تبرع
وقائع الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

تاريخ لبنان: من العصور القديمة إلى لبنان في العصور الوسطى

تاريخ لبنان
صورة تم التقاطها في 28 سبتمبر 2016 ، تظهر أطلال رومانية في موقع أثري في مدينة صور الساحلية اللبنانية. (Photo by PATRICK BAZ / AFP)
لبنان الاسكندر المقدوني
امبراطورية الاسكندر المقدوني

تمثل المنطقة الساحلية للبنان الحالي جزءً هاماً من أرض كنعان القديمة، والتي كانت تمتد من أوغاريت (رأس شمرا الحالية) الواقعة في شمال سوريا، على طول الساحل ووادي نهر أورونتي، وصولاً إلى عكا التي تقع الآن شمال إسرائيل.

كانت المدن الواقعة على الساحل اللبناني الحالي، مثل طرابلس وجبيل وبيروت وصيدا وصور، مدناً فينيقية شهيرة، وكانت كل منها تنعم بالاستقلال. وكان الفينيقيون تجاراً وبحارة.

من غير الواضح ما هو أصل الفينيقيين، ولكنهم استقروا في هذه المنطقة منذ آلاف السنين ما قبل الميلاد.

كان الفينيقيون بحارة بارعين للغاية، في البداية صيادي سمك، ومن ثم تجاراً بالتدريج، يبحرون أكثر و أكثر ليبيعوا منتجاتهم وبضائعهم. وكانوا يبيعون الزيتون والفواكه والأخشاب من الجبال، وإنما أيضاً النحاس والزنك أو القصدير، بالإضافة إلى الأقمشة المصبوغة (واشتهر منها الأرجوان)، والمشغولات اليدوية مثل الأواني الزجاجية والحلي. لم يكن الفينيقيون أول من عرف الزجاج، إلا أنهم كانوا أول من جعله شفافاً. وقد شيد الفينيقيون البيوت الحجرية في جبيل منذ ما يقرب من 7000 عام قبل الميلاد. كما قاموا بتطوير الكتابة الهيروغليفية إلى الأبجدية البدائية، والتي طورها الإغريق لاحقاً إلى أبجدية متكاملة. وكان لكل مدينة فينيقية ولكل جبل إلههه الخاص، ولكن الإله الأعظم لدى الكنعانيين كان “إيل” (لاحظ التشابه بين تلك اللفظة ولفظة “الله”)، “خالق الأرض والبشر”.

رحلات الفينيقيين

أبحرت الأساطيل الفينيقية إلى شمال أفريقيا، حيث أنشأوا مستعمرات، والتي غالباً ما كانت عبارة عن مصانع تجارية. وكانت أكثر مستعمراتهم أهمية مستعمرة قرطاج (أي المدينة الجديدة)، التي تقع حالياً بالقرب من العاصمة التونسية “تونس”، وتعني كلمة “قرطاج” بالفينيقية “المدينة الجديدة”. حتى أنهم استكشفوا المحيطين الهندي والأطلسي والسواحل الإفريقية، بدءً من البحر الأحمر، مبحرين جنوباً حول رأس الرجاء الصالح، رجوعاً إلى قرطاج على طول الساحل الإفريقي. وفي مناسبات أخرى، بلغ الفينيقيون شواطئ أوروبا الغربية وأبحروا حتى نورماندي .

استقلالية الفينيقيين

شكلت فينيقيا جزءً من الإمبراطورية الآشورية والبابلية والفارسية، على التوالي، حتى عام 333-332 قبل الميلاد. ولكن مدنها احتفظت باستقلاليتها، ولكل مدينة ملكها الخاص. وقد سمح الفرس للفينيقيين بشكل خاص بتصريف شؤونهم بأنفسهم دون فرض ثقافتهم الفارسية عليهم. وكان لكل مدينة فينيقية جيشها الخاص بها – رغم أنها كانت تساند بعضها إن اقتضى الأمر. ولكن حتى قواتهم المشتركة لم تستطع الوقوف في وجه الإسكندر الأكبر المقدوني. وأكثر من قاوم كانت مدينة صور – التي كانت مبنية على البر الرئيسي وجزيرة، فكانت آخر مدينة فينيقية تسقط في بلاد المشرق، وذلك عام 332 قبل الميلاد، بعد حصار دام سبعة أشهر. وبعد ذلك، كانت قرطاج المدينة الفينيقية الوحيدة التي لم تسقط في أيدي الإغريق. وظلت على استقلاليتها حتى عام 146 قبل الميلاد حين استولى عليها الرومان.

لبنان الاسكندر المقدوني
تقسيم امبراطورية الاسكندر المقدوني بعد وفاته

الحكم الهلنستي

كان استيلاء الإسكندر الكبير على المدن الفينيقية في القرن الرابع قبل الميلاد يعني أن بلاد الشام صارت تحت الحكم الهلنستي. ثم تابع الإسكندر احتلال مصر والإمبراطورية الفارسية، ولكنه مات بعد عقد من فتوحاته. وبعد وفاته (323 قبل الميلاد) قُسِّمت إمبراطوريته الواسعة بين قواده الثلاثة. فكانت بلاد اليونان من نصيب أنتيغونوس، ومصر من نصيب بطليموس، وأخذ سلوقس الجزء الشرقي من الإمبراطورية، من آسيا الصغرى وحتى الحدود الشرقية، أي الحدود الحالية بين إيران وأفغانستان إلى حد ما. بنى سلوقس مدينة أنطاكية واتخذها عاصمة للإمبراطورية السلوقية.

وأصبحت لبنان جزءً من الإمبراطورية السلوقية مدة ثلاثة قرون بعد أن كانت تابعة لإمبراطورية البطالمة نحو ثمانين عاماً.

في لبنان ازدهرت الفلسفة تحت تأثير الإغريق. يعد ديودوروس الصوري، عضو المدرسة الجدلية، فيلسوفاً شهيراً. وتميز الإغريق بتسامحهم مع أصحاب الديانات الأخرى، وكانت الآلهة الكثيرة التي تعبد في مختلف الديانات تعد بمثابة آلهة مماثلة للآلهة الإغريقية، ولكن مع اختلاف الأسماء. وكانت كلمة “بعل” ترادف كلمة “الرب” في اللغة الآرامية السريانية التي كانت محكية في المنطقة. وقد اعتبر “إيل” بمثابة الإله رع في مصر والإله زيوس عند الإغريق وجوبيتر عند الرومان. وكان الإغريق ينظرون إلى ملكارت، بعل أو إله مدينة صور، على أنه تجسد هيراقليس.

الإمبراطورية الرومانية

عام 64 قبل الميلاد حل الرومان محل الإغريق في لبنان والبلاد المحيطة به، والذين بقيوا فيه حتى عام 636 للميلاد. وبعد احتلالهم قرطاج، قاموا بتوسيع إمبراطوريتهم نحو السواحل الجنوبية للبحر المتوسط، والتي أصبحت في نهاية المطاف مجرد “بحيرة رومانية” على حد تعبير المؤرخ اللبناني الراحل بطرس ديب. في كثير من النواحي، لم تكن الحضارة الرومانية سوى امتداد للثقافة الإغريقية. ولكن فيما يتعلق بالسياسة والقانون والإدارة، فإن التحول من إمبراطورية لأخرى يستلزم وقفة. ففي حين أصر الإغريق على تحقيق الديمقراطية المحلية واستقلالية المدن، سعى الرومان إلى تنصيب حكومة مركزية في روما. وعلاوة على ذلك، كان بعض الأباطرة الرومانيين يميلون إلى الحكم الديكتاتوري. بل أنهم مالوا إلى تأليه الذات – الأمر الذي رفضه المسيحيون بشدة، والذين تضاعف عددهم على نحو ملحوظ اعتباراً من القرن الأول للميلاد، بل فاقوا اليهود والوثنيين عدداً. ومع ذلك، كانت سلطة الأباطرة محدودة، رغم أن بعضهم قد حاول تجاوز تلك الحدود.

القانون الروماني

كان التغيير الآخر بالنسبة للشعوب المحتلة حديثاً إدخال القانون الروماني، والذي كان مدوناً باللغة اللاتينية، اللغة التي لم يكن يجيدها السواد الأعظم من الناس. في الجزء الشرقي من الإمبراطورية الرومانية كانت اللغة اليونانية لغة المثقفين، أما لغة عامة الشعب – على الأقل حول جبل لبنان – فكانت اللغة الآرامية السريانية. وفي حين كانت العادات المحلية والقانون التقليدي محترمة أساساً في ظل حكم الفرس ومن ثم الإغريق، أصبح قانون البلاد رومانياً، والمؤسسات تُفرض من قبل روما. واستبدل الملوك الذين كانوا يحكمون المدن الواقعة على طول الساحل اللبناني منذ العصر الفينيقي بحكام – يتم اختيارهم على الأغلب من نفس العائلة – كما تم “تصنيف” المواطنين وفق نظام طبقي. وفي القرون التي تلت، ذابت الفوارق بين الطبقات الاجتماعية. وفي القرن الثالث الميلادي، منح الإمبراطور كاراكالا (211-217) سكان كل الأقاليم المختلفة الجنسية الرومانية، بما في ذلك الأقاليم والمستعمرات النائية.

تناوبت فترات من الرخاء والسلام مع فترات من الفوضى والحروب (الأهلية). وتعرضت المناطق الجنوبية الشرقية من الإمبراطورية الرومانية بانتظام لهجمات من قبل الفرثيين والساسانيين (الفرس) وعصابات المحاربين الجرمانيين والقوطيين والفاندال في الشمال والشمال الشرقي. بالإضافة إلى تلك الهجمات، ضعفت الإمبراطورية الرومانية أحياناً بسبب الصراعات الداخلية على السلطة.

الدين

فمنذ القرن الأول الميلادي فصاعداً، انتشرت الديانة المسيحية على طول سواحل البحر الأبيض المتوسط وما وراءها. وكانت لبنان وسوريا من بين البلدان الأولى التي اعتنقت المسيحية. في بادئ الأمر، تجاهلت الإمبراطورية الرومانية المسيحيين أو تسامحت معهم، ثم اضطهدتهم، وفي نهاية المطاف اعترفت بهم. وقد بلغ الاضطهاد شدته إبان حكم دقلديانوس (284-305). إلا أن خليفته قسطنطين (305-337)، اعتنق المسيحية. وكان ذلك بداية عصر جديد أكثر استقراراً.

الامبراطوران قسطنطين ويوستنيانوس

في عهد سلفه، كانت الإمبراطورية الرومانية منقسمة إلى إمبراطورية غربية وأخرى شرقية. فقام قسطنطين، زعيم الإمبراطورية الشرقية التي كانت أشد قوة وأرغد اقتصاداً، بنقل العاصمة شرقاً إلى بيزنطيا (القسطنطينية) التي أتاحت له أن يكون أقرب إلى أعدائه الساسانيين (الفرس). وهكذا وضع قسطنطين لبنة الأساس لما سيعرف فيما بعد بالإمبراطورية البيزنطية، والتي وحّدها يوستنيانوس الأول (527-565). فقد أعاد توحيد الإمبراطوريتين بشكل مؤقت وأخضع القوطيين والفاندال في الأقاليم التي احتلوها، والتي تشمل إيطاليا وأسبانيا وشمال أفريقيا. وعلى الحدود الشرقية، شن حرباً ضد الفرس، انتصر فيها في نهاية المطاف، فقط بعد حملة طويلة ومكلفة ليجبرهم على الانسحاب من (شمال) سوريا.

كما قام يوستنيانوس الأول، الذي حارب الفساد في كل الهيئات الحكومية، بتدوين القوانين الرومانية وفلسفة التشريع. وقد شجع كثيراً على دراسة القانون (وكان في بيروت مدرسة قانون شهيرة)، ومن بين تراثه الرئيسي كتاب “مجموعة القوانين المدنية (أو قانون يوستنيانوس)” الذي نشر عام 529، ويتضمن كل القوانين

كما قام يوستنيانوس الأول، الذي حارب الفساد في كل الهيئات الحكومية، بتدوين القوانين الرومانية وفلسفة التشريع. وقد شجع كثيراً على دراسة القانون (وكان في بيروت مدرسة قانون شهيرة)، ومن بين تراثه الرئيسي كتاب “مجموعة القوانين المدنية (أو قانون يوستنيانوس)” الذي نشر عام 529، ويتضمن كل القوانين الصادرة في الإمبراطورية الرومانية منذ عهد الإمبراطور أدريانوس (117- 138). وتم جمع القوانين التي تلت في مجلد آخر بعنوان “مجموعة الأحكام الجديدة Novellae Constitutiones Post Codicem”. وتتضمن مجموعة أخرى، تدعى “مجموعة القوانين المدنية الرومانية Digesta ” (سنة 533)، فلسفة التشريع. الكثير من النصوص التي جمعت في هذا الكتاب كتبها الفقيه القانوني اللبناني أولبيان من مدينة صور، والذي عاش في القرن الثالث الميلادي. وفي عام 533 أيضاً ظهر دليل “مبادئ غايوس Institutes of Gaius” لطلاب الحقوق.

Donate
Chronicle of the Middle East and North Africa

Lebanon history: From Ancient to Medieval Lebanon

lebanon history
A picture taken on September 28, 2016, shows Roman ruins at an archaeological site in the Lebanese coastal city of Tyre. (Photo by PATRICK BAZ / AFP)

The coastal region of present-day Lebanon corresponds to an important part of ancient Canaan, which extended from Ugarit (now Ras Shamra) in northern Syria, along the coast and the valley of the river Orontes, down to southern Israel. Later, in the 1st millennium BCE, Tripoli, Byblos, Beryt (Beirut), Sidon (Saida), and Tyre were famous, independent Phoenician cities.

Phoenician travels

Phoenician fleets sailed out to North Africa, where they established colonies, often resembling trade factories. Their most important colony was Carthage (Carthago, meaning New City), near present Tunis (Tunisia). They even explored the Indian and Atlantic Oceans and the African coasts, starting from the Red Sea, sailing south around the Cape, and from there, back to Carthage, following the African coastline. On other occasions, the Phoenicians reached West European shores and traveled as far as Normandy (in France).

Phoenician Independence

Phoenicia was part, successively, of the Assyrian, Babylonian, and Persian Empire until 333-332 BCE. But its cities retained their independence, each ruled by its own king. The Persians especially, allowed the Phoenicians to conduct their own business and did not try to impose their Persian culture. The Phoenician cities each had their own army – although they supported one another when necessary. However, even their combined forces could not resist those of Alexander the Great from Macedonia. Tyre (Sur), which was built both on the mainland and on an island, offered the greatest resistance and was the last of the Phoenician cities in the Levant to fall, in 332 BCE, after a siege that lasted for seven months. Afterward, the only Phoenician city to remain out of Greek hands was Carthage. It would remain independent until 146 BCE when it was finally taken by the Romans.

Hellenistic Rule

Alexander the Great’s conquest of the Phoenician cities in the 4th century BCE meant that the Levant came under Hellenistic rule. Alexander went on to conquer Egypt and the Persian Empire, but he died within a decade of his conquests. After his death (323 BCE), his empire was divided among his three generals. Antigonos was given Greece, Egypt went to Ptolemy, and Seleukos (or Seleucus) received the eastern part of the empire, from Asia Minor to the eastern border, more or less coinciding with present-day Iran’s border with

Alexander empire

Afghanistan. Seleukos built Antioch and made this the capital of the Seleucid Empire. For three centuries, Lebanon was part of the Seleucid Empire, after having belonged to the Ptolemaic Empire for some eighty years.

In Lebanon, philosophy flourished under the influence of the Greeks. Diodoros of Tyre, a member of the Peripatetic school, is a well-known philosopher. The Greeks were tolerant towards other religions; many of the gods worshipped in different religions were considered identical to the Greek gods, only with different names. Baal was the word for ‘Lord’ in the Aramaic-Syriac language spoken in the region. El was considered the equivalent of Ra in Egypt, and of the Greek god Zeus and the Roman Jupiter. Melkart, the Baal associated with Tyre, was viewed by the Greeks as an avatar of Heracles.

Roman Empire

In 64 BCE, the Greek rulers in Lebanon and surrounding countries were supplanted by the Romans, who would stay there until 636 CE. After their conquest of Carthage, the Romans extended their empire to the southern shores of the Mediterranean, which eventually became ‘a Roman lake’ in the words of the late Lebanese historian Boutros Dib. In many respects, Roman civilization was just a continuation of Greek culture. But where politics, law, and administration were concerned, the transition from one empire to another did entail a break. Where the Greeks insisted on local democracy and the independence of cities, the Romans endeavored to install a centralized administration – in Rome. Moreover, many Roman emperors leaned towards dictatorship. They even inclined towards deification – which was strongly resisted by the Christians in their empire. Still, the emperor’s power was not unlimited.

Roman Law

Another change for the newly conquered peoples was the introduction of Roman law, which was written in Latin, a language most people did not master. In the eastern region of the Roman Empire, the cultured language was Greek, and the vernacular language – at least around Mount Lebanon – Aramaic-Syriac. Whereas local customs and traditional law had essentially been respected under Persian and later Hellenistic rule, now the law of the land was Roman, and the institutions were imposed by Rome. The kings who had ruled the cities along the Lebanese coast since Phoenician times were replaced by governors – often chosen from the same families – and citizens were ‘classified’ in a hierarchical system. In later centuries, the differences between the social classes tended to diminish. In the third century, Emperor Caracalla (211-217) awarded Roman citizenship to all inhabitants in the provinces, including the peripheral provinces or colonies.

Periods of prosperity and peace alternated with periods of anarchy and (civil) war. The empire was regularly attacked by the Parthians and Sassanid (Persians) on its south-eastern flank and by Germanic-speaking bands of warriors (Goths) and Vandals in the north and north-east. In addition to these attacks, the Roman Empire was at times weakened by internal power struggles.

Religion

From the first century CE on, the Christian religion spread along the Mediterranean Coast and beyond. Lebanon and Syria were among the very first countries to be Christianized. The Christians in the Roman Empire were at first ignored or tolerated, then persecuted, and eventually recognized. The persecutions were at their height during the reign of Diocletian (284-305). His successor, Constantine (305-337) converted to Christianity. With him came a new, more stable era.

Emperors Constantine and Justinian

Under his predecessor, the Roman Empire had been divided into a western and an eastern empire. Constantine, head of the eastern empire which was by far the more powerful and economically successful, moved its capital eastwards to Byzantium (Constantinople), which allowed him to be closer to its enemy, the Sassanid (Persians). Constantine thus laid the foundations of what would later be called the Byzantine Empire, which was consolidated by Justinian I (527-565). He temporarily reunited the two empires and subdued the Goths and Vandals in the provinces of Italy, Spain, and North Africa. On the eastern frontier, he waged war against the Persians – eventually with success, although only after an extended and costly campaign to force them to withdraw from (the north of) Syria.

Justinian I, who fought corruption in all governing bodies, also codified the Roman laws and jurisprudence. He greatly stimulated law studies (Beirut had a famous law school) and among his main legacy is the Corpus Juris Civilis, published in 529, containing all the laws promulgated in the Roman Empire since Hadrian (117-138). The later laws were collected in another volume, Novellae Constitutiones Post Codicem. Another compilation, the Digesta (533), contained the jurisprudence. Many of the texts compiled in this work were written by the Lebanese jurist Ulpian from Tyre, who lived in the 3rd century. In 533, a handbook for law students (Institutes) was also produced.