تبرع
وقائع الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا
ابحث في fanack.com
Please enter search keyword.

المغرب بعد الربيع العربي

المغرب بعد الربيع العربي
تجمع الآلاف من سكان الريف خلال مظاهرة سلمية في شوارع الحسيمة، المغرب، في يوم 20 يوليو 2017 للمطالبة بالحرية لأعضاء الحراك المحتجزين. Guillaume Pinon / NurPhoto / NurPhoto via AFP

تجاوز الربيع العربي

أحيا اعتلاء محمد السادس العرش الآمال في الحريات السياسية، لكنها ما لبثت أن خابت بعد عشر سنوات من حكمه. واستمرت هذه الخيبة بعد الربيع العربي والوعد بدستور جديد. وازداد القمع مع الهجمات الشاملة على حرية التعبير والصحافة التي لم تُوجه ضد المؤسسات الإعلامية الناقدة النظام ومسؤوليه فحسب، بل شملت كذلك صحفيين مستقلين نالهم الاعتقال وتشويه السمعة بدعاوى الانحراف المالي أو الجنسي.

فقد اتُهم المعطي منجب، وهو مؤرخ مشهور عالميًا وأحد مؤسسي الجمعية المغربية لصحافة التحقيق، عام 2015 بالنصب وأُعيد اعتقاله في ديسمبر عام 2020 بتهم الاختلاس والمس بأمن الدولة. ويعاني أي معتقل في المغرب فترة طويلة من الاحتجاز قبل بداية المحاكمة بسبب بطء الإجراءات.

الصحراء الغربية

اتسمت سياسة المغرب تجاه قضية الصحراء الغربية كذلك بالتعنت. وفي يناير 2017، عاد المغرب للانضمام إلى الاتحاد الإفريقي، وبدأ في تقويض الدعم الدولي الذي تحظى به الجمهورية العربية الصحراوية الديمقراطية، لا سيما بين دول الساحل الفقيرة. وبالفعل تقلص عدد الدول التي اعترفت بدولة البوليساريو من 84 دولة في بداية القرن الحالي إلى نحو 36 دولة بعد عقد. وقابلت الحكومة المغربية دعم الإمارات سيادته على الصحراء الغربية بدعمها تطبيع الإمارات العلاقات مع إسرائيل عام 2020. وفي مقابل اعتراف الولايات المتحدة بسيادة المغرب على الصحراء، وافقت الحكومة المغربية على تطبيع العلاقات مع إسرائيل في إطار ما عُرف باتفاقيات إبرهيم التي توسطت فيها الولايات المتحدة.

ولا تحظى العلاقات الدبلوماسية العلنية مع إسرائيل اليوم بقبول غالبية الرأي العام في البلاد، إذ يرفضها نحو 90% من المغاربة، كما أنها أزعجت حزب العدالة والتنمية.

وقد شكّل الأمين العام للحزب، عبد الإله بنكيران، تحالفًا من خمسة أحزاب بعد فوزه بأغلبية المقاعد في انتخابات 2011. لكن أعضاء الحزب لم يكونوا راضين عن سياساته الإسلامية المعتدلة. واحتفظ حزب العدالة والتنمية بأغلبية مقاعده البرلمانية بعد انتخابات 2016، لكن حزب الأصالة والمعاصرة بات قريبًا منه.

وفي مارس 2017، استبدل الملك بنكيران بزعيم سابق في حزب العدالة والتنمية وهو سعد الدين عثماني، بعد فشله في تشكيل تحالف جديد. وبدت قيادة الحزب للعديد من قواعده خاضعة للقصر، ورفضوا بشدة قرار تطبيع العلاقات مع إسرائيل. ثم جاء انتقام القصر من حليفه المزعج في الانتخابات التي جرت في سبتمبر 2021 التي فاز بها حزب التجمع الوطني للأحرار الموالي للقصر الذي تأسس في أواخر السبعينيات، أما حزب الأصالة والمعاصرة فحل ثانيًا، وجاء حزب الاستقلال ثالثًا. أما حزب العدالة والتنمية فقد خسر 112 مقعدًا واحتفط بثلاثة عشر مقعدًا.

الاقتصاد

انتعش الاقتصاد بعد الربيع العربي، واجتذب الاستثمارات الأجنبية. ونما الناتج المحلي الإجمالي من 93.22 مليار دولار عام 2010 إلى 114.73 مليار دولار عام 2020.

وكذلك نما القطاع الخاص بسرعة كبيرة: وتمثل في صناعة وتجميع السيارات الصينية والفرنسية، ما وفر 148,000 فرصة عمل جديدة بين عامي 2014 و2019. وفي عام 2019، أنتج المغرب 400,000 سيارة، استوردت أوروبا نسبة 60% منها. وشكلت هذه الصادرات نسبة 25% من إجمالي الصادرات بقيمة 10.5 مليار دولار، متفوقة على الفوسفات.

وكذلك كان الاستثمار في الطاقة الشمسية هائلًا، إذ شّغّلت محطة نور الضخمة للطاقة الشمسية في منطقة ورزازات على حدود الصحراء الكبرى بهدف توفير 42% من احتياجات المغرب من الطاقة عام 2020، و52% من احتياجاتها بحلول عام 2030.

جائحة كورونا

تجاوز المغرب فيروس كورونا بشكل جيد. وسجلت منظمة الصحة العالمية 16,061 حالة وفاة فيها بين يناير 2020 وإبريل 2022. وتم تطعيم 23,361,571 مواطنًا تطعيمًا كاملًا (بنسبة 63% من السكان) بلقاحات صنعتها الهند والصين. ورغم تراجع الناتج الإجمالي المحلي بنسبة 6.3% عام 2020، فقد عاود الارتفاع وكان من المتوقع أن يحقق نموًا بنسبة 5.3% عام 2021 بفضل الأوضاع الزراعية الجيدة نتيجة موسم الأمطار الجيد. وتوقع البنك الدولي أن يبدأ تراجع عجز الموازنة عام 2021.

رغم تفاؤل الإحصاءات، ما يزال القطاع غير الرسمي يمثل ثلث الناتج المحلي الإجمالي للمغرب، وما يزال قطاع زراعة الكفاف يوفر أغلب فرص العمل. وتتسم هذه القطاعات بالتقلب الشديد، وعدم الأمان، وظروف العمل الخطرة. علاوة على ذلك، يتعرض أحد أكبر محاصيل المغرب، وهو القنب، الذي يُعد المغرب أحد أكبر منتجيه في العالم (إذ يساهم بنسبة 19% من الإنتاج العالمي) إلى الرقابة الصارمة ومصادرة قوات الأمن شحناته.

حراك الريف

تعد زراعة الحشيش والتجارة فيه وتهريبه مصدر الثروة الرئيس في الريف الممتد على طول الساحل الشمالي. وهي واحدة من أكثر المناطق المهمشة في المغرب، والمعزولة ثقافيًا لأنها أمازيغية، وسياسيًا بسبب تاريخها من التمرد والقمع المتكرر من الدولة.

وفي أكتوبر 2016، انطلق حراك الريف في أعقاب مقتل محسن فكري، وهو بائع سمك في الحسيمة، المدينة الرئيسة في المنطقة، بعد محاولته استعادة أسماكه التي رمتها الشرطة في شاحنة النفايات بعد مصادرتها. لكنه سُحق داخلها بعد تشغيل آلية الضغط. سُجلت هذه الواقعة وانتشرت عبر وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي. وانطلقت المظاهرات في الشوارع وتطورت إلى حراك شعبي.

وناصر الزفزافي من أبرز قادة حراك الريف، وهو نجل ناشط سابق في الاتحاد الاشتراكي للقوات الشعبية، وابن حفيد وزير في حكومة محمد بن عبد الكريم الخطابي في عشرينيات القرن الماضي. وفي مايو 2017، أُعتقل الزفزافي بتهمة “تهديد الأمن القومي” وأُخذ من الحسيمة إلى الدار البيضاء. وأُعتقل غيره بعدها، وانطلق المزيد من المظاهرات في الريف رُفع فيها علم الريف القديم جنبًا إلى جنب مع علم الأمازيغ الجديد. ويختلف الحراك عن حركة 20 فبراير التي عمّت مدنًا مغربية عدة لأنه يحتوى على سلسلة من المطالب المحددة، وإطار عمل ثابت، وهوية محلية واضحة، وقائد معروف هو ناصر الزفزافي.

Donate
Chronicle of the Middle East and North Africa

Morocco after the Arab Spring

Morocco after the Arab Spring
Thousands of Riffian people gathered during a peaceful demonstration in the streets of al-Hoceima, Morocco, on 20 July 2017 to demand the freedom of the Hirak members detained. Guillaume Pinon / NurPhoto / NurPhoto via AFP

Getting Past the Arab Spring

Mohammed VI’s accession had excited hopes of political liberalisation, which were watered down in the first ten years of his reign. After the Arab Spring, despite the promise of the new constitution, that downward spiral has continued. Repression got worse with full-blown attacks on freedom of expression and the press. These were directed not only at media companies that criticised the regime and its officials, but also at individual journalists, who were arrested or smeared for supposed sexual or financial misconduct.

Maati Monjib, a historian with an international reputation and co-founder of the Moroccan Association for Investigative Journalism, was accused of fraud in 2015 and rearrested in December 2020 on charges including embezzlement and offences against state security. Anyone arrested in Morocco faces extensive periods of imprisonment even before they are tried, because procedures are extremely slow.

Western Sahara

Intransigence also marked Moroccan policy in the Western Sahara. In January 2017, Morocco rejoined the African Union and began undermining the SADR’s international support, particularly among the poorer states of the Sahel. The number of states that recognised POLISARIO’s state – 84 at the beginning of the 2000s – shrank to about 36 a decade later. The Moroccan government repaid the UAE’s support for its sovereignty over the Western Sahara by backing the UAE’s normalisation of relations with Israel in 2020. And in return for US recognition of Moroccan sovereignty over the Western Sahara, Morocco also agreed to normalise relations with Israel as part of the so-called Abraham Accords brokered by the US.

The now overt diplomatic relations with Israel were out of line with majority opinion in the country (nearly 90 per cent of Moroccans disapprove), and it upset the Justice and Development Party (PJD).

After winning a plurality of seats in the elections in 2011, Abdelilah Benkiran had formed a five party coalition. But the party membership was not always satisfied with his very moderate Islamist policies. Although the PJD was still the largest party in parliament after the 2016 elections, the Parti Authenticité et Modernité (PAM) came close behind.

Due to difficulties in forming a coalition, the king replaced Benkirane with another former leader of the PJD, Saadeddine Othmani, in March 2017. The PJD leadership appeared to many of the party’s rank-and-file membership to be too much under the thumb of the Palace, and they strongly disliked the decision to open relations with Israel. The Palace’s revenge on its troublesome ally came in the elections in September 2021. The winner was the Rassemblement National des Indépendants, the pro-Palace party founded in the late 1970s, second place went to the PAM and Istiqlal came in at third. The PJD lost 112 seats and won 13.

Economy

The economy rebounded after the Arab spring and attracted foreign investment. Between 2010 and 2020 the GDP increased from $US 93.22 to 114.73 billion.

The private sector grew quickly: car assembly, of Chinese as well as French vehicles, brought 148,000 new jobs between 2014 and 2019. In 2019 400,000 were built, 60 per cent of which were exported to Europe. Those exports made up 25 per cent of total exports and were worth $10.5 billion, overtaking phosphates.

Investment in solar energy has been huge – the massive Noor solar power plant at Ouarzazate on the edge of the Sahara Desert was commissioned in 2016 with the aim of providing 42 per cent of Morocco’s energy needs by 2020 and 52 per cent by 2030.

COVID-19

Morocco weathered the coronavirus quite well. According to the World Health Organisation, there were 16,061 deaths between January 2020 and April 2022. A total of 23,361,571 people were fully vaccinated (63% of the population), with vaccines made in China and India. Even though the GDP contracted by 6.3 per cent in 2020, it bounced back and was expected to rebound to 5.3% growth in 2021, helped by better agricultural conditions after good rains. The World Bank predicted that the budget deficit would start falling in 2021.

Despite these hopeful statistics, the informal sector contributes a third of Morocco’s GDP and the agricultural subsistence sector still provides the majority of employment. These sectors are extremely volatile and insecure, and working conditions are dangerous. In addition, one major agricultural product, cannabis resin, of which Morocco is one of the world’s biggest producers (19% of world production), is subject to strict policing and security forces seizing cargoes.

Rebellion in the Rif

The cultivation, commerce and smuggling of hashish is the main source of wealth in the Rif, along the northern coast. This is one of the most deprived regions of Morocco and one that is set apart culturally by being Amazigh and politically by its history of rebellion and repeated state oppression.

In October 2016, a new popular movement, Hirak al-Rif emerged there following the death of Mouhcine Fikri, a fish seller in Al Hoceima, the principal town in the region. He had attempted to retrieve from the back of a garbage truck the fish that the police had confiscated from him. He was crushed to death when the compacting mechanism was turned on. This was recorded and spread through social media. There were street protests which evolved into a popular movement.

Its most prominent leader was Nasser Zefzafi, son of a former USFP activist and great-grandson a minister in the government of Muhammad ibn Abd al-Karim al-Khattabi in the 1920s. In May 2017, Zefzafi was arrested and taken from Al Hoceima to Casablanca, and charged with “threatening national security”. Others were arrested afterwards, and there were more protests in the Rif during which the old Rifi flag was raised alongside the modern Amazigh one. Al-Hirak differed from the 20 February Movement in the main cities of Morocco in having a far more focussed series of demands, a more stable framework, a defined local identity and, in Zefzafi, a recognisable leader.