تبرع
وقائع الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا
ابحث في fanack.com
Please enter search keyword.

قبائل التبو في ليبيا: عالم تباوي متفرد

قبائل التبو في ليبيا
صورة تم التقاطها يوم ٢١ سبتمبر ٢٠٢٠ لراقصين وراكبي جمال أثناء مشاركتهم في عرض سار باتجاه قصر الخلد (القصر الملكي السابق) في العاصمة الليبية طرابلس، وذلك على هامش مهرجان ثقافي للتبو نظمته الهيئة العامة للثقافة. المصدر: Mahmud TURKIA / AFP.

يوسف شرقاوي

تعد ليبيا من الدول التي ما زالت القبيلة تلعب فيها عاملاً مهماً في النواحي المجتمعية والاقتصادية والثقافية وحتى السياسية، كما يقول الدكتور البشير علي الكوت في دراسته “الدور السياسي للقبائل في ليبيا“.

ويتكون المجتمع الليبي من خليط متداخل من العرقيات. ويتضمن هذا الخليط قبائل وعائلات من العرب، بالإضافة إلى الأمازيغ والفينيقيين والتبو والطوارق. وللأفارقة، والأتراك، واليونانيين، والشركس، والإيطاليين وغيرهم حضورٌ في التركيبة السكانية الليبية. ويضم كلّ مكون رئيسي من هذه المكونات الكثير من القبائل المتفاوتة، بما في ذلك قبائل التبو المختلف في أصلها.

الأصل والتاريخ والحاضر

يبدأ الحديث عن قبائل التبو، وفقاً للجزيرة، مع المؤرخ الشهير هيرودوت الذي زار الساحل الشرقي لليبيا نحو العام 450 ق.م. وأشار هيرودوت في كتابه “التاريخ” إلى التبو على أنهم من المجموعات الزنجية الإثيوبية أو الحبشية. وحدَّد هذا المؤرّخ مواطن سكن هذه القبائل على ما هي عليه الآن، أي من فزان في ليبيا مروراً بتشاد وصولا إلى النيجر، مع امتدادات محدودة في الدول المجاورة خاصة السودان وأفريقيا الوسطى.

ويلفت الكاتب عائد عمارة النظر إلى إعادة المؤرخين اليعقوبي والمقريزي قبائل التبو إلى أصولٍ أمازيغية “بربرية”، الأمر الذي خالفهم فيه المؤرّخ الألماني غوستاف ناشتيغلاف. ويقول المؤرخ الألماني: “وإن لم يكن للتُبو أي صلةً بالبربر، فإنهم مع ذلك لا يُشبهون الزنوج، بل يشكلون شعباً وسيطاً بين السكان الأصليين لشمال إفريقيا وزنوج السودان”.

وبحسب كتاب “حكايات وخرافات وأساطير تباوية” لامراجع السحاتي، فقد أضفى عددٌ من المؤرخين صفات معتدلة على التبو. ويشير الكتاب إلى وصف الرحالة الألماني فردريك هورونمان لملامح التبو في مذكراته، فهم ذوو قوامٍ نحيل وسواعد مفتولة ومشية رشيقة وعيون ذكية وشفاهٍ غليظة. وفي الوقت الذي قال فيه هورونمان إن التبو ليسوا بذوي بشرةٍ سوداء تماماً، فإنه اعتبر أنوفهم “فطساء وليست كبيرة، وشعرهم طويل جدّاً ولكنه أقل تجعداً من شعر الزنوج”. ويؤكد المؤرخ اللاتيني بليني الأكبر أنّ وجود التبو موغل في القدم، مشيراً في كتابه “التاريخ الطبيعي” إلى وجود التبو في جبال تيبستي.
ووضّحت خريطة بيتس الإثنية للأعراق السامية – الحامية في إفريقيا تواجد التبو في ليبيا. ورسم هذه الخريطة المؤرخ الأركيولوجي الأمريكي أوريك بتيس في كتابه “الليبيون الشرقيون“.

وتجزم بعض المُعطيات التاريخية القديمة والقرائن العلمية الحديثة بأن التُبو من أقدم الشعوب التي استوطنت منطقة الصحراء الأفريقية. بل إن تواجدهم، في بعض مواطنهم الحالية، قد لا يقل عن 30,000 سنة. وبحسب دراسة بعنوان “التبو من الداخل: دراسة عن الأصول والجذور”، من الأرجح أن يكون التُبو “أحفاد رعاة الماشية في عصور ما قبل التاريخ، علماً بأن هؤلاء استوطنوا المنطقة واستطاعوا مقاومة الصحراء والتأقلم معها”.

ويربو عدد التبو عن ثلاثمائة ألف نسمة في الأماكن التي يعيشون فيها الآن. وأشارت الإحصائيات كذلك إلى أن تبو ليبيا يتكونون من قبائل كبيرة وعشائر وعائلات.

ويعيش التبو على مساحة شاسعة من الأراضي الليبية تقدر بعشرات الآلاف من الكيلو مترات المربعة من الحدود الجنوبية من الكفرة في أقصى الشرق إلى القطرون والويغ جنوبي سبها، كما يقول امراجع السحاتي في كتابه “دراسات في الأدب التباوي“.

في ظل هذا الاختلاف حول الأصل، يقول شيخ القبيلة أو سلطان التبو زولاي مينا صالح للجزيرة الوثائقية: “نحن سكان أفريقيا. كلّنا سود ولكن ملامحنا تختلف، فوجوهنا تختلف، وكذلك أنوفنا ولغتنا وأسناننا، كلّها تختلف. بناء على ذلك، فأنا أميل إلى الرأي الذي يقول إننا من الجزيرة العربية”.

التسمية واللغة

ذهب عالم المصريات النمساوي ليو رينيش إلى أنّ كلمة “تُبو” تحويرٌ لكلمة “تِحنو”. وكان المصريون القدماء يستخدمون هذه الكلمة للدلالة على مجموعةٍ من القبائل التي استوطنت الأراضي الواقعة إلى الغرب من وادي النيل “أي الصحراء الليبية”. وبحسب ما نقلته دراسة التبو من الداخل: دراسة عن الأصول والجذور“، يعيد بعض الباحثين كلمة “تُبو” إلى لغة شعب الكانوري. وتلفت هذه الدراسة إلى تركيب كلمة من مقطعين وهما: “تُو” وهو الاسم الذي يُشير به التُبو إلى جبال تبيستي، و”بُو” وهو صيغة الجمع التي تدل على النسبة عند إلحاقها باسم بلد. وعلى هذا النحو، تعني كلمة “تبو” “الجَبَليّون”. أما باللهجة المحلّية، فتعني الكلمة “شعب الصخر”.

وتنتمي لغة التبو تنتمي إلى عائلة اللغات النيلية الصحراوية، وهي أيضاً من اللغات النَغَمية التي تتميز بنبراتها السريعة والحادة والمتشابهة. وتتفرع هذه اللغة إلى لهجتين أساسيتين هما “تيداغا” و”دازاغا”. ويتحدث سكان الجنوب الليبي وهم “التدا” لهجة التيداغا – أو ما اصطلح على تسميته بـ “لسان تدا” – منذ القدم وقبل ظهور الدول المستقلة المعاصرة. في المقابل، يتحدث “الدازا” لهجة الدازاغا. ويرى بعض الباحثين الغربيين أنه ليست هناك أية تسمية، لدى التبو أنفسهم، يشيرون بها إلى كيانهم ككل.

التقاليد والشعر والمرأة

قبائل التبو في ليبيا
فتيات يرتدين الزي التقليدي لصورة جماعية أثناء المشاركة في مهرجان ثقافي للتبو من تنظيم الهيئة العامة للثقافة، حيث تم تنظيم هذه الفعالية في قصر الخلد “هو قصر ملكي سابق” بالعاصمة الليبية طرابلس يوم ٢١ سبتمبر ٢٠٢٠. المصدر: Mahmud TURKIA / AFP.

تتّفق العديد من الدراسات على تحكّم تقاليد التبو بكافة نواحي تقريباً. ولإن اختلفت قبائل التبو في النسب، إلا أنها اتفقت على المسمى الجامع لها، لتصبح هذه القبائل بمثابة مجتمع ريفي ما يزال متمسكاً بنظام حياته الخاص.

ويكون السلام عند التبو على بُعد عشرة أمتار. وإذا التقى اثنان من المعارف، فإنهما يؤديان التحية على مسافة عشرة أمتار ثم يقتربان من بعض، ويسلمان بالأيدي دون تبادل القبل، كما كتب الصحفي عائد عميرة. ويضيف:
“تمارس نساء التبو فن أو شعر “الهامي” لمدح الأقارب والتفاخر بالأنساب والأصل وذكر بطولاتهم وذمّ الخصوم. وتتراص نساء مجموعة “هامي” على شكل دائرة تتولى فيها إحداهنّ الغناء، واضعةً نفسها موضع مايسترو الإيقاع. أما البقية، فيقمن بالتصفيق وترديد مقاطع الغناء.

ووفقاً لامراجع السحاتي في كتابه “المرأة التباوية ودورها في تعزيز الهوية التباوية“، فإن المرأة التباوية تحتلّ مكانةً خاصة في المجتمع، وهي الأساس الذي بنيت عليه هوية التبو وحضارتهم. واعتاد شيوخ التبو ومجلس كبار القبيلة طلب رأي المرأة في حالة السلم والحرب. وتشارك النساء التباويات في الحروب، ومهامهنّ في الحياة اليومية شاقة وصعبة. ويقول سلطان التبو زولاي مينا صالح للجزيرة الوثائقية حول ذلك: “ونحن إذ نقول تباوي وتباوية فما من فرق بينهما، إلا في اختلاف حرف في آخر الاسم فقط، فكلّ التبو واحد، في كل جوانب الحياة”.

الدستور والنقلة الحضارية

اجتمع 42 شيخاً من شيوخ قبائل التبو لوضع دستور خاص بشعبهم عام 1889. وكان ذلك بحسب كتاب “حكايات وخرافات وأساطير تباوية” تحت إشراف الزعيم التاريخي السلطان شهاي بوغر المعروف لديهم باسم دوردا شهاي. ووضع شهاي القوانين العرفية التي ما تزال تحكم التبو إلى اليوم. واستند شهاي في هذه القوانين إلى أحكام الشريعة الإسلامية والأعراف السائدة آنذاك، وهي أعرافٌ متوارثة مستقاة من سنّة الحياة الطبيعية التي لا تختلف مع الشريعة، وجاءت ضمن دستور يسمّى “كوتوبا” أو “كوندودي”.

يقول الباحث مينا تسكدي “إن دستور التبو عبارة موجزة تدلّ على صيغة من صيغ العقد الاجتماعي كما أشار إليه الفلاسفة، ونسميه في ثقافة التبو باسم كُتُما”. وبحسب ما نقله موقع العرب عن باحثين متخصصين، يجمع دستور التبو “بين الأطر العامة التي تحدّد المسؤوليات وبين المواد التفصيلية التي تحدّد الإجراءات الواجب اتباعها، أي أنه يجمع بين الناحيتين التنظيرية والإجرائية”. فهو ينتقل من تحديد المسؤوليات إلى تنظيم المعاملات الضرورية، وخاصّة ما يقتضي منها إصدار أحكام قضائية محدّدة، كما في حالات فضّ المنازعات والقصاص والعقوبات الماديّة أو المعنوية لمرتكبي الجرم.
ويتم الاعتماد على دستور “الكوندودي” في مختلف “مجالات الحياة والقضايا التي قد تعترض الجماعة أو الأفراد كالحروب والقتل والسرقة والزواج والطلاق والميراث غيرها، وغالباً ما يغني عن اللجوء لمراكز الشرطة”.

الثقافة والتراث اللامادي

يتصف المجتمع التباوي كما يقول امراجع السحاتي بطابعه الشفوي، بسبب الطمس الذي تعرّض له لعدة أسباب. وتزخر المكتبة الشفوية لهذا المجتمع بثقافة وتاريخ لم يجدا من يهتم بهما من الأنظمة الليبية أو الأكاديميين.

ولقبائل التبو حكاياتٌ وأساطير وخرافات تماثل أي مجتمع آخر، كما أنها عززت الموروث الثقافي الليبي. ومن هذه الأساطير أسطورة مالاهورا وأسطورة نانا دي، والأعياد الدينية في الأدب. ومن الحكايات والخرافات التي ترويها الجدّات حكاية المرأة والجمل وحكاية يوم اختطاف الجمل الأبيض.

ويعيش التبو منذ سنوات في مأزق وجودي لإثبات هويتهم وجنسيتهم، بعد أن جردهم معمر القذافي منها، وقد عانوا من التمييز العرقي منذ العثمانيين حتى القذافي، والآن حفتر، حسب موقع رصيف ٢٢. كما جرت العادة على اتهام التبو بأنهم يحاولون الانفصال عن ليبيا، وهم ينفون هذه الاتهامات، وفقاً لموقع العين الإخبارية.

ونظراً لتراكم الصراعات التاريخية بين التبو ومحيطهم، فإنهم يتطبّعون بلحمتهم القوية فيما بينهم، مقابل العزلة وصعوبة الاندماج مع الغريب، وفقاً لجريدة الأخبار. ولهذا يصفهم من لا يعرفهم بالدهاء وبعدم الأمان، مع أن حقيقة الأمر ليست من هذا في شيء، فالتبو أناس بسطاء بدو طيبون كرماء الطبع وشديدو المراس، قد يتغاضون عن الظلم حيناً، ولكنهم حين انتفاضهم كعواصف الصحراء التي تجتث الأخضر واليابس.

Chronicle of the Middle East and North Africa

The Toubou Tribes in Libya: A Unique World

Toubou Tribes in Libya
Dancers and camel riders participate in a parade towards the Kassr el-Khald (former royal palace) in Libya’s capital Tripoli on September 21, 2020 during a Toubou (or Tebu) cultural festival organised by the General Authority for Culture. Mahmud TURKIA / AFP

Youssef Sharqawi

Libya is a country where tribes remain active in societal, economic, cultural and political life, according to Dr Bashir Ali al-Kut’s study ‘The Political Role of Tribes in Libya.’

Libyan society comprises many tribes, including Arabs, Berbers, Phoenicians, Tuareg, Toubou, Africans, Turks, Greeks, Circassians, Italians and others. Each tribe, including the Toubou tribe with its unique origin story, plays a significant role in the composition of Libya’s population.

Origin, History and Present

Herodotus visited the Libyan east coast around 450 BC and, in his book  The Historiesdescribed the Toubou as Negro, Ethiopian or Abyssinian. The historian located them from what is now Fezzan in Libya through Chad to Niger and into Sudan and Central Africa.

The historians Yaqubi and Al-Maqrizi ascribed similarities with the ‘Berber Amazigh‘ to the Toubou tribes. The German historian Gustav Nachtigal, however, disagreed in this regard, stating that “although the Toubou have nothing to do with the Berbers, they do not resemble the Negroes. They are an intermediate people between the indigenous people of North Africa and the Negroes of Sudan.”

Amraje Al-Sahati, in his book Tales, Myths, and Legends of the Toubou, listed several historians’ descriptions of the Toubou people. German traveller Friedrich Hornemann, in his memoirs, described them as “slender with muscular arms, graceful gait, intelligent eyes, and thick lips.” Hornemann did not describe the Toubou as entirely black, he considered their noses to be “flat but not prominent, and their hair is very long but less curly than that of Negroes.” The Latin historian Pliny the Elder stressed that the Toubou existed since time immemorial, pointing out in his book Natural History the presence of the Toubou in the Tibesti Mountains. In his book The Eastern Libyans, the American archaeological historian Oric Bates illustrated an ethnic map of the Semitic-Hamitic Races in Africa, showing the presence of the Toubou in Libya.

Ancient historical data and recent scientific evidence assert that the Toubou were among the first to settle in the African Sahara. Their history in some habitats may well be over 30,000 years old. According to Abu Kala Zen, “it is likely that the Toubou were the descendants of prehistoric cattle herders that settled in the area and were able to resist and adapt to the desert.”

The Toubou total more than 300.000 people where they now live. Statistics indicate that the Libyan Toubou consist of large tribes, clans and families.

The Toubou live on a vast ​​Libyan territory estimated to be tens of thousands of square kilometres. According to Amraje Al-Sahati’s Studies in Toubou Literature, the territory stretches along the southern border from Kufra in the far east to Qatrun and Al-Wigh south of Sebha.

There is no consensus on the origin of the Toubou people. The Sultan of the Toubo tribe, Zulai Mina Saleh, said:  “We are the people of Africa. We are all black, but our features are different. Our faces, noses, teeth and language also differ. Based on this, I believe we are from the Arabian Peninsula.”

Etymology and Language

The Austrian Egyptologist Leo Reinisch asserted that the word ‘Toubou’ is a modification of the word ‘Tehnu.’ The ancient Egyptians used this word to describe the tribes that inhabited the lands west of the Nile Delta—the Libyan desert. Some researchers ascribe the word ‘Toubou’ to the Kanuri people. The word is divided into two syllables: ‘tou,’ the name of the Tibesti mountains according to the Toubou, and ‘bou,’ the plural suffix added to a country name to indicate relatedness. As such, Toubou means ‘People of the Mountains’ or, in the local dialect, ‘People of the Rock.’

The Tebu language belongs to the family of tonal Nilo-Saharan languages and is ​​characterised by its rapid, sharp and similar tones. The language is divided into two main dialects: Tedaga and Dazaga. Tedega or ‘Teda Tongue’ is spoken by the Tedu – the northern branch of the Toubou – who have been residents of southern Libya and the Tibesti Mountains since ancient times before the emergence of modern states. The Dazaga dialect is spoken by the Daza. Some Western scholars believe the Toubou did not agree on using a certain name to identify themselves as a people.

Traditions, Poetry, and Women

Toubou Tribes in Libya
Girls dressed in traditional garb pose for a group picture during a Toubou (or Tebu) cultural festival organised by the General Authority for Culture, held at the Kassr el-Khald (former royal palace) in Libya’s capital Tripoli on September 21, 2020. Mahmud TURKIA / AFP

Numerous studies agree that the Toubou’s life is dominated by their traditions. Although they differ in lineage, they share their tribal name and are part of rural communities that follow a traditional lifestyle.

According to Toubou tradition, greetings are performed from a distance. When two people meet, they salute from 10 meters away and then approach to greet each other without kissing. Ayed Amira wrote that “the Toubou women practice ‘Hami’ poetry to praise their relatives, boast about their lineage, depict heroism and slander opponents.” The women reciting Hami sit in a circle where the ‘maestro’ sings, and the rest claps and echoes parts of her poems.

In his book The Toubou Woman and Her Role in Strengthening the Toubou Identity,  Amraje Al-Sahati mentions how Toubou women occupy a special place in their society and their impact on Toubou identity and civilisation. Toubou elders use the women’s council during wartime, and during peace, they offer advice alongside their daily arduous tasks. Zulai Mina Saleh noted: “We don’t differentiate between Toubou men and women except in name. All the Toubou are equal in all aspects of life.”

Constitution and the Cultural Shift

Forty-two elders of the Toubou tribes met to draft their constitution in 1889. According to Tales, Myths, and Legends of the Toubou, this was under the supervision of the historical leader Sultan Chhai Boger, also known as Dorda Chhai. He promulgated the customary laws that are still in effect today. In these laws, Chhai relied on the Islamic Sharia and customs inherited from traditional life based on the Sharia. This constitution came to be known as ‘Kutuba’ or ‘Kundudi.’

Researcher Mina Tskadi states that “philosophers referred to the Toubou constitution as a concise expression of the social contract. In Toubou culture, we call it Kutma.” Researchers describe the Toubou constitution as “general frameworks that define responsibilities and detailed articles that specify the procedures to be followed. It merges the theoretical and procedural aspects.” It moves from defining responsibilities to regulating necessary dealings, especially those that require the issuance of specific judicial rulings. This includes dispute resolution, retribution, and material or moral penalties. Al-Arab states that “the Kundudi constitution is relied upon in various areas of life that may face the group or the individuals, such as wars, murder, theft, marriage, divorce and inheritance.” There is often no need to resort to the involvement of law enforcement.

Culture and Intangible Heritage

The Toubou culture is oral by nature, according to Amraje Al-Sahati. The oral library of the tribe is rich in culture and history in which neither the Libyan regimes nor academics were interested.

The Toubou tribes have tales, legends and myths like any other society and have enriched Libyan cultural heritage. Grandmothers pass down stories like the legend of Malahura, the legend of Nana Di, the story of the woman and the camel and the story of the kidnapped white camel. There is also rich literature on religious holidays.

The Toubou have been living in an existential crisis for years after Muammar Gaddafi stripped them of their identity and nationality. They have suffered ethnic discrimination by the Ottomans and now at the hands of Khalifa Haftar. Moreover, it is customary to accuse the Toubou of trying to achieve independence from Libya, which the Toubou deny.

Due to the historically accumulating conflicts with their adversaries, the Toubou are imbued with a strong bond. This, however, comes at the price of isolation and difficult integration with strangers. Those unfamiliar with the Toubou might describe them as cunning and insecure, but this could not be further from the truth. The Toubou people are simple, good-natured, generous and headstrong. They may sometimes endure injustice, but when they revolt, they are like an unstoppable desert storm.