تبرع
وقائع الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

السودان الأنجلو-مصري / الاتفاقية الأنجلو-مصرية (1899-1955)

السودان الأنجلو-مصري
خريطة العلم للسودان الأنجلو-مصري (مملكة مصر) 1899-1956.png by DrRandomFactor is licensed under CC BY-SA 3.0

في يناير 1899، أعاد اتفاقٌ إنجليزي-مصري الحكم المصري في السودان، ولكن الآن كجزء من حكم ثنائي، أو سيادة مُشتركة تمارسها بريطانيا ومصر. فقد تقاسم الخديوي والتاج البريطاني السيادة في البلاد، ولكن تحملّت الخزينة المصرية الجزء الأكبر من النفقات. في الواقع، لم تكن الشراكة بين البلدين سوى على الورق، حيث سيطر البريطانيون على الحكم الثنائي. فقد كان يتم ترشيح الحاكم العام من قِبل الحكومة البريطانية وتعينه من قِبل خديوي مصر، حيث كان الحاكم يمارس صلاحيته ويقود حكومة الحكم الثنائي من الخرطوم، كما لو كان حكماً استعمارياً. ومع ذلك، بعد العام 1910، أُنشئ المجلس التنفيذي، الذي تطلب الحصول على موافقته لجميع التشريعات والمسائل المتعلقة بالميزانية، لمساعدة الحاكم العام.

خلال فترة الحكم الثنائي، شهد الشمال فقط تنميةً اقتصادية. في أول عقدين، مدّد البريطانيون خطوط التلغراف وخطوط السكك الحديدية، إلّا أنّ الخدمات لم تصل المناطق النائية، وافتتح بورتسودان، على البحر الأحمر، في عام 1906 كمنفذ رئيسي للبلاد على البحر. وفي عام 1911، تم تدشين مشروع الجزيرة الزراعي لتوفير القطن عالي الجودة لصناعة المنسوجات في بريطانيا، كما تمّ الانتهاء من سدٍّ للري بالقرب من سنار في عام 1925. شحن المزارعون القطن إلى الخارج، حيث جعل مشروع الجزيرة القطن أساس اقتصاد البلاد، وتحولت إلى أكثر المناطق اكتظاظاً بالسكان في السودان. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، تمّ إنشاء المدارس الابتدائية والمتخصصة، بما في ذلك كلية غوردون التذكارية التي افتتحت في الخرطوم في عام 1902.

وفي الجنوب، لم تخطُ الإدارة أيّ خطوة جادة نحو التنمية. وفي عام 1922، تمّ سنّ قانون المناطق المغلقة “قانون المناطق المقفولة“، كجزء من سياسة عزل الجنوب. وبموجب هذا القانون، تمّ حظر أو تقييد سفر السوادنيين الشماليين إلى المنطقة الجنوبية، الأمر الذي تطلب موافقة مُسبقة من قِبل محافظي الأقاليم الإنجليز، فضلاً عن فرض قيودٍ على التجارة مع الجنوب. ولكن، أوصى مؤتمر جوبا في عام 1947 بتمثيل الجنوب في المجلس التشريعي.

في عام 1924، أغتيل السير لي ستاك، الحاكم العام للسودان، في القاهرة. أمرت بريطانيا جميع القوات المصرية وموظفي الخدمة المدنية، وموظفي القطاع العام الانسحاب من السودان.

Donate
Chronicle of the Middle East and North Africa
All

Sudan: The Anglo-Egyptian Condominium (1899-1955)

In January 1899, an Anglo-Egyptian agreement restored Egyptian rule in Sudan, but now as part of a condominium, or joint authority, exercised by Britain and Egypt. The khedive and the British Crown shared sovereignty. The Egyptian treasury had borne the greater part of the expense. In reality, the partnership between the two countries existed only on paper, as the British dominated the condominium. A governor-general was to be nominated by the British government and appointed by the khedive of Egypt. The governor exercised his powers and directed the condominium government from Khartoum as if it were a colonial administration. After 1910, however, an executive council, whose approval was required for all legislation and budgetary matters, assisted the governor-general.

During the condominium period, economic development occurred only in the north. In the first two decades, the British extended telegraph and rail lines, but services did not reach remote areas.

Sudan Anglo-Egyptian
Flag map of Anglo-Egyptian Sudan (Kingdom of Egypt) 1899-1956.png” by DrRandomFactor is licensed under CC BY-SA 3.0

On the Red Sea, Port Sudan opened in 1906 as the country’s principal outlet to the sea. In 1911, the Gezira Scheme was launched to provide high-quality cotton for Britain’s textile industry. An irrigation dam near Sennar was completed in 1925. Planters shipped cotton abroad, as the Gezira Scheme made cotton the basis of its economy and turned the region into Sudan’s most densely populated area. Also, technical and primary schools were established, including the Gordon Memorial College, which opened in Khartoum in 1902.

In the south, the administration made no serious attempt at development. In 1922, a law of closed areas, the “Closed District Ordinances,” was enacted as part of a policy to isolate the South. This law prohibited or restricted the travel of northern Sudanese to the southern region, requiring pre-approval from British provincial governors, and imposed restrictions on trade with the south. But, the Juba Conference in 1947 recommended the South’s representation in the legislative assembly.

In 1924, Sir Lee Stack, the governor-general of Sudan, was assassinated in Cairo. Britain ordered all Egyptian troops, civil servants, and public employees to withdraw from Sudan.

In this article: Sudan | History