تبرع
وقائع الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

تونس: النفوذ الأوروبي

تونس: النفوذ الأوروبي
“مقهى في تونس، الحماية الفرنسية بتونس، 1912.” by Julius.jaa is licensed under CC BY 2.0

أثناء حكم البايات الحسينيين، شهدت تونس في البداية فترة ازدهار، ولا سيما خلال فترة الثورة الفرنسية التي أدت إلى عجز اقتصادي في أوروبا تمت تغطيته جزئياً عن طريق الصادرات التونسية.

لكن في أوائل عشرينيات القرن التاسع عشر، بدأ الاقتصاد التونسي يتدهور. وفي أوائل القرن التاسع عشر، كانت تونس قد أوقفت عمليات القرصنة بموجب اتفاقية مع السلطات البريطانية والفرنسية. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، بدأت قوى أوروبية عديدة بتصدير منتجاتها إلى تونس، مما أدى إلى تغيير الأسعار المحلية بشكل أضرّ بالتجار التونسيين والسلطات الحاكمة. وبالتالي، لم يتمكن التجار المحليون من منافسة العديد من المنتجات الأوروبية، الأمر الذي صعّب عليهم بيع سلعهم وخدماتهم. بلغ النفوذ الأوروبي المتزايد ذروته عام 1881 حين فرضت فرنسا حماية على تونس استمرت حتى عام 1956. احتفظ البايات الحسينيون بمناصبهم تحت الحماية، غير أن دورهم أصبح مراسمياً إلى حد كبير.[/vc_column_text][/vc_column][/vc_row]

الحماية الفرنسية

أعلنت روسيا الحرب على الأتراك عام 1877، مما أدى في النهاية إلى سقوط الإمبراطورية العثمانية. وبعد عقد من الزمن، اجتمعت القوى الأوروبية في مؤتمر برلين عام 1887 لمناقشة مستقبل الأراضي التي كانت للإمبراطورية العثمانية المهزومة. تقرر أن تحصل إيطاليا على ليبيا الحالية، في حين طالبت بريطانيا بالدعم الأوروبي لاحتواء الثوار في مصر المحتلة. وحصلت فرنسا على وعد بالسيادة على تونس، البلد المعروف بين القوى الاستعمارية بجودة مرافق الموانئ فيه وموقعه الاستراتيجي الهام على الحدود الجزائرية قرب جزيرة صقلية. في البداية، حاولت فرنسا التوصل إلى اتفاق مع الباي الحاكم حول احتلالها لتونس، غير أن المفاوضات فشلت. أعطت الغارة التي شنتها قبيلة الخرومير التونسية على الجزائر الفرنسية عام 1881 حجةً لفرنسا لغزو تونس. وسرعان ما فرضت فرنسا سلطتها على جميع أنحاء البلاد بجيش قوامه 36,000 جندي.

في أيار/مايو عام 1881، أرغم محمد الثالث الصادق باي على توقيع معاهدة باردو التي فرضت سيادة فرنسا على تونس. وبعد التوقيع على المعاهدة، اندلعت الثورات في جميع أنحاء البلاد – رفض السكان الحكام الجدد وخضوع البايات لهم. فرضت اتفاقية المرسى (1883) حماية فرنسية على البلاد مع ضمان استقلال تونس الرسمي. وسُمح للباي بالبقاء في منصبه، وبقيت المعاهدات الثنائية القائمة سارية المفعول. إلا أن سلطة المقيم العام الفرنسي كانت لا تضاهى: كان رئيس الوزراء وقائد القوات المسلحة ورئيس الشؤون المالية في تونس، كما كان مخولاً بإعادة هيكلة المسائل القضائية والمالية. وسرعان ما أصبح البايات مجرّد وسيلة لوضع القرارات الفرنسية وإضفاء الشرعية عليها.

بحلول نهاية القرن التاسع عشر، تمكن الفرنسيون من إحكام سيطرتهم على تونس من خلال مجموعة من القوانين والتدابير. وأُرغم البايات على تعيين أشخاص مخلصين لا يعارضون الفرنسيين في مناصب رئيسية، مثل منصب رئيس الوزراء، بينما تمت إقالة الذين دعموا الثورة المناهضة للفرنسيين عام 1881. وضع المقيم العام مراتب إدارية تم الإعلان عنها لاحقاً من قبل الباي، لتقليص سلطة هذا الأخير في البلاد. وللسيطرة على السلطات المحلية بفعالية أكبر، سمح الفرنسيون للقادة وحكام المقاطعات والشيوخ بالاحتفاظ بمناصبهم، علماً أن فرنسا كانت تشتري ولاءهم بحكم الأمر الواقع. كما عينت السلطة الفرنسية “مراقبين مدنيين” مهمتهم الإشراف على حكام المقاطعات والشيوخ. وعندما تمت السيطرة على جهاز الاستخبارات السرية في تونس في نهاية القرن التاسع عشر، أصبحت السيادة الفرنسية منيعة. على الصعيد الاقتصادي، وضعت الدولة الفرنسية مسألة تقليص ديون تونس على رأس أولوياتها، وذلك من خلال الإشراف على تحصيل الضرائب، وغير ذلك. نتج عن ذلك استقرار أموال الدولة. وعلى صعيد القضاء، تم إنشاء محاكم وقوانين فرنسية للفصل في قضايا المقيمين الأجانب والفرنسيين، فضلاً عن قضايا بين الأوروبيين والتونسيين. كما واصلت المحاكم الإسلامية عملها إلى جانب النظام القانوني الفرنسي للفصل في قضايا التونسيين. كما قام الفرنسيون بتحديث الاتصالات والتعليم في تونس. فأصبحت كافة المدارس، بما في ذلك المدارس الإسلامية، تابعة لمدير التعليم العام الفرنسي. ولتقليص الفجوة التعليمية بين الفرنسيين والتونسيين، تم إدخال نظام تعليمي موحد. وتم تأسيس مدارس فرنسية عربية تدرّس باللغة الفرنسية واللغة العربية كلغة ثانية. وأصبحت المدرسة الصادقية الأكثر شهرة، والتي أسسها خير الدين باشا، والتي ضمنت لخريجيها تولي مناصب سياسية أو اقتصادية رفيعة المستوى بفضل نظام القبول التنافسي والمعايير التعليمية العالية.

حزب الدستور

بسط الفرنسيون سيطرتهم على الدولة التونسية بشكل فعال، على الرغم من وضعها كمحمية. في البداية، لم تكن للثورات الوطنية التي كانت تظهر من حين إلى آخر تأثير كبير. ولم تندلع أولى الثورات الكبرى بهدف تشكيل منتديات سياسية بديلة إلا في فترة ما بين الحربين العالميتين، عندما تأسس الحزب الحر الدستوري، المعروف باسم حزب الدّستور تيمناً بدستور تونس عام 1861. وعندما طالب حزب الدستور عام 1920 بتشكيل حكومة دستورية تمنح للشعب التونسي الحقوق ذاتها، اعتقل الفرنسيون عبد العزيز الثعالبي زعيم الحزب. من خلال استخدام تدابير تقييدية مماثلة وإدخال بعض الإصلاحات الظاهرية بهدف استرضاء المعارضة، تمكن الفرنسيون من السيطرة الفعالة على خصوم الحكومة لبعض الوقت.

حزب الدستور الجديد

ترك المحامي حبيب بورقيبة حزب الدستور عام 1934، وأسّس مع بعض زملائه حزب الدستور الجديد الذي كان أكثر عدائية تجاه الفرنسيين. وسرعان ما حلّ حزب الدستور الجديد مكان الحزب القديم ونجح في استقطاب دعم جماهيري في تونس. وبعدما أدركت فرنسا خطورة هذا الحزب، قامت باعتماد أساليب قمع عنيفة، فاعتقلت زعماءه، مما زاد من نشاط الحزب.

بعد نهاية الحرب العالمية الثانية، ازدادت المطالب المنادية باستقلال تونس، واضطرت فرنسا في النهاية إلى الإذعان نتيجة ضغوط القوى العالمية. ومع اقتراب الاستقلال، برزت خلافات ضمن حزب الدستور الجديد بين صالح بن يوسف، زعيم قومي وأمين عام الحزب، والحبيب بورقيبة زعيم الحزب، والذي كان يدعو إلى اعتماد نمط حياة غربي. دعم الأوروبيون بورقيبة، وأصبح أول رئيس جمهورية بعد الاستقلال عام 1957. وتم إرسال منافسه بن يوسف إلى المنفى، حيث اغتيل عام 1961.

في هذه المقالة: تونس | التاريخ

Donate
Chronicle of the Middle East and North Africa

Tunisia: European Influence

Tunisia european influence
“A Cafe in Tunis, French protectorate of Tunisia, 1912.” by Julius.jaa is licensed under CC BY 2.0

During the rule of the Husaynid beys, Tunisia initially experienced a period of prosperity, especially during the period of the French Revolution, which led to economic shortages in Europe that were partially covered by Tunisian exports. But, beginning in the 1820s, the Tunisian economy declined. In the early 19th century, Tunisia had ceased its corsair raids, under an agreement with British and French authorities. In addition, various European powers began to export products to Tunisia, changing domestic prices, often to the disadvantage of Tunisian merchants and the ruling authorities. Domestic traders could not compete with many European products, making it more difficult for them to sell their goods and services. Increasing European influence culminated in 1881 when France established a protectorate over Tunisia that would last until 1956. The Husaynid beys continued in office under the protectorate, but their role was largely ceremonial.
[/vc_column_text][/vc_column][/vc_row]

The French Protectorate

Russia declared war on the Turks in 1877, leading to the eventual decline of the Ottoman Empire, and a decade later the European powers met at the 1887 Congress of Berlin to discuss the future of the territories that had belonged to the now defeated Ottoman Empire. It was decided that Italy would get what is now Libya, while Britain asked for European support to contain rebellions in its occupied Egypt. France was promised supremacy over Tunisia, a country popular amongst the colonial powers for its good port facilities and its strategically important location on the Algerian border and close to Sicily. In the beginning, France attempted to reach an agreement with the ruling bey over its occupation of Tunisia, but negotiations failed. The raid by the Tunisian Khroumir tribe into French Algeria in 1881 gave France a pretext to invade Tunisia. Supported by an army of 36,000, the ruling authority of the French was quickly established throughout the country.

In May 1881, Bey Muhammad III al-Sadiq was forced to sign the Bardo Treaty, which established French supremacy over Tunisia. Following the signing of the treaty, uprisings occurred throughout the country – the new rulers and the bey’s apparent submission to them were not approved of by the broad population. The La Marsa Convention (1883) established a French protectorate over the country, ensuring Tunisia’s formal independence. The bey was allowed to remain in office, and existing bilateral treaties remained in force. Yet the authority of the French resident-general was unparalleled: he was acting Prime Minister and had charge of Tunisia’s armed forces and finances and was empowered to restructure judicial and financial matters. The beys would soon become no more than a means to enact and legitimize French decisions.

Through a combination of laws and measures, the French brought Tunisia effectively under their control by the end of the 19th century. The beys were pressured to appoint to key government posts, such as Prime Minister, loyal people who did not oppose the French, while those who supported the 1881 anti-French rebellion were dismissed. The resident-general enacted executive degrees that were then publicly proclaimed by the bey, effectively diminishing the latter’s authority over the country. In order to control local authorities more effectively, the French allowed so-called caïds, provincial governors  (from qaid, ruler), and cheikhs to keep their positions, knowing that France was thus de facto buying their loyalty. The French authority also appointed ‘civil controllers’, whose job was to supervise the provincial governors and cheikhs. When, at the end of the 19th century, the Tunisian secret service was brought under control, French supremacy seemed insurmountable. Economically, France made it a priority to decrease the debts of the Tunisian state by, among other things, supervising the collection of taxes. This resulted in the eventual stabilization of Tunisia’s finances. Judicially, French courts and law were established, which dealt with cases of foreign and French residents, as well as cases between Europeans and Tunisians. Islamic courts continued to function alongside the French legal system, dealing with cases between Tunisians. The French also reformed Tunisian communications and education. All schools, including Islamic ones, were under the director of public education, who was a Frenchmen. In order to decrease the educational gap between French and Tunisians, a standard educational system was introduced. Franco-Arab schools were founded, in which instruction was in French and Arabic was taught as a second language. The most prestigious school was to become Hayreddin Pasha’s Sadiki College, whose competitive admissions and high educational standards almost guaranteed its graduates high political or economic positions.

Destour Party

The French effectively controlled the Tunisian state, despite its status as a protectorate, and occasional nationalist revolts against the occupiers had little impact at first. The first major attempt to form alternative political platforms was not made until the interwar period, when the Destour Constitutional Liberal Party (or Parti libéral constitutionnel), commonly known as Destour party was established and named for the Tunisian Constitution of 1861. When, in 1920, the Destour party asked for the formation of a constitutional form of government granting all Tunisians the same rights, the leader of the Destour, Abdelaziz Thâalbi, was arrested by the French. By the use of such restrictive measures and some superficial reforms introduced to appease the opposition, the opponents of the government were, for a while, effectively controlled.

New-Destour Party

A lawyer, Habib Bourguiba, left the Destour Party in 1934 and, with some of his colleagues, established the Neo-Destour (New Constitutional Liberal Party or Nouveau Parti libéral constitutionnel) party, which was more assertive vis-à-vis the French. The Neo-Destour Party would soon replace the Destour Party and attract mass support in Tunisia. Sensing its importance, the French responded to the newly created party with fierce repression, arresting its leaders, but this only triggered more party activism.

The end of World War II increased demands for Tunisian independence, and the French, pressured by international forces and Tunisians, eventually conceded. With the prospect of approaching independence, frictions emerged within the Neo-Destour party, between Salah Ben Youssef, a pan-Arab leader and the secretary general of the party, and Habib Bourguiba, the party’s leader, who advocated a Western style of life. Backed by the Europeans, Bourguiba became Tunisia’s first President, following independence in 1957. His rival, Ben Youssef, went into exile, where he would be assassinated in 1961.