تبرع
وقائع الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

حضارات العراق القديمة

حضارات العراق القديمة
زقورة مدينة أور القديمة
بلاد ما بين النهرين
بلاد ما بين النهرين

تحتل أرض العراق إلى حد كبير نفس مكانة نهري دجلة والفرات. ومنذ العصور القديمة أطلق على هذه المنطقة التسمية الإغريقية “بلاد ما بين النهرين”. على مرّ القرون، سيطرت العديد من الحضارات على المنطقة أو كان لها نفوذ عليها، ومن بينها السومرية والآشورية والبابلية والفرس والعرب والأتراك. كانت الزراعة القاعدة الاقتصادية لحضارات بلاد ما بين النهرين الأولى، والتي ساعد الري على ازدهارها، وفي وقت لاحق أصبحت التجارة أيضاً هي المفضّلة بسبب موقع البلاد على مفترق الطرق التجارية.

قبل العصر المسيحي بحوالي عشرة آلاف سنة، تحولت مجتمعات ما بين النهرين من الصيد إلى الزراعة. وساعد على ذلك وفرة المياه والتربة الخصبة. وصلت أقدم حضارات بلاد ما بين النهرين، الحضارة السومرية، إلى ذروتها حوالي ثلاثة آلاف سنة قبل العصر المسيحي. وبفضل الزراعة الناجحة، تمكنت من تحقيق درجة من التنظيم الاجتماعي أعلى من المجتمعات التي سبقتها، وذلك على شكل سلسلة من الدويلات. وتعتبر مدينتا أور (حيث يقال بأن إبراهيم قد ولد) وأورك أولى المدن في تاريخ البشرية. وكانتا تقعان على ساحل الخليج الفارسي، ولكن نتيجة لانخفاض مستوى البحر، تقعان الآن على بعد 250 كم نحو الداخل وراء الأهوار الواسعة في جنوب العراق. طوّر السومريون الأبجدية الأولى، المسمارية، التي كانت تكتب على ألواح الطين وساعدت الناس على تبادل المعلومات فيما بينهم ونقلت المعرفة والخبرة للأجيال القادمة. وبهذه الطريقة وصلت ملحمة جلجامش إلينا.

الحضارتان البابلية والآشورية

Babylonia
دولة بابل

نحت نافر لجنود آشوريين Photo Shutterstock / اضغط للتكبير
نحت نافر لجنود آشوريين Photo Shutterstock

منذ حوالي أربعة آلاف سنة، نشأت الحضارة البابلية من خليط من المملكتين السومرية والأكادية. تقع عاصمتها، بابل، جنوب بغداد، على مقربة من نهر الفرات. تم إنشاء إدارة منظمة تنظيماً جيداً في عهد حمورابي، وتحسين شبكة الطرق لتسهيل هذه الإدارة، الأمر الذي شجّع على التجارة أيضاً. يذكر التاريخ حمورابي بشكل رئيسي كأول حاكم يضع شريعة. كان هدفه خلق نظام قانوني من شأنه مكافحة الشر ومنع هيمنة القوي على الضعيف.

بعد حوالي 800 سنة من انحطاط مملكة حمورابي، ازدهرت الحضارة البابلية مرة ثانية عندما بسط الحكام البابليون سيطرتهم على بلاد ما وراء النهرين. وفي عهد الملك نبوخذ نصر الثاني، نمت العاصمة بابل لتصبح مدينة يسكنها مئة ألف نسمة. كان من بين المباني العديدة القصر الملكي بحدائقه المعلقة الأسطورية، والتي أحصيت كواحدة من عجائب الدنيا السبع في العالم.

حوالي عام 1400 قبل الميلاد، انحطت مملكة حمورابي وخلفتها الإمبراطورية الآشورية التي كانت قوية عسكرياً واستمرت مدة 800 عام. كان للإمبراطورية الآشورية، التي امتدت مرة أخرى إلى ما وراء بلاد ما بين النهرين، عواصم عدة خلال تاريخها: آشور ونمرود ونينوى، وجميعها كانت تقع على مقربة من نهر دجلة قرب مدينة الموصل حالياً.

الفرس والإغريق والعرب

حضارات العراق القديمة
آثار إيوان كسرى في قطسيفون، بقايا قنطرة قصر كسرى ملك الفرس

أعقب سقوط الإمبراطورية الآشورية نحو ألف سنة من سيطرة الفرس والبيزنطيين. كان من بين مساهماتهم المدن التي بنيت على الطراز البيزنطي – الروماني والفارسي، مثل الحضر وقطسيفون. وأخيراً سقطت بلاد ما بين النهرين في أيدي الفاتحين العرب عام 632 م. وبعد ذلك، وحتى عام 1920، كانت جزءً من الأنظمة السياسية التركية والعربية المتعاقبة.

ازدهرت العمارة والعلوم في المنطقة ولاسيما في ظل الخلافة العباسية (750-1258م)، وكانت بغداد مركز العالم. ولم يتبقّ من بغداد الشهيرة تلك سوى القليل اليوم. لا يمكن مقارنة بغداد، من حيث الجمال الحضري، مع القدس أو القاهرة أو دمشق.

المتحف الوطني

في بداية القرن التاسع عشر، بحث علماء الآثار الغربيون عن بقايا الحضارات السومرية والبابلية والآشورية وغيرها من الحضارات الأخرى. وكما كانت العادة في ذلك الزمن، انتهى المطاف بالكثير من القطع الأثرية التي تم اكتشافها في المتاحف الغربية، بشكل خاص في لندن وبرلين. وتم وضع ما تم اكتشافه لاحقاً في المتحف الوطني العراقي في بغداد الذي اشتهر عالمياً لاحتوائه على أكثر من 170,000 قطعة أثرية. لكن في الأسابيع الثلاثة الأولى من الفوضى التي حلت بعد سقوط نظام صدام حسين، اقتحم ناهبون ولصوص المتحف وسرقوا الكثير من القطع الأثرية – ذكرت تقارير بأن بعضهم يعملون لصالح عصابات القطع الأثرية الدولية. و مما أثار غضب العديد من العراقيين والمجتمع الدولي للآثار ، أن قوات الاحتلال الأمريكية لم تفعل شيئًا لوقف الكارثة.

تمت سرقة ما يقدر بـ 15,000 قطعة؛ والقطع التي لم يتمكنوا من أخذها تضررت بشكل غير قابل للإصلاح. وبعد مناشدات من جهات مختلفة، بما في ذلك السلطات الدينية، تم إعادة أو إيجاد ثلثي القطع المفقودة. ولم يتم أبداً العثور على عدد من أهم القطع، رغم الجهود التي بذلتها منظمة اليونسكو والانتربول ومكتب التحقيقات الفدرالي FBI.

في هذه المقالة: العراق | التاريخ

Donate
Chronicle of the Middle East and North Africa
All

Iraq Ancient Civilizations

Ziggurat of Ur
Ziggurat of Ur

The territory of Iraq largely coincides with the basin of the Dishla and Furat, otherwise known as the Tigris and Euphrates. From antiquity this region has been called Mesopotamia, Greek for ‘Land between Two Rivers’. Over the centuries many civilizations have controlled the region or exerted influence over it, among them the Sumerians, Assyrians, Babylonians, Persians, Arabs and Turks. The economic basis for the civilizations in Mesopotamia was farming made possible by irrigation, and later also its earnings as a crossroads for trade.

It was about ten thousand years before the beginning of the Christian Era that communities of people in Mesopotamia transformed themselves from hunter-gatherers to agriculturists. The availability of water and fertile soil made this possible. The oldest known civilization in Mesopotamia, that of the Sumerians, reached its flowering about three thousand years before the Christian Era. Thanks to successful agriculture it could achieve a higher degree of social organisation, in the form of a series of city-states. Two of these city-states, Ur (where Abraham/Ibrahim is said to have been born) and Uruk, are regarded as the first cities in the history of mankind. Both lay at that time on the coast of the Persian Gulf, but through a falling sea level are now about 250 kilometres inland, behind the extensive marshes of southern Iraq. The Sumerians developed the first script, cuneiform, which was written on clay tablets, and which enabled people to exchange information and pass on knowledge and experience to succeeding generations. The epic of king Gilgamesh has been preserved for us in this fashion.

Babylonian and Assyrian Civilizations

About four thousand years ago, Babylonian civilization arose from an amalgamation of the Sumerian and Akkadian kingdoms. Its capital, Babylon, lay south of Baghdad, close to the Euphrates. Under its king, Hammurabi, a well-organized administration was established. The road network was improved to facilitate this administration, and this also stimulated trade. Hammurabi has, however, gone down in history chiefly as the first ruler to have a law code compiled. His goal was to create a legal system that would combat evil and prevent the strong from dominating the weak.

About eight hundred years after the decline of Hammurabi’s kingdom, Babylonian civilization had its second flowering, as Babylonian rulers extended their power far beyond Mesopotamia. Under King Nebuchadnezzar II, the capital, Babylon, grew into a city of a hundred thousand people. Among its many buildings were the royal palace, with its fabled hanging gardens, counted among the seven wonders of the world.

Hammurabi’s kingdom declined and was followed about 1400 BCE by the Assyrian empire, which was strongly militaristic and lasted for eight hundred years. The Assyrian empire, which once again stretched far beyond Mesopotamia, had several capital cities during its history: Assur, Nimrod, and Nineveh, all close to the Tigris, near present-day Mosul.

Babylonia Map
Babylonia Map

Relief of Assyrian soldiers Photo Shutterstock
Relief of Assyrian soldiers Photo Shutterstock

Persians, Greeks, and Arabs

The fall of the Assyrian empire was followed by about a thousand years of domination by Persians and Greeks. Among their contributions were the cities built in the Greco-Roman and Persian styles, such as Hatra and Ctesiphon. Mesopotamia finally fell into the hands of Arab conquerors in 632 CE. After that, until 1920, it was part of successive Arab and Turkish polities.

Particularly under the Arab Abbasid dynasty (750-1258 CE), architecture and science flourished in the region, and Baghdad was the centre of the world. Little of this illustrious Baghdad is visible today. Baghdad cannot compare, in urban beauty, with Cairo, Jerusalem, or Damascus.

The National Museum

The ruins of the famous Taq-i Kisra of Ctesiphon, the remaining arch of the palace of the Persian king Khosrau
The ruins of the famous Taq-i Kisra of Ctesiphon, the remaining arch of the palace of the Persian king Khosrau

Beginning in the 19th century, Western archaeologists searched Mesopotamia for the remains of the Sumerian, Babylonian, Assyrian, and other civilizations. As was normal in that period, much of the material they found ended up in museums in the West, particularly in Berlin and London. Later finds were housed in Iraq’s National Museum in Baghdad, whose world-famous collection contained about 170,000 objects. But in the first three chaotic weeks after the fall of the regime of Saddam Hussein plunderers and art thieves – some, according to reports, working for international art gangs – rampaged through the museum. To the anger of many Iraqis and the international archaeological community, the US occupying forces did nothing to stop the rampage.

An estimated 15,000 objects were stolen; what could not be carried away was often irreparably damaged. After appeals from various quarters, including Islamic religious authorities, about two-thirds of the missing items have been returned or otherwise located. It is feared that a number of the most important pieces which disappeared will never be located, despite the belated efforts of UNESCO, Interpol, and the FBI.

In this article: Iraq | History