تبرع
وقائع الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

السودان: الغزو التركي عام 1821

السودان الغزو التركي
“السلطان حسين كامل – سلطنة مصر – عملة اول دولة مصرية. Photo: Icarus Kuwait / creativecommons

في عام 1821، قاد إسماعيل باشا، قائد الجيش وأصغر أبناء الخديوي العثماني اسمياً في مصر، محمد علي، جيشاً إلى سنار (ينبغي عدم الخلط بينه وبين حفيد محمد علي إسماعيل باشا الذي أُعلن خديوي مصر في 1863). كان هدف الاحتلال في الدرجة الأولى السيطرة على موارد البلاد المادية والبشرية. وكان محمد علي مهتماً بالذهب والرقيق الذي ستوفره له السودان لبناء الدولة الحديثة التي كان يطمح لها في مصر.

تمّ إنجاز الاحتلال على مراحل، كان آخرها ضمّ بحر الغزال، ودارفور، والإقليم الاستوائي في الجنوب. بعد الاحتلال، دخلت البلاد حقبة جديدة، وتطوّرت من مجموعة من الأنظمة السياسية مع علاقات محدودة مع العالم الخارجي إلى كيان سياسي جديد وموحّد.

أثناء الحكم التركي-المصري للسودان، بدأت البلاد الاندماج في الأسواق والسياسات الاقليمية والدولية. وإلى حدٍّ ما، تمّ تحديث الإدارة، وتم إدخال محاصيل وأساليب زراعية جديدة، بالإضافة إلى توسيع التجارة الخارجية. كما تمّ خلال تلك الحقبة تدفق جماعات المستكشفين الأوروبيين في محاولةٍ للوصول إلى منابع النيل.

كانت السياسة الداخلية التركية قاسية جداً، إذ اعتمدت على القمع والجمع القسري للضرائب والجمارك الباهظة، بغض النظر عن قدرة المنتجين المحليين على الدفع. قاوم السودانيون النظام الجديد، وفي النهاية تفجر غضبهم إلى تمرّدٍ بقتل إسماعيل باشا وحراسه الشخصيين في شندي في بداية الغزو، وعلى سبيل المثال، ثورتهم بين عامي 1822-25، والمقاومة القبلية، وتمرّد الجنود الجهادية. مهدّت هذه الأحداث الطريق أمام الثورة المهدية في عام 1881.

Donate
Chronicle of the Middle East and North Africa

Sudan: Turkish Invasion in 1821

Turkish invasion of sudan
Sultan H Kamel – Coin of Sultanat of Egypt – First Egyptian State. Photo: Icarus Kuwait / creativecommons

In 1821, Ismail Pasha, the general and youngest son of the nominally Ottoman khedive of Egypt, Muhammad Ali, led an army into Sinnar (not to be confused with Muhammad Ali’s grandson Ismail Pasha who was proclaimed as the Khedive of Egypt in 1863). The occupation was aimed mainly at controlling the material and human resources of the country. Muhammad Ali was interested in the gold and slaves that Sudan could provide to build Egypt’s modern state to which he aspired.

The occupation was accomplished in stages, the last of which was to annex Bahr al-Gazal, Darfur, and Equatoria in the south. After the occupation, the country entered a new era, evolving from a political system with limited relations to the external world to a new, united polity.

During the Turkish-Egyptian rule of Sudan, the country began to be integrated into regional and international markets and politics. The administration was modernized, new crops and agricultural methods were introduced, and foreign trade expanded. During that era, European explorers began to flock into Sudan in an attempt to reach the sources of the Nile.

Turkish internal policy was very harsh, depending on repression and the forcible collection of exorbitant taxes and customs, regardless of the local producers’ ability to pay. The Sudanese resisted the new regime, eventually erupting into rebellion with the murder of Ismail Pasha and his bodyguards in Shendi at the beginning of the invasion, and, for instance, their revolt of 1822-25, the tribal resistance, and the Jihadiya soldier’s mutiny. These incidents paved the way for the Mahdist revolt in 1881.