تبرع
وقائع الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

جمهورية اليمن الديمقراطية الشعبية (1967 – 1990)

يمني يحمل علم جمهورية اليمن الديمقراطية الشعبية السابقة.(Photo by – / AFP)

كانت جمهورية اليمن الديمقراطية الشعبية تجربة مثيرة للاهتمام في الاشتراكية العربية على مدى أكثر من عقدين. حيث حصلت المرأة على حقوق متساوية وتم بناء مصنع للبيرة، كما تم تحديد استهلاك القات بعطلة نهاية الأسبوع (القات نبات مخدر يستخدم بشكل واسع ويستخرج من شجيرة محلية)، وخضع الثوريون – الذي دعيوا فيما بعد بالإرهابيين – من جميع أنحاء العالم لتدريبات عسكرية في اليمن الجنوبي.

كانت جمهورية اليمن الديمقراطية الشعبية في سبعينات وثمانينيات القرن الماضي ملاذاً لمقاتلي اليسار المتطرف، مثل الجبهة الشعبية لتحرير فلسطين (انظر ايضاً القيادة الفلسطينية) وجماعة الجيش الأحمر الألمانية. وغالباً ما تصادمت التقليدية والحداثة خلال هذه السنوات، تماماً كما ثبت صعوبة جمع القبلية الريفية والإسلام المحافظ والاشتراكية المتشددة والمتطرفة.

في نهاية المطاف، ثبت بأن قاعدة جمهورية اليمن الديمقراطية الشعبية صغيرة جداً. فقد تقلص الدعم الخارجي خلال السنوات إلى متبرع رئيسي واحد، وهو الاتحاد السوفييتي. وفي محاولة لتوسيع نطاق الدعم، تمت الإطاحة برئيس الوزراء علي ناصر محمد الحسني عام 1986من قبل قادة آخرين، وذلك في شهرين من المعارك الدامية كلفت الآلاف حياتهم. جرت هذه المعارك بين جناحي الحزب الماركسي، اللذين تم تنظيمهما على أسس قبلية إلى حد كبير.

ومع انهيار الاتحاد السوفييتي عام 1989، خسرت جمهورية اليمن الديمقراطية الشعبية متبرعها الوحيد. وفي عام 1988، بدأ رئيس الوزراء علي سالم البيض ورئيس الجمهورية العربية اليمنية على عبد الله صالح بمحادثات التوحيد. وعام 1990، أصبح البيض نائب رئيس اليمن الموحد برئاسة صالح.

Donate
Chronicle of the Middle East and North Africa
All

People’s Democratic Republic of Yemen (PDRY) (1967 – 1990)

A Yemeni man holds up the former People’s Democratic Republic of Yemen flag. (Photo by – / AFP)

For more than two decades, the People’s Democratic Republic of Yemen (PDRY) was an interesting experiment in Arab socialism. Women were granted equal rights, a beer brewery was built, qat consumption was limited to weekends (qat is a widely used narcotic made from a native shrub), and revolutionaries – later to be called terrorists – from all over the world underwent military training in South Yemen.

The PDRY of the 1970s and 1980s was a haven for fighters of the radical left, such as the Popular Front for the Liberation of Palestine (PFLP; see also Palestinian leadership) and the German Rote Armee Fraktion (RAF). Traditionalism and modernity often clashed during these years, just as rural tribalism, conservative Islam, and radical, hard-line socialism proved difficult to combine.

The foundation of the PDRY eventually proved too small. Foreign support during the years was reduced to that of one major sponsor, the Soviet Union. Prime Minister Ali al-Nasir Muhammad al-Hasani, in an attempt to broaden support, was ousted in 1986 by fellow leaders in two months of bloody battles, which cost many thousands their lives.

These battles were fought between two wings of the Marxist party, which were organized largely along tribal lines. With the collapse of the Soviet Union in 1989 the PDRY lost its sole benefactor. In 1988 PDRY’s Prime Minister, Ali Salim al-Beidh, and YAR President Saleh began unification talks. In 1990 al-Beidh became the Vice-President of unified Yemen under Saleh.

In this article: Yemen | History