تبرع
وقائع الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

مصر: الفاطميون والأيوبيون والمماليك

مسجد عمرو بن العاص، أول مسجد بني في مصر عام 642 في الفسطاط، العاصمة الجديدة.
مسجد عمرو بن العاص، أول مسجد بني في مصر عام 642 في الفسطاط، العاصمة الجديدة.

هزمت قوات المسلمين العرب من شبه الجزيرة العربية، بقيادة عمرو بن العاص، الجيش البيزنطي عام 636 م، في عهد عمر بن الخطاب ثاني الخلفاء الراشدين بعد وفاة النبي محمد. احتل القائد عمرو بن العاص مصر مدينة تلو مدينة وبنى عاصمته الفسطاط، شمالي ما يعرف اليوم بمصر القديمة. فأصبحت مصر ولاية في الإمبراطورية الإسلامية واسعة الأطراف التي كانت تحكمها دمشق ومن ثم بغداد. وكما هو الحال في العصر الروماني، كان دور مصر الرئيسي كمنتج للغذاء. وخلال القرون التالية، تم تعريب وأسلمة مصر تدريجياً.

(الفاطميون (969 – 1171 م

حكم الخلفاء الفاطميون إمبراطورية شملت شمال أفريقيا وصقلية وسوريا والجزء الغربي من شبه الجزيرة العربية – في الواقع، نصف العالم الإسلامي. وبما أن مصر كانت وسط الإمبراطورية، لذلك بنى الخليفة عاصمة جديدة عام 969 م، مدينة القاهرة. تميزت المدينة بالقصور وجامعة الأزهر، أقدم مدرسة إسلامية قائمة حتى يومنا هذا.

علاقات الفاطميين الودية مع الإمبراطورية البيزنطية خلال حملتها ضد المسيحيين اللاتين وتدمير كنيسة القيامة في القدس قدمت ذريعة للحروب الصليبية، مع أن سياسة التوسع المسيحي كانت الدافع في الواقع. وهكذا أصبحت مصر هدفاً للصليبيين عام 1167 م، ولكن صلاح الدين الأيوبي (1138-1193) وضع نهاية لهم.

(الأيوبيون (1171 – 1250 م

أصبح صلاح الدين الأيوبي حاكم مصر بعد وفاة الخليفة الفاطمي عام 1171 م. وأعلن نفسه سلطاناً، وهو لقب علماني، بدلاً من الخليفة. اشتهر صلاح الدين بتواضعه وكرمه وثقافته ومقدرته السياسية ونجاحه في صد الصليبيين؛ وقد أصبح أسطورة في التاريخ العربي.

وبعد وفاته، حافظ خلفاؤه الأيوبيون على وحدة مصر. وأصبح الأيوبيون يعتمدون بشكل متزايد على جيش من العبيد الناطقين باللغة التركية من منطقة البحر الأسود. استولى أحد هؤلاء العبيد، بيبرس، والمعروف أيضاً بالنبّال، الذي استولى على السلطة في نهاية المطاف وأدخل عصر المماليك.

(المماليك (1250 – 1517

سيطر أمراء المماليك (القادة العسكريون) على مصر مدة ثلاثة قرون تميزت بالاغتيالات والدسائس والاقتتال الداخلي. وأصبحت مصر مرة أخرى تحت خطر الغزو الأجنبي عندما عزز العثمانيون في الشمال قوتهم بعد هزيمة الفرس الشيعة واحتلوا بلاد المماليك في سوريا. أعدم العثمانيون آخر سلطان مملوكي، تومان باي، في القاهرة عام 1517.

مسجد محمد علي في القاهرة من عصر المماليك.
مسجد محمد علي في القاهرة من عصر المماليك.

جامع الأزهر في القاهرة، عاصمة الفاطميين الجديدة
جامع الأزهر في القاهرة، عاصمة الفاطميين الجديدة

سلالة محمد علي (1805 – 1892)

محمد علي (1769-1849) رسم Auguste Couder
محمد علي (1769-1849) رسم Auguste Couder

فاز محمد علي (1769-1849)، ضابط في الفيلق الألباني للجيش العثماني، في الصراع على السلطة داخل مصر. واعترف السلطان العثماني به كباشا عام 1805 عندما زحف إلى مصر لتطهيرها من بقايا هيكلية سلطة المماليك. ويعتبر محمد علي مؤسس مصر الحديثة. فمع كونه خاضعاً للسلطان العثماني، إلا أنه أدار مصر بصورة مستقلة، فصادر الأراضي الخاصة وأدخل التكنولوجيا الحديثة من أوروبا وبنى السكك الحديدية والمصانع وحفر القنوات. كما كان محمد علي أول من بنى جيشاً من المصريين على مدى قرون، بدلاً من الاعتماد على المماليك فقط. وكان لسياسة علي التوسعية وطموحه للسيطرة على أجزاء من سوريا أن وضعته في مواجهةٍ مباشرة مع البريطانيين والإمبراطورية العثمانية. وفي أواخر حياته، اضطر محمد علي على توقيع معاهدة تحصر سلطته في مصر؛ وتوفي عام 1849.

منح حفيده سعيد باشا (1822-1863)، امتياز حفر قناة السويس (سمّي بور سعيد، في الطرف الشمالي للقناة، على اسمه) إلى المهندس الفرنسي Ferdinand de Lesseps. بعد انتهاء العمل عام 1869، كانت مصر غارقة في ديونها للبنوك الأوروبية. ولدرء خطر الإفلاس، إضطر الخديوي إسماعيل (1830-1895)، زعيم مصر في ذلك الوقت، إلى بيع أسهمه في قناة السويس للحكومة البريطانية.

شق قناة السويس

قناة السويس, 1869
قناة السويس, 1869

استغرق شق القناة 10 سنوات (1858-1868)، بطول 193 كم تقريباً. شارك في العمل 1,5 مليون عامل. 30,000 عامل كانوا يتبادلون العمل بشكل متواصل، ومات الكثيرون منهم نتيجة حوادث وأمراض.

Donate
Chronicle of the Middle East and North Africa

Egypt: Fatimids, Ayyubids, Mamluks

Amr ibn al-As Mosque, the first mosque built in Egypt, in 642, in Fustat, the new capital.
Amr ibn al-As Mosque, the first mosque built in Egypt, in 642, in Fustat, the new capital.

Arab-Muslim forces from the Arabian Peninsula, led by Amr Ibn al-As, defeated the Byzantine army in 636 CE, during the reign of Umar Ibn al-Khattab, the second caliph (literally, ‘successor’) after the death of the Prophet Muhammad. Commander Amr Ibn al-As conquered Egypt city by city and built his capital Fustat, north of what is now known as Old Cairo. Egypt became a province in the vast Islamic empire that was ruled by Damascus and later Bagdad. As in Roman times, Egypt’s main role was as a producer of food. During the following centuries, Egypt was gradually Arabized and Islamized.

Fatimids (969-1171)

The Fatimid caliphs ruled an empire that included North Africa, Sicily, Syria, and the western part of the Arabian Peninsula – in fact, half of the Muslim world at its peak. As Egypt was at the center, the caliph built a new capital in 969 CE, the city of al-Qahira, Cairo, the Conqueror. The city featured palaces and the mosque-university of al-Azhar, the oldest Islamic school of learning still in existence.

Mohammed Ali Mosque in Cairo, dating from the Mamluk era.
Mohammed Ali Mosque in Cairo, dating from the Mamluk era.

al-Azhar Mosque in the new Fatimid capital of Cairo.
al-Azhar Mosque in the new Fatimid capital of Cairo.

The Fatimids’ friendly relations with the Byzantine Empire during its campaign against Latin Christians and the destruction of the Church of the Holy Sepulchre in Jerusalem supposedly provided the pretext for the crusades, although, in reality, Christian expansionist politics were in sway. Egypt became a target of the Crusaders in 1167, but Salah al-Din ibn Ayyub (1138-1193), also known as Saladin, put a stop to this.

Ayyubids (1171-1250)

Saladin became ruler of Egypt after the death of the last Fatimid caliph in 1171. He declared himself sultan (literally, ‘authority’), a secular title, rather than caliph. Known for his personal modesty, generosity, culture, political capability, and, not least, his success in repelling the Crusaders, Saladin later became a legend in Arab history. After Saladin’s death, his successors in the Ayyubid dynasty kept Egypt a union, in contrast to the eastern territories. The Ayyubids became increasingly dependent on an army of Turkish-speaking slaves from the Black Sea region. One of those slave-soldiers, Baibars, also known as the Crossbowman, eventually seized power and introduced the era of the Mamluks.

Mamluks (1250-1517)

Mamluk emirs (military leaders) controlled Egypt for three centuries characterized by intrigue, infighting, and assassinations. Egypt again came under threat from a foreign invasion when the Ottomans to the north consolidated their power by defeating the Shiite Persians and conquered Mamluk territory in Syria. The last Mamluk sultan, Tuman Bay, was executed in Cairo by the Ottomans in 1517.

The Dynasty of Muhammad Ali (1805-1892)

The Dynasty of Muhammad Ali (1805-1892)

An ensuing power struggle within Egypt was won by Muhammad Ali (1769-1849), an Albanian officer in the Albanian Corps of the Ottoman army. The Ottoman sultan acknowledged him as pasha in 1805, as he proceeded to rid Egypt of remnants of the Mamluk power structure. Muhammad Ali is regarded as the founder of modern Egypt. Though officially a vassal of the Ottoman sultan, he administered Egypt independently, confiscating private lands, introducing modern technology from Europe, building railways and factories, and digging canals. Muhammad Ali was also the first in centuries to build an army consisting of Egyptians, instead of depending only on Mamluks. Ali’s expansion and ambition to control parts of Syria put him in direct confrontation with the British and the Ottoman Empire.

Muhammad Ali (1769-1849), Painting by Auguste Couder
Muhammad Ali (1769-1849), Painting by Auguste Couder

Towards the end of his life Muhammad Ali was forced to sign a treaty confining his power to Egypt. He died in 1849.

His grandson, Said Pasha (1822-1863), granted a concession to French engineer Ferdinand de Lesseps to dig the Suez Canal (Port Said, at the northern end of the canal, is named after him). By the time it was completed in 1869, Egypt was drowning in its debts to European lenders. To stave off bankruptcy Khedive Ismail (1830-1895), leader of Egypt at the time, was forced to sell his Suez Canal shares to the British government.

The Digging of the Suez Canal

Suez Canal, 1869
Suez Canal, 1869

It took ten years to dig the almost 193 kilometers long Suez Canal (1858-1868). During the whole project, a total of 1.5 million laborers were involved. At any given moment 30,000 men were at work, many of whom died as a result of accidents and diseases.