تبرع
وقائع الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

الموانئ العمانية هدف للقوى الأجنبية القديمة

يقترب الصيادون العمانيون من الساحل لبيع صيدهم في سوق محلي في العاصمة العمانية مسقط

استفادت الموانئ العمانية من موقعها الاستراتيجي بشكل أساسي حيث كانت تقع على امتداد طريقين رئيسيين يربطان الشرق والغرب: عبر الخليج العربي وعبر البحر الأحمر. وبناء على ذلك، عندما كان التركيز يتحول من طريق بحري إلى آخر، على سبيل المثال نتيجة تحول القوى في إطار أوسع، كان يتم استخدام الموانئ في الخليج الفارسي أو في بحر العرب.

ثانيًا، كانت الموانئ ترتبط بنوعين من الشبكات التجارية: التجارة الساحلية بين البلاد التي تحد البحر الأحمر والخليج العربي والجزء الغربي من المحيط الهندي، والتجارة العابرة للقارات بين أوروبا وإفريقيا ودول الخليج والهند وماليزيا وإندونيسيا والصين.

ختاماً، كان موقع الموانئ العمانية مناسباً فيما يتعلق بالرياح الموسمية. حيث كانت هذه الرياح المتغيرة تحدد الاتجاه والإيقاع لهاتين الشبكتين التجاريتين. كانت الرياح الموسمية الجنوبية الغربية – التي تهب من أبريل/نيسان إلى سبتمبر/أيلول – تسمح بالإبحار شرقًا، بينما الرياح الموسمية الشمالية الشرقية – التي تهب بين نوفمبر/تشرين الثاني ومارس/آذار – بالإبحار غرباً.

جعل الموقع الاستراتيجي لهذه الموانئ الهدف الأكثر تفضيلاً للقوى الأجنبية التي كانت تسعى للسيطرة على التجارة. وبذلك، تمت السيطرة على هذه الموانئ وغزوها أو سلبها في عصور مختلفة من قبل الفرس، والسلاجقة، وإمارة هرمز التي ينحدر حكامها من أصل عماني، وكذلك من قبل البرتغاليين.

في هذه المقالة: عُمان | التاريخ

Donate
Chronicle of the Middle East and North Africa
All

Omani Ports Target for Old Foreign Powers

Omani fishermen approach the coast to sell their catch at a local market in the Omani capital Muscat AFP PHOTO/DAVID FURST (Photo by DAVID FURST / AFP)

Omani ports profited from their strategic position mainly because they were located along two main routes connecting East and West: the routes through the Persian Gulf and through the Red Sea. As a result, if emphasis shifted from one sea route to another, for example due to a shift in the international balance of power, either the ports in the Gulf or those on the Arabian Sea were involved.

Secondly, the ports were connected to two types of trade network: coastal trade between the countries bordering the Red Sea, the Gulf and the western part of the Indian Ocean, and the transcontinental trade between Europe, Africa, the Gulf, India, Malaysia, Indonesia, and China.

Moreover, Oman’s ports were favourably located in relation to the monsoon winds. These changing winds dictated the direction and rhythm of the two trade networks. The south-west monsoon, from April to September, enabled sailing in an eastwardly direction, while the north-east monsoon between November and March directed the voyages westward.

The strategic position of the ports made them a much favoured target for foreign powers which were keen to control trade. Thus the ports have been controlled, invaded, or sacked at various times by Persians, Seljuqs, the Hormuzi principality as well as the Portuguese.

In this article: Oman | History