to assess the impact of the Saudi-Iranian regional rivalry upon the Israeli-Palestinian conflict. Before offering my assessment, I’d like to note that in 2018 it is very difficult to examine this question in isolation from other forms of regional and international polarization that have emerged in the Middle East in recent years. This is not least because these polarizations are often at some level related. I’m thinking in particular of the GCC Crisis pitting KSA, UAE and several other Arab governments against Qatar; the regional tug of war between KSA, Iran, and Turkey; and the various dimensions of the Syria conflict. But there are also others.

With this in mind I would identify the following as the main repercussions of the ongoing regional polarization upon the Arab-Israeli conflict.

Fanack- Paul Aarts
Paul Aarts. @Fanack

1. My first remark relates to Cohen’s observation about the ‘Sunni-Shia competition’. I doubt that is as relevant as he might imply. Surely, I have my qualms when an explicit reference is made to the battle at Karbala (680). By doing so, doesn’t he risk overestimating the role of religion, i.e. religious differences, when the conflict between Iran and Saudi Arabia can better be understood as another form of a Cold War rivalry – [with each country] looking to expand its regional sphere of influence?

Having said that, yes, it’s true that increasingly sectarianism has been creeping in, also in more recent Iran foreign policy acts (here I refer explicitly to bringing in Shiite militias from Iraq, Pakistan and Afghanistan to the war zones in Syria). However, generally speaking, comparing Iran and Saudi Arabia’s foreign policies in this regard, for sure Saudi Arabia has a much more ‘Sunni’-focused orientation than Iran has a ‘Shia’-focused orientation.

Fanack- Carolien roelants
Carolien Roelants. @Fanack

Not only have the Turkish media been given unprecedented freedom to cover the disappearance or murder of the Saudi journalist Jamal Khashoggi. The Iranian press are also celebrating happy times. For once, it is not Iran or its supreme leader who are the bad guys in the eyes of the world, but Iran’s major rival Saudi Arabia and Crown Prince Mohammed bin Salman. “Saudi Arabia is looking horrific,” an Iranian press agency reported. Indeed. How wonderful this is.

Before you all raise your hands in protest: Iran itself is of course no stranger to assassination campaigns – assuming that Khashoggi has been killed, as the Saudis now seem to have confirmed after ten days of official denials. But I remember very well how former Iranian Prime Minister Shapour Bakhtiar was assassinated in France in 1991, and how four Iranian Kurdish opposition leaders were gunned down in a Greek restaurant in Berlin the following year.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: ©Fanack | ©Fanack | ©Fanack | ©Fanack | ©Fanack

COVID-19 UPDATE

Get the latest update on the Coronavirus outbreak in the Middle East and North Africa.

Regional Update

"Ignorance leads to fear, fear leads to hatred, and hatred leads to violence.
This is the equation."

IBN RUSHD/AVERROES (1126 – 1198)

We are a Dutch not for profit organisation (NGO), financed solely by individuals who share our belief in the importance of publishing and disseminating reliable, unbiased information on the Middle East & North Africa region. To represent the voice of the region’s people, we carefully echo the region’s heartbeat by offering fact-checked and therefore credible information.

Your support is greatly appreciated and helpful!