تبرع
وقائع الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

السودان: المهدية 1898-1885

المهدية
بنى أهل درويش هذا الحصن والآخر إلى الشمال في عهد المهدية كجزء من دفاعات أم درمان. (1889) / “-Fortification-” لـ Vít Hassan مرخص بموجب CC BY-NC-SA 2.0

جاءت الثورة المهدية نتيجة قسوة وظلم الحكم التركي. تميزت بالمصطلحات الدينية لتهذيب وتجديد الإيمان كما عبّر عنها قائدها محمد أحمد المهدّي، وهو شخصية دينية صوفية.

في يونيو 1881، دعا المهدي الشعب لدعمه لإسقاط الحكم التركي، حيث بدأت الثورة في جزيرة أبا، على النيل الأبيض. تجمع العديد من الأشخاص على الجزيرة دعماً له، وانضموا إلى القتال في أول معارك الثورة، ظافرين بالنصر. طلب المهدي اللجوء غرباً، في غدير في جبال النوبة، حيث تمكن في عام 1882، من هزيمة جيش من ستمائة جندي بقيادة يوسف باشا الشلالي.

وبحلول سبتمبر 1882، سيطر المهديون على جميع كردفان، وفي 5 نوفمبر 1883 أبادوا جيشاً مصرياً قوامه عشرة آلاف جندي بقيادة جنرال بريطانيفي شيكان. بعد معركة شيكان، أصبحت هزيمة الأتراك مؤكدة، ولم يكن حتى بمقدور الجيش بقيادة الجنرال تشارلز غوردون، الذي أرسل على عجل إلى الخرطوم، إنقاذ الوضع في مصر. وفي 26 يناير 1885، استولى المهديون على الخرطوم وقتلوا الجنرال غوردون.

توفي المهدي في يونيو 1885، ليعقب حكم المهدي الخليفه عبد الله بن محمد. تمثلت مهمة الخليفة الأولى في الحفاظ على منصبه ضدّ مؤامرة من قِبل أقارب المهدي. أنشأ نظاماً إدارياً مركزياً للغاية- كان بجوهره، حكماً عسكرياً يقوده طاغية. اختلفت طريقته في التعامل مع شؤون البلاد اختلافاً بسيطاًعن الاحتلال التركي، وأدّت إلى بروز العديد من حركات التمرّد فضلاً عن المعارضة واسعة النطاق لحكمه. تمرّدت بعض القبائل في وسط وغرب السودان ضدّ الخليفة؛ حيث أخمدت الثورات بلا رحمة.

استندت السياسة الخارجية للخليفة على نشر المهدية بالوسائل العسكرية، حيث بعث قواته إلى دارفور، وفي الشرق، هزم الأحباش. وفي جنوب السودان، أجبروا على الخروج من أعالي النيل عام 1897 من قِبل قوات دولة الكونغو الحرة. وعلى الحدود المصرية في الشمال، تعرضت جيوشه لأسوأ الهزائم في توشكي في أغسطس 1889، عندما أباد الجيش الإنجليزي المصري بقيادة الجنرال فرانسيس جرينفيل جيش عبد الرحمن النجومي. هزمت القوات البريطانية الدولة المهدية في 2 سبتمبر 1898، في معركة أم درمان، حيث تمّ ذبح الآلاف من السودانيين.
[/vc_column_text][/vc_column][/vc_row]

في هذه المقالة: السودان | التاريخ

Donate
Chronicle of the Middle East and North Africa
All

Sudan: Mahdia, 1885-1898

Sudan Mahdia
Darwish people built this fort and the one to the North during the Mahdia as part of the defences of Ommdurman. (1889) / “-Fortification-” by Vít Hassan is licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 2.0

The Mahdia revolution was a result of the cruelty and injustice of Turkish rule. It manifested itself in religious terms to a reformation and renewal of the faith as expressed by its leader, Mohammed Ahmed al-Mahdi, a Sufi religious figure.

In June 1881, the Mahdi called on the people to support him in overthrowing Turkish rule. The revolution began at Aba Island, on the White Nile. Many gathered at the island in support and to fight the first victorious battle of the revolution. The Mahdi sought refuge to the west, at Gadir in the Nuba Mountains, where, in 1882, he defeated a force of six hundred soldiers led by Yousif Shalali.

By September 1882, the Mahdists controlled all of Kordofan, and at Shaykan on 5 November 1883, they destroyed an Egyptian army of ten thousand men under the command of a British colonel. After Shaykan, the Turks’ defeat was assured, and not even the leadership of Colonel Charles Gordon, who was hastily sent to Khartoum, could save the situation for Egypt. On 26 January 1885, the Mahdists captured Khartoum and killed Colonel Gordon.

The Mahdi died in June 1885, and he was succeeded by the Khalifa Abdallahi ibn Muhammad. The khalifa’s first task was to secure his own position against a conspiracy by the Mahdi’s relatives. He established a highly centralized administrative system—essentially military rule by a tyrant. This way of dealing with the country’s affairs differed little from the Turkish occupation and led to several mutinies and broad opposition to his rule. Some tribes of central and western Sudan revolted against the khalifa; the rebellions were put down ruthlessly.

The foreign policy of the khalifa was based on spreading Mahdism by military means. He sent his forces to Darfur, and in the east, defeated the Ethiopians. In southern Sudan, he was driven from the upper Nile in 1897 by the Congo Free State forces. On the Egyptian frontier, in the north, his armies met their worst defeat at Tushki in August 1889, when an Anglo-Egyptian army under General F.W. Grenfell destroyed Abd al-Rahman al-Nujumi’s army. British forces defeated the Mahdist state on 2 September 1898, at the Battle of Omdurman, where thousands of Sudanese were massacred.

In this article: Sudan | History