وقائع الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

صباح الأحمد الجابر الصباح (حاكم 2006-2020)

صباح الأحمد الجابر الصباح
الشيخ صباح الأحمد الجابر الصباح أمير الكويت في ذلك الوقت، يلوّح بيده لدى وصوله لافتتاح الدورة البرلمانية الجديدة في مجلس الأمة بالإمارة الخليجية في مدينة الكويت، في 29 أكتوبر 2019. ياسر الزيات / وكالة الصحافة الفرنسية

عملاق الدبلوماسية العربية“، “رجل السلام والحوار“، “اللاعب الذكي”، و”مهندس السياسة الخارجية الحديثة للكويت“. كانت هذه العبارات من بعض ردود الفعل على وفاة  أمير الكويت الشيخ صباح الأحمد الجابر الصباح بين عاميّ 2006 و 2020. والقاسم المشترك واضح: لقد كان دبلوماسيًا محترمًا، أمضى حياته المهنية في سدّ الفجوات ومعالجة الانشقاقات وتقليص الانقسامات.

وُلِد صباح الأحمد في مدينة الجهراء عام 1929، والتحق بأوّل مدرسة حديثة افتُتِحت في الكويت عام 1911، مدرسة المباركية (وكانت  ثاني مدرسة حديثة في منطقة الخليج بعد البحرين). وأكمل تعليمه مع مدرّسين خاصين. تزوّج صباح الأحمد من ابنة عمّه فتوح بنت سلمان الصباح التي توفيت عام 1990، ولهما ثلاثة أبناء (أحمد وحامد وناصر) وابنة (اسمها سلوى).

توفِّيَ نجلهُ أحمد عام 1969 في حادث سيارة، وابنته سلوى بسرطان الثدي عام 2002؛ بعد فترة وجيزة من إطلاق والدها اسمها على قصره السكني البحري. وفي 29 سبتمبر 2020، توفِّيَ صباح الأحمد نفسه في مركز مايو كلينيك في مدينة روتشستر بولاية مينيسوتا. وبعدها بفترة وجيزة توفِّيَ نجله ناصر في ديسمبر 2020.

جهود دبلوماسية وإنسانية

كان صباح الأحمد دبلوماسيًا مخضرمًا. عمل وزيرًا للخارجية لما يقرب من 40 عامًا بين عاميّ 1963 و 2003؛ عندما أصبح رئيسًا للوزراء. وشكّل صباح الأحمد إلى حد كبير سياسة الكويت الخارجية الحديثة القائمة على السلام والوساطة – ولم يكن الأمر مفاجئًا أنّه بمجرّد أن أصبح أميرًا، واصل استراتيجيّته الدبلوماسية على المستوى الدولي. 

وكان المكوّن الرئيسي لـ “العلامة المميّزة للكويت”، كما يسمّيها البعض، هو “البحث المستمر عن السلام والاستقرار الذي يأخذ في الاعتبار مصالح جميع الأطراف. ولطالما كان البحث عن توازن القوى، والتوسّط في الخلافات، وتخفيف حدّة الصراعات، سمات مميزة للدبلوماسية الكويتية “. لقد حافظ صباح الأحمد على علاقات جيدة مع إيران والمملكة العربية السعودية في الوقت نفسه، وحاول التوسّط للسلام في اليمن خلال العديد من النزاعات.

كذلك حاول، بلا كلل، حلّ أزمة المقاطعة السعودية والإماراتية لقطر. ولكونه القوّة الرئيسية وراء إنشاء مجلس التعاون الخليجي في عام 1981،  رأى صباح الأحمد في هذا الصدع كارثةً وتهديدًا كبيرًا لمجلس التعاون الخليجي، وهو اتحاد كان يؤمن به بشدّة.

وشُكِّلت وزارة الخارجية الكويتية من قبله وتحتفظ ببعثات دبلوماسية واسعة النطاق في الخارج مقارنةً بحجم هذا البلد الصغير. كما أنها تدعم الدول الأجنبية للاحتفاظ بسفارات في الكويت. لقد فهم صباح الأحمد حدود الكويت كدولة صغيرة واتّبع أجندة دبلوماسية متعدّدة الأطراف للتعويض عن تلك القيود. واستكمل الدبلوماسية الكويتية بحقيبة واسعة من العمل الإنساني، إذ دعم مبادرات في البلدان التي مزّقتها الحرب أو تلك المضطربة مثل ليبيا، واليمن، وسوريا، وفلسطين، وتشاد، وإثيوبيا، والسودان، وميانمار. 

كما نظّم مؤتمرات للمانحين في الكويت من أجل سوريا والعراق، حيث لم تكن تلك الفعاليات المُقامة للمواطنين العراقيين محلّ تقدير من الشعب الكويتي. ولا يزال البعض يرى العراق على أنّه العدو الرئيسي الذي غزا بلادهم في عام 1990، ما يجعل البلد ومواطنيها غير جديرين بالأموال الكويتية. ويقولون أنّه من الأفضل إنفاق الأموال على القضايا الداخلية مثل مساعدة الأشخاص الذين لا يستطيعون سداد ديونهم.

 وبغض النظر عن الانتقادات الداخلية المثارة من حين لآخر، اعترف الأمين العام للأمم المتحدة بان كي مون، في عام 2014، بصباح الأحمد كقائد إنساني. ولا شكّ أبدًا أنّ هذه الجهود الدبلوماسية والإنسانية أكسبته احترامًا لا لبس فيه داخل الكويت وخارجها. ومع ذلك، فإنّ هذا يستدعي التساؤل: هل كان أسلوبه في الوصول إلى حلول للنزاعات الداخلية متناغمًا بالدرجة نفسها؟

الخلافة

عندما أصبح صباح الأحمد أميرًا عام 2006، لم يكن ذلك سوى شأن دبلوماسيّ أو تصالحي. فعندما يتعلّق الأمر بتولّي السلطة، تنقسم العائلة المالكة الكويتية إلى فرعين رئيسيّين؛ فرع جابر وفرع سالم. وتقليديًا، يتداول الفرعان منصب الأمير بالتناوب. لذا، في عام 2006، عندما توفيّ الأمير جابر الأحمد (الأخ غير الشقيق لصباح الأحمد)، كان الدور على عضو بارز في فرع سالم: سعد العبد الله السالم الصباح.

لكن أعضاء بارزين في العائلة المالكة وأعضاء في البرلمان اعتبروا الشيخ سعد المريض والمصاب بنوع من الخرف غير لائق للوظيفة. لذا، تفاوضوا معًا على نقل السلطة إلى رئيس الوزراء، الشيخ صباح الأحمد، الذي كان الحاكم الفعلي للبلاد في السنوات السابقة، ليحل محل الأمير آنذاك جابر الأحمد الذي كان في حالة صحية سيئة لفترة طويلة.

 وهكذا كان استلام صباح الأحمد للسلطة خطوة قطعت حكم التناوب بين فرعي جابر وسالم، حيث أصبح هناك اثنان من كبار أعضاء فرع جابر في طابور الحكم. ليس ذلك فحسب، فقد عيّن صباح الأحمد أخيه غير الشقيق نواف الأحمد وليًا للعهد وابن أخيه ناصر المحمد رئيسًا للوزراء، كلاهما من فرعه. لقد قام فعليًا بتهميش فرع سالم، وهو تطوّر استمر بتعيين نواف الأحمد للشيخ مشعل الأحمد الجابر الصباح وليًا للعهد له، وهو – مجددًا – من فرع جابر.

بصرف النظر عن الخلافات العائلية (هناك الكثير من الخلافات داخل الفروع أيضًا)، حيث واجه صباح الأحمد مشاكل وطنية أكثر إلحاحًا. ففي السنوات التي أعقبت الغزو، مع شغل صباح منصب وزير الخارجية، تمكّنت الكويت من إعادة بناء البلاد، لكنّها فشلت في استعادة ثقة الناس في الحكومة (التي شكّل فيها أفرادٌ من العائلة المالكة المناصب الأهم). وأراد المواطنون الكويتيون المزيد من المشاركة السياسية، والحد من الفساد، وحلّ المشاكل طويلة الأجل مثل تنويع الاقتصاد، وإنهاء أزمة الإسكان، وحلّ أزمة “البدون” أو عديمي الجنسية.

في الكويت، ما بعد الغزو، لم تُلبّى أي من هذه المطالب ولم يُحدِث حكم صباح الأحمد فرقًا يُذكر.

ومع ذلك، لا يمكن أن يُعزى هذا إليه فقط – أو إلى أي أمير آخر في هذا الشأن – لأن النظام شبه الديمقراطي في الكويت يسمح، في كثير من الأحيان، بشلِّ جهود المقايضة والمساومة في البرلمان والحكومة والعائلة المالكة نفسها. وغالبًا ما يؤدّي هذا إلى عدم اتخاذ القرارات، أو اتخاذها من دون تنفيذه، أو حتى تنفيذها من ثمّ التوقّف في منتصف الطريق.

 ولم يكن هذا مختلفًا في عهد صباح الأحمد الذي تُعرف فترة حكمه بالأزمات المسدودة المتكرّرة بين السلطتين التنفيذية والتشريعية. وأدى ذلك إلى حلّ  البرلمان سبع مرات واستقالة أربعة عشر حكومة وتعيين ثلاثة وزراء. كما أدى إلى كارثة “توزيع منحة على السكان” عام 2011 التي أشعلت الربيع العربي في الكويت.

الرد على الاحتجاجات

في يناير 2011، أعطى صباح الأحمد لكل مواطن كويتي ألف دينار كويتي. رسميًا، كان هذا تخليدًا لذكرى مرور 20 عامًا على التحرّر من الاحتلال العراقي. لقد اعتقد المشكّكون أن الهدية جاءت في وقت مناسب لاسترضاء السكان في وقت الاضطرابات المدنية في البلاد. أيّ كان السبب، كان معظم المواطنين الكويتيين سعداء بالهدية، باستثناء “البدون” أو عديمي الجنسية الذين لم يحصلوا على شيء. وأثار هذا أولى مظاهرات البدون للمطالبة بحقّهم في المواطنة.

 ووسط موجة الاضطرابات (الوطنية والدولية)، دعت المعارضة إلى مزيد من التظاهرات ضد الحكومة، مطالبةً بإصلاحات وتنحّي رئيس الوزراء الشيخ ناصر المحمد. ما أعقب ذلك كان شهورًا من الاضطرابات شملت الاحتجاجات واقتحام البرلمان.

واعتقلت قوات الأمن المحرّضين الرئيسيّين على الاحتجاجات، وحلّ الأمير البرلمان في يونيو 2012 (بموجب حقه الدستوري) لإفساح المجال لبرلمان جديد (كان عمليًا برلمان 2009 القديم) يكون أكثر موالاةً للحكومة.

وفي أكتوبر 2012، دفع الأمير لتمرير قانون انتخابي جديد، (يسمح للناخبين بالإدلاء بأصواتهم لمرشح واحد فقط، بدلاً من أربعة)، كان من المفترض أن يؤدي إلى تكافؤ الفرص وتحطيم التحالفات القبلية الكبيرة. اكن كانت النتيجة المزيد من الاحتجاجات (على الأقل من قِبل تلك التحالفات القبلية الكبيرة). وألقى زعيم المعارضة البرلمانية مسلم البراك خطابًا شديد اللّهجة أمام أنصاره، حيث اتّهم فيه العائلة المالكة بأنّها “استبدادية”. وصاح مخاطبًا الأمير مباشرةً، “لن نسمح لك بممارسة الاستبداد!”، وبعد ذلك صاح الحشد “لن نسمح لك، لن نسمح لك!”.

ودفع البراك ثمن انتقاده الأمير (وبالتالي تجاوز الخطوط الحمراء)، واعتُقِل وحُكِم عليه بالسجن لمدة خمس سنوات، والتي خُفِّضت فيما بعد إلى سنتَيْن.

علاوةً على ذلك، تهاوت الثقة في الحكومة أكثر، ولم تساعدها حقيقة تحجيم الانتقادات أكثر في ظل حكم صباح الأحمد.

ومع تطبيق القانون الانتخابي الجديد، قاطعت المعارضة انتخابات ديسمبر 2012، وبعدها تقلّص دور المعارضة التي اتحدت في تحالف فضفاض.

وفي السنوات التالية، واصلت الحكومة بقيادة صباح الأحمد قمعها للنشطاء وأصوات المعارضة، وقمع حرية التعبير، خاصةً على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي. كما أقدمت السلطات على احتجاز ومحاكمة نشطاء المجتمع المدني ومعارضي حكومة صباح عبر قانون مكافحة الجرائم الإلكترونية الصادر في عام 2016.

توحيد الكويتيين

يمكن القول بثقة أنّ تعامل صباح الأحمد مع المعارضة – التي تتراوح ما بين إسلاميين وقبليين وشخصيات ليبرالية – لم يكن دبلوماسيًا ومداويًا للخلافات مثل أسلوب عمله في الساحة الدولية. وحتى عام 2015، لم يكن الأمير الحبيب الذي سيصبح فيما بعد. وبدا أنّ ذلك قد يتغيّر، حيث توحّدت البلاد حزنًا بعد أن تعرّضت لكارثة: التفجير الانتحاري في مسجد الإمام الصادق الشيعي، الذي أودى بحياة 27 مصليًا صباح يوم الجمعة في يونيو 2015. 

بينما كان الدخان لا يزال في الهواء، والزجاج متناثر على الأرض، والناس المرتبكون والملطّخون بالدماء لا يزالون  يتجوّلون في موقع الهجوم، وصل الأمير لإظهار دعمه للمجتمع الشيعي في البلاد. لقد كان قرارًا ذكيًا، حيث نال تقديرًا عميقًا من جانب الشيعة والسنة في الكويت، وهي دولة تتفهّم الخطر المحتمل الذي تخلقه الانقسامات الطائفية.

صباح الأحمد الجابر الصباح
أمير الكويت في ذلك الوقت الشيخ صباح الأحمد الجابر الصباح (الثاني على اليسار) والمتحدّث باسم مجلس النواب مرزوق الغانم (على اليمين) يَصِلان لأداء صلاة الجمعة، حيث اجتمع المصلّون السنة والشيعة للصلاة كبادرة تضامنية في المسجد الكبير السني في مدينة الكويت في 3 يوليو 2015. ودعت وزارة الأوقاف والشؤون الإسلامية الكويتية الشعب الكويتي من جميع الطوائف لأداء صلاة الجمعة معًا تعبيرًا عن الوحدة الوطنية في أعقاب تفجير انتحاري في مسجد شيعي الأسبوع السابق. صورة لوكالة فرانس برس / ياسر الزيات

كان من الواضح أنّ حدث الإمام الصادق أعاد إلى الواجهة مرة أخرى مهارات هذا الأمير في تقليص الانقسامات. فقد ارتفعت شعبيته بشكل كبير، وهو ما اتّضح بعد بضعة أشهر أثناء افتتاح استاد جابر، عندما ظهرت صورة للأمير على شاشة كبيرة، وأصبح الجمهور جامحًا.

وفي وقت لاحق، دخل الأمير بنفسه إلى الملعب وطاف حوله في سيارته، وصار الحشد أكثر جموحًا، وردّدوا شعارات مثل “أنت والدنا جميعًا”. ولم يكن مهمًا في تلك الليلة حقيقة أنّ افتتاح الملعب قد تمّ تأجيله لمدة خمس سنوات بسبب مشاكل البناء الناجمة عن قضايا الفساد.

وبعد هجوم الإمام الصادق، استمرّت شعبيّته في النموّ، ولعلّ أهم أسباب هذا هو دعمه لنظيره القطري تميم بن حمد آل ثاني خلال المقاطعة التي قادتها السعودية والإمارات. وقدّر المواطنون الكويتيون بشكل جماعي دعمه لما اعتبروه الطرف المستضعف، وهو شيء يميلون إلى تقديره  كونهم مواطنين في دولة صغيرة محصورة بين قوّتيّ المملكة العربية السعودية وإيران. وبعد فترة وجيزة من بدء القطريّين التجوّل واضعين ملصقات وجه تميم على سياراتهم، حذا الكويتيون حذوهم بملصقاتهم الخاصة بصباح الأحمد.

ورغم ذلك، استمرّت العلاقة المتوترة بين الحكومة والبرلمان، حيث استمرّ النواب في معارضة إجراءات التقشّف الحكومية في سياق انخفاض أسعار النفط.

وعند إضافة الأرقام، يمكن اعتبار صباح الأحمد أميرًا شعبيًا وناجحًا إلى حد ما، على الرغم من حقيقة أنّه لم يحدث تغيير كبير في البلاد بعد احتجاجات 2011/2012. لا اقتصاديًا (فلا يزال الاقتصاد يعتمد بشكل كبير على النفط)، ولا اجتماعيًا (لا يزال البدون يكافحون من أجل المواطنة)، ولا سياسيًا (لا تزال المعارضة مسحوقة إلى حد كبير أو تُرشى كي تصبح مؤيدة للحكومة).

وبعد فترة من النموّ السريع من خمسينيات إلى سبعينيات القرن الماضي، بدأ الركود يصيب التنمية في الكويت، في حين تسارع نموّ بقية دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي. هناك خطط منتظمة طويلة الأجل، تُسمى عادةً الرؤى، والتي تأتي مصحوبةً بشعارات مثل “الكويت الجديدة”. وفي عام 2016، تم تقديم أحدث إصدار – وهو رؤية 2035.

وفي ذلك الوقت، لاحظ النقّاد أنها ستبقى على الأرجح مجرّد رؤية. بصرف النظر عن كونها نصًا على لوحة إعلانية، فبعد خمس سنوات، يبدو أنّ “الكويت الجديدة” ليست قريبة بأيّ حال. وكما أشرنا أعلاه، لا يمكن بالضرورة إلقاء اللوم كله على الأمير؛ يسمح النظام السياسي في الكويت بالمشاركة، والتي تُفسَّر بشكل أساسي على أنها معارضة. ويؤدّي هذا إلى نشوء نظام  قد لا يتحقّق فيه ما يريده القصر – على عكس البلدان المجاورة. 

لذلك ليس مستغرَبًا أن صباح الأحمد كان يركّز في الغالب على بيع “العلامة المميّزة الكويتية” في الخارج (قد ونجح في هذا): إنّها منطقة لم يقابل فيها سوى القليل من المعارضة الداخلية وكان يتمتع بحرية الحركة. لقد فعل ذلك بمهارة!

Chronicle of the Middle East and North Africa

Sabah al-Ahmad al-Jaber Al Sabah (r. 2006-2020)

Sabah al-Ahmad al-Jaber Al Sabah
Sheikh Sabah al-Ahmad al-Jaber Al Sabah, Emir of Kuwait at the time, waves upon his arrival to open the parliament’s new term at the Gulf emirate’s National Assembly in Kuwait City, on October 29, 2019. Yasser al-Zayyat / AFP

A “Giant of Arab Diplomacy” , a “man of peace and dialogue” , a “savvy player” and the “architect of Kuwait’s modern foreign policy”. These were just some reactions to the demise of sheikh Sabah al-Ahmad al-Jaber Al Sabah, Kuwait’s emir between 2006 and 2020. The common denominator is clear: he was a respected diplomat who spent his career bridging gaps, healing rifts and reducing divides. 

Born in Jahra in 1929, Sabah al-Ahmad attended the Mubarakiya school in Kuwait City, Kuwait’s first modern school that opened in 1911 (it was the second modern school in the Gulf region, after Bahrain). He completed his education with private tutors. Sabah al-Ahmad married his cousin Fatuwah bint Salman Al Sabah, who died in 1990. They had three sons (Ahmad, Hamed and Nasser) and a daughter (Salwa).

His son Ahmad died in 1969 in a car accident, his daughter Salwa from breast cancer in 2002; shortly after he named his residential sea palace after her. Sabah al-Ahmad himself died at the Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota on the 29th of September 2020. His son Nasser passed away soon after, in December 2020.     

Diplomatic and humanitarian efforts

Sabah al-Ahmad was a seasoned diplomat, he served as minister of foreign affairs for almost 40 years between 1963 and 2003, when he became prime-minister. Sabah al-Ahmad largely shaped Kuwait’s modern foreign policy of peace and mediation – and it came as no surprise that, once he became emir, he continued his strategy of diplomacy on the international level. 

His key component of “Brand Kuwait”, as some call it, was “a persistent search for peace and stability that took into account the interests of all parties. Looking for a balance of power, mediating differences, and de-escalating conflicts have long characterised Kuwaiti diplomacy.”

Sabah al-Ahmad maintained good relations with Iran and Saudi Arabia at the same time, tried to broker peace in Yemen during several conflicts and tried tirelessly to resolve the Saudi and Emirati led boycott of Qatar. Being a main force behind the establishment of the Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC) in 1981, he saw this rift as a disaster, and a major threat to the GCC, a union he strongly believed in. 

Kuwait’s ministry of foreign affairs was formed by him and maintains extensive foreign missions abroad for such a small country. It also subsidises foreign countries to keep embassies in Kuwait. He understood Kuwait’s limitations as a small state and pursued an agenda of diplomatic multilateralism to compensate for those limitations. He complemented Kuwaiti diplomacy with an extensive portfolio in humanitarian work, supporting initiatives in war-torn or otherwise troubled countries like Libya, Yemen, Syria, Palestine, Chad, Ethiopia, Sudan or Myanmar. 

He organized donor-conferences in Kuwait, for Syria and Iraq, where those events for Iraqi citizens were not always appreciated by the Kuwaiti people. Some still see Iraq as the arch-enemy that invaded their country in 1990, making their country and citizens undeserving of Kuwaiti money. Money they say, that could better be spent on internal issues such as helping people who cannot pay their debts. 

Occasional internal criticism aside, in 2014 United Nations Secretary-General, Ban Ki-moon recognized Sabah al-Ahmad as a humanitarian leader.  There is no doubt that these diplomatic and humanitarian efforts earned him unequivocal respect both inside and outside Kuwait. It begs the question though, was his antenna for solutions of internal conflicts equally fine tuned?

Succession

When Sabah al-Ahmad became emir in 2006 it was anything but a diplomatic or reconciliatory affair. When it comes to the assumption of power, the Kuwaiti royal family is divided in two main branches, the Jaber and the Salem branch. Traditionally, the post of emir alternates between the two branches. So, in 2006 the then-emir Jaber al-Ahmad (Sabah al-Ahmad’s half-brother) passed away, it was the turn for a key member of the Salem branch: Saad al-Abdullah al-Salem Al Sabah.

However, senior members of the royal family as well as members of parliament considered the ailing Sheikh Saad, who had a form of dementia, unfit for the job. Together, they negotiated a transfer of power to the prime minister, sheikh Sabah al-Ahmad, who already had been the de facto ruler in the preceding years, standing in for then-emir Jaber al-Ahmad who had been in bad health for quite some time. 

Thus, Sabah al-Ahmad assuming power was a move that broke with the Jaber/Salem-rule as now there were two senior members of the Jaber branch in a row. Not only that, Sabah al-Ahmad appointed his half-brother Nawaf al-Ahmad as crown prince and his nephew Nasser al-Mohammed as prime-minister, all of them from his own branch. He effectively marginalized the Salem branch, a development that continues, with Nawaf al-Ahmad appointing sheikh Mishal al-Ahmad al-Jaber Al Sabah as his crown prince, who is – again – from the Jaber branch. 

Apart from family feuds (there are plenty of rifts inside the branches as well), Sabah al-Ahmad faced more pressing national problems. In the years after the invasion, with Sabah as foreign minister, Kuwait managed to rebuild the country, but had failed to regain the trust of the people in the government (which is for the most crucial part formed by members of the royal family). Kuwaiti citizens wanted more political participation, less corruption, and a solution to long-term problems such as diversification of the economy, an end to the housing crisis, and a solution for the stateless bidoon

In post-invasion Kuwait, none of this was delivered and Sabah al-Ahmad’s rule made little to no difference. 

However, this cannot be solely attributed just to him – or any emir for that matter – as Kuwait’s semi-democratic system allows for often paralysing  bartering and haggling in the parliament, government and royal family itself. It more often than not results in decisions not being taken, being taken but not executed or executed but stopped half-way. This was no different under Sabah al-Ahmad. 

His time in power is defined by a recurring deadlock between the executive and legislative branches. This led to seven dissolutions of the parliament, the resignation of fourteen governments, and the appointment of three ministers. It also led to the 2011 ‘hand out’ debacle that sparked Kuwait’s own Arab Spring. 

Response to protests

In January 2011 Sabah al-Ahmad gave every Kuwaiti citizen 1000 Kuwaiti dinars. Officially this was to commemorate 20 years of liberation from the Iraqi occupation. Sceptics thought the gift came at a convenient time to placate the population at a time of civil unrest in the country. Whatever the reason, most Kuwaiti citizens were happy with it. Except for the stateless bidoon, who got nothing. It sparked the first demonstrations of bidoon, demanding their right to citizenship. 

Riding the wave of (national and international) unrest, the opposition called for further demonstrations against the government, demanding reforms and prime-minister Sheikh Nasser al-Mohammed to step down. What followed were months of turmoil with protests and a storming of the parliament

Security forces arrested the main instigators of the protests and the emir dissolved the parliament in June 2012 (as is his constitutional right) to make place for a new (effectively it was the old 2009-parliament) more government-friendly one.

In October 2012, the emir  pushed for a new electoral law (allowing voters to cast ballots for just one candidate, instead of four) that was supposed to level the playing field and shatter large tribal coalitions. The result was more protests (not in the least by those large tribal coalitions).

Leader of the parliamentary opposition Musallam al-Barrak held a fierce speech in front of his supporters in which he accused the royal family of being “autocratic”; Directly addressing the emir, he shouted “We will not allow you to practice autocracy!”, after which the crowd yelled “we will not allow you, we will not allow you!”.  

Al-Barrak paid a price for criticising the emir (thereby crossing the red line), and was arrested and sentenced to five years in prison, which was later reduced to two years.

Moreover,  the trust in the government took an even deeper nose-dive, not helped by the fact that under Sabah al-Ahmad criticism was further curtailed.

With the new electoral law in place, the opposition boycotted the December 2012 elections, after which the opposition, which had united in a loose coalition, saw its role diminished. 

In the following years, the government led by Sabah al-Ahmad continued its oppression of activists, voices of dissent, and cracked down on freedom of expression, especially on social media. Authorities also detained and prosecuted civil society activists and critics of Sabah’s government through an anti-cybercrime law passed in 2016

Uniting Kuwaitis

It is safe to say that Sabah al-Ahmad’s dealing with the opposition – which ranges from Islamist to tribal to liberal figures – was not as diplomatic and rift-healing as his modus operandi in the international arena. Until 2015, he was not the beloved emir he would later become. That seemed to change, as the country united in grief after a disaster struck the country: the suicide bombing in the shia Imam Sadiq mosque, which killed  27 worshippers on a Friday morning in June 2015.

While the smoke was still in the air, glass lay scattered on the floor, disoriented and bloodied  people still walked around the site of the attack, the emir arrived to show his support for the shia-community in the country. It was a smart decision,  deeply appreciated both by the shia and sunni communities in Kuwait, a country that understands the potential danger sectarian divides create. 

Sabah al-Ahmad al-Jaber Al Sabah
Emir of Kuwait at the time, Sheikh Sabah al-Ahmad al-Jaber Al Sabah (2L) and parliament speaker Marzouq al-Ghanem (R) arrive to perform Friday prayers as Sunni and Shiite worshipers gathered together to pray in an act of solidarity at Kuwait’s Sunni Grand Mosque in Kuwait City on July 3, 2015. Kuwait’s ministry of Awqaf and Islamic affairs called on Kuwaitis of all sects to perform the Friday prayers together as a show of national unity following a suicide bombing at a Shiite Mosque the previous week. AFP PHOTO / YASSER AL-ZAYYAT

It was clear that the Imam Sadiq event brought this emir’s skills of reducing divides to the forefront once again. His popularity skyrocketed, which showed a few months later, during the opening of the Jaber-stadium, when a picture of the emir appeared on a big screen, the audience went wild.

Later on the emir himself entered the stadium and circled the stadium in his car, the crowd went even wilder, shouting slogans such as “you are the father of us all”. The fact that the opening of the stadium had been postponed for five years because of construction issues caused by corruption issues did not matter that night. 

After the Imam Sadiq attack, his popularity  kept growing, not in the least because of his support for Tamim bin Hamad Al Thani, his Qatari counterpart, during the Saudi and Emirati led boycott. Kuwaiti citizens collectively appreciated his support for what they perceived as the underdog, something they tend to value, being citizens of a small country squeezed between the powerhouses of Saudi Arabia and Iran.

Shortly after the Qataris started to drive around with stickers of Tamim’s face on their cars, the Kuwaitis followed suit with their own stickers of Sabah al-Ahmad. 

Be that as it may, the fractious relationship between the government and the parliament continued, as lawmakers have continued to oppose the government’s austerity measures in the context of declining oil prices. 

When the figures are added up, Sabah al-Ahmad can be considered a rather popular and successful emir, despite the fact that after the 2011/2012 protests nothing much has changed in the country. Not economically (the economy is still largely oil-based), not socially (the bidoons are still fighting for citizenship) and not politically (the opposition is still largely squashed or bribed to turn pro-government).

After a period of swift growth in the 1950’s to 1970’s, Kuwait’s development began to stagnate, whereas the rest of the GCC-states has picked up speed. There are regular long-term plans, usually called visions, that come with slogans such as ‘The New Kuwait’. In 2016 the latest version – Vision 2035 – was presented. 

At the time, critics remarked that it will most likely just stay that, a vision. Apart from being a text on a billboard, five years later the ‘New Kuwait’ seems indeed nowhere near. As alluded to above, this cannot necessarily all be blamed on the emir; Kuwait’s political system allows for participation, which is mainly interpreted as opposition. It leads to a system where even if the palace wants something – unlike in the neighbouring countries – it might not happen. 

It is therefore no surprise that Sabah al-Ahmad was mostly focusing on (and successful at) selling the ‘Kuwait Brand’ abroad: it’s an area where he met little internal opposition and had most freedom to move. He did that skillfully.