وقائع الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

قبيلة الهمامة التونسية: رواياتٌ عديدة وعاطفة واحدة

قبيلة الهمامة التونسية
صورة تم التقاطها في أغسطس ٢٠٠٩ لبعض البدو وهم يركبون على الجمال في الصحراء التونسية. المصدر: Philippe Lissac/ Godong/ Photononstop/ Photononstop via AFP.

يوسف شرقاوي

قد تكون قبيلة الهمامة من كبرى القبائل الموجودة في تونس. ومع ذلك، فإن الغموض يحوم حول أصل هذه القبيلة وتاريخ استقرارها.

لا يذكر مؤرخو القرون الوسطى كابن خلدون ولا مؤرخو القرنين السادس عشر والسابع عشر شيئاً عن قبيلة الهمامة. لذا، فقد ظلّ الغموض يلف ملامح التاريخ الحديث لهذه القبيلة المركزية، حسب مصطفى التليلي في تقديمه لكتاب “المحلة والهمامة”.

الأصول

يرجع أصل تسمية قبيلة الهمامة إلى الجد الأول الذي أعطاها اسمه وهو همام. وفي الوقت الذي تجمع في المصادر على أن قبيلة الهمامة تنحدر من أصولٍ عربية، إلا أن الباحثين اختلفوا حول إذا ما كانت القبيلة من بني هلال أو بني سليم. ومن غير المستبعد اختلاط بعض فروع الهمامة مع بعض المجموعات الأمازيغية.

وتؤكد بعض الروايات أنّ الجدّ الأول همام كان له ولدان هما ربيعة وإدريس انحدرت من نسلهما فروع القبيلة. وفي الوقت الذي يعود فيه أولاد رضوان بأصولهم إلى سلالة إدريس، فإن أولاد معمّر وأولاد عزيز ينحدرون من سلالة ربيعة.

ولا يشترط أن يصبّ الانتماء القبلي في تونس إلى منبع واحد أو أصلٍ واحد، كما هو الحال في المشرق العربي. بل يتحكم في الانتماء القبلي الطبيعة وجملة من الظروف المحيطة. وتحتّم الحروب والمجاعات والصراعات القبلية على بعض الفروع من القبائل الخروج عن القبيلة الكبيرة لتشكيل قوى منفردة، فتصير مركز ثقل وجلب.

وبحسب معجم القبائل والأشراف في تونس القديمة والمعاصرة، فإن قبيلة الهمامة تتواجد في قفصة وسيدي بوزيد ونفطة جنوب غرب تونس. كما تتواجد بعض فروع القبيلة في بلدة المكناسي وسط تونس.

روح المغامرة

اعتُبِرت قبيلة الهمامة من القبائل المزعجة لمن جاورها من القبائل الأخرى، خاصّة أبناء هذه القبيلة وأنهم كانوا يحبون الغزو والمغامرة. وترتبط هوية قبيلة الهمامة بمثلٍ عربي قديم وهو “السرج واللجام والحياة على الإسلام”. وجرت العادة على أن تردّد المرأة الهمامية هذا المثل في أذن رضيعها لحظة ولادته.

وعلى هذا الأساس، يمكن القول إن هوية الهمامي تستند إلى عاملين أساسيين هما الفروسية والتمسك بالإسلام. ويُنقل عن أبناء قبيلة الهمامة تزويد أطفالهم بالأحصنة والأسلحة طلباً للمغامرة. ويتم التعامل مع كلّ طفلٍ يعود من مغامراته بغنيمة مميزة كهمامي أصيل.

وتعتبر الفروسية من أشهر فنون الهمامة. ويعود الفضل في انتشار الفروسية بين صفوف أبناء الهمامة إلى الهوية التاريخية للقبيلة. وكانت القبيلة على مدى قرون من أقوى قبائل تونس، وهو ما دفع بايات تونس للاستعانة بفرسانها في الحروب الداخلية والخارجية.

وعُرفت قبيلة الهمامة بدورها في محاربة الاستعمار الفرنسي بعد معاهدة باردو. وترد في كتاب “عروش تونس” لمحمد علي الحباشي رسالة من قائد أولاد معمّر إلى الوزير الأكبر وفيها التالي:

“نحن الهمامة، خدّام المرحوم سيدي حسين بن علي رحمه الله ويبارك لنا في خلفهم ولا يقطع لنا منهم ذريّة. إننا منسوبون على عرشهم سلفاً على خلف وليس نريد بدلاً بكرسي غيرهم، وسيلحقنا العار بين نواجع البلاد في حال امتناعنا عن جهاد الفرانسيس”.

ويصعب الحديث عن مجتمع الهمامة بالمعنى الحرفي للكلمة اليوم. فمنذ استقلال تونس، فقد شهدت البنى القبلية تآكلاً لصالح الدولة الوطنية. ومع الوقت، ساهم هذا التآكل في تراجع خصوصية واستقلال المجتمعات القبلية المغلقة مقابل توسع النطاق الوطني، كما يقول أمين الحرشاني لفنك، وهو أحد أبناء الهمامة. ويضيف الحرشاني: “من الأصح أن نتحدث اليوم عن فضاء جغرافي قد يتسم ببعض الخصوصيات الثقافية بحكم انحدار أغلب سكانه من أصول قبلية واحدة، كما الهمامة”.

الأولياء الصالحون

قبيلة الهمامة التونسية
صورة تم التقاطها في ديسمبر ٢٠١٤ لمجموعة من البدو وهم يركبون الجمال على هامش فعاليات مهرجان الصحراء الذي تم تنظيمه في صحراء دوز التونسية. المصدر: PREAU Louis-Marie / hemis.fr / Hemis via AFP.

ما زالت المناطق التي تنتشر فيها الهمامة محافظة رغم التحديث على بعض عاداتها. ومن أبرز تلك العادات انتشار ظاهرة الاحتفاء بالأولياء الصالحين وبمقاماتهم. وتحمل هذه الاحتفالات التي يجري تنظيمها سنوياً اسم الزردة. وتعتبر الزردة “مهرجاناً شعبياً يُقام حول الأضرحة وزوايا الأولياء الصالحين، وهي ترتبط عادةً بالروحانيات والمعتقدات المتوارثة حول قدرة الأولياء على درء المخاطر وتحقيق الأمنيات والتقرب إلى الله”.

ويرى وزير الثقافة السابق مهدي مبروك أن الزردة جزءٌ من الإسلام والمعتقد الصوفي الشعبي. وكانت هذه الظاهرة قد تراجعت بين القرنين السابع عشر والثامن عشر في عموم المشرق العربي بسبب ظهور بعض الحركات الدينية الإصلاحية ونتيجة لمنع ممارسة هذه الشعائر تحت ضغط الفكر الوهابي. ومع ذلك، فقد ظلّت هذه الظاهرة، بحسب مبروك، قوية وراسخة في دول المغرب العربي.

ويقول الحرشاني: “وجود المقامات أدى إلى تنظيم احتفالاتٍ سنوية للاحتفاء بهؤلاء الأولياء الصالحين. وتشهد هذه الاحتفالات نشاطاتٍ ثقافية متعددة كالفروسية وغناء الأهازيج البدوية وسرد الأذكار الصوفية المحلية”.

الأفراح

تقسم أفراح قبيلة الهمامة بصورة نمطية إلى أقسام متعددة. ويسمّى يوم كتابة الصداق بيوم “الميعاد” بحسب ما يقوله الحرشاني. وبعد ذلك، تأتي أيام الفرح الثلاثة. ويسمّى اليوم الأول بيوم الكسوة، حيث تقدّم عائلة العريس هدايا وجهاز العروسة. ويجري تقديم الهدايا في محفل نسوي يتم في النهار وتصحبه الموسيقى الشعبية. وتأتي بعد ذلك ليلة الحنّة، وهي حفلٌ ليلي يعتبر من أبرز معالم أفراح الهمامة. ويختتم الفرح بليلة الزفاف.

ويقول الحرشاني: “من أهم سمات الأفراح التركيز على الطعام والإكثار منه. ويعود السبب في ذلك إلى الأصول البدوية للهمامة. وجرت العادة على أن يتم تقديم الكسكسي بلحم الضأن كطبقٍ رئيسي يتشاركه الجميع”.

ولا يتسم المطبخ التقليدي للهمامة بتنوع كبير. وبصورة مماثلة لأغلب القبائل البدوية، فإن أكل أبناء الهمامة يقوم على لحم الضأن الذي يتم تقديمه سواء في الأفراح أو الأحزان. ويقول الحرشاني: “يكثر الهمامة من طبخ الخرفان مع الكسكسي بطريقة مميزة يسمونها المسلان، وهي طبخ خروف كامل دون تقطيعه، على سيخ حديدي”.

فنون الهمامة

ينتشر الغناء الصالحي بين أبناء قبيلة الهمامة. ويقوم هذا الغناء ذي الطابع البدوي على تطويل مقاطع الكلمات ودمجها. ويقول الحرشاني إن هذا الغناء لا تصاحبه آلات موسيقية إلا فيما ندر، من قبيل الدف أو الطبل أو القصبة.

ومن الفنون المميزة التي تشتهر بها قبيلة الهمامة رسم الوشوم. ويتم اللجوء إلى رسم الوشوم على النساء كوسيلة لتمييز انتماءهنّ للقبيلة. وفي الوقت الذي يتم فيه وشم رموز معيّنة على وجه وكفي وصدر وساقي المرأة، فإن بعض الرجال ينقشون الوشوم على بعض أجسادهم لكن بدرجةٍ أقل.

المرأة الهمامية

تتميز المرأة الهمامية بحرية أكبر بكثير من المرأة في المجتمعات البدوية. وفي هذا الصدد، يقول الحرشاني: “تحتّم الحياة البدوية على المرأة المشاركة في أغلب شؤون العائلة خارج حدود خيمتها أو منزلها. لذا، اتسمت حياتها بحرية أكبر، تعكسها الملابس. فالهمامية لا ترتدي السفساري أو اللحاف الذي يغطي وجهها، بل تكتفي بما تسمى “العكسة”، التي لا تغطي كل الشعر”.

تتأكد الحرية من خلال عدم وجود فصل صارم بين الجنسين. ويقول الحرشاني إن الأعراس وزيارة الأولياء أمور مشتركة ومختلطة. وكثيراً ما ترقص فيها النسوة أو يغنّين جنباً إلى جنب مع الرجال.

الهمامي

تتحكم العاطفة والخلفية البدوية بالثقافة الهمامية، حيث يتعاون أبناء الهمامة فيما بينهم ويؤازرون بعضهم وقت المصاعب. ولكنهم في الوقت نفسه، يتّسمون بالفوران الأعمى والتحزب للعائلات والفروع الأقرب.

ويعرف الهمامي على امتداد قرون أنه عاطفي للغاية. ويصف الحرشاني الهمامي بالتالي: “سريع الحماس والغضب، سريع التشتت والبرود، محبٌّ للاستقلالية والحرية لدرجة الفوضى، وصاحب أنفة لدرجة الغرور، والأهم أنه وطني لدرجة بذل النفس دون حسبان”.

Chronicle of the Middle East and North Africa

Tunisian Hamama Tribe: Numerous Stories, One Sentiment

Tunisian Hamama Tribe
A Picture taken in August 2009 for Bedouins on dromedaries in the Tunisian Sahara. Philippe Lissac/ Godong/ Photononstop/ Photononstop via AFP

Youssef Sharqawi

The Hamama Tribe is one of the biggest tribes residing in Tunisia. However, their origins and when they settled there remain a mystery.

Neither medieval historians like Ibn Khaldun nor 16th and 17th centuries historians made mention of the tribe. And so, a mystery envelops this central tribe’s modern historical features, as Mustapha Tlili described in the preface of his book al-Mahal’a wa al-Hamama.

Origins

The name Hamama was given to the tribe by the first great-grandfather: Hammam. While sources agree that the tribe descended from Arab origins, researchers’ opinions differ on whether it descended from Banu Hilal or Banu Sulaym. It is not ruled out that some of the tribe’s branches mingled with Amazigh groups.

Some narratives ascertain that the first great-grandfather, Hammam, had two sons, Rabe’a and Idris, from which the tribe branches descended. While the Awlad Radwan tribe descended from Idris’ lineage, Awlad Muammar and Awlad Aziz tribes are part of Rabe’a’s lineage.

Tribal belonging and loyalty in Tunisia do not stem from a single origin, as they usually do in the Arab Mashriq. They are governed by nature and surrounding conditions. Pressures from wars, famines and tribal disputes have led some branches to split from their mother tribes to form a separate body and thereby become another central tribe.

According to the Encyclopedia of Tribes and Nobles in Ancient and Modern Tunisia – Mu’jam al-Qabae’l wa al-Ashraf, the Hamama tribe resides in Gafsa and Sisi Bouzid in southwest Tunisia. Additionally, some branches can be found in the city of Meknassy in mid-Tunisia.

Adventurous Spirit

The Hamama tribe was an annoying neighbour to surrounding tribes, as its members are well-known for their love of conquest and adventures. Their identity is closely related to an old Arab proverb; “A saddle, bridle and living for Islam.” Tradition has it that mothers whisper these words into their newborns’ ears.

As such, it can be said that the Hamamian life is based on horsemanship and adherence to Islamic teachings. Reportedly, the tribe’s members provide horses and weapons for their children in their quest for adventure. Children who return from their ventures with exceptional gains are considered real Hamamians.

Horsemanship is one of the Hamama tribe’s most well-known skills and is widespread among its members owing to the tribe’s historical identity. For centuries, the tribe was one of Tunisia’s most powerful, which prompted the Beys of Tunisia to make use of the Hamama’s knights in internal and external wars.

The tribe was known for its role in resisting French colonisation after the Bardo Treaty. Mohamed Ali Habachi’s book Orosh Tunis – Thrones of Tunisia mentions a message from Awlad Muammar’s leader to the prime minister in which he said,

We are the Hamama, servants of the late Sidi Hussien bin Ali. May god rest his soul and bless his descendants and preserve them. The throne belongs to us as they are our ancestors, and we are their descendants, and we don’t want their throne to be defiled by others than them, and shame would haunt us across the country if we do not resist the French.

It is challenging to talk about the Hamama society today. Since Tunisia’s independence, tribal structures have regressed in favour of the national state.

Over time, this regression has reduced the privacy and autonomy of tribal societies while national societal characteristics have expanded, as Amin al-Harshani, one of the tribe’s members, told Fanack. “It is more accurate today to talk about a geographical space featuring some cultural peculiarities, given that most of that space’s inhabitants descend from the same tribal origins, just like the Hamama tribe,” he added.

Righteous Awliya

Tunisian Hamama Tribe
Tunisia, Douz, Sahara, international festival of the Sahara in Douz, Bedouins with dromedaries. PREAU Louis-Marie / hemis.fr / Hemis via AFP

Despite modernity, the regions where Hamama members reside have maintained some of their traditions. Among the most prominent traditions is celebrating the righteous Awliya and their shrines. The Awliya are those that have been truly pious and God-fearing and are, therefore, role models to others.

These annual celebrations are called ‘Zarda.’ Zarda is a “folklore carnival held around the shrines of the Awliya and is linked to spirituality and inherited beliefs regarding the Awliya’s powers to deter dangers, fulfil wishes and increase devotion to God.”

Mehdi Mabrouk, the former Tunisian Minister of Culture, thinks Zarda is a part of Islam and the popular Sufi belief. As reformist religious movements emerged and these practices were banned under the pressure of Wahhabism, the phenomenon diminished during the 17th and 18th centuries throughout the Arab Mashriq. According to Mabrouk, Zarda remained strongly present in the Arab Maghreb countries.

Al-Harshani says, “The existence of shrines led to the organisation of annual celebrations to celebrate these pious Awliya. These celebrations include several cultural activities, such as horsemanship, bedouin songs, and reciting local Sufi supplications.”

Weddings

The Hamama’s weddings are typically held over the course of several days. According to al-Harshani, the day of documenting the marriage is the day of ‘Mi’aad,’ which is followed by three wedding days.

The first day is the ‘Kiswah’ day, during which the groom’s family presents gifts and trousseaus. Gifts are presented in daytime women’s gatherings on the melodies of folklore music. A nighttime henna ceremony ensues and is one of the most notable features of Hamamian weddings. The marriage then ends on the wedding night.

“People usually offer large quantities of food adhering to their bedouin traditions,” says al-Harshani. He adds that “tradition has it that couscous with lamb and mutton is served as a main dish for everyone to share.”

Hamamian cuisine is not very diverse. Like most bedouin tribes, they mainly eat lamb, which is also commonly served at weddings or funerals. “Hamamians often cook lambs according to a recipe they call ‘Meslan,’ which is cooking an entire lamb on an iron pole skewer without chopping it,” al-Harshani says.

Hamama Arts

Salihi singing is famous among Hamamians. This bedouin style of singing is based on prolonging and mixing verses. Al-Harshani says that this style is rarely sung with musical instruments, such as the tambourine, drums, or gasba.

The use of tattoos is also a unique characteristic of the tribe. Tribal women get tattoos to display their affiliation with the tribe. They tattoo certain symbols on their face, hands, breasts and legs. Although men also get tattoos on their bodies, they do so to a lesser extent than women.

Hamamian Women

The Hamamian women have more freedom than women in other bedouin societies. In this regard, al-Harshani says: “Bedouin life dictates that women participate in most family matters, outside the borders of her tent or house. That’s why their clothes reflect more freedom. The Hamamian woman does not wear the safseri or a veil that covers her face; she only wears the ‘Aksah,’ which only covers part of her hair.”

This freedom is more evident through the lack of strict gender separation. Al-Harshani states that weddings and visits to the shrines of the Awliya are common and mixed activities in which women may dance and sing along with men.

Hamamian Men

The Bedouin passion and background rule the Hamamian culture, as tribal members help each other when in need. At the same time, they are known for blind anger and to only bear hardship for their families and close branches of their tribe.

For centuries, the Hamamian man was known to be highly emotional. Al-Harshani describes the Hamamian man, saying, “He gets excited and angry quickly but feels cold and lost just as fast. He loves independence and freedom to the point of chaos, is prideful to the point of vanity, and most importantly, so patriotic that he would thoughtlessly sacrifice his life.”