تبرع
وقائع الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

لبنان: الانتداب الفرنسي والطريق الى الاستقلال

خلطت الحرب العالمية الأولى الأوراق مجدداً. خسرت تركيا جميع أراضيها التي أصبحت الآن تحت سيطرة قوات التحالف الغربية، بريطانيا العظمى وفرنسا. وترددت الأخيرة كثيراً في إرسال قواتها إلى بلاد الشام، إذ كانت منشغلة بالجبهة الغربية في بلادها. ولكن القوات الفرنسية – والشمال أفريقية – حاربت في كل من لبنان وسوريا، واللتين كانتا تحت نفوذها ما لا يقل عن قرن من الزمان، والفضل في ذلك يعود على وجه الخصوص إلى جهود البعثات التبشيرية اليسوعية في كلا البلدين. حتى أن أواصر العلاقات بين فرنسا والموارنة اللبنانيين كانت تعود إلى سنوات سابقة.

الأمير فيصل في مؤتمر السلام في باريس عام 1919 (عن يمينه ت.و. لورانس)
الأمير فيصل في مؤتمر السلام في باريس عام 1919 (عن يمينه ت.و. لورانس)

في أعقاب هدنة 30 أكتوبر/تشرين الأول 1918، أُعْلِنتْ الأراضي التي كانت تحت الحكم العثماني سابقاً في بلاد الشام “أراضي عدو محتلة”. وفي أعقاب اتفاقية سايكس بيكو، والتي أبرمت حتى قبل أن تضع الحرب العالمية الأولى أوزارها، (والتي تحمل اسم مفاوضيْها: البريطاني مارك سايكس والفرنسي فرانسوا جورج بيكو)، احتلت فرنسا لبنان والمناطق الساحلية في كل من سوريا وكيليكيا، والساحل الجنوبي الشرقي للأناضول. أما بريطانيا العظمى فقد احتلت الجزء الداخلي من سوريا، إلى جانب العراق وفلسطين وشرق الأردن.

لكن قبل الاحتلال الفرنسي، كان كل من لبنان وسوريا تحت حكم الأمير فيصل ابن الشريف حسين أمير الحجاز، والذي هزمت قواته وقوات الكولونيل البريطاني توماس إدوارد لورانس (المعروف بـ “لورانس العرب”) القوات التركية في المنطقة. وهكذا رُفعت راية الأمير فيصل – الذي وعده الحلفاء بأن يصير ملكاً على سوريا الكبرى – لبضعة أيام فوق دمشق وفي بيروت. وما إن وطأت أقدام الجنرال إدموند اللينبي البريطاني والكولونيل الفرنسي فيليبين دي بايبيب أرض لبنان، حتى تم إنزال علم الأمير فيصل. وفي مؤتمر السلام الذي عقد في وقت لاحق في العاصمة الفرنسية باريس، لم يُسْمَحْ للأمير فيصل سوى بالحضور. وأعلنت فرنسا انتدابها على كامل الأراضي السورية واللبنانية، وقد اعْتُمِدَ هذا الانتداب بموجب المعاهدة التي وُقِّعَت عام 1920. أما بريطانيا فقد شمل انتدابها فلسطين وشرق الأردن وأراضي العراق حتى الحدود الإيرانية. وأعيدت كيليكيا إلى تركيا، ونتيجة لذلك فقد اضطر الآلاف من المسيحيين الأتراك والأرمن الذين كانوا قد نجوا من مذابح عامي 1915-1916، والذي لجأوا إلى كيليكيا، إلى الهرب إلى لبنان.

الأمير فيصل

نُصِّبَ فيصل مَلِكًا على العراق، في حين أصبح أخوه عبد الله في البداية أميراً على إمارة شرق الأردن، ومن ثم ملكاً على الأردن. ولا يزال أحفاد الملك عبد الله يتعاقبون على عرش الأردن إلى وقتنا هذا. اغتيل حفيد فيصل، فيصل الثاني، عام 1958 خلال الانقلاب الذي وضع الجيش العراق في السلطة.

كان نفوذ فيصل كبيراً، إذ أنه أحيى فكرة الدولة العربية – والتي أطلقها الأمير فخر الدين الثاني في جبل لبنان في القرن السابع عشر – لتوحيد المنطقة بأكملها. إلا أن أفكار الملك فيصل أثارت القلق في أوساط المسيحيين في كل من لبنان وسوريا، لأنهم رأوا أنه يفصل بشكل واضح بين السلطات الروحية والدنيوية. وكان هناك شكوك إذا ما كانت الدولة العربية التي كانت في فكر فيصل ستكون دولة عربية أو إسلامية. ومن جهة أخرى، أخلص العديد من مسيحيي بلاد الشام بالولاء لفكرة “القومية العربية”، والتي كانت قد بدأت تشق طريقها في أواخر القرن التاسع عشر، وقد لاقت حماساً على نطاق واسع في جميع أنحاء العالم العربي خلال العشرينات والثلاثينات من القرن العشرين.

في ظل الانتداب الفرنسي

في ظل الانتداب الفرنسي، أصبح لبنان، الذي كان حينها مقتصراً على المناطق الجبلية ووادي البقاع باستثناء السنوات الخمسين الماضية، يدعى “لبنان الكبير”، وتم ضم المنطقة الساحلية إليه. كان ذلك يعني تغيراً جذرياً في تركيبة السكان في لبنان، كون معظم سكان المدن الساحلية من المسلمين السنة والمسيحيين من الروم الأرثوذكس. وأصبح الدروز أقلية صغيرة جداً في لبنان، 6,8% فقط، وفق إحصائيات عام 1932. أما الموارنة، والذين كانوا لا يزالون يشكلون المجموعة الأكبر (28,8%) وغالبية المسيحيين إلى حد كبير (الروم الأرثوذكس 9,7%، الروم الكاثوليك 5,9%، والطوائف المسيحية الأخرى – معظمها من الأرمن – 6,8%)، لم يعودوا يهيمنون على الساحة الاجتماعية كما كانوا من قبل. ولكن ظل المسيحيون على اختلاف طوائفهم يمثلون أغلبية الشعب اللبناني: 51,2%. وكانت نسبة السنّة في ذلك الوقت 22,4% من سكان لبنان، والشيعة 20,3%. مع الدروز (6,8%)، كان المسلمون مجتمعين يشكلون 49,7% من عدد السكان الإجمالي.

كما عنت الحدود الجديدة أن البلاد كانت مستقلة رسمياً في علاقاتها مع دمشق. كان خطاب الانتداب الموجه إلى فرنسا من عصبة الأمم واضحاً: يجب أن يصبح لبنان في نهاية المطاف بلداً مستقلاً، وأن على فرنسا مساعدة اللبنانيين على تحقيق ذلك.

خلال السنوات التي تلت، بدأ اللبنانيون العمل على صياغة دستور لبلادهم، والذي اكتمل عام 1926. وقد نص هذا الدستور على أن رئيس الجمهورية لابد أن يكون مسيحياً مارونياً، في حين يكون رئيس مجلس النواب شيعياً ورئيس الوزراء سُنياً، بينما وزير الدفاع درزياً. كان ينبغي تقسيم المقاعد والدوائر البرلمانية بين أغلب الطوائف الدينية الثماني عشرة المعترف بها في لبنان. وضمن هذه القيود، كان يُنتخب أعضاء البرلمان على أساس برنامج سياسي، وكأعضاء في أحزاب أو تحالفات سياسية. وكان الطيف السياسي يتراوح من الحزب الشيوعي في اليسار إلى الكتائب في اليمين.

كانت مناقشة الأفكار السياسية تتم في الصحف. وكانت صناعة الصحافة مزدهرة. حتى في الأيام الأولى للانتداب الفرنسي، كانت حرية الصحافة اللبنانية من أكثر الحريات في العالم العربي، مع أنها لم تكن كاملة – لأن الجيش الفرنسي كان في السلطة حتى عام 1926. . كان يتم توزيع الصحف وقراءتها على نطاق واسع، ليس فقط في العاصمة بيروت، وإنما أيضاً في المدن الإقليمية، والتي غالباً ما كانت تُصدر صحفها المحلية.

الطريق إلى الاستقلال

حصل لبنان على استقلاله خطوة بخطوة. وقد تحقق نهائياً عام 1943، وذلك في خضم الحرب العالمية الثانية. وبمجرد أن اندلعت الحرب بين فرنسا وألمانيا، في أيلول/سبتمبر 1939، تم تعليق الدستور اللبناني وحل البرلمان. ولم يعد للرئيس اللبناني حينها “إميل إده” وحكومته أية سلطة. وفي أواخر عام 1940، قام المفوض الفرنسي السامي الجنرال هنري دانت، والذي كان يمثل حكومة فيشي المتعاونة في فرنسا، بتعيين ألفريد نقّاش “رئيساً للحكومة”، في حين تنازل الرئيس إده عن منصبه بعد ذلك بوقت قصير، وذلك حين تسبب نقص الغذاء، نتيجة الحصار الذي فرضته بريطانيا على لبنان، بموجة احتجاجات محرجة من جانب الشعب اللبناني.

في تموز/يوليو 1941، تم تحرير لبنان على يد القوات البريطانية وقوات “فرنسا الحرة” بقيادة الجنرال شارل ديغول، وغادر ممثلو حكومة فيشي إلى فرنسا. ورغم ما قطعته فرنسا وبريطانيا من وعود بالاستقلال حالما تدخل

الرئيس الفرنسي ديغول يزور الطائفة الدرزية في سوريا في نهاية الحرب العالمية الثانية Photo HH
الرئيس الفرنسي ديغول يزور الطائفة الدرزية في سوريا في نهاية الحرب العالمية الثانية Photo HH

الجنرال شهاب يقدم العلم اللبناني للرئيس بشارة الخوري
الجنرال شهاب يقدم العلم اللبناني للرئيس بشارة الخوري

قواتهما لبنان وسوريا في يونيو/حزيران عام 1941، استغرق الأمر ستة أشهر لإيفاء فرنسا بوعدها والاعتراف بألفريد نقّاش رئيساً للبلاد. كما استغرق الأمر ما يقرب من عامين آخرين – إلى جانب انتصار قوات الحلفاء في المنطقة – قبل أن سمحت فرنسا بإجراء انتخابات حرة في البلاد ووضع دستور لحكومة مؤقتة، كخطوة تمهيدية.

وفي ضوء تلك الانتخابات، اتخذ قرار بتوزيع المقاعد النيابية على مختلف الطوائف الدينية، وفقا لحصة كل منها من سكان البلاد، وذلك وفق إحصاء عام 1932. وعلاوة على ذلك، عقد كل من الرئيس بشارة الخوري (ماروني) ورئيس الوزراء
رياض الصلح (سني) ميثاقاً وطنياً (غير مدوّن) يلتزم بموجبه كل من مسلمي لبنان ومسيحييها بالعيش معاً بسلام؛ وأن ينبذ مسلمو لبنان أي ارتباط محتمل بأية قومية عربية، وأن ينبذ المسيحيون حماية القوى الغربية، وعلى رأسها في ذلك الوقت فرنسا و بريطانيا العظمى. وقد أثبت هذا الميثاق الوطني أهميته في حصول لبنان على استقلاله، لأن القوى الغربية، وفرنسا على وجه الخصوص، كانت تخشى من ظهور قومية عربية في المنطقة وآثارها المحتملة، مثل الدعوة إلى إنشاء دولة سوريا الكبرى. ورغم ما وُجه إلى هذا الميثاق الوطني من انتقادات من أنه يحمل في طياته بذور صراعات قد تنشأ في وقت لاحق بين الطوائف الموجودة في البلاد، إلا أن اللبنانيين تمسكوا بذلك الميثاق، وظل يُعمل به حتى اتفاق الطائف عام 1989.

Donate
Chronicle of the Middle East and North Africa

Lebanon: The French Mandate & The Road to Independence

The outcome of World War I reshuffled the cards once again. Turkey lost all its territories, which were now held by the western allied forces, Great Britain and France. The latter had strongly hesitated about sending troops to the Levant, as it was fighting a war on its own western front. Yet French – and North African – troops fought in Lebanon and in Syria, which had been within its sphere of influence for at least a century, in particular, because of the Jesuit missionaries in both countries. France’s ties with the Lebanese Maronites went back even further.

Emir Faysal at the Peace Conference in Paris in 1919 (with T.E. Lawrence to his right)
Emir Faysal at the Peace Conference in Paris in 1919 (with T.E. Lawrence to his right)

After the armistice on 30 October 1918, the former Turkish territories in the Levant were declared ‘occupied enemy territories’. Following the Sykes-Picot Agreement, concluded even before the war was ended (named after their negotiators, the British Mark Sykes and the Frenchman François Georges-Picot), the French occupied Lebanon, the coastal parts of Syria and Cilicia, the south-eastern Anatolian coast. The interior part of Syria, as well as Iraq, Palestine, and Transjordan, were held by the British.

Before the French took over, Lebanon and Syria were held by Emir Faysal, son of Husayn, Sharif of Mecca, whose troops, alongside those of the British Colonel T.E. Lawrence (Lawrence of Arabia), defeated the Turkish troops in the region. For a few days, Faysal – who had been promised the Kingdom of Greater Syria – had his flag hoisted in Damascus as well as in Beirut. In Beirut, it was taken down when the British general Edmund Allenby and the French colonel Philipin de Piepape set foot in Lebanon. Faysal was invited, albeit begrudgingly, to the peace conference that was afterward held in Paris. France claimed the mandate over the whole of Syria as well as Lebanon, which it was accorded in the treaty signed in 1920. The mandate over Palestine, Transjordan, and Iraq up to the Iranian border, went to the British. Cilicia was given back to Turkey, and as a consequence, thousands of Turkish Christians and Armenians who had survived the massacres of 1915-1916 and had taken refuge in Cilicia, fled to Lebanon.

Emir Faysal

Faysal was made King of Iraq, while his brother Abdullah became the first Emir of Transjordan, later King of Jordan. The latter’s descendants are still on the throne in Jordan. Faysal’s grandson, Faysal II, was murdered in 1958, during the coup that brought the Iraqi military to power.

Faysal’s influence was great. He revitalized the idea – already launched in the 17th century by Mount Lebanon’s Emir Fakhr al-Din – of an Arab state that would unite the whole region. Faysal’s ideas were met with distrust by the Christians in Lebanon and Syria; in their eyes, he did not make a clear distinction between the spiritual and worldly powers. There was confusion about whether Faysal’s proposed state would be Arab or rather Muslim. On the other hand, many Levantine Christians certainly did adhere to the idea of pan-Arabism, which had started to spread in the late 19th century and which was met with widespread enthusiasm throughout the Arab world in the 1920s and 1930s.

Under the French Mandate

Under the French mandate, Lebanon, so far restricted to the mountainous regions and – except for the previous half-century – the Beqaa Valley became Greater Lebanon, and was united with the coastal region. This meant a fundamental change in the composition of Lebanon’s population, the coastal cities being inhabited mainly by Sunni Muslims and Greek Orthodox. The Druze became a very small minority in the country, making up a mere 6.8 percent, according to the 1932 census. The Maronites, still the largest group (28.8 percent) and by far the majority among the Christians (Greek Orthodox 9.7, Greek Catholic 5.9, other Christian denominations – mainly Armenian – 6.8 percent), did not dominate the social landscape as they had previously. Together, the Christians remained in the majority: 51.2 percent. The Sunni at the time represented 22.4 percent of the population, the Shiites 20.3. Together with the Druze (6.8 percent), the Muslim community as a whole formed 49.7 percent of the population.

The new borders also meant that the country was formally independent in its relationship to Damascus. The mandate that the French received from the League of Nations was clear: Lebanon should eventually become an independent country, and France should help the Lebanese to realize this.

In the following years, the Lebanese started working on their Constitution, which was completed in 1926. It was this Constitution that stipulated that the President of the Republic was to be a Maronite Christian, while the Speaker of Parliament should be a Shiite and the Prime Minister a Sunni, while the Druze provided the Minister of Defence. The parliamentary seats – and the constituencies – had to be divided among most of the eighteen recognized religious denominations. Within these restrictions, the Members of Parliament were elected on a political platform and as members of political parties or coalitions. The political spectrum stretched from the communist party on the left to the Phalange on the right.

Political ideas were largely discussed in the newspapers and the newspaper industry was thriving. Even in the early days of the French mandate, the Lebanese press enjoyed exceptional freedom in the Arab world, although it was not entirely free, as the French military were in power until 1926. Newspapers were distributed and read on a large scale, not only in the capital but also in regional towns, which often had their own local newspaper.

The Road to Independence

Independence was to be obtained step by step. It was finally achieved in 1943, in the midst of World War II. As soon as France was at war with Germany, in September 1939, the Lebanese Constitution was suspended and Parliament dissolved. The President, Émile Eddé, and the government had hardly any powers. Late 1940, the then French High Commissioner, general Henri Dentz, representing the collaborating Vichy government of France, appointed Alfred Naccache as ‘Head of Government’. President Eddé abdicated shortly afterward when food shortages caused by the British blockade resulted in serious protests by the population.

In July 1941, Lebanon was liberated by British and Free French forces of general Charles De Gaulle, and the representatives of the Vichy government left for France.

French President Charles de Gaulle visits the Druze community in Syria at the end of World War II Photo HH
French President Charles de Gaulle visits the Druze community in Syria at the end of World War II Photo HH

General Fouad Chehab presents the Lebanese flag to President Bechara al-Khoury in 1945
General Fouad Chehab presents the Lebanese flag to President Bechara al-Khoury in 1945

But although independence had been promised both by the French and the British as soon as they entered Lebanon and Syria in June 1941, it took six months for the French in power to acknowledge this promise and to recognize Naccache as President of the Republic. It took almost two more years – and the victory of the Allied forces in the region – before the French allowed free elections and, in preparation thereof, the constitution of a provisional government.

In view of these elections the decision was made to distribute the parliamentary seats along the lines of the different religious communities, according to their share of the population, based on the census of 1932. Moreover, President Bechara al-Khoury (Maronite) and Prime Minister Riad al-Solh (Sunnite) drew up a (non-written) National Pact in which Muslims and Christians committed themselves to live peacefully together.

Muslims were to renounce a possible attachment of Lebanon to any pan-Arab nation, Christians to renounce the protection of western powers – mainly France or Great Britain at the time. This National Pact proved fundamental on Lebanon’s road to independence, as the western powers, France in particular, feared the rise of pan-Arabism in the region and its possible implications, such as calls for creating a Greater Syria. Though often criticized as carrying the seeds of later conflicts amongst the country’s communities, the Lebanese were loyal to this National Pact, which was to remain in place until the Taif Agreement of 1989.