تبرع
وقائع الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

تونس: مجيء الإسلام

في منتصف القرن السابع، واجهت المسيحية تحديات كبيرة في شمال إفريقيا، بما فيها تونس الحالية. بعد وفاة النبي محمّد، سيطرت الخلافة الأموية، التي حكمت بين 661-750 من دمشق، على الدولة الاسلامية المؤسسة حديثاً. وبقيادة عقبة بن نافع، دخل جيش عربي مسلم عام 670 إلى مقاطعة أفريقية الرومانية، وأسس باسم الدولة الأموية في دمشق مدينة القيروان (الحصن) التي أصبحت قاعدتهم في نضالهم ضد الاحتلال. كشف موقع مدينة القيروان بين الساحل والجبال عزم عقبة بن نافع على توسيع نفوذه إلى المناطق البربرية الجنوبية المستقلة في تونس، والتي لم تنج من سيطرة القرطاجيين والرومان.

كانت المقاومة الرئيسية للجيوش العربية المسلمة تتألف من قوات بربريّة، وغالباً من المسيحيين بقيادة كسيلة. لكن في نهاية المطاف، هُزم البربر وسُجن كسيلة. بالكاد اكتمل الفتح الإسلامي لشمال إفريقيا حتى تولى الخليفة عبد الملك السلطة (685-705)، مما أدّى إلى احتلال قرطاج ذات الأهمية الاستراتيجية.

على الرغم من التقدم التدريجي للجيوش العربية المسلمة في الأراضي البربرية، واصل بعض البربر المقاومة بشراسة. فعلى سبيل المثال، هاجمت قبيلة جراوة، زعيمتها امرأة عُرفت بين العرب باسم “الكاهنة”، جيوش المسلمين باستمرار، مع أنّها لم تشكل تهديداً على قاعدتهم في القيروان لأسباب استراتيجية. عام 696، هزمت الكاهنة العرب في تبسة، في الجزائر اليوم، لكنها لاقت مصرعها في نهاية المطاف في مدينة الجم الرومانية. بعد وفاتها، أصبحت الكاهنة أسطورة وبطلة وطنية يُحتفل بذكراها في تونس حتى يومنا هذا.

المسجد الكبير في القيروان
المسجد الكبير في القيروان

بعد سقوط الخلافة الأموية في دمشق عام 750، ازداد اضطراب البربر في شمال إفريقيا. وساعد قيام الخلافة العباسية السريع في بغداد عام 750 على احتواء الاضطرابات بعض الشيء. كما ضايق البعد الجغرافي لعاصمة الخلافة بعضاً من عرب أفريقية، الذين أزعجهم تدخل الخليفة في ما اعتبروه شؤوناً إقليمية. خلال الاضطرابات المتزايدة، قاد ابراهيم بن الأغلب، أحد الزعماء المحليين، جيشاً مكّنه من إرساء الاستقرار في أفريقية. وبعدما أعاد الاستقرار، مُنح لقب “أمير” وحكم هو وسلالته أفريقية بين 800-909. وفي عهد الأغالبة، تحسن اقتصاد أفريقية بشكل ملحوظ. كما تم تحسين نظام توزيع المياه لتزويد المدن وتعزيز زراعة أشجار الزيتون وغيرها من المنتجات الزراعية. وتم إنشاء طرق تجارية تربط أفريقية بالمناطق الداخلية من القارة، بما فيها السودان والصّحراء الكبرى. وربطت الطرق البحرية أفريقية بالإسكندرية في مصر، والتي سرعان ما أصبحت وجهة رئيسية للتجار.

على الرغم من الازدهار النسبي للسكان في ذلك الوقت، لم يحظ الحكم بشعبية في صفوف العرب والبربر. ويعزى ذلك إلى عدة عوامل مشتركة: افتقار النظام إلى الشرعية، والذي حكم من بغداد البعيدة جداً؛ نمط حياة الحكام “غير إسلامي” ؛ وعدم احترامهم للبربر الذين اعتنقوا الإسلام. فمثل هذه الممارسات كانت متعارضة مع المذهب المالكي الإسلامي السائد في تونس.

المملكة الرستمية

تونس تاريخ
المملكة الرستمية (الاسود)

تأسست المملكة الرستمية إثر تمرّد الخوارج على علي بن أبي طالب، الخليفة الرابع، الأمر الذي تسبب بانقسام جيوشه. كان الخوارج من أتباع معتقد متزمت ينادي بالمساواة استقطب عدداً كبيراً من البربر. وما لبث أن ثار الخوارج من البربر في شمال إفريقيا ضد الحكام بسبب سياسة التمييز ضد البربر المسلمين على شكل فرض ضريبة خاصة عليهم. وتلى ذلك عقود من الاشتباكات بين الخوارج والنظام الإسلامي العربي، نتج عنه هزيمة الخوارج البربر عام 772.

بقي بعض الخوارج في المنطقة وأسسوا دولة عاصمتها تيارت عام 776، على المنحدر الجنوبي من جبال الونشريس الموجودة اليوم في الجزائر. استمرت هذه الدولة حتى عام 909 وأصبحت جزءً من المملكة الرستمية التي أسسها عبد الرحمن بن رستم، إمام ذو أصول تونسية وفارسية. وحكمها زعماء دينيون من سلالة بن رستم.

لم يتمكن الأغالبة في أفريقية من هزيمة المملكة الرستمية المجاورة، وأرغموا على الاعتراف بسلطتها على منطقة الصحراء الكبرى في شمال إفريقيا. استمدت العاصمة تيارت ثروتها من سيطرتها على التجارة عبر الصحراء الكبرى؛ كان يتم نقل الذهب والعاج والعبيد على طول الطريق، مقابل الحصول على سلع مصنعة في حوض البحر الأبيض المتوسط. استقطبت المملكة الناس من جميع أنحاء العالم الإسلامي، بما في ذلك المسيحيين الذين كان الخوارج يرحبون بهم. عام 909، احتل الفاطميون المملكة الرستمية ومقاطعة الأغالبة في أفريقية لكن لا يزال هناك بعض الخوارج في شرق الجزائر وغرب ليبيا وجزيرة جربة في تونس.

تونس
الخلافة الفاطمية. @Fanack

السلالة الفاطمية

تأسست الحركة الفاطمية على يد أبو عبد الله الشيعي من اليمن وعبيد الله من سوريا. ظهرت هذه الحركة في المغرب بدعم من قبيلة كتامة البربرية من شرق الجزائر الحالية. كانت الحركة الفاطمية فرعاً من المذهب الشيعي، نظراً إلى أن عبيد الله المهدي بالله متحدر من نسب فاطمة ابنة النبي محمّد، ومن هنا جاء اسم الحركة. رحبت قبيلة كتامة البربرية برفض الفاطميين للخلافة في بغداد وانضموا

إليهم. وحرصاً على توسيع نطاق أراضيهم، هاجم الفاطميون الحكام الأغالبة على نحو متكرر، مما زاد من عدم استقرار أفريقية. عام 909، غزا الفاطميّون مدينة القيروان وفرضوا إخلاء قصر رقادة، كما استولوا في الوقت ذاته تقريباً على المملكة الرستمية.

بنيت “المهدية”، عاصمة الفاطميين على الساحل الشرقي لأفريقية، على اسم المهدي بالله، اللقب الذي كان يطلقه عبيد الله المهدي بالله على نفسه. استمدّ الفاطميون شرعيتهم من مصدرين: صلتهم المباشرة بالنبي محمّد؛ ولقب الخليفة الذي مُنح لأول حاكم لهم. مع ذلك، عارض العديد من السنّة بشدة توسع الفاطميين في أفريقية، بما في ذلك القيروان، نظراً إلى أن التعاليم الفاطمية الشيعية كانت متعارضة بشدة مع تعاليم المذهب المالكي السائد في ذلك الوقت. بشكل خاص، لم يكن نظام ضرائب الفاطميين القاسي مستحباً بين السكان السنّة. وكانت وفاة عبيد الله المهدي فرصة للخوارج لشن هجوم واسع النطاق على الفاطميين الذين كانوا حينها خاضعين لحكم ابن عبيد الله المهدي. أدى هذا الأمر إلى هزيمة هذا الأخير في المهدية في منتصف القرن العاشر، ولكن الفاطميين عادوا في النهاية إلى ساحة المعركة ونجحوا في محاصرة الخوارج.

لم يتمكن الفاطميون من فرض حكم صارم على شمال إفريقيا وتوسيع نطاق أراضيهم إلا في عهد المعز لدين الله، الخليفة الفاطمي الرابع، الذي تميز بسياساته الحربية الناجحة ودبلوماسيته الفعالة. لكن عام 968 اتجه الفاطميون شرقاً واحتلوا مصر وأسسوا عاصمتهم القاهرة. كما أسّسوا الجامع الأزهر الذي أصبح المركز الأساسي للمسلمين السنّة. عام 973، انتقل الخليفة الفاطمي المعزّ من أفريقية إلى مصر، و حكم حتّى عام 1171. ولم يعد الفاطميّون – الذين شكّلوا لفترة ما القوّة الإسلامية المهيمنة – إلى أفريقية على الإطلاق. واختفت قبيلة كتامة البربرية تدريجيّاً من مصر و شمال إفريقيا بعد صراع مرهق مع الفاطميين. وفي نهاية المطاف، أصبحت أفريقية خاضعة للبربر. وأصبح بولوغين بن زيري مؤسس السلالة الزيرية أول حاكم عليها. في حين كان البربر في البداية تحت حماية الخليفة الفاطمي الشيعي، إلا أنهم نالوا استقلالهم عام 1048. ونحو نهاية القرن الحادي عشر، غزت قبيلة بني هلال أفريقية وأضعفت السلالة الزيرية بشكل كبير. وإلى جانب عدم الاستقرار، استولى الصقليون النورمانديون على مدينة المهدية عام 1148.

تونس تاريخ
دولة الموحدون. @Fanack

الموحدون

تأسست حركة الموحدين في المغرب من قبل ابن تومرت من قبيلة مصمودة البربرية، وحكمت شمال إفريقيا منذ عام 1130. اتبعت هذه الحركة التفسير المتزمت للشريعة الإسلامية الذي يعلّم بوحدانية الله. ورفضوا تعاليم المذهب المالكي السني وكافة المذاهب الإسلامية الأخرى. بعد وفاة ابن تومرت، خلفه عبد المؤمن كأول خليفة من الموحّدين، وكانت مهمته تشكيل مجتمع إسلامي موحّد في شمال

إفريقيا بهدف غزو شرق المغرب العربي. في منتصف القرن الثاني عشر، وصل عبد المؤمن إلى الإمبراطورية الزيرية التي كانت آنذاك مزعزعة جداً جرّاء غزو النورمانديين لمدنية المهدية قبل بضع سنوات.

احتل عبد المؤمن مدينة تونس، مستفيداً من عدم الاستقرار في أفريقية، وتمكن من هزم النّورمانديين الذين غادر معظمهم أفريقية وبقي عدد قليل منهم كتجار. واصل عبد المؤمن احتلال الأراضي واستولى على طرابلس في نهاية المطاف. وللمرة الأولى، اتحد المغرب العربي تحت سلطة محلية. دفعت قوة الموحدين وثروتهم وصيت جيوشهم بملك إنكلترا جون إلى التحقق من قوة المغرب العربي الكبيرة لتحديد فيما إذا كان الموحدون يخططون للاستيلاء على إقليم أكيتانيا الإنجليزي شمال جبال البيرينيه.

لكن في النهاية، لم يكن للموحّدين الموارد البشرية والمادية اللازمة لإدارة إمبراطوريتهم البعيدة والدفاع عنها. ولم يمض عقدان من الزمن حتى أطلق بنو غانية، الذين كانوا يعتبرون أنفسهم ورثة المرابطين، ثورة في جزر البليار. فبلغ التمرد أفريقية عام 1148 وتزعزع استقرار المنطقة خلال العقود الخمسة التالية.

تونس
الحفصيون. @Fanack

سلالة الحفصيين

خلفت سلالة الحفصيين إمبراطورية الموحدين عام 1230، واستمرت حتى عام 1574. رفض الحفصيون سلطة الموحدين، مدعين أنهم الورثة الحقيقيون لابن تومرت، مؤسس حركة الموحدين. خلال حياته، أسّس ابن تومرت “مجلس العشرة” الذي تألف من أكثر الموالين للموحدين. وكان أبو حفص عمر الهنتاني أحد الأعضاء النافذين في هذا المجلس، والذي كان ابنه عمر الهنتاني حاكم إقليم أفريقية

منذ عام 1207 وحتى وفاته عام 1221. أصبح أبو زكريا، ابن عمر الهنتاني، حاكم قابس وفي وقت لاحق مدينة تونس.

عقب الخلافات مع الموحدين، أعلن أبو زكريا استقلال الدولة الحفصية، ومنح نفسه لقب “أمير”. خلال السنوات اللاحقة، استولى أبو زكريا على مدن أفريقية، كما الجزائر في الغرب وطرابلس في الشرق. ركّز الحفصيون حكمهم في المناطق الساحلية، تاركين المناطق الداخلية للبربر. وسرعان ما تم الاعتراف رسمياً بسيادة الحفصيين على المنطقة من قبل الدول المجاورة، كالمغرب والأندلس. عام 1259، أصبح المستنصر ابن أبي زكريا خليفة العالم الإسلامي رسمياً بعد سقوط بغداد عام 1258. لكن بعد ثلاث سنوات فقط خسر الحفصيون اللقب لأعدائهم، إلا أنهم بقوا قوة إقليمية كبيرة. في عهد السلالة الحفصية، أصبح المذهب المالكي مرة أخرى المذهب الرئيسي في المنطقة، بيد أنه تغير من الداخل وتحرر جزئياً. وتم قبول العرف المحلي كجزء من الإطار القانوني. وفي القيروان مثلاً، أعيدت صياغة عقود الزواج لمراعاة حقوق المرأة بشكل يحظر على الزوج اتخاذ أكثر من زوجة واحدة. وفتح مفهوم “المصلحة العامة” الشريعة الإسلامية على تفسيرات تأخذ في الاعتبار احتياجات المجتمع وظروفه الخاصة، وهو تطور أدى إلى تشكيل تونس حتى وقتنا الحاضر.

ازدهرت الدولة الحفصية نسبياً من خلال زيادة التجارة الإقليمية، لا سيما بين الصحراء الكبرى والسودان ومع دول البحر الأبيض المتوسط، بما في ذلك الدول الأوروبية التي تبادل الحفصيون السفراء معها. تم تطوير الأنظمة والقوانين في جميع أنحاء المنطقة لتنظيم التجارة. كما تم تحسين أنظمة الشحن لضمان كفاءة التجارة البحرية، وأصبحت مدن تونس والمهدية وقابس وجربة أهم الموانئ فيما يعرف اليوم بتونس. وتم إغناء الشريعة وتوسيعها لضمان القضايا الأخلاقية وتنظيم التجارة من خلال تعزيز الأمن في السوق ومبادئ العمل النزيه والإشراف على الممارسات التجارية الهامة.

لكن في بداية منتصف القرن الرابع عشر، واجهت المنطقة صعوبات اقتصادية كبيرة ناشئة عن عوامل عديدة، منها المشاكل المتزايدة في تجارة الصحراء الكبرى. كما تعرض نفوذ الحفصيين للخطر بسبب نزاعات القوى الإقليمية. عام 1270، وخلال الحملة الصليبية الثامنة، ساءت العلاقات بين أوروبا والحفصيين عندما حاول ملك فرنسا لويس التاسع الاستيلاء على تونس. وفي منتصف القرن الثالث عشر، شكلت قوة المغرب المتصاعدة، الخاضعة للمرينيين في فاس، تهديداً للدولة الحفصية؛ استولت المغرب على مدينة تونس مرتين لفترة وجيزة. وفي النهاية، أدى الصراع الداخلي بين الحفصيين – والحرب التي جرت بين الأتراك والأسبان – إلى انحطاط سلالة الحفصيين. وأصبح الحكام الحفصيون ضعفاء إلى درجة أنهم وقفوا عاجزين أمام التدخل الخارجي: أدّى الغزو التركي لتونس عام 1574 إلى نهاية السلالة الحفصية.

في هذه المقالة: تونس | التاريخ

Donate
Chronicle of the Middle East and North Africa

Tunisia: The Coming of Islam

In the mid-7th century, Christianity was severely challenged in North Africa, including present-day Tunisia. Following the death of the Prophet Muhammad, the Umayyad caliphate, which reigned between 661 and 750 from Damascus, controlled the newly created Islamic state. Under the command of Uqba ibn Nafi, an Arab Muslim army in 670 entered the Roman province of Africa, called Ifriqiya in Arabic. On behalf of the Damascus-based Umayyad dynasty, Uqba ibn Nafi founded the city of Kairouan (‘stronghold’ in Arabic), which would become their base in their struggle for conquest. Kairouan’s location, between the coast and the mountains, revealed that Uqba ibn Nafi intended to extend his influence to Tunisia’s southern autonomous Berber regions, which had largely escaped Carthaginian and Roman control.

The main resistance to the Arab Muslim army consisted initially of Berber forces, often Christians led by Kusaila. Eventually, however, these Berbers were defeated and Kusaila imprisoned. The Islamic conquest of North Africa was almost completed when Caliph Abd al-Malik took power – he ruled from 685 to 705 – leading to the conquest of strategically important Carthage.

Despite the gradual advance of Arab Muslim troops into Berber territories, some Berbers continued to offer fierce resistance. The Jarawa tribe, for example, led by a woman called by the Arabs ‘the prophetess’ (Dihya, or Kahena) attacked the Islamic troops continuously, although, for strategic reasons, without threatening their base in Kairouan. In 696, she defeated the Arabs at Tébessa, which is now part of Algeria, but she was eventually killed in al-Jem. Upon her death, she became a legend and a national hero who is still celebrated in Tunisia.

The Great Mosque of Kairouan
The Great Mosque of Kairouan

After the fall of the Umayyad caliphate in Damascus in 750, Berber disorder increased in North Africa. The quick establishment of the Abbasid caliphate in Baghdad in 750 helped little to contain the unrest. The geographical distance to the capital of the caliphate also bothered some of the Arabs in Ifriqiya, who were disturbed by the caliphate’s meddling in what they considered regional affairs. During the increasing unrest, a provincial leader, Ibrahim I ibn al-Aghlab, led an army with which he managed to enforce stability in Ifriqiya. When he had re-established stability, Ibn al-Aghlab was awarded the title of amir, and he and his descendants ruled Ifriqiya from 800 to 909. Under Aghlabid rule, the economy of Ifriqiya improved markedly. The water system was improved, to supply towns and promote the growing of olive trees and other agricultural products. Trade routes were established that connected Ifriqiya with the interior of the continent, including Sudan and the Sahara. Sea routes linked Ifriqiya to Alexandria in Egypt, which would soon become a main destination for merchants.

Despite the relative prosperity of the population at that time, the rule was not popular amongst Arabs or Berbers. The unpopularity can be attributed to several mutually reinforcing factors: the perceived lack of legitimacy of the administration which ruled from such a great distance, in Baghdad; the un-Islamic way of life of many of its rulers; and the disrespect they showed Berbers who converted to Islam. Such practices were contrary to the dominant Maliki school of Islam in Tunisia.

The Rustamid Kingdom

Rustamid Kingdom
Photo: @Fanack

The Rustamid kingdom had its roots in the Kharijite rebellion against the fourth caliph Ali, which caused a division in his armed forces. The Kharijites (‘those who go out’, alluding to the split within the military) followed a puritanical and egalitarian belief that appealed to many Berbers. In North Africa, the Berber Kharijites soon rebelled against the rulers on account of its discrimination against Muslim Berbers, in the form, for instance, of a special tax imposed on them. Decades of armed clashes between the Kharijites and the Arab Islamic regime followed, resulting, in 772, in a defeat of the Berber Kharijites.

Some Kharijtes, however, remained in the region, and in 776 they established an administration, with its capital at Tahert, on the southern slope of the Ouarsenis mountains, in present-day Algeria. Their rulership lasted until 909 and became part of the Rustamid kingdom, founded by Abd al-Rahman ibn Rustam, an imam of Persian origins. It was governed as a theocracy by religious leaders descended from Ibn Rustam.

The Aghlabids in Ifriqiya were unable to defeat the neighbouring Rustamid kingdom and were forced to recognize its authority over the Sahara area in North Africa. Tahert, the capital, derived its wealth from its control of trade across the Sahara: gold, ivory, and slaves were passed along the route, in exchange for goods produced in the Mediterranean basin. The kingdom attracted people from across the Islamic world, including Christians, who were well received by Kharijites. In 909, both the Rustamid kingdom and the Aghlabid province of Ifriqiya were conquered by the Fatimids. Some remaining Kharijites can, however, still be found in eastern Algeria, western Libya, and Tunisia’s Djerba Peninsula.

The Fatimid Dynasty

Founded by Abu Muhammad Ubayd Allah al-Mahdi bi-Allah al-Shii from al-Yemen and Ubayd Allah from Syria, the Fatimid dynasty emerged in the Maghreb, with the support of the Kutama Berbers from what is now eastern Algeria. The Fatimid dynasty was a branch of the Shiism, Abu Muhammad Ubayd Allah al-Mahdi bi-Allah being a descendant of Fatima,

Fatimid caliphate

the Prophet Muhammad’s daughter, hence the name of the movement. The Kutama Berbers welcomed the founders’ rejection of the caliphate in Baghdad and joined their cause. Eager to expand their territory, the Fatimid movement attacked the Aghlabid rulership repeatedly, increasing the instability in Ifriqiya. In 909 the Fatimids conquered the city of Kairouan and forced the evacuation of the palace at Raqadda, and almost simultaneously captured the Rustamid Kingdom.

The Fatimids’ capital, Mahdia, was built on Ifriqiya’s east coast and was named after the Mahdi (‘the rightly guided one’, a religious title) and bi-Allah (rightly guided by God), as Abu Muhammad Ubayd Allah al-Mahdi bi-Allah was called. The Fatimids derived legitimacy from two sources: their direct links to the Prophet Muhammad and the title of caliph bestowed on the first ruler. Many Sunnis nevertheless fiercely opposed the expansion of the Fatimids into Ifriqiya, including Kairouan, as the Fatimids’ Shiite traditions were strongly at odds with the then dominant teachings of the Maliki school. The harsh taxation scheme of the Fatimids was particularly unpopular amongst the Sunni population. Ubayd Allah al-Mahdi’s death was the occasion of a large-scale Kharijite attack against the Fatimids, who were now ruled by the son of Ubayd Allah al-Mahdi. This led, in the mid-10th century, to the latter’s defeat in Mahdia, but the Fatimids eventually reasserted themselves in battle and successfully besieged the Kharijites.

Only under the reign of the fourth Fatimid caliph, al-Muizz, with his successful war policies and effective diplomacy, were the Fatimids able to establish a firm rule over North Africa and expand their territory. The Fatimid empire would, however, shift eastward in 968, with the conquest of Egypt, where the Fatimids founded their capital, Cairo (al-Qahira, in Arabic). There they also established al-Azhar Mosque, which would become the main centre of Sunni Islam. In 973, the Fatimid caliph al-Muizz moved from Ifriqiya to Egypt, where he reigned until 1171. The Fatimids, for some time the predominant Islamic power, would never return to Ifriqiya. The Kutama Berbers, exhausted by their conflict with the Fatimids, would gradually disintegrate as a distinct identity. Ifriqiya eventually came under the rule of Berber vassals. The first ruler was Buluggin ibn Ziri, founder of the Zirid dynasty. While the Berber vassals initially governed under the aegis of the Fatimid Shiite caliphate, they gained their independence in 1048. Towards the end of the 11th century, Ifriqiya was invaded by the Banu Hilal tribes, who weakened the Zirid dynasty significantly. Adding to the instability, Sicilian Normans captured the city of Mahdia in 1148.

The Almohads

The Almohads ruled in North Africa from 1130. Founded in Morocco by the Masmuda Berber Ibn Tumart, the Almohads followed a puritanical version of Islamic law that preached the unity of God. It rejected the Maliki Sunni school of Islam and all other Islamic schools. On Ibn Tumart’s death, Abd al-Mumin succeeded him as the first Almohad caliph, with the mission of creating a unified

The Almohads
@Fanack

Islamic community in North Africa, to which end he invaded the eastern Maghreb. In the mid-12th century, he reached the Zirid empire, which was then seriously destabilized by the Norman invasion of Mahdia a few years earlier.

Benefiting from Ifriqiya’s instability, Abd al-Mumin occupied Tunis and defeated the Normans. Most of the Normans left Ifriqiya, although some stayed on as merchants. Abd al-Mumin continued his quest for territory and eventually captured Tripoli. For the first time, the Maghreb was united under an authority of local origin. The strength of the Almohads, their wealth, and the excellent reputation of their army led England’s King John to investigate this influential Maghreb power in order to determine whether the Almohads had designs on the English territory of Aquitaine, north of the Pyrenees.

In the end, however, the Almohads did not have the necessary human and material resources to administer and defend their far-flung empire. Only two decades later, the Banu Ghaniya, who saw themselves as the heirs of the Almoravids, began a revolt in the Balearic Islands. The rebellion reached Ifriqiya in 1184 and destabilized the region for the next five decades.

The Hafsid Dynasty

The Almohad empire was succeeded in 1230 by the Hafsid dynasty, which lasted until 1574. The Hafsids rejected the authority of the Almohads, claiming that it was they themselves who embodied the legacy of Ibn Tumart, the founder of the Almohads. During his lifetime, Ibn Tumart founded the Group of Ten, consisting of the closest adherents of the Almohads.

The Hafsids
@Fanack

One influential member of this group was Umar Abu Hafs al-Hintati, whose son Umar al-Hintati was the governor of Ifriqiya province from 1207 until his death in 1221. The son of Umar al-Hintati, Abu Zakariya, became governor of Gabes and later of Tunis.

Following disagreements with the Almohads, Abu Zakariya declared the independence of the Hafsids, granting himself the title of amir. During the subsequent years, Abu Zakariya took the cities of Ifriqiya, as well as Algiers in the west and Tripolitania in the east. The Hafsids concentrated their rule on coastal regions, leaving the inland regions to the Berbers. Soon the Hafsids’ supremacy in the region was officially recognized by neighbouring territories, such as Morocco and al-Andalus. In 1259, Abu Zakariya’s son, al-Mustansir, officially became the caliph of the Islamic world, after the fall of Bagdad in 1258. Although only three years later he had to pass on the title to a rival, the Hafsids remained a significant regional power. Under the Hafsid dynasty, the Maliki school became once more the central school of law in the region, but it was being changed and partially liberalized from within. Local custom was accepted as part of the legal framework. In Kairouan, for example, marriage contracts were redesigned to accommodate women’s rights, prohibiting husbands from taking more than one wife. The Islamic concept of maslaha (public interest) opened up Islamic law to interpretations that took account of the community’s particular circumstances and needs, a development that has shaped Tunisia up to the present.

The Hafsid dynasty guaranteed relative prosperity through the increase in regional trade, especially between the Sahara and the Sudan and with the Mediterranean countries, including the Europeans, with whom the Hafsids exchanged ambassadors. Practices and laws were developed throughout the region to regulate trade. Shipping practices were improved to ensure efficient sea trade, and Tunis, Mahdia, Gabes, and Djerba became the most important ports in what is now Tunisia. Islamic law was enriched and extended in order to guarantee moral issues and regulated trading through, for example, enhanced security in the market place, the principles of fair dealing, and the supervision of important business practices.

Nevertheless, beginning in the mid-14th century, the region faced significant economic difficulties, which stemmed from factors such as increasing problems in its Sahara trade. The Hafsids’ influence was also threatened by regional power struggles. In 1270, during the eighth crusade, Hafsid relations with Europe worsened when King Louis IX of France attempted to take Tunis. In the mid-13th century, the rising power of Morocco, at that time ruled by the Marinids of Fez, threatened the Hafsid dynasty; Morocco twice captured Tunis briefly. In the end, though, it was internal conflict amongst the Hafsids – and a war between the Turks and Spaniards – that led to the dynasty’s decline. The Hafsid rulers became so weak that they were little more than helpless spectators in the face of foreign intervention: the Turkish conquest of Tunis in 1574 brought the Hafsid dynasty to an end.