تبرع
وقائع الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

لبنان: الحملات الصليبية (1095-1302)

الحملات الصليبية
“صور ، لبنان – كنيسة الحروب الصليبية – عروق” by Notre Dame Architecture Library is licensed under CC BY-NC-ND 2.0

بدأت الحملة الصليبية الأولى عام 1095 عندما دعا البابا أوربانوس الثاني إلى حملة عسكرية إلى الإمبراطورية البيزنطية لمساعدتها على محاربة السلاجقة (الأتراك) المعتدين وللسيطرة على الأراضي المقدسة التي كانت تحت حكم الفاطميين في مصر. وكانت هذه بداية قرنين من الزمان تحارب خلالها المسيحيون والمسلمون في أغلب الأحيان – وفي بعض الأحيان أبناء الملة الواحدة – في كل المنطقة الممتدة بين الأناضول وفلسطين وفي مصر. ومع ذلك، كان هناك فترات عملت فيها تلك الأطراف المتناحرة معاً.
انطلقت شرارة الصراعات عندما نجح نورمان بوهيموند في الاستيلاء أخيراً على مدينة أنطاكيا، إحدى الكراسي البطريركية المسيحية، من السلاجقة. وكان الصليبيون قد وعدوا إمبراطور بيزنطة بإعادة الأقاليم التي احتلوها، ولكنهم لم يفوا بالوعد. وبعد الاستيلاء عليها بوقت قصير، استعاد جيش بقيادة كربغا، أمير الموصل، المدينة. وفي النهاية، تمكن الصليبيون من الاستيلاء على أنطاكيا مرة أخرى، ولكن صراعاً داخلياً اندلع. فبقي البعض في أنطاكية، وأكمل البعض الآخر زحفه للاستيلاء على فلسطين، الأراضي المقدسة.

اتجه جيش جودفري حاكم بولون إلى الجنوب. وفي بادئ الأمر، لم يبدو القلق على الفاطميين بشكل علني من مرور الصليبيين عبر أراضيهم، بل وفكروا في مساعدتهم ضد السلاجقة. لكن هذا الأمر تغير عندما اقترب الأوروبيون من فلسطين ومصر. في عام 1099، استولى جودفري حاكم بولون على القدس. ومع ذلك، ثبت أن الأراضي اللبنانية والسورية أكثر صعوبة للاستيلاء عليها – بل حتى السيطرة عليها. غيّرت مدن صور وصيدا وبيروت وطرابلس من حكامها مرات قليلة، ومع أنها كانت محصنة جيداً قبل الحملات الصليبية، إلا أنها صارت أكثر تحصيناً. وقرب نهاية القرن الثاني عشر، ادعى الحكام الأوروبيون – الفرنجة، كما كانوا يسمون، رغم أن ليسوا جميعاً من فرنسا، مملكة الفرنجة – أنهم سادة الجبال اللبنانية.

تغير التحالفات

إلا أن الوضع ظل معقداً. فقد بقي هناك أمراء مسلمون سادة الإقطاعيين في الجبال. ومن ناحية ثانية، تكيف القادمون الجدد مع المجتمعات الموجودة في لبنان بطرقٍ عدة. وكانت التحالفات تتغير، فتجد عدو الأمس يصير حليف اليوم، أو العكس. وبدت بعض الأقاليم – مثل تلك التابعة لعائلات بُحْتر سرحمور وتيردالان وعرمون، بالقرب من بيروت – وكأنها وقعت تحت نفوذ الأساقفة المسيحيين والقائد الأسطوري صلاح الدين الأيوبي، الذي قاتل الصليبيين باسم الجهاد، كما فعل سلفه الخليفة نور الدين. والقائد صلاح الدين الأيوبي الذي انتصر في عدة معارك حاسمة – مثل موقعة حطين عام 1187 والتي أدت إلى سقوط القدس وإنهاء احتلال الفرنجة للمنطقة – لم تكن شهرته ترجع إلى فطنته العسكرية فحسب، وإنما أيضاً إلى بسالته ومآثره الفروسية كمحارب. فسمعته في هذا الصدد مماثلة لتلك السمعة التي كان يحظى بها خصمه ريتشارد قلب الأسد، وقد أفاد من عاصر تلك الفترة أن كلا الرجلين كان يحترم الآخر، بل حتى معجب به.

لم يوحّد لا المسيحيون ولا المسلمون صفوفهم على الدوام. فعندما حاول الفرنجة الاستيلاء على المدن اللبنانية، كان يوقفهم الموارنة في بعض الأحيان. ولاحقاً، الموارنة أنفسهم أيدوا الصليبيين، لكنهم توقفوا عن ذلك في نهاية القرن الثالث عشر، مما أدى إلى نهاية عهد الصليبين. وفي وقت ما، كان الكونت الفرنسي رايموند الثالث أمير طرابلس حليف صلاح الدين ضد بالدوين ملك القدس – قبل أن يتغير الوضع. فمن بعدها هزم صلاح الدين رايموند. وداخل العالم الإسلامي نفسه كان هناك عداوة مستحكمة بين مصر الشيعية وبغداد السُّنية. في حين بقيت الإمارات الواقعة بين هاتين القوتين – خوفاً من السلاجقة الأتراك – منقسمة في ولائها. وأخيراً في عام 1292، المماليك، سلالة حكام مصرية –  مع أنهم من أصول تركية وسُّنية – هم الذين وجهوا الضربة القاضية للصليبيين. وفي ذلك الوقت، غزا المغول القسم الشرقي لدولة المماليك، ووصلوا إلى مشارف دمشق.

كلفت الحملات الصليبية (ثمان حملات في المجموع) الكثير من الأرواح، وجلبت معها الكثير من الدمار والأمراض والفوضى. ولكن بوجه عام، سُمح للسكان المحليين – عدا العبيد وأسرى الحرب – بالبقاء أوفياء لمعتقداتهم. كما احتفظوا بسلطاتهم المحلية ونظامهم القضائي. ومن جوانب عديدة كان هناك تأثير متبادل بين الحضارتين الشرقية والغربية. وقد ازدهرت التجارة، وخاصة في المناطق الساحلية. وكان التجار من مسلمين ومسيحيين ويهود ينعمون بحماية خاصة عند عبورهم الحدود، حتى ولو اضطروا إلى دخول أراضي “العدو”. فكانت القوافل تجوب المنطقة بأسرها، وكانت السفن تبحر من مصر إلى صور إلى القسطنطينية، بل وإلى ما هو أبعد من ذلك.

وبعد أن غادر آخر الصليبيين الساحل اللبناني، غادر العديد من التجار المسيحيين معهم واستقروا في قبرص. وبعد بضع سنوات، عادت سفنهم إلى الموانئ اللبنانية.[/vc_column_text][/vc_column][/vc_row]

Donate
Chronicle of the Middle East and North Africa

Lebanon: The Crusades (1095-1302)

Lebanon Crusades
“Tyre, Lebanon – Church of the Crusades – Veins” by Notre Dame Architecture Library is licensed under CC BY-NC-ND 2.0

The First Crusade began in 1095 when pope Urban II called for a military expedition to the Byzantine Empire to help it fight the Seljuk (Turk) assailants and to take control of the Holy Land, which at that time was under the rule of the Egyptian Fatimid. This inaugurated a period of two centuries in which Christians and Muslims often fought one another – and sometimes their own co-religionists – across the region between Anatolia and Palestine and in Egypt. At times they did however also cooperate.

The first troubles arose when the Norman Bohemond finally took the city of Antioch, one of the patriarchal sees of Christianity, from the Seljuk. The crusaders had promised the Byzantine emperor to hand back to him the territories they conquered, but Bohemond did not comply. Shortly after his conquest, however, an army led by Kerbogha of Mosul retook the city. Eventually, the crusaders managed to reconquer Antioch, but then internal strife broke out. Some stayed, some went on to conquer Palestine, the Holy Land.

Godfrey of Bouillon’s army went south. In the beginning, the Fatimid did not seem overtly distressed by the crusaders’ passing through their territory and even considered helping them against the Seljuk. This changed, however, when the Europeans approached Palestine – and Egypt. In 1099, Godfrey of Bouillon conquered Jerusalem. However, the Lebanese and Syrian territories proved more difficult to conquer – and even less easy to hold. The cities of Tyre (Sur), Sidon (Saida), Beirut, and Tripoli (Tarabulus al-Sharq) changed hands a few times, and although already fortresses before the crusades, were now strongly fortified. Toward the end of the 12th century, the European rulers – the Franks, as they were called, although not all of them came from France, the Frankish kingdom – claimed to be the masters of the Lebanese mountains.[/vc_column_text][/vc_column][/vc_row]

Shifting alliances

However, the situation remained complicated. There were still Muslim princes who remained masters of their fiefs in the mountains. Secondly, the newcomers accommodated the established communities in several ways. There were shifting alliances, with former enemies fighting alongside or transforming into opponents. Some territories – like those of the Bohtor, Sarahmour, Tirdalan, and Aramoun families, near Beirut – fell under both the Christian bishops and the legendary Saladin, who fought the Christians in the name of the jihad – following in that respect Nur al-Din, Saladin’s predecessor. Saladin, who won decisive battles – such as the Battle of Hattin in 1187 that led to the fall of Jerusalem and the end of the occupation of that region by the Franks – was famed not only for his strategic acumen but also for his courageous and chivalrous feats as a warrior. His reputation was in that respect similar to that of his adversary Richard Lionheart, and witnesses have reported that both men respected, or even liked, one another.

Neither the Christians nor the Muslims always closed ranks. When the Franks undertook to conquer the Lebanese cities, they were sometimes stopped by Maronites. These later supported the crusaders but ceased to do so toward the end of the 13th century, which also meant the end of the crusader era. At one point, the French count Raymond III of Tripoli was Saladin’s ally against Baldwin, King of Jerusalem – before switching sides. Afterward, Raymond was defeated by Saladin. In the Muslim world, there was a patent hostility between Shiite Egypt and Sunnite Baghdad. The emirates located between the two powers – fearing the Turkish Seljuk – remained divided in their allegiance. Eventually, in 1292, it was the Mamluks, a new Egyptian dynasty – though of Turkish origin and Sunnite – who brought the final blow to the crusaders. By then, the eastern part of their territory had been invaded by the Mongols, who came as far as Damascus.

The Crusades (eight in total) cost many lives and brought a lot of destruction, disease, and disorder. But on the whole, the local inhabitants were allowed to remain true to their faith – except for slaves and prisoners of war. They also retained their local authorities and justice system. In many ways, the eastern and western cultures influenced one another. Trade thrived, especially in the coastal regions. Traders – whether they were Muslims, Christians, or Jews – enjoyed special protection when crossing borders, even when they had to enter ‘enemy’ territory. Caravans traveled across the whole region, ships went from Egypt to Tyre to Constantinople and further.

After the last of the crusaders left the Lebanese coast, many Christian traders also left and settled in Cyprus. After a few years, however, their ships returned to the Lebanese ports.