تبرع
وقائع الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

تاريخ الكويت: العصور القديمة منذ 8000 قبل الميلاد

آل صباح تاريخ الكويت
.آل صباح, العائلة الحاكمة في دولة الكويت

العصور القديمة

الكويت الهلال الخصيب
موقع الكويت من منطقة الهلال الخصيب

نظراً لاعتماد الكويت على النفط، يبدو أنه من المناسب البدء بتاريخ البلاد في العصر الجوراسي (قبل 208-146 مليون سنة). حصرت العمليات التكتونية خلال العصر الجوراسي والعصر الطباشيري (قبل 146-165مليون سنة) ترسبات ضخمة من المواد العضوية تحت طبقات من الصخور عديمة النفاذ، مما أدى إلى تشكّل خزانات ضخمة من النفط تحت الأرض. وخلال ملايين السنين هذه، تشكلت قشرة الكويت الحالية من الرواسب الغرينية لنهر لم يعد موجوداً. كانت هذه الرواسب غنية بالمعادن، وتكثّف تركيز هذه المعادن عندما بدأ المناخ بالتحول إلى مناخ دافئ في نهاية العصر الجليدي الأخير منذ حوالى 11,500 سنة مضت. جلب ارتفاع وتبخر المياه الجوفية هذه المعادن إلى السطح بتركيزات كبيرة، مما لوّث التربة ومنع إمكانية أي نوع من الزراعة المستدامة.

 

 

 

الكويت الاسكندر المقدوني
خريطة امبراطورية الاسكندر المقدوني

في حين دخل الكثير من منطقة الهلال الخصيب العصر الزراعي منذ حوالي 11,000 سنة، لم يحدث أي نشاط من هذا القبيل في الكويت الحالية. وبغض النظر عن أن الرعاة البدو كانوا بشكل مؤكد تقريباً يستخدمون المنطقة كأراضي رعي موسمية، وبينما لم يكن هناك ينابيع طبيعية تسمح بالاستقرار الدائم داخل البلاد، استقطبت المنطقة الغنية بالإسماك قبالة السواحل الشمالية للكويت مجتمعات صيد صغيرة. يصب نهرا دجلة والفرات في الخليج إلى الشمال مباشرة من الحدود الكويتية. يستقطب الطين الغني بالمواد الغذائية الذي يحمله النهران مجموعة كبيرة من الأسماك والمحار. كما وفّر دلتا النهر هذا المياه العذبة التي يمكن نقلها إلى الساحل في قوارب، وهو النشاط الذي استمر لفترة طويلة حتى القرن العشرين. تم اكتشاف آثار مثل مجتمعات الصيد المبكرة هذه في رأس الصبية. تشير الجدران الحجرية وبقايا قارب وقطع الأواني الخزفية المكتشفة في هذا الموقع إلى روابط مع ثقافة عُبيد (4500-4000 قبل الميلاد) في بلاد ما بين النهرين.

 

 

الكويت البابليون
الكويت في فترة حكم البابليين

تم اكتشاف المزيد من الآثار لاستيطان مبكر على جزيرة فيلكا، عند مدخل خليج الكويت. ومنذ 6000 سنة قبل الميلاد، تراجع مستوى سطح البحر في منطقة الخليج، وأصبح السكن البشري في فيلكا المنخفضة ممكناً حوالي منتصف الألفية الثالثة قبل الميلاد. كانت الجزيرة جذابة بشكل واضح: تقع في منطقة استراتيجية على طريق التجارة الساحلية من بلاد ما بين النهرين إلى الإمارات العربية المتحدة الحالية. ولكونها جزيرة، يجعل الدفاع عنها أكثر سهولة بكثير ضد المغيرين البدو من مواقع البر الرئيسى المحيط بخليج الكويت. وعلى التلال الجنوبية الغربية لجزيرة فيلكا، تم اكتشاف آثار مستوطنة تجارية من العصر البرونزي تأسست حوالي عام 2300 قبل الميلاد. كما توجد آثار الحضارة الدينية التي ازدهرت في فترة حضارة دلمون، التي كانت على الأرجح تتمحور في نفس الفترة الزمنية تقريباً في البحرين الحالية.

 

الحضارة الهلنستية

انحدرت قوة دلمون بعد عام 1600 قبل الميلاد. كما ساهم ارتفاع منسوب مياه البحر خلال النصف الثاني من الألف الثاني قبل الميلاد في هجرة سكان جزيرة فيلكا حوالي عام 1000 قبل الميلاد. استمرت الدورة القديمة لارتفاع وانخفاض منسوب مياه البحر في الخليج بالتأثير على أنماط الاستيطان المحلية.

وعندما وصل نيركوس، قائد أسطول الإسكندر الأكبر، إلى رأس الخليج في عام 324 قبل الميلاد، كان منسوب المياه قد انخفض مرة أخرى إلى أقل من المستوى الحالي. وبالتالي، كانت منطقة جزيرة إيكاروس، التي يقال إن الإكسندر بذاته أطلق اسمها عليها، أكبر مما هي عليه اليوم. تم إنشاء مستعمرة تجارية أغريقية في الجزيرة. وعندما مات الإسكندر في بابل عام 323 قبل الميلاد وانهارت إمبراطوريته، احتفظت إيكاروس/فيلكا بهويتها الهلنستية. وبقي سكانها، العرب والفرس، يتحدثون اليونانية لعدة قرون. وربما اشتق اسم فيلكا الحديثة من كلمة “فيلاكيون” اليونانية الكلاسيكية، والتي تعني “بؤرة استيطانية”.

في هذه المقالة: الكويت | التاريخ

Donate
Chronicle of the Middle East and North Africa

Kuwait History: Antiquity Since 8000 B.C.

Al-Sabah Family, kuwait history
The Al-Sabah, the ruling family of Kuwait.

Antiquity

Excavations of prehistoric settlements at Subiya, dated 4800 to 4500 BCE

Given Kuwait’s dependence on oil, it seems appropriate to begin the country’s history in the Jurassic period (208-146 million years ago). Tectonic processes during the Jurassic and the Cretaceous (146-165 million years ago) periods trapped huge deposits of organic material beneath caps of impenetrable rock, resulting in the creation of huge underground oil reservoirs. During these millions of years, the surface area of present-day Kuwait was being formed by the alluvial sediments of a no-longer existent river. This sediment was rich in minerals, and the concentration of these minerals intensified when, at the end of the last ice age, about 11,500 years ago, the climate began to warm. Rising and evaporating groundwater brought these minerals to the surface in ever-larger concentrations, contaminating the soil and preventing any sustainable agriculture.

While much of the Fertile Crescent was entering the agricultural era about 11,000 years ago, no such activity took place in what is now Kuwait. Nonetheless, the area was almost certainly in use, as seasonal grazing grounds for nomadic herders, and, while there were no natural springs that permitted permanent settlement inland, the rich fishing grounds off Kuwait’s northern coasts attracted small fishing communities. The Euphrates and Tigris rivers drain into the Gulf just north of Kuwait’s borders. The nutrient-rich soil they deliver to the northern Gulf attracts a huge variety of fish and shellfish. This river delta also provided fresh water that could be transported down the coast by boat, an activity that continued well into the 20th century. The remains of one such early fishing community have been found at Ras al-Subiya. Stone walls, potsherds, and the remains of a boat discovered at this site hint at links with the Ubaid culture (4500-4000 BCE) of Mesopotamia.
More substantial remains of an early settlement have been found on the island of Failaka, at the mouth of Kuwait Bay. Since 6000 BCE the sea level in the Gulf had been falling, and human habitation on low-lying Failaka became feasible around the middle of the third millennium BCE. The island’s attractions were obvious: it was located at a strategic point on the coastal trade route from Mesopotamia to the present-day United Arab Emirates. Being an island, it could be defended much more easily against Bedouin raiders than could site on the mainland surrounding Kuwait Bay.

On the tells of south-western Failaka have been found the remains of a Bronze Age trading settlement established around 2300 BCE. Archaeological remains are also present of the religious culture thriving in the period of the Dilmun civilization, which around this time probably centered on present-day Bahrain.

Hellenization

The power of Dilmun declined after 1600 BCE. Rising sea levels during the second half of the second millennium BCE also contributed to the fact that around 1000 BCE Failaka appears to have been completely deserted. The age-old cycle of rising and falling sea levels in the Gulf continued to influence local settlement patterns. When Nearchus, admiral of Alexander the Great, arrived at the head of the Gulf in 324 BCE, the water level had dropped again, below the present level. The area of the island Alexander himself is said to have named Ikaros was thus larger than it is today. A Greek trading colony was established on the island, and when Alexander died in Babylon in 323 BCE and his empire collapsed, Ikaros/Failaka retained its Hellenistic identity. Its inhabitants, including Arabs and Persians, continued for some centuries to speak Greek. The modern name Failaka may come from the classical Greek fylakion, ‘outpost’.