تبرع
وقائع الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا
ابحث في fanack.com
Please enter search keyword.

التّاريخ الغنيّ للهندسة المغربيّة

التّاريخ الغنيّ للهندسة المغربيّة
تظهر هذه الصورة أحد شوارع وسط مدينة فاس المغربية. فاضل سينا / وكالة الصحافة الفرنسية

كميل-جان حلو

اتّخذت الهندسة المغربيّة شكلها التّقليديّ عبر قرون من التّاريخ، إذ تركت فترات متتالية من الحكم الأجنبيّ والهجرة بصمتها على أسلوب البناء الإبداعيّ للبلد والمنطقة.

مرّ شمال إفريقيا، منذ خمسة آلاف سنة، بفترة من التّصحّر السّريع، حدّت بشكل ملحوظ التّنوّع في الموادّ المتاحة للبناء، فارضة بذلك قيودًا صارمة على حجم المستوطنات البشريّة وموقعها. كان الأمازيغ الّذين عاشوا في هذه المنطقة، مستقرّين أحيانًا ورُحَّل أحيانًا أخرى، ومنظّمين في قبائل مستقلّة تتشارك روابط ثقافيّة وطيدة. ولقد بنوا مدنًا مُسوَّرة بالتّربة المدكوكة والطّوب الطّينيّ لحماية أنفسهم من الغزاة الرُّحَّل، وزيّنوها بالشّبابيك الوهميّة والزّخارف الهندسيّة (الّتي كانت تحمل بالنّسبة إليهم معاني روحيّة).

وحوالى الألفيّة الأولى قبل الميلاد، توسّعت الحضارة الفينيقيّة لتشمل المنطقة السّاحليّة للمغرب الحديثة، منشئة بذلك مدينة تنجيس (طنجة في ما بعد)، ولقد حظيت مخلّفاتها المعماريّة بدراسات أثريّة معمّقة. إضافة إلى ذلك، بنى الفينيقيّون علاقة تجاريّة مربحة مع الأمازيغ نتج عنها تلاقح ثقافيّ حضاريّ.

وفي العام 500 قبل الميلاد، هاجر عدد كبير من الشّعب اليهوديّ المنفيّ بفعل اعتداء البابليّين على وطنهم، إلى شمال إفريقيا ونجحوا بالتّغلغل في مجتمعات الأمازيغ المحلّيّة.

بعد ذلك، في عام 300 قبل الميلاد، سعت الإمبراطوريّة الرّومانيّة إلى احتلال المنطقة، لكنّها واجهت صدًّا عنيفًا من قِبل القبائل المستقلّة والممالك الصّغرى. وبعد قرنين من الصّراع، نجحت الإمبراطوريّة الرّومانيّة بالسّيطرة على المنطقة السّاحليّة، وإخضاع قبائل داخليّة متعدّدة من الأمازيغ (المُشار إليهم بالبربر، مصطلح محقِّر أصله الكلمة الرّومانيّة “بربريّ”).

عندما انتشرت الدّيانة المسيحيّة بين مقاطعات الإمبراطوريّة (القرنان 2 م و4 م) تجذّرت في الأراضي الرّومانيّة في المغرب واعتنقتها قبائل كثيرة. وعلى الرّغم من دوام عدم الاستقرار بسبب ثورات الأمازيغ المتكرّرة، ترك المعماريّون الرّومانيّون إرثًا معماريًّا غنيًّا في المنطقة. فلقد بنوا معالم وبُنى تحتيّة بالأسلوب الرّومانيّ التّقليديّ، وأنشأوا شبكة طرقات واسعة ومترابطة على امتداد الأراضي المغربيّة. بعض الصّروح الرّومانيّة بقيت حتّى اليوم، لكنّ معظمها نُهِب وفُكّ بعد سقوط الإمبراطوريّة.

وفي عام 429 م، نجحت القبائل الجرمانيّة، بخاصّة الفاندال والقوط الغربيّين، في السّيطرة على الأراضي السّاحليّة. ونتجت عن حكمها القصير الأمد آثار معماريّة قليلة جدًّا (غالبيّتها كنائس)، وذلك لاعتمادهم الكبير على الأساسات الرّومانيّة الّتي كانت موجودة، ولبنائهم إنشاءات خفيفة وسريعة الفناء.

وفي حلول عام 533 م، كانت الإمبراطوريّة البيزنطيّة قد أخرجت آخر القوّات الجرمانيّة من سواحل المغرب. ولقد تميّزت هذه الفترة بتزايد استقلاليّة الأمازيغ وتوسّع مستوطناتهم القبليّة.

أجبر التّعصّب الإسبانيّ، عام 581 م، المجتمعات المضطهدة على الهروب إلى المغرب، موسّعة بذلك الأعداد الكبيرة من اليهود المقيمين في المنطقة. وحتّى القرن السّادس، كانت الغلبة في المنطقة للمباني الدّينيّة المسيحيّة واليهوديّة، من كنائس ومعابد.

عام 662 م (ثلاثون سنة بعد وفاة النّبيّ محمّد) بدأ الخليفة الأمويّ بغزو المغرب، معرّفًا الشّعب على الدّيانة الإسلاميّة، واللّغة العربيّة، والتّقدّم المعماريّ الكبير.

التّاريخ الغنيّ للهندسة المغربيّة
مصلون مسلمون يؤدون الصلاة في مسجد الحسن الثاني، أحد أكبر المساجد في القارة الأفريقية، في الدار البيضاء المغربية. فاضل السنا / وكالة الصحافة الفرنسية

تُظهِر الآثار المتبقّية من هذه الفترة تحسّنًا ملحوظًا في شغل الحجر والخشب، كما أنّها تبيّن اعتناق أفراد القبائل الإسلام، وتزاوجهم مع العرب، ودفعهم الضّرائب، وحتّى مشاركتهم إلى جانب الأمويّين في غزو جنوب إسبانيا. غير أنّ هذه الآثار تكشف لنا أنّهم سعوا إلى الحفاظ على هويّتهم الثّقافيّة بالحفاظ على تراتبيّتهم الاجتماعيّة والالتزام بقانون القبيلة العُرفيّ. وبذلك شكّلوا نوعًا من ثقافة هجينة تركت بصماتها المميّزة على عمارة تلك الفترة.

وعلى الرّغم من الرّوابط بينهم وبين العالم العربيّ، سعى الأمازيغ إلى الحصول على حقّ تقرير المصير، ولذلك من خلال الثّورات القبليّة المتتالية، استعادت المنطقة استقلالها تدريجيًّا عن الخليفة الأمويّ وخَلَفه العبّاسيّ، لتعود فتنقسم إلى ولايات صغيرة عند نهاية القرن السّابع. وهكذا بقي المغرب منقسمًا وعُرضة للنّزاعات الدّاخليّة إلى حين اتّحاده من جديد تحت حكم المملكة المرابطيّة (1055 إلى 1152 م) (عندما عاد القائد القبليّ يوسف بن تشفين إلى شمال إفريقيا بعد حملاته العسكريّة النّاجحة في إسبانيا، واستخدم هذا الزّخم السّياسيّ لإنشاء إمبراطوريّة امتدّت جنوبًا حتّى السّينيغال ونيجيريا).

أدّت هذه الفترة من الرّخاء الاقتصاديّ إلى ابتكار أهمّ الأمثلة للعمارة المغربيّة التّقليديّة، إذ أُعيد بناء المدن الكبرى (مثل مراكش عام 1062 م، وفاس عام 1069 م). ولقد رغب العالم بأسره بنقل المباني العظيمة في الإمبراطوريّة، لتصاميمها المتأثّرة بالأساليب الإسلاميّة بشكل كبير إنّما المميّزة بطابع شمال إفريقيّ.

كذلك، أسهم التّقدّم في مجال العلوم وعلم الهندسة في بلوغ شغل الحجر ذروته، وسمح الاستقرار السّياسيّ بازدهار الفنون. وفي هذه الفترة، تمتّعت الأقلّيّات المسيحيّة واليهوديّة في المغرب بالرّخاء، تاركة بصمتها على الهندسة في ذلك الوقت، على شكل أماكن عبادة ضخمة.

التّاريخ الغنيّ للهندسة المغربيّة
منازل نموذجية في الملاح أو الحي اليهودي ، تأسست عام 1438 عندما طرد اليهود من البلدة القديمة إلى الملاح ، فاس ، فاس بولمان ، شمال المغرب. مانويل كوهين / وكالة فرانس برس

وبعد سقوط الإمبراطوريّة (القرن الثّالث عشر)، حُكِمت الأراضي الّتي تتضمّن المغرب من قبل أُسَر متعاقبة من الأمازيغ، لكن لم يتمكّن أيّ منها من مضاهات نجاح سلفه. عانى الفنّ والهندسة نتيجة لذلك انحطاطًا حادًّا، كما وشكّلت الموجات المتقطّعة من الاضطهادات ضدّ الأقلّيّات الدّينيّة ضربة قاضية للتّنوّع السّكّانيّ.

في عام 1554 م، احتلّت الإمبراطوريّة العثمانيّة فاس وعيّنت تابعًا لها على العرش المغربيّ. إنّما ظلّ الحكم العثمانيّ جزئيًّا بسبب المقاومة القبليّة والتّدخّل الإسبانيّ. ومع ذلك، ترك أسلوب الإمبراطوريّة الإبداعيّ بصمته على الهندسة المغربيّة.

بعد الحروب النّابّوليونيّة (1815 م)، خسرت اسطنبول تدريجيًّا قدرتها على حكم أراضيها الشّمال إفريقيّة. وأثناء خروجها عن الحكم العثمانيّ، استطاعت الأُسرة العلويّة (الّتي ما زالت تحكم المغرب حتّى يومنا هذا)، أن تبقى مستقلّة على الرّغم من التّدخّل الأوروبّيّ المتصاعد. ولقد اكتسب المغرب في هذه الفترة سمعته كـ”معقل للقراصنة” و”عرين للجواسيس“، لطمع كلّ القوى العالميّة الكبرى به بشدّة،  إنّما حفاظه على استقلاله عن حكم أيّ منها.

ولسنوات عديدة، سعى الفرنسيّون وراء أيّ حجّة تمكّنهم من زيادة وجودهم العسكريّ في المغرب، إلى أن أُجبِر حاكمه على الموافقة على شروطهم. وهكذا في عام 1912، أصبحت غالبيّة البلد مستعمرة فرنسيّة، فيما وُضعت منطقة شماليّة وأخرى جنوبيّة منه تحت سيطرة إسبانيا. كانت الموضة في التّنظيم المدنيّ آنذاك تميل إلى الحفاظ على المباني التّاريخيّة، ولهذا السّبب، قرّر مستعمرو المغرب بناء أحيائهم الأوروبّيّة الحديثة خارج المدن الموجودة في الأصل مباشرة، وذلك حفاظًا على المراكز الحضريّة التّاريخيّة كما هي. ولقد خدمت أنظمة البناء الصّارمة في الحفاظ على التّباين الحادّ بين العمارة المحلّيّة والأجنبيّة، خالقة نوعًا من التّمييز الحضريّ.

وبعد عقود من النّضال، حقّقت دولة المغرب استقلالها عن الفرنسيّين عام 1956، وعن الإسبان عام 1958، لكن بقيت الهندسة المغربيّة ما بعد الاستعمار متأثّرة بالأساليب الأوروبّيّة بشكل كبير.

منذ ذلك الحين، دفعت الحاجة إلى الإنشاء سريعًا وبكلفة زهيدة، المهندسين المغربيّين العصريّين إلى البناء بالأسلوب المبتذل العمليّ نفسه الّذي يمكن إيجاده في كلّ مدينة حول العالم، بدلًا من التّوسّع في الأسلوب المغربيّ التّقليديّ الفريد وتطويره وعصرنته. ففي النّهاية، لقد صُقِلت العمارة المغربيّة التّقليديّة عبر عصور من المحاولة والخطأ لتتناسب مع المناخ والثّقافة المحلّيّين.

يتألّف المنزل المغربيّ التّقليديّ من طابقين إلى ثلاثة طوابق تحيط بفناء مركزيّ.

وبنيت جدرانه الخارجيّة من صخور متعرّجة مختلفة الأشكال، مصبوبة في ملاط كثيف، ومكسوّة بالجصّ. هي بيضاء وغير مزخرفة على مستوى الأرض (نتيجة التّقليد الإسلاميّ الّذي يركّز على التّواضع)، ومزيّنة بأشكال هندسيّة طفيفة في الأعلى (بطريقة تذكّرنا بالمنشآت الأمازيغيّة القديمة).

الشّبابيك المطلّة على الشّوارع كانت قليلة جدًّا، فأكثريّتها مطلّ نحو الدّاخل على الفناء المركزيّ، إذ كانت الخصوصيّة أولويّة.

يعتلي المدخل الرّئيسيّ، قوس حدوة الحصان المميّز (أطرافه السّفلى تلتوي داخليًّا في اتّجاه بعضها بعضًا)، ميزة مُستقطَبة من أندلس القرن العاشر، ورمز للعمارة المغربيّة.

يدخل سكّان المنزل من باب مزخرف يؤدّي إلى الفناء الرّئيسيّ من خلال ممرّ على شكل “ل” مصمّم بطريقة تمنع المارّين في الخارج من النّظر إلى داخل المنزل عندما يكون الباب مفتوحًا.

وتخبّئ الرّصانة الخارجيّة للمنازل المغربيّة كنز دفين من العبقريّة الجماليّة. فغالبًا ما كانت جدران منازل الأغنياء تزيّن بزخارف خشبيّة وبألواح محفورة من الجصّ، وتضفي الصّخور المتعّددة الألوان والمتشابكة الحياة على الأرضيّات، أمّا الأسقف فكانت تُظهِر زخارف مُزهَّرة بتكامل سلس مع أنماط من الأشكال الهندسيّة.

تقف في كلّ زاوية من الفناء المربّع أو المستطيل مجموعة من ثلاثة أعمدة، تدعم شرفات متّصلة ببعضها من كلّ جانب.

وغالبًا ما كانت توضع في وسط المساحة نافورة أو ديكور مائيّ، كجزء من نظام تحكّم مناخيّ فعّال يوفّر جوًّا منعشًا ومريحًا للسّكّان والضّيوف. تساهم أيضًا الفتحات والتّراكيب المُظلِّلة الموزَّعة بدقّة في التّبريد السّلبيّ للمساحات الدّاخليّة في أشهُر الصّيف.

كما يلتفّ حول الفناء رواق يوصل المقيمين إلى أقرب الغرف، فيما تؤدّي ممرّات متفرّعة إلى أعماق المنزل، نحو فناءات ثانويّة وغرف أكثر خصوصيّة، أمّا الطّوابق العلويّة فتصعد إليها سلالم مخفيّة.

بالتّطابق مع التّقليد الإسلاميّ، ينقسم المنزل بحسب الجنس. فالنّساء يعشن ويعملن في أعمق أقسام المنازل، بحيث لا يراهنّ الرّجال من الأقارب والزّوّار. لكنّ بعض مواضع المراقبة المخفيّة تسمح للنّساء بتتبّع ما يحدث في بقيّة المنزل من دون أن يراهنّ أحد.

لقد تطوّر تصميم المنزل المغربيّ التّقليديّ ليعكس أهمّيّة حسن الضّيافة في الثّقافة المغربيّة. ومثل هذه المنازل تضمّ عادة غرفًا مخصَّصة للضّيوف، مستقلّة نسبيًّا ومداخلها منعزلة.

الإقامة في مثل هذه المنازل، في أيّامنا الحاضرة، يتخطّى بالتّأكيد القدرة الشّرائيّة للكثيرين. إلّا أنّه يمكن تطبيق المبادئ الّتي يرتكز عليها هذا التّصميم والدّروس المُكتسَبة من عصور من التّجريب، بكلّ سهولة في سياق عصريّ.

فيمكن لشقّة في مبنى سكنيّ مثلًا، أن تكون بالقدر نفسه من الهدوء، والاستدامة، والقدرة على الحفاظ على خصوصيّة المقيمين فيها. كما يمكنها أن تعزّز الأواصر العائليّة، وتنظّم التّفاعل مع المجتمع، وتسهّل استضافة الضّيوف. يمكنها أيضًا أن تُصمَّم بطريقة تتلاءم مع ثقافة مستخدميها، وحتّى أن تُضبط بحسب عاداتهم وتقاليدهم المشتركة، لكن بشرط أن يكون مصمّمها مستعدًّا لاتّخاذ العبرة من التّاريخ.

Donate
Chronicle of the Middle East and North Africa

Morocco’s Rich Architectural History

Morocco’s Rich Architectural History
This picture shows a street in the central Moroccan city of Fez. FADEL SENNA / AFP

Camille-Jean Helou

Traditional Moroccan architecture was shaped by millennia of history. Successive periods of foreign rule and immigration left their mark on the iconic building-style of the country, and the region.

Five thousand years ago, North Africa underwent rapid desertification, greatly reducing the variety of materials available for construction, and imposing strict limitations on the scale and placement of human settlements. The Amazigh peoples who lived there, were partially sedentary and partially nomadic, organized in autonomous tribes that nonetheless shared strong cultural ties. They built walled towns of rammed earth and mud brick, to protect themselves from nomadic raiders. They decorated the outer walls of their constructions with false windows and geometric motifs (which they believed to hold mystical properties).

Around one thousand BCE, the Phoenician civilization expanded to include the coastal area of modern-day Morocco, establishing the city of Tinjis (later Tangiers). The remnants of their constructions have been the subject of deep archeological study. They also built a lucrative trading relationship with the Amazigh people that inevitably resulted in cultural cross-pollination.

In 500 BCE, a large Jewish population exiled from their homeland by Babylonian aggression, migrated to North Africa, and successfully integrated into local Amazigh communities.

In 300 BCE, the Roman Empire sought to invade the region, but met heavy resistance from independent tribes and lesser kingdoms. After two centuries of conflict, Rome managed to seize control of the coast, and vassalize many inland Amazigh tribes (referred to as Berber, a term originating from the pejorative roman word barbarian).

When Christianity spread among the provinces of the empire (2nd to 4th centuries CE), it took root in the Romanized territories of Morocco, and was adopted by many tribes. Despite chronic instability caused by regular Amazigh revolts, Roman builders left a rich architectural legacy in the region. They built monuments and infrastructure in the typical Roman style, as well as establish a vast interconnected road network across the Moroccan landscape. Some Roman edifices remain to this day, but most were plundered and dismantled after the fall of the empire.

In 429 CE, Germanic tribes, notably Vandals and Visigoths gained control of the coastland. Their short reign resulted in very few architectural remnants (mostly churches), since they relied heavily on preexisting Roman structures, and erected mostly light ephemeral structures.

By 533 CE, the Byzantine Empire had ejected the last of the Germanic forces from coastal Morocco. This period was marked by increased Amazigh autonomy, and the expansion of tribal settlements.

In 581 CE, Spanish fanaticism compelled persecuted communities to flee to Morocco, further expanding the region’s already significant Jewish population. Up until the 6th century, religious buildings were predominantly comprised of Christian churches and Jewish synagogues.

In 662 CE (thirty years after the death of the prophet Muhammad), the Umayyad caliphate would initiate the conquest of the Maghreb, introducing the people to the Islamic faith, the Arabic language, and great advancements in construction.

Morocco’s Rich Architectural History
Muslim worshippers, mask-clad and distanced as precautions due to the COVID-19 coronavirus pandemic, perform prayers at the Hasan II mosque, one of the largest in the African continent, in Morocco’s Casablanca on June 16, 2020. (Photo by Fadel SENNA / AFP)

The archeological remnants of the period show critical improvements in stone-masonry and woodworking. Tribespeople adopted Islam, intermarried with Arabs, paid taxes, and even participated in the Umayyad invasion of southern Spain. But they sought to retain their cultural identity by preserving their social hierarchy and upholding customary tribal law. They formed a sort of a hybrid culture that left its distinctive marks on the architecture of the period.

Despite their kinship with the Arab world, the Amazigh people sought self-determination. So by means of consecutive tribal revolts, the region gradually gained its independence from the Umayyad caliph and his Abbasid successor, only to fragment into many small states by the end of the 7th century. Thus Morocco would remain divided and prone to infighting, until reunification under the Almoravid dynasty (1055 to 1152 CE) (when tribal leader Yusuf ibn Tashfin returned to North Africa after successful military campaigns in Spain, and used that political momentum to establish an empire that extended as far south as Senegal and Niger).

This period of prosperity led to the creation of some of the greatest examples of traditional Moroccan architecture. Major cities were reconstructed (such as Marrakesh in 1062 CE, and Fez in 1069 CE). Highly influenced by Islamic styles but still distinctively North African, the great buildings of the empire were the envy of the world.

Advances in science and geometry helped stonemasonry reach greater heights, and political stability allowed the arts to flourish. Christian and Jewish minorities prospered in Morocco during this time, leaving their mark on the architecture of the period in the form of major places of worship.

Morocco’s Rich Architectural History
Typical houses of the Mellah or Jewish quarter, established in 1438 when the Jews were driven out of the old town to al-Mallah, Fes, Fes-Boulemane, Northern Morocco. MANUEL COHEN/ AFP

After the fall of the empire (13th century), the territories comprising Morocco were ruled by consecutive Amazigh dynasties, but none managed to match the success of their predecessor. Art and architecture suffered a sharp decline. Sporadic waves of persecution targeting religious minorities dealt a decisive blow against demographic diversity.

In 1554 CE, the Ottoman Empire conquered Fez and installed a vassal on the Moroccan throne. However, Ottoman rule would remain partial, due to tribal resistance and Spanish intervention. Nonetheless, the iconic style of the empire left its mark on Moroccan architecture.

After the Napoleonic wars (1815 CE), Istanbul became increasingly unable to govern its North African territories. As they transitioned out of Ottoman rule, the Alawite dynasty (who still rules Morocco to this day) managed to remain independent, despite increasing European intervention. It is during this period that Morocco acquired its reputation as a “pirate stronghold” and a “den of spies,” being intensely coveted by many international superpowers, yet remaining under the control of none.

For many years, the French sought every excuse to increase their military presence in Morocco, until its ruler was finally forced to agree to their terms. In 1912, most of the country became a French protectorate, while a northern and southern zone were placed under the control of Spain. At the time, a trend in European urban planning favored the preservation of historic buildings. So Morocco’s colonial masters chose to build their modern European-style neighborhoods just outside of existing cities, so as to keep historical urban centers as they were. Strict building regulations served to maintain the sharp contrast between local and foreign architecture, creating a sort of urban apartheid.

After decades of strife, the nation of Morocco eventually achieved independence from the French in 1956, and the Spanish in 1958, but Moroccan post-colonial architecture remained highly influenced by European styles.

Since then, the need to build fast and cheap has driven contemporary Moroccan architects to design buildings in the same bland utilitarian style that can be found in every city around the world, rather than expanding upon Morocco’s unique traditional style, and modernizing it. After all, traditional Moroccan architecture has been refined through centuries of trial and error to be best suited for both local climate and culture.

The traditional Moroccan house is a two to three story structure arranged around a central courtyard.

Outer walls are built with irregularly shaped stones set in heavy mortar, and plastered. They are relatively plain at ground-floor level, (a consequence of Islamic tradition which emphasizes modesty), and lightly decorated with geometric motifs at the top (in a manner reminiscent of ancient Amazigh constructions).

Very few windows look out onto the street. Most look inwardly, towards the central courtyard. Privacy is paramount.

The main entrance is topped with a distinctive horseshoe arch (the lower edges of which curve inwardly towards each other), a 10th century Andalusian import, and an emblematic feature of Moroccan architecture.

Residents enter from an ornate door which leads to the main courtyard through a curved or L shaped passageway, laid out in such a way as to prevent passersby from glancing into the house when the door is open.

The outer sobriety of Moroccan homes often hides a treasure trove of esthetic brilliance within. In wealthy homes, walls are often decorated with carved stucco panels and intricate woodwork, floors are livened with multicolored interlocking stones, and ceilings display floral motifs seamlessly integrated within patterns of geometry.

A cluster of three columns stands at each corner of the square or rectangular courtyard, supporting connected balconies from every side.

A fountain or water-feature is often installed at the center of the space, as part of an efficient climate-control system that provides residents and guests with a comfortable environment. Carefully placed openings and shading structures also contribute to the passive cooling of internal spaces during the summer months.

A looping gallery ferries residents to the nearest rooms, while winding corridors lead deeper into the dwelling, towards secondary courtyards and more private quarters. Concealed staircases lead to the upper floors.

In accordance with Islamic tradition, the house is segregated in regards to gender. Women live and work in the deepest sections of the house, unseen by male relatives and visitors. A few discrete observation-points allow women to keep track of what goes on in the rest of the house without being seen.

The design of the traditional Moroccan house has evolved to reflect the importance of guest-hosting in Moroccan culture. Such homes often include dedicated guest-quarters with private entrances, and relative autonomy.

In modern times, living in this kind of residence is certainly beyond the financial capability of many. However, the principles upon which this design is based, and the lessons learned from centuries of experimentation may just as easily be applied elsewhere, in a more contemporary context.

A modern apartment building for example, could be just as peaceful, just as sustainable, and just as adept at preserving the privacy of its residents. It could promote strong family ties, regulate community interaction, and facilitate the hosting of guests. It could be tailored to the culture of its users, even tuned to their collective habits and customs. But only if its designer is willing to learn from history.