فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / السودان / المجتمع في السودان / التعليم في السودان

التعليم في السودان

طالبات جامعة الجنينية. Photo Albert Gonzalez Farran/UNAMID

تم تصميم نظام التعليم العام ما قبل استقلال السودان من قبل السلطة الاستعمارية بهدف تخريج الموظفين والمهنيين.وفيما بعد الاستقلال خضع النظام للعديد من التغييرات التي سعت إلى تلبية الاحتياجات الاقتصادية والاجتماعية الحيوية في البلاد. والتعليم في السودان اليوم مجاني وإلزامي للأطفال الذين تتراوح أعمارهم بين 6 إلى 13 عاماً. ويستمر التعليم الابتدائي لمدة ثماني سنوات ، تليها ثلاث سنوات من الدراسة الثانوية. ويمكن للطلاب الاختيار بين مسارين أكاديميين : العلمي -الأدبي و الفني (الزراعي والصناعي و التجاري).

اللغة العربية هي لغة التعليم في جميع المستويات. وتتركز المدارس في المناطق الحضرية. وقد قدر البنك الدولي في عام 2001 مستوى الاستيعاب في المدارس الابتدائية ب 46٪ من التلاميذ المؤهلين و 21٪ من تلاميذ المدارس الثانوية المؤهلين. وهناك تباين كبير في الاستيعاب ، حيث ينخفض في بعض المحافظات إلى أقل من 20٪.

وإلى جانب التعليم العام ، ساهمت البعثات التعليمية المصرية والمدارس التبشيرية بقدر كبير في التعليم في السودان ، من خلال عدد من الأنشطة الممتدة إلى مختلف المحافظات.

وكانت بداية التعليم الخاص في المرحلتين الابتدائية والثانوية في خمسينات القرن الماضي ، وسرعان ما انتشر بعد التدهور الذي أصاب التعليم العام. وبالرغم من غياب الأرقام الدقيقة ، فمن المعروف أن هناك في الخرطوم العديد من المدارس الخاصة المرموقة و المكلفة والتي تستوعب التلاميذ من عائلات الطبقة العليا وتدرس باللغة الإنجليزية .

ظهر التعليم العالي في عام 1902 مع إنشاء كلية غردون التذكارية والتي تغير اسمها إلى كلية الخرطوم الجامعية ثم انفصلت عن جامعة لندن في العام 1956 ، لتصبح جامعة الخرطوم .

في فترة ما قبل الاستقلال ، جرى إنشاء العديد من المؤسسات التعليمية التي تمنح شهادات الدبلوم لموظفي الحكومة الذين أكملوا المرحلة الثانوية. وكانت واحدة من هذه المؤسسات هي معهد الخرطوم الفني ، المركز الرائد في مجال التعليم الفني في السودان. ثم صار في عام 1975 معهد الكليات التكنولوجية ومن ثم أعطي مكانة جامعية في العام 1990 ليصبح جامعة السودان للعلوم والتكنولوجيا.

تأسست جامعة القاهرة (فرع الخرطوم) في عام 1955 وسميت جامعة النيلين في عام 1993. وفي عام 1975 تم إنشاء جامعتي جوبا والجزيرة.

بعد ‘ ثورة التعليم العالي “عام 1990 ، قفز عدد الجامعات الحكومية من خمسة إلى 35 في عام 2010. وفي الوقت نفسه أصبح التعليم العالي مجالاً للاستثمارات الخاصة وفتحت عشرات الجامعات والكليات الخاصة في جميع أنحاء البلاد ، مع تركز ملحوظ في الخرطوم. ويقدر عدد من الجامعات والكليات الخاصة الآن إلى بحوالي 61. وقد أدت هذه الطفرة الهائلة إلى انخفاض مروع في الإنفاق الحكومي على التعليم العام ، وهو ما مثل فقط في عام 2010 و 2٪ في عام 2011.

ورافق التوسع السريع في مؤسسات التعليم العالي تدهورا ملحوظا في نوعية التعليم المقدم ، وظل حوالي 45٪ من الخريجين عاطلين عن العمل.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: UNAMID ©United Nations

Fanack Home / Sudan / Society of Sudan / Education in Sudan

Education in Sudan

 University of El Geneina Sudan culture and media
Students of the University of El Geneina. Photo Albert Gonzalez Farran/UNAMID

Sudan’s pre-independence public education system was designed by the colonial power to produce civil servants and professionals. Post-independence, the system underwent many changes, aimed at meeting the country’s dynamic economic and social needs. Today, education in Sudan is free and compulsory for children aged six to 13. Primary education lasts eight years, followed by three years of secondary school. Students can choose between two academic tracks: scientific-literary and technical (agricultural-industrial-commercial).

The language of education at all levels is Arabic. Schools are concentrated in urban areas. Primary school enrollment in 2001 was estimated by the World Bank at 46% of eligible students and 21% of eligible secondary school students. Enrollment varies widely, falling below 20% in some provinces.

Besides public education, Egyptian educational missions and missionary schools have contributed a great deal to education in Sudan, with activities extending to a number of provinces.

Private education at primary and secondary levels was introduced in the 1950s, and spread quickly after the deterioration in public education. Although there are no exact figures, there are known to be several expensive and prestigious private schools in Khartoum, accommodating pupils from upper-class families and teaching in English.

Higher education emerged in 1902 with the establishment of Gordon Memorial College. It changed its name to the Khartoum University College and broke away from the University of London in 1956, becoming the University of Khartoum.

Before independence, several educational institutions were established to award diplomas to government employees who had completed secondary school. One of these was the Khartoum Technical Institute, the leading centre of technical education in Sudan. It became the Khartoum Polytechnic Institute in 1975 and was given university status in 1990, becoming the Sudan University of Science and Technology.

Cairo University (Khartoum Branch) was established in 1955 and renamed Al-Neelain University in 1993. In 1975, the universities of Juba and Gezira were established.

After the ‘revolution of higher education’ of 1990, the number of government universities jumped from five to 35 in 2010. At the same time, higher education became a field of private investments and tens of private universities and colleges were opened in all parts of the country, with a noticeable concentration in Khartoum. The number of private universities and colleges is now estimated to be around 61. This tremendous upsurge resulted in a shocking drop in government expenditure on public education, accounting for only 1% in 2010 and 2% in 2011.

The rapid expansion of higher education institutions was accompanied by a marked deterioration in the quality of the education provided, and some 45% of graduates is unemployed.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: UNAMID ©United Nations | UNAMID ©United Nations

"Ignorance leads to fear, fear leads to hatred, and hatred leads to violence.
This is the equation."

IBN RUSHD/AVERROES (1126 – 1198)

We are a Dutch not for profit organisation (NGO), financed solely by individuals who share our belief in the importance of publishing and disseminating reliable, unbiased information on the Middle East & North Africa region. To represent the voice of the region’s people, we carefully echo the region’s heartbeat by offering fact-checked and therefore credible information.

Your support is greatly appreciated and helpful!

COVID-19 UPDATE

Get the latest update on the Coronavirus outbreak in the Middle East and North Africa.

Regional Update