تبرع
وقائع الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

الحركة الوطنية واستقلال السودان في 1956

استقلال السودان
يحتفل السودانيون بالحزب الوحدوي الديمقراطي الموالي لمصر وفوز حزب الأمة في الانتخابات التشريعية عام 1953. ويخضع السودان للحكم البريطاني المصري منذ عام 1899 وينقسم إلى قسمين: في الشمال عربي/مسلم، وفي الجنوب بريطاني/مسيحي. نال السودان استقلاله عام 1956 .(Photo by STAFF / AFP)

تعود جذور الحركة الوطنية السودانية إلى نمو الطبقة الاجتماعية الجديدة التي كانت مرتبطة بالتنمية الاقتصادية التي رسختها السُلطات الاستعمارية في قطاع الخدمات، والصناعة، والزراعة، وكذلك إلى النظام التعليمي الذي أُنشئ حديثاً من قِبل الإدارة الاستعمارية البريطانية.

وفي هذا الصدد، تختلف هذه الحركة الوطنية بشكل ملحوظ عن المهدية أو التمرد القبلي الذي اعتمد فقط على إحياء أو تكرار المهدية. تطورت الحركة الوطنية في المدن وخاطبت السكان هناك، مع تردد صداها في بعض المناطق الريفية، خاصةً عندما شارك الزعماء الدينيون أنفسهم في السياسة.

تحالفت القطاعات التقليدية للمجتمع- تلك التي تعاونت مع الإدارة الاستعمارية في الإدارة المحلية- مع السُلطات ضدّ الحركة الوطنية الناشئة التي كانت تطمح للتحرير، وتنظر إلى مصر كمثالٍ وحليف. طالبت الحركة بوحدة وادي النيل تحت التاج المصري.

أولى التنظيمات التي تمّ تأسيسها هي جمعية الوحدة السودانية بقيادة علي عبد اللطيف، وهو ضابط في الجيش السوداني سُجن عام 1921 بتهمة التحريض. في عام 1924، تم تشكيل تنظيم جديد باسم جمعية اللواء الأبيض، الذي كان يهدف إلى طرد البريطانيين من البلاد. عمت المظاهرات مدينة الخرطوم في شهريّ يونيو وأغسطس من ذلك العام، ولكن تمّ قمعها. عند اغتيال السير لي ستاك، الحاكم العام، في القاهرة في 19 نوفمبر 1924، أجبر البريطانيون الجيش المصري على الانسحاب من السودان، وتغلّب الإنجليز على كتيبة سودانية تمردت دعماً للمصريين. انتهت الثورة السودانية، وبقي الحكم البريطاني دون منافس إلى ما بعد الحرب العالمية الثانية.

انتهى السلام الطويل الذي ساد منذ عام 1924 في عام 1936، عندما تمّ توقيع المعاهدة البريطانية- المصرية، والتي سمحت للمسؤولين المصريين بالعودة. احتجّ السودانيون من المثقفين لعدم التفاوض على مستقبل السودان وعدم استشارتهم. في هذه الأجواء، تمّ تأسيس مؤتمر الخريجين، الذي بقي الكيان السوداني السياسي الرئيسي حتى ظهور الأحزاب السياسية السودانية عام 1946. استلهم قادة مؤتمر الخريجين تجربة المؤتمر الهندي. في البداية، اقتصر المؤتمر على الأنشطة الاجتماعية والإصلاحية، إلّا أنّه انتقل تدريجياً إلى عالم السياسة. رفضت الإدارة، في البداية، الاعتراف بالمؤتمر كهيئة تمثيلية للسودانيين، على الرغم من أنّها فعلت ذلك، آخذين بعين الاعتبار التأييد الواسع الذي يتمتّع به المؤتمر على أرض الواقع.

كان هناك اتجاهين داخل المؤتمر- المعتدلون الذين شكلّوا الأغلبية، والمتطرفون. مال المعتدلون إلى التعاون مع السُلطات، في حين اتجه المتطرفون بقيادة إسماعيل الأزهري، الذي أصبح فيما بعد أول رئيس وزراء سوداني، إلى مصر، وسرعان ما اكتسبوا الدعم داخل وخارج المؤتمر. تمكّن الأزهري من السيطرة على المؤتمر بدعمٍ من حزب الأشقاء، أول الأحزاب السياسية السودانية، تحت رعاية السيد علي الميرغني، وهو زعيم الطائفة الدينية الختمية. كما أسّس المعتدلون حزباً خاصاً بهم، حزب الأمة، بدعمٍ من السيد رحمان المهدي، نجل المهدي وزعيم طائفة الأنصار، بنية التعاون مع البريطانيين إلى جانب السعي للاستقلال، تحت شعار “السودان للسودانيين.”

وإلى جانب الحركة السياسية، تأثّرت الحركة النقابية السودانية بقيادة عمّال السكة الحديدية السودانية، بالحزب الشيوعي السوداني، وتمكّنوا من تشكيل اتحاد نقابي كسب الاعتراف الرسمي. كما عُرف المزارعون بنشاطاتهم وشكّلوا نقابة خاصة بهم، تحت راية يسارية، وساهموا كثيراً في النضال ضدّ الاستعمار.

استقلال السودان
استقلال السودان، رفع العلم في الأول من يناير 1956 من قبل رئيس الوزراء إسماعيل الأزهري وزعيم المعارضة محمد أحمد محجوب.

حاولت الإدارة الاستعمارية تقديم نوعٍ من التحول الدستوري الذي من شأنه أن يسمح بمشاركة السودانيين في حكم البلاد، ولكن بعد فوات الأوان. اقترحوا إنشاء مجلس استشاري لشمال السودان، يتألف من الحاكم العام و28 سوداني، إلّا أنّ المجلس واجه مقاطعة من قِبل الحركة النقابية القوية والطائفة الختمية، في حين انضم حزب الأمة وطائفة الأنصار وأيّدوا مجلس الشورى. المصير ذاته واجه الهيئة التي أطلق عليها الجمعية التشريعية، التي شملت جنوب السودان، وهو تغييرٌ من السياسة البريطانية التي سعت في البداية إلى عزل الجنوب.

وأعلنت السيادة المصرية على السودان بعد انقلابٍ عسكري بقيادة جمال عبد الناصر الذي أطاح بالملكية وتولى زمام السُلطة. كان القادة الجدد على أتم الاستعداد لرفض فكرة السيادة على السودان، ووافقوا على استقلال البلاد.

وفي ضوء ذلك، تم توقيع المعاهدة البريطانية المصرية عام 1953، التي منحت الحكم الذاتي وحق تقرير المصير للسودانيين في غضون ثلاث سنوات. عُقدت فيما بعد انتخاباتٌ لاختيار برلمان تمثيلي لحكم السودان في نوفمبر وديسمبر 1953، الذي نتج عنها فوز الأزهري، الذي وافق، على الرغم من أنّ حزبه الاتحادي من أشد المؤيديين للوحدة، على دعم التصويت لصالح الاستقلال في البرلمان أواخر عام 1955. استقلت السودان في يناير 1956.

في هذه المقالة: السودان | السياسة | شؤون الساعة

Donate
Chronicle of the Middle East and North Africa
All

Nationalist Movement & the Independence of Sudan in 1956

Independence of Sudan
Sudanese people celebrate the pro-Egyptian unionist democratic party and the Oumma party’s victory during legislative elections of 1953. Sudan is governed by British-Egyptian rule since 1899 and was divided into two parts: Arab/Muslim north, and British/Christian South. Sudan became independent in 1956. (Photo by STAFF / AFP)

The Sudanese national movement’s roots go back to the growth of the new social stratum linked to the economic development fostered by the colonial authority, in the services sector, in industry, and agriculture, and to the modern education system established by the British colonial administration.

In this regard, this new nationalist movement differs significantly from the Mahdist or tribal mutinies that depended only on either reviving or repeating the Mahdia. The nationalist movement evolved in the cities and addressed the population there, with some echo in the rural areas, especially when religious leaders involved themselves in politics.

The traditional sectors of society—those that collaborated with the colonial administration in the native administration—allied themselves with the authorities against the emerging national movement aimed at liberation, looking at Egypt as an example and ally. The movement demanded the unity of the Nile valley under the Egyptian crown.

The first organization to be formed was the Sudanese Unity Society, led by Ali Abd al-Latif, a Sudanese army officer jailed in 1921 as an agitator. In 1924, a new organization was formed, called the White Flag League, whose goal was to expel the British from the country. Demonstrations followed in Khartoum in June and August of that year but were suppressed. When Sir Lee Stack, the governor-general, was assassinated in Cairo on 19 November 1924, the British forced the Egyptians to withdraw from Sudan and conquered a Sudanese battalion that mutinied the Egyptians’ support. The Sudanese revolt was ended, and British rule remained unchallenged until after the Second World War.

The long peace that reigned from 1924 ended in 1936 when the Anglo-Egyptian treaty was signed, allowed Egyptian officials to return. The educated Sudanese protested that Sudan’s future had not been negotiated and had not been consulted. In this atmosphere, the Graduate Congress was established, which remained the major Sudanese political body until the emergence of Sudanese political parties in 1946. The experience of the Indian Congress inspired the leaders of the Congress. In the beginning, Congress confined itself to social and reform activities, but it gradually moved into politics. The administration refused, at first, to recognize the Congress as a representative body of the Sudanese. However, it did, in fact, take into consideration the wide support enjoyed by the organization.

There were two trends within the Congress—the moderate, the majority, and the radical. The moderates tended to cooperate with the authorities, while the radicals, led by Ismail al-Azhari, who would later be the first Sudanese prime minister, turned to Egypt. They rapidly gained support within and outside Congress. Azhari was able to dominate the Congress with the support of the Ashigga party, the first party to appear under the patronage of Sayyid Ali al-Mirghani, the leader of the Khatmiyya religious sect. The moderates also formed their own party, the Umma Party, with Sayyid Abd al-Rahman al-Mahdi, the Mahdi and leader of the Ansar sect, to cooperate. With the British while pursuing independence, under the slogan “Sudan for the Sudanese.”

Side by side with the political movement, the trade union movement, led by the Sudan Railways workers, was influenced by the Sudan Communist Party; they were able to form a trade-union federation that gained official recognition. The farmers were also active and formed their own union under a leftist leadership and contributed much to the struggle against colonialism.

The colonial administration tried to present some constitutional transformation that would allow Sudanese participation in ruling the country, but it was too late. They proposed an advisory council for northern Sudan, composed of the governor-general and 28 Sudanese, but this council faced a boycott by the strong unionist movement and the Khatmiyya sect. While the Umma party and Ansar sect joined and supported the consultative council. The same fate faced the body known as the Legislative Assembly, which included the South Sudanese, a change from the British policy that sought initially to isolate the south.

Independence of Sudan
Sudan’s independence flag was raised on 1 January 1956 by PM Ismail Alazhari and opposition leader Mohamed Ahmed Almahjoub. Photo Sudan Films Unit / Flickr.

In 1952, Egypt unilaterally abrogated the Anglo-Egyptian Treaty of 1936 and proclaimed Egyptian sovereignty over Sudan after a military coup led by Gamal Abdel Nasser overthrew the monarchy and took power. The new leaders were ready to reject the idea of sovereignty over Sudan and accept the country’s independence. The Anglo-Egyptian treaty was signed in 1953, granting self-government and self-determination for the Sudanese within three years.

Elections for a representative parliament to rule Sudan followed in November-December 1953, resulting in a victory for Azhari, who – while his Unionist party was strongly pro-unity agreed to support the vote for independence in the parliament late in 1955. Sudan became independent in January 1956.

In this article: Sudan | Politics | Current