تبرع
وقائع الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا
ابحث في fanack.com
Please enter search keyword.

المغرب: دخول الإسلام

المغرب: دخول الإسلام
يزعم بعض القوميين المغاربة أن مولاي إدريس هو مؤسس دولة المغرب. Photo: C.R. Pennell

المقدمة

كان المغرب على هامش الإمبراطورية الرومانية سياسيًا واقتصاديًا وثقافيًا.

خرج الإسلام من شبه الجزيرة العربية حيث نمت الزراعة في الحجاز وسط منطقة قاحلة. وكان المجتمع العربي وثنيًا يعبد آلهة متعددة وتحكمه أسس قبليّة ويقوم على الأنساب، شأنه شأن مجتمعات شمال غرب إفريقيا. أمّا سكان بلاد شمال إفريقيا، فقد كانوا مثل أهل سوريا وفلسطين حيث الغلبة للمسيحية واليهودية. وكان يتحدث أهل بلدان شرق المتوسط من سكان الجبال والصحاري اللغات السامية، بينما كان لسان أهل المغرب خليطًا من اللغات الأمازيغية المختلفة. وظلّت منطقة شمال غرب إفريقيا مهمّشة في ظل حكم الإسلام، لكنها تأثرت بشتى الأحداث السياسية الكبرى في الشرق الإسلامي وتحديدًا الانقسامات الأيديولوجية والدينية.

كان النبي محمد رسولًا وزعيمًا سياسيًا وقاد حربًا ضد مشركي مكة، لكنه لم يجبر المسيحيين واليهود على اعتناق الإسلام، بل أحسن إليهم بشرط قبول حكم الإسلام ودفع الجزية. ولم يختر النبي محمد خليفة له، فانقسم المسلمون بعد وفاته في أمر اختيار الخليفة. وصار للانقسام بين السنة والشيعة أثر عميق في المغرب لقرون عديدة. ولم يبدأ فتح شمال غرب إفريقيا إلا بعدما أسس الأمويون خلافة سنيّة في دمشق عام 661.

دخول الإسلام

المغرب: دخول الإسلام
انتشار الإسلام في عهد الخلافة. المصدر: Fanack

وفي عام، 674 أسس القائد المسلم عقبة بن نافع قاعدة جديدة في القيروان جنوبي تونس حاليًا. وانطلق عقبة غربَا عام 682 وهاجم حاميات البيزنطيين على ساحل الأطلسي.

وتزعم بعض الروايات التاريخية أن عقبة رفع صوته حين وصل إلى ساحل الأطلسي وقال: “يا رب لولا هذا البحر لمضيت في البلاد مجاهدَا في سبيلك أقاتل من كفر بك حتى لا يُعبد أحد دونك”.

ولم يدم انتصار عقبة طويلًا، إذ تمردت قبائل عدة يقودها ملك مسيحي أمازيغي يُدعى كسيلة وخلفته ملكة عُرفت في الروايات التاريخية باسم الكاهنة. وقد رحل المسلمون عن القيروان سنوات عديدة ثم استعادوها عام 691 وطردوا آخر البيزنطيين عند الساحل.

وبعد ذلك جعل موسى بن نصير مدينة القيروان عاصمةً لولاية إفريقية، وهو اسمها الروماني القديم. وكانت القيروان في أول عهدها مع المسلمين مركزًا عسكريًا ثم صارت منارة علمية. وفي عام 710، استولى بن نصير على سبتة وطنجة وبسط نفوذ الإسلام داخل الليمس الروماني، وصار حاكمًا على ثلاث إمارات هي تلمسان (الجزائر اليوم) وطنجة وسوس في جنوب المغرب. وقد كانت جلّ جيوش العرب في هذه المنطقة من الأمازيغ مع وجود كتائب عسكرية قليلة من العرب.

أراد المسلمون أن يستوطنوا هذه المنطقة ليفيدوا من خيراتها وينعموا بتجارتها العامرة. ورغم انتشار الدين الجديد، لم يجبر المسلمون أهل تلك المنطقة من اليهود والمسيحيين على اعتناق الإسلام. وكانت بعض القبائل الأمازيغية تؤمن باليهودية وقلة منهم تبعت المسيحية. وحدهم من لم يكونوا من أهل الكتاب أُجبروا على الخضوع للإسلام. وكانت مقاومة الأمازيغ للمسلمين عصية منيعة، لكن العديد منهم اعتنقوا الإسلام طوعًا واختيارًا.

وأصبح القائد الأمازيغي طارق بن زياد في عام 715 حاكمًا على طنجة، وقاد جيشًا جُلّه من الأمازيغ إلى شبه الجزيرة الإيبيرية وسُميّ جبل طارق باسمه. ومع ذلك كانت النخبة من العرب تعامل الأمازيغ بدونية، وارتبط كثير من الأمازيغ حديثي العهد بالإسلام بالحركات المبتدعة.

كان الخوارج من بين تلك الحركات ونادوا بالمساواة وضرورة أن تتقدم مكانة الدين على المكانة الاجتماعية. ورفض الخوارج أفكار المذهبين السنّي والشيعي وطالبوا بإعلاء الإسلام على النسب والأصول العرقية والإثنية. وبعدما قمعهم الأمويون في الشرق الإسلامي، لجأ كثير من الخوارج إلى المغرب. وفي عام 739 أو 740 اندلعت انتفاضة في طنجة بسبب الضرائب، ثم تحول الأمر إلى تمرد يقوده الخوارج وسموا قائدهم الأمازيغي بالخليفة. ولم يلبث ذلك التمرد وقائده أن قُضي عليهما، لكن الخوارج واصلوا تمردهم في الجبال. وفي منتصف القرن الثامن الميلادي، أخذ الخوارج من سجلماسة الواقعة في واحة تافيلالت جنوب شرق المغرب قاعدةً لهم، واستغلوا تجارة الذهب والملح المزدهرة في الصحراء الكبرى. وقد ساهم ذلك في انتشار الإسلام في جنوب المغرب والصحراء الكبرى.

وكانت البرغواطية من تلك الحركات المبتدعة أيضًا ويرجع أصلها ونشأتها إلى هذه المنطقة نفسها. وقد استقرت في سهول الأطلسي وقد مزجت المسيحية واليهودية والعقيدة الأرواحية “Animism” بالمذهب الشيعي. ووضع اتباعها كتابًا مقدسًا لهم مستوحى من القرآن ولكنه كُتب باللغة الأمازيغية، وكانت لهم صلواتهم وشرعتهم في المأكل والمشرب. وقد استمرت هذه الحركة حتى منتصف القرن الحادي عشر.

التشيع والأدارسة وتأسيس فاس

المغرب: دخول الإسلام
دولتان الإدريسية و البورغواطية. المصدر: C.R. Pennell

كانت أبرز الحركات في بدايات تاريخ المغرب شيعية المذهب. وكان إدريس بن عبد الله، وهو من سلالة علي بن أبي طالب ابن عم النبي محمد وزوج ابنته فاطمة، قد خرج هاربًا من الشرق ولجأ إلى قبيلة أمازيغية بالقرب من وَلِيلي. وأسس عام 789 قاعدة على ضفتي نهر فاس وأقام دولة صغيرة. وقد سيطرت هذه الدولة على الطريق الرئيس إلى الشرق، فعمد الخليفة العباسي هارون الرشيد إلى قتل إدريس بالسُمّ. وبعد ذلك أنجبت زوجة إدريس ولدًا نصّبه أهل المنطقة من الأمازيغ زعيمًا عليهم عام 803. وأسس إدريس الثاني عاصمة بالقرب من دولة والده على نهر فاس. وحين تُوفي إدريس الثاني عام 828 كانت دولته قد بلغت معظم جبال الريف حتى سوس، وازدهرت الدولة بفضل التجارة. ويزعم بعض القوميين المغاربة اليوم أن هذه الأحداث السياسية هي أصل الدولة المغربية الحديثة.

وبحكم السياسة وأحوالها، صار الشيعة الأدَارِسَة أعداءً لولاة العباسيين في القيروان وبقايا الأمويين الذين استقروا في شبه الجزيرة الإيبيرية. ولذلك أصبحت فاس ملجأ الهاربين والفارين، مثل الفقهاء الذين فرّوا إليها بعد الاضطرابات التي حدثت في قرطبة عام 814، ثم وفد عليها اللاجئون من القيروان عام 824. وبقدوم كل هؤلاء، ازدهرت المدينة بالخبرات التجارية والمعرفة الدينية وتطورت ثقافيًا ونعمت بالرخاء والثروة.

ومن ذلك الازدهار أن نساء الأندلس والقيروان بدأن عامي 857 و859 تدشين أوقاف من كبرى المساجد وهي اليوم حاضنة الجامعة الرئيسة في مدينة فاس، وربما تكون أقدم جامعة قائمة في العالم. ولم يكن للمدينة دور سياسي يُذكر، لكنها ازدهرت بتجارتها الكبيرة عبر الصحراء الكبرى ومع بلاد الأندلس (إسبانيا الحديثة). وأخذ المسلمون واليهود يفدون إلى المدينة بأعداد كبيرة بعد ازدهارها في أمان ومنعة في أسوارها الجديدة.

المغرب: دخول الإسلام
أفراد من جماعة صوفية مجتمعين قرب قبر مولاي إدريس الأول، مؤسس السلالة الإدريسية في المغرب، أثناء ممارسة الشعائر الدينية في مدينة مولاي إدريس زرهون شمال البلاد في 26 يوليو 2018، يرتحل عشرات الآلاف من الناس كل صيف إلى بلدة صغيرة في شمال المغرب لزيارة ضريح وليّ صوفي دُفن هناك منذ 12 قرنًا في ما يُعرف باسم “حج المسكين”. كان إدريس الأول من نسل النبي محمد وأسس أول دولة إسلامية في المغرب، ودُفن في أواخر القرن الثامن في مدينة مولاي إدريس زرهون بين تلّتَيْن تكسوهما بساتين الزيتون. FADEL SENNA / AFP

حين تُوفي إدريس الثاني، قسّم أبناؤه الدولة التي اضمحلت تدريجيًا بعد ذلك. وفي أواخر القرن التاسع، فرّ أتباع حركة شيعية أخرى في الشرق العربي وهم الفاطميون إلى سجلماسة. وبعد ذلك انتقلوا إلى تونس حيث أسسوا في أوائل القرن العاشر عاصمة خلافتهم في مدينة المهدية. وفي نهاية ذلك القرن، فتحوا مصر ونقلوا مقر الخلافة إلى القاهرة. فكان نصيب المغرب من السلطنة الإسلامية الغالبة هو التهميش مرة أخرى. ويُبيّن تاريخ فاس أنها كانت ساحة نزاع بين ثلاث قوى هم “الفاطميون” و”العباسيون” في بغداد و”الأمويون” في الأندلس. وقد تتابعت الدول والحكام على فاس مرات عديدة، لكنها ازدهرت مع وفود التجار والحرفيين والعلماء، المسلمون منهم واليهود.

قراءة متعمقة

Donate
Chronicle of the Middle East and North Africa

Morocco: The Coming of Islam

Morocco: The Coming of Islam
Moulay Idris is claimed by Moroccan nationalists as the foundation point of Morocco as a country. Photo: C.R. Pennell

Introduction

Morocco had been peripheral to the Roman Empire – politically, economically and culturally.

Islam originated in the Arabian Peninsula, where settled agriculture on the coast backed onto an arid interior. Like northwest Africa, Arab society was organised along tribal lines, defined by descent, and was basically polytheistic. The townspeople of Syria and Palestine, like those of North Africa, were often Christians or Jews. To the east of the Mediterranean, the inhabitants of the mountains and deserts spoke Semitic languages, while in Morocco they used varieties of Amazigh. Under Islam northwest Africa, would remain peripheral, but it was greatly affected by the major political events in the Islamic east, particularly the ideological and religious schisms.

The Prophet Muhammad was also a political leader who led a holy war against the polytheists of Mecca. He did not force Christians and Jews to convert to Islam; they were tolerated, provided they recognised Muslim rule and paid extra taxes. But Muhammad named no successor, and when he died, the Meccan elite was divided over who should lead the community as caliph. The split between Sunnis and Shiites would deeply affect the Maghrib for many centuries. Only when the Sunni Umayyads established the caliphate in Damascus in 661, could the conquest of northwest Africa begin.

The arrival of Islam

Morocco: The Coming of Islam
The expansion of Islam in the age of the Caliphates. Source: Fanack

In 674 CE Uqba ibn Nafi founded a new base at Kairouan, in southern Tunisia. In 682 CE Uqba moved west, striking inland from Kairouan and outflanking the Byzantine garrisons on the coast.
According to legend, on reaching the Atlantic, he charged into the surf, crying “Oh God! If the sea had not prevented me, I would have coursed on forever like Alexander the Great, upholding your face and fighting all who disbelieved!”

Uqba’s triumph did not last. Many tribes rebelled, first led by a Christian Amazigh king, Kusayla, and then by a legendary warrior-queen known as al-Kahina (the priestess). For some years, the Muslim rulers abandoned Kairouan, but it was retaken in 691, and the last Byzantines on the coast were expelled.

Musa ibn Nusayr made Kairouan the capital of the province of Ifriqiya, its former Roman name. This new Islamic city, which began as a military camp, became a great centre of learning. By 710, Ibn Nusayr had taken Ceuta and Tangier and extended Muslim rule roughly within the line of the Roman limes, with three sub-provinces, in Tlemcen (modern Algeria), Tangier, and the Sous, in southern Morocco. The Arab governors had small Arab military contingents, but their armies were mostly Amazigh.

The Arab Muslims wanted trade, settlement and booty. They proclaimed a new revelation, but did not force Jews and Christians to convert. Some Amazigh tribes were Jewish and a few were Christian. Only those who were not monotheists could be forced to submit to Islam. There was Amazigh resistance, which the Muslims found hard to break, but many Amazigh converted willingly.

In 715, an Amazigh commander, Tariq ibn Ziyad, became governor of Tangier, and led a largely Amazigh army into the Iberian Peninsula. Gibraltar, Jabal Tariq, is named after him. Yet the Arab elite treated the Amazigh unequally, and many new converts aligned with heterodox movements.

One such was Kharijism, a fiercely egalitarian movement holding that religious belief trumped social status. It rejected both Sunni and Shiite ideas and prized commitment to Islam above birth, racial or ethnic origin. After the Umayyads suppressed them in the Muslim east, many Kharijis sought refuge in Morocco. In 739 CE or 740 CE a rising in Tangier over taxation became a Khariji insurrection. The rebellion and its Amazigh leader – who called himself caliph – was put down, but Kharijism hung on in the mountains. In the mid-8th century, a Kharijite base at Sijilmasa, in the Tafilalt oasis system of southeastern Morocco, exploited the growing gold and salt trade across the Sahara. This helped spread Islam through southern Morocco and into the Sahara.

Another heterodox movement was entirely home-grown: the Barghawata had its base in the Atlantic plains and seems to have combined elements of Christianity, Judaism, and animism with Shiism. It had its own holy book influenced by the Koran (but written in Amazigh) and its own prayers and dietary laws; this movement lasted until the middle of the 11th century.

Shiism, the Idrisids and the foundation of Fez

Morocco: The Coming of Islam
Idrisid and Barghawata states. Source: C.R. Pennell

The most important movement in the history of early Morocco was Shiite. Idris ibn Abdullah, a descendent of Ali (Prophet Muhammad’s cousin, son-in-law and companion) and Fatima, (the Prophet’s daughter) fled from the east and took refuge with an Amazigh tribe near Volubilis. In about 789, he built a base on the banks of the River Fez, and set up yet another petty state. Because it controlled the main road to the east, the Abbasid Caliph, Harun al-Rashid, had Idris poisoned. Idris’s unborn son survived, and in 803 the Amazigh people of the area proclaimed him sovereign. Idris II founded a capital next to his father’s settlement on the Fez River. By the time he died in 828, Idris’s state stretched from the Rif Mountains to the Sous, made rich by trade. Some modern Moroccan nationalists have claimed these events as the origins of the Moroccan state.

The Shia Idrisids were natural enemies of the Abbasid governors in Kairouan and of the rump of the Umayyads who settled in Iberia. Fez became an asylum for refugees. Religious scholars fled there after a uprising in Cordoba in 814, and in 824, refugees joined them from Kairouan. They brought mercantile skills and religious knowledge, wealth and intellectual sophistication.

Religious women from both communities, endowed great mosques: the Andalusiyyin, begun in 857, and the Qarawiyin (859), which is now the main university in Fez, and claims to be the oldest continuously functioning university in the world. Fez was marginalised politically, but grew rich from trade across the Sahara, and with al-Andalus (in modern Spain). As it prospered, Muslims and Jews arrived in large numbers, protected by new walls around it.

Morocco: The Coming of Islam
Members of a Sufi brotherhood gather by the tomb of Moulay Idriss I, the founder of Morocco’s former ruling Idrisid dynasty, during a spiritual event in the city of Moulay Idris Zerhoun in the country’s north on July 26, 2018. Dubbed the “pilgrimage of the poor” — each summer, tens of thousands of people flood a small northern Moroccan town to honour a Sufi saint buried there 12 centuries ago. A descendant of the Prophet Mohammed, Idriss I founded Morocco’s first Islamic dynasty and in the late eighth century was buried at Moulay Idriss Zerhoun, nestled between two hills covered in olive groves. FADEL SENNA / AFP

When Idris II died, his children divided the state and it slowly wound down. In the late ninth century, another Shiite movement in the Arab east, the Fatimids, failed and its followers took refuge in Sijilmasa. From there, they moved to Tunisia where, early in the tenth century, they built the capital of their caliphate at Mahdia. At the end of the century they conquered Egypt and moved the seat of the caliphate to Cairo. The Maghrib was marginalised once again from the Islamic mainstream. It was a battleground between three caliphates: the Fatimids, the Abbasids in Baghdad and the Umayyads in al-Andalus. Fez changed hands several times in these struggles but it prospered as traders artisans and scholars, Muslim and Jewish, poured in from outside.

Further Reading