تبرع
وقائع الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا
ابحث في fanack.com
Please enter search keyword.

المغرب: ملكية جديدة

المغرب: ملكية جديدة
احتجاجات حركة 20 فبراير في الرباط يوم 27 فبراير 2011 للمطالبة بإصلاحات سياسية ودستور جديد. في صدر الصورة يظهر أسامة الخليفي مؤسس الحركة والداعي لها عبر الفيسبوك. AFP PHOTO / ABDELHAK SENNA

المقدمة

تُوفي ملك المغرب الحسن الثاني عام 1999، وحضر جنازته ملك أردني جديد، وأمير جديد للبحرين، ورئيس جديد للجزائر، ورئيس وزراء جديد لإسرائيل. وبعد ذلك بوقت قصير، تُوفي الرئيس السوري حافظ الأسد وخلفه نجله، وقد كان محمد السادس جزءًا من هذا الجيل الجديد في تلك الحقبة.

وبعد مرور 12 عامًا، كان ذلك الجيل الجديد متعثرًا في الربيع العربي. ومثل والده، درس محمد السادس القانون في فرنسا، لكنه لم يشغل منصبًا عسكريًا أو تنفيذيًا. وكان في خطابه يحدث الناس عن الاستمرارية وكانت تعني في رأيه أن يفي بوعود إقامة ملكية دستورية، والسماح بالتعددية السياسية، والتزام القانون وحقوق الإنسان. وقد كانت هذه الرؤية التحديثية واضحة في ما عرفه الناس عن حياته الشخصية. فلم تظهر زوجات والده علنًا على سبيل المثال، على عكس ما حدث في زواجه من سلمى بناني عام 2002. وقد درست سلمى تكنولوجيا المعلومات وكانت شخصيتها جذابة، فصارت أيقونة عند الجيل الجديد من نساء المغرب.

حقوق الإنسان

أسرع محمد السادس في الإفراج عن المعتقلين السياسيين، وسمح للمنفيين بالعودة إلى الوطن. كما أقال وزير الداخلية إدريس البصري صاحب السمعة السيئة. وتكشفت لاحقًا جرائم في ملف حقوق الإنسان، ومن ذلك قضية قتل المهدي بن بركة، وما نالته عائلة الجنرال أوفقير من معاملة بشعة وهو ما ورد في كتب زوجة الجنرال وابنته.

وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، أفصح معتقلون آخرون عمّا لاقوه من معاناة في سجن تازمامرت السري، وهم ضباط اتُهموا بالمشاركة في انقلابات السبعينيات. لذلك أنشأ الملك هيئة الإنصاف والمصالحة عام 2004 للتحقيق في انتهاكات حقوق الإنسان، وإعادة تأهيل الضحايا، وتقديم تعويضات مناسبة. ولكن عمل اللجنة وطبيعتها ارتبط بقيود صارمة، فلم يُحاكم أي شخص، ولم يُسمح بذكر انتهاكات وقعت في عهد محمد السادس. وقد حاولت هيئة الإنصاف والمصالحة بناء ذاكرة جماعية، وتعرضت للنقد من جهة غير رسمية تضم ضحايا حقوق الإنسان والتي أُطلق عليها “شهادات بدون قيود من أجل الحقيقة”.

الانتخابات وصعود الإسلاميين

أُجري أول انتخاب في عهد الملك الجديد عام 2002، ثم تتالت الإنتخابات بعد ذلك لتشهد نجاحًا ملحوظًا لاثنين من الأحزاب القومية التاريخية. فقد حلّ الاتحاد الاشتراكي للقوات الشعبية أولًا في سباق الانتخابات، تلاه حزب الاستقلال، وأصبح عبد الرحمن اليوسفي رئيسًا للوزراء. وحلّ خلفهما حزب جديد هو حزب العدالة والتنمية الذي أُسس عام 1998 من ائتلاف يجمع عددًا من الأحزاب الإسلامية الصغيرة التي خاضت الانتخابات السابقة وفازت ببضعة مقاعد. وزعمت تلك الأحزاب إيمانها بالديمقراطية نظرًا لأنها شاركت في الانتخابات، هذا ما عزز مصداقية النظام وميوله الديمقراطية.

وفي انتخابات 2002، لم ينافس حزب العدالة والتنمية على المقاعد كلها حتى لا يظهر أنه يهدد الاستقرار السياسي للنظام الملكي، وقد تنازل عن تحقيق انتصار ساحق بفعله ذلك. وقد تحوّلت العدالة والتنمية آنذاك إلى قوة سياسية رئيسة، وأمسى وجهًا لإسلام سياسي لن يسع القصر القبول به. وكان نواب الحزب أصغر سنًّا من نواب الأحزاب العلمانية، وحقق الحزب نجاحًا لافتًا في المقاعد المخصصة للنساء في البرلمان. وضم حزب العدالة والتنمية العديد من النساء بين أعضائه، لكن ذلك لم يعن قبوله بالإصلاحات التي قدمتها حكومة اليوسفي في ما يخص ملف المرأة.

رغم استمرار الحظر المفروض على جماعة العدل والإحسان، رفع الملك الرقابة الشديدة عن زعيمها عبد السلام ياسين. ورغم أن الحزب يُدين العنف السياسي، فقد ظلّ ينكر شرعية النظام وزعم أن الملك ليس ديمقراطيًا. وقد أصبح ذلك الموقف أساس الشرعية الديمقراطية للحزب.

تفجيرات الدار البيضاء

رغم أن حزب العدالة والتنمية وجماعة العدل والإحسان أنكرا العنف، كان لبعض الخلايا الجهادية الصغيرة موقف مختلف.

ففي عام 2002، أي بعد عامين من تولي الملك العرش، أقدمت جماعات تنتمي إلى السلفية الجهادية على قتل مغاربة بزعم أنهم “ينشرون الفحشاء” بشربهم الخمور مثلًا.

وفي فبراير 2003، قال أسامة بن لادن في وصف نظام المغرب أنه” نظام مستبد وظالم وكافر وتابع للولايات المتحدة”. وفي 16 مايو 2003، وقعت هجمات إرهابية متزامنة على أهداف “غربية” في الدار البيضاء (فنادق ومطاعم عالمية)، وقُتل 45 شخصًا (منهم 12 شخصًا من منفذي التفجيرات الانتحارية)، واستهدفوا أيضًا بعض المواقع اليهودية وكان من بينها مقبرة يهودية.

وقد اُعتقل آنذاك مئات من الناشطين الإسلاميين واتهم معارضون حزب العدالة والتنمية أنه مهد الطريق للإرهاب. وكان رد الحزب أن عدّل من أيديولوجيته ليؤكد على ولائه للدستور والوطن وجعل “التنمية” هدفه الرئيس. وأيّد تشديد قوانين مكافحة الإرهاب. وفي عام 2004، أصبح سعد الدين العثماني أمينًا عامًا للحزب.

انهيار الأحزاب القومية القديمة

وحين أُجريت الانتخابات الثانية عام 2007، فاز حزب العدالة والتنمية بمقعدين إضافيين، ولكن نصيبه من الأصوات كان أقل بكثير من انتخابات عام 2002. كما كانت نسبة المشاركة في الانتخابات ضعيفة للغاية (37%). وخسر الاتحاد الاشتراكي للقوات الشعبية السلطة، وأخذ موقعه تحالف من خمسة أحزاب برئاسة حزب الاستقلال الذي كان يعاني الاضطراب. وشهدت تلك الفترة تراجع شعبية الأحزاب التاريخية بسبب فسادها وقلة كفاءتها وضعف علاقتها بالشارع. وفي عام 2008، أقدم نائب وزير الداخلية السابق في عهد الحسن الثاني وزميل الدراسة السابق لمحمد السادس، على تشكيل حزب الأصالة والمعاصرة. وبعدما ضم الحزب خمسة أحزاب صغرى، تمكن من حصد مقاعد في البرلمان ورفض الأحزاب الحضرية، وتقرّب من المناطق الريفية. وكانت للحزب صلات وثيقة بالملك خوّلته إحراز نتائج جيدة في الانتخابات المحلية عام 2009.

بدا أن الملك قد قرر أن الأولوية ستكون للتنمية الاجتماعية والاقتصادية ، لا للإصلاح السياسي. وسيتوقف نجاح النظام في النهاية بقدرته على تحقيق النمو والحد من الفقر والبطالة. أخذ محمد السادس بزمام المبادرة لحل بعض المشكلات المعقدة على المستويين الاجتماعي والاقتصادي، بالإضافة إلى دور المرأة والقضايا الإثنية، ومشكلتي الفقر والتنمية.

الأمازيغ

المغرب: ملكية جديدة
نشطاء أمازيغ خلال عيد الشغل في الأول من مايو 2008 في الدار البيضاء في مظاهرة دعت لها الكونفدرالية الديمقراطية للشغل. AFP/PHOTO/ABDELHAK SENNA

اعترف الملك في أكتوبر 2001 باللغة والثقافة الأمازيغية في خطاب أجدير. وأصبحت اللغة الأمازيغية تُدرّس في المدارس لكل الأطفال وليس أبناء الأمازيغ فحسب. وأُسس المعهد الملكي للثقافة الأمازيغية ليبحث في كيفية تحويل الأمازيغية إلى لغة مكتوبة لتكون في مستوى الفرنسية والعربية الفصحى. وتسعى هذه الجهود إلى توحيد المعايير في اللغات الثلاث في مناطق الريف الشمالية، والأطلس الأوسط والكبير وأقصى الجنوب. ويعني ذلك أن سيكون لزامًا على الأطفال أن يتعلموا الأبجديات الثلاث، لكن عدد أعضاء هيئة التدريس لم يكفِ للوفاء بهذه الخطة. كان التحول بطيئًا، فنفد صبر البعض وبدؤوا استخدام حرف “ⵣ” من أبجدية التيفيناغ في جدارياتهم للتعبير عن الهوية الأمازيغية على سبيل المثال.

الاقتصاد

كان الاقتصاد شاغلًا رئيسًا للمغرب وأظهر نتائج متضاربة.

بدا أن الاقتصاد يتحسن في أول عقد من حكم الملك محمد السادس. فحقق الناتج المحلي الإجمالي نموًّا بمعدل 1.6% عام 2000 وبمعدل 3.7% عام 2010. كما انخفض معدل الفقر من 8.9% إلى 4.2%.

ومع ذلك، لم يتحسن حال أهل المغرب، فقد أشار “تقرير الخمسينية” الحكومي الصادر عام 2006 إلى أن المغرب احتل المرتبة 124 من بين 177 دولة في مؤشر التنمية البشرية، بالإضافة إلى انخفاض معدلات الالتحاق بالتعليم.

وأدى ذلك الوضع إلى هجرة العمال المهرة، لتقل فرص العمل المتاحة لنساء المغرب الأقل تعليمًا. وفي التسعينيات، خصخصت الحكومة العديد من الشركات ضمن سياسة اللبرلة الاقتصادية التي تتبعها، وبحلول عام 2003 تقلصت نسبة المرأة في القوى العاملة بالقطاع العام إلى 11%. واضطرت النساء في ظل هذا الوضع إلى البحث عن عمل لتأمين دخول الأسر بعد أن أصبحن أربابها بعد هجرة أزواجهن إلى أوروبا بحثًا عن عمل.

وتقلصت الثروة تدريجيًا في يد قلة من النخبة على حساب الشعب. وأملت الحكومة أن تصلح حال قطاعي الزراعة والسياحة.

الزراعة

كان قطاع الزراعة في حال سيئة وهو مصدر نحو 20% من الناتج المحلي الإجمالي، ونحو 40% من القوة العاملة. كان يذهب نحو ثلثي صادرات المغرب إلى أوروبا، ولكن السياسة الزراعية المشتركة أدت إلى زيادة الإنتاج الزراعي في أوروبا، فقلّ الطلب على الواردات المغربية الزراعية. كما انخفضت الصادرات الغذائية الزراعية بين عامي 1995 و2006 من 31% إلى 19% من إجمالي الصادرات.

لكن الزراعة ظلّت قطاعًا مهمًا، إذ مثّل القطاع 16% من الناتج المحلي الإجمالي عام 2006، ووصل نصيبه من القوة العاملة إلى نحو 25% في الفترة ما بين عامي 2003 و2005 وفقًا لمؤشر التنمية التابع للبنك الدولي لعام 2008.

وفي عام 2008، نشرت وزارة الفلاحة مخطط المغرب الأخضر الذي يهدف إلى رفع مساهمة الزراعة في الناتج المحلي الإجمالي بنحو 50% (من 70 مليار إلى 100 مليار درهم)، وخلق 1.5 مليون فرصة عمل في القطاع ورفع دخول أهل المناطق الريفية ضعفين أو ثلاثة. وكانت ميزانية المخطط 147 مليار درهم على مدار 12 عامًا، وكان معظم تمويله من مؤسسات إقليمية ودولية مثل بنك التنمية الإفريقي، والاتحاد الأوروبي، والبنك الدولي، والوكالة الفرنسية للتنمية.

ويهدف المخطط إلى رفع معدل النمو من خلال الزراعة والحد من الفقر. وكانت لهذه الاستراتيجية عدة دعائم منها تحفيز المزارعين الكبار وتطوير القيمة المضافة من قطاع الزراعة، بالإضافة إلى تطوير المجتمع القائم على الزراعة لمكافحة الفقر في المناطق الريفية. وعملت الحكومة على تحقيق الهدف الأول من الاستراتيجية المذكورة بالتركيز على المحاصيل التي تحقق أرباحًا أكثر من خلال التصدير بدلًا من التركيز على المحاصيل التي تلبي الاحتياجات المحلية. لكن الفواكه والخضروات الحمضية تتطلب كميات كبيرة من المياه، والري يخدم حوالي 15% فقط من الأراضي الزراعية، ولا يمكن التعويل على هطول الأمطار. وبالتالي أدت سياسات النيوليبرالية الاقتصادية إلى تهميش الفقراء والنساء منهنّ تحديدًا. وارتفع معدل أهل المناطق الريفية ممن هم تحت خط الفقر من 18% في 1990/1 إلى 27.2% في 1998/9.

السياحة

في عام 2001، أعلنت الحكومة عن “رؤية 2010” من أجل الترويج للسياحة، وقد حققت نجاحًا كبيرًا . إذ ارتفعت مساهمة السياحة في الناتج المحلي الإجمالي من 5.5% عام 2000 إلى 7.4% عام 2010. وزاد عدد السياح من 4.3 مليون سائح عام 2000 إلى 9.3 مليون سائح عام 2010.

وكان لمدينتي مراكش وأكادير مكانة مركزية في هذه الخطة. فقد لاحظ أحد الباحثين أن “مراكش أصبحت أقرب إلى كونها منتجًا وليست مدينة”، فقد جذبت معالمها التاريخية والثقافية نحو 2.05 مليون سائح عام 2011. وتقع أكادير وهي أهم مدينة سياحية على الساحل في قلب المنتجعات الشاطئية الفاخرة.

وكان للمبادرات المحلية والمهرجانات الثقافية طابع مختلف في مدن مثل الرباط وسلا (مهرجان سنوي للموسيقى العالمية) والدار البيضاء (مهرجان سنوي لموسيقى الهيب هوب والراب). وفي عام 2001، توسعت فعاليات مهرجان الموسيقى الروحية العالمية الذي بدأ في مدينة فاس عام 1994، وقد دأبت الأميرة سلمى على افتتاح المهرجان.

وساهمت السياحة الثقافية في نشر صورة دولية للمغرب باعتباره مركزًا للتسامح. ولكن تكلفة هذه الجهود أثارت الانتقادات وحفزت التيارات المحافظة الدينية نظًرًا لكون هذه المهرجانات في رأيهم تعارض القيم الثقافية المغربية. وبنظرة عامة يتبدى أنه لم يكن من الممكن الاعتماد على قطاع السياحة في فترة الاضطراب السياسي التي شهدها العقد الثاني من عهد محمد السادس.

الصحراء الغربية

تدخلت أطراف خارجية للسعي من أجل حل قضية الصحراء الغربية. ففي ديسمبر 1997، عيّن الأمين العام للأمم المتحدة كوفي عنان جيمس بيكر، وزير الخارجية الأمريكي الأسبق، مبعوثًا شخصيًا للتوسط بين المغرب وجبهة البوليساريو.

ورغم أنه نجح أول الأمر في الاتفاق على من سيكون لهم حق التصويت في الاستفتاء، فقد توقفت المفاوضات في ديسمبر 1999 بسبب خلاف بشأن الجهة التي يكون لها حق الفصل في الطعون وإعادة اللاجئين إلى وطنهم. واستكمل بيكر مهمته، لكن البوليساريو رفضت عرض النظام المغربي بالحكم الذاتي مقابل الاعتراف بالسيادة المغربية والحفاظ على سلامة أراضيها. ثم قدّم بيكر إطار الاتفاق ليوضح تصوره عن عملية إجراء استفتاء بعد خمس سنوات على أن يكون للصحراء الحق في الحكم الذاتي وللنظام المغربي السلطة في العلاقات الخارجية والأمن والدفاع.

لكن البوليساريو رفضت المقترح، وفي عام 2003 قدّم بيكر خطة جديدة لمجلس الأمن تضمن لكل طرف فرصة متساوية للفوز في الاستفتاء. غير أن النظام المغربي رفض هذه الخطة، في حين قبلت بها جبهة البوليساريو ومجلس الأمن في قراره رقم 1495. وعندما قدّم المغرب مقترحات أخرى لم تفض إلى شيء، استقال بيكر في يونيو 2004.

سيطرت القوات المغربية على معظم أراضي الصحراء الغربية وتمركزت خلف الحواجز الرملية. وفي نهاية العقد، شرع الملك محمد السادس في تأسيس مبادرة، فأنشأ في يناير 2010 اللجنة الاستشارية للجهوية التي قدّمت للصحراء قسطًا كبيرًا من الحكم الذاتي.

الربيع العربي في المغرب

ظلّت الحرية السياسية مُقيّدة طيلة العقد الأول من حكم الملك واستمرت سياسة الحظر والرقابة على الصحف والمجلات، ولكنها كانت أخف وطأة مما كانت عليه في عهد الحسن الثاني. ووصلت حرب الصحراء ونزاعاتها إلى طريق مسدود وإن كان مآله إلى صالح النظام. وبقيت تلك القضية بعيدة عن النقد.

أما محاولات السيطرة على الفساد المستشري في الإدارة فقد فشلت بسبب تدخل القصر في القطاع الخاص وإصرار النخب على النأي بنفسها عن أي محاسبة أو عقاب.

وباختصار يمكن القول إن العملية الديمقراطية قد تعطلت، وإن النظام استفاد من التنمية الاقتصادية لكن ظروف الاقتصاد العالمي لم تسعفه. وفي عام 2008 والنصف الثاني من 2010، ارتفعت أسعار وتكاليف الغذاء والطاقة مما زاد من معاناة المواطنين ممن هم تحت خط الفقر. وبحسب منظمة الأمم المتحدة للأغذية والزراعة فقد شهد النصف الثاني من عام 2010 ارتفاع سعر الذرة بنسبة 74% والقمح بنسبة 84%.

حركة 20 فبراير

انطلقت شرارة الثورة في تونس بعدما أضرم محمد بوعزيزي النار في نفسه احتجاجًا على فساد الشرطة ومصادرتها عربة خضار كانت مصدر دخله.

وفي 21 فبراير 2011، أشعلت الشابة المغربية فدوى العروي النار في نفسها أمام مبنى البلدية في سوق السبت وسط المغرب. وكانت فدوى قد حُرمت من مشروع الإسكان الاجتماعي لكونها أمًّا عزباء.

وقبل تلك الواقعة بيوم في 20 فبراير، انطلقت احتجاجات شعبية في جميع أنحاء المغرب شارك فيها ليبراليون ويساريون وإسلاميون. لم يكن الملك هدفًا للاحتجاجات، بل طالب المتظاهرون بملكية دستورية حقيقية وإقالة رئيس الوزراء عباس الفاسي.

اندلاع الربيع العربي

لم تقض ثورة 2010-2011 على الملكية. وكانت الحكومة المغربية قد بدأت بالفعل في إعادة هيكلة طريقة حكم البلاد. وفي يناير عام 2010، أسس الملك اللجنة الاستشارية للجهوية. كما أن التطورات السياسية في تونس والمغرب جعلت الحكومة المغربية تدرك جيدًا مخاطر الاحتجاجات وتداعياتها، ولذلك أخذتها في اعتبارها.

وسرعان ما تحرك الملك بعد مظاهرات الدار البيضاء في 20 فبراير. وأعلن في 21 فبراير عن التزامه بإجراء “إصلاحات جديدة شاملة”. وفي مطلع مارس التالي، شكّل الملك اللجنة الاستشارية لمراجعة الدستور لصياغة دستور جديد. وقد أعلن عن تعديلات الدستور في شهر يونيو وأُقرّت في استفتاء في الأول من يوليو. تشابهت نتائج الاستفتاء مع النمط الشهير في تزوير الانتخابات بالعالم العربي بنسبة موافقة 98.5% مع إقبال 73% من الناخبين المسجلين، واحتفظ الملك بصلاحياته الواسعة بما في ذلك سلطته على الدفاع والجيش وأجهزة الأمن، وفي المقابل ضمن الدستور الجديد صلاحيات عدة للبرلمان وأقر باللغة الأمازيغية لغة رسمية.

وأعقبت ذلك انتخابات في نوفمبر 2011 أسفرت عن فوز الإسلاميين بالأغلبية البرلمانية. وأصبح عبد الإله بنكيران زعيم حزب العدالة والتنمية رئيسًا للحكومة ضمن ائتلاف مكوّن من حزب الاستقلال وحزب الحركة الشعبية وحزب التقدم والاشتراكية.

قراءة متعمقة

Donate
Chronicle of the Middle East and North Africa

Morocco: A New Monarchy

Morocco: A New Monarchy
Protests by the February 20 Movement in Rabat on February 27, 2011, to demand political reforms and a new constitution. In the forefront instigator of the movement on Facebook, Oussama El Khlifi. AFP PHOTO / ABDELHAK SENNA

Introduction

Hassan II’s funeral was attended by a new Jordanian king, a new emir of Bahrain, a new president of Algeria and a new prime minister of Israel. Shortly afterwards President Hafez al-Assad of Syria died, and was succeeded by his son; Muhammad VI was part of a new generation.

Twelve years later, that new generation was stumbling through the Arab Spring. Like his father, Muhammad VI had studied law in France, but he had never held a military command or executive position. He talked of continuity but framed it as giving real shape to the theoretical promises of constitutional monarchy, political pluralism, law, and human rights. This modernisation was also evident in the portrayal of his personal life. While his father’s wives were kept secret, his own marriage to Selma Bennani, in 2002, was public. She was well-educated in information technology, attractive and an icon for a new generation of Moroccan women.

Human Rights

Mohammed VI moved quickly to release political prisoners, and allow exiles to return. He sacked Driss Basri, the sinister Interior Minister. Many buried human rights scandals resurfaced. The murder of Mehdi ben Barka was one and the vicious treatment of General Oufkir’s family another, as Oufkir’s wife and daughter wrote books about their experiences.

Other former prisoners, officers accused of taking part in the coups of the 1970s, described years of mistreatment in the secret prison in Tazmamart. In 2004, the king responded by setting up the Instance Equité et Réconciliation (IER) to investigate human rights abuses, rehabilitate the victims, and assess their compensation. But there were strict limits: no one would be prosecuted, and there could be no mention of abuses after Mohammed VI became king. The IER attempted to form a collective memory, and was challenged by unofficial public audiences of human rights victims, called ‘Testimonies without Chains for the Truth.’

Elections and the Rise of the Islamists

In the first elections under the new king in 2002, two historical nationalist parties led the polls. The social-democratic USFP came out in front and Abderrahmane Youssoufi became prime minister. Second was Istiqlal. Close behind was a newer party, the Justice and Development Party (PJD) formed in 1998 from a coalition of small Islamist parties that had contested the elections the year before and won a few seats. It claimed to be democratic because it participated in elections, and so bolstered the democratic credentials of the regime that ran them.

In the 2002 elections the PJD did not even contest all the seats in order to demonstrate that it did not threaten the political stability of the monarchy; it avoided a too sweeping victory. The PJD was now a major political force, the face of Islamism that the palace could accept. Its MPs were younger than those of the secular parties and it did well in the seats set aside for women in parliament. The PJD recruited many women members too, although that did not mean it supported the Youssoufi government’s proposed reforms in women’s status.

The other Islamist group, Abdessalem Yassine’s Justice and Charity (JC) remained outlawed, but the king lifted the close surveillance on its leader. Although JC condemned political violence, it denied the regime’s legitimacy, saying the king was essentially undemocratic. Its democratic legitimacy was founded on that position.

Casablanca Bombings

Although JC and the PJD completely rejected violence, several small jihadi cells did not.

In 2002, within two years of the king coming to power, groups connected to the Salafi jihadi movement murdered Moroccans they accused of committing “impure acts” such as drinking alcohol.

In February 2003, Osama Bin Laden called Morocco an “oppressive, unjust, apostate ruling” government “enslaved by America”. On 16 May 2003, there were several coordinated suicide attacks on “Western” targets in Casablanca (international hotels and restaurants) that killed 45 people (12 of them were suicide bombers) as well as some Jewish sites (including a cemetery).

Hundreds of Islamist activists were arrested and the PJD was accused by its opponents of paving the way for terrorism. In response, it trimmed its ideology to emphasise constitutional loyalty and patriotism and make “development” its main objective. It supported tightening of the anti-terrorist laws. In 2004, Saad Eddine Othmani became its secretary general.

Eclipse of the Old Nationalist Parties

In the second elections held in 2007, the PJD won two more seats, but much fewer votes than in 2002. The turnout (37 per cent) was very low. The USFP lost power, replaced by a five-party coalition headed by Istiqlal which was inherently unstable. The popularity of the historic parties was undermined by their corruption, inefficiency and irrelevance. In 2008 Fouad Ali El Himma, a former deputy minister of the interior under Hassan II and a former classmate of Mohammed VI formed the Parti Authenticité et Modernité (PAM ). By absorbing five smaller parties it got seats in parliament and as it rejected the urban-based parties, it identified itself with rural areas. With close links to the king, it did very well in local elections in 2009.

The king seemed to have decided that socio-economic development was more important than political reform. The regime’s success would eventually depend on whether it could promote growth and reduce poverty and unemployment. Mohammed VI led efforts to deal with some complex social and economic problems, the role of women and ethnicity, and especially, poverty and development.

Amazigh

Morocco: A New Monarchy
Berber activists demonstrate during the Labour Day rally on May 1, 2008 in Casablanca called by Democratic confederation of Labour. AFP/PHOTO/ABDELHAK SENNA

In October 2001, the king recognised the Amazigh language and culture in a speech. Tamazight would be taught to all Moroccans at school, not just Amazigh children. A new research institution, Institut Royal de la Culture Amazigh (IRCAM) would define how to turn Tamazight into a written language, putting it on the same level as French and Classical Arabic. This meant standardising the three varieties of the language, in the northern Rif regions, the Middle and High Atlas and the far south, to create a common standard. This also meant children must learn three different alphabets, but there were not enough teaching staff. It was a slow process and impatient graffiti started to appear. The letter ⵣ was used to express Amazigh identity, for example.

Economy

The economy was a major point of concern and showed mixed results.

In the first decade of King Muhammad’s reign it seemed to be improving. Annual GDP growth was 1.6 per cent in 2000 and 3.7 per cent in 2010. The poverty rate decreased from 8.9 per cent to about 4.2 per cent.

However, ordinary Moroccans were not much better off. In 2006, the government’s ‘Rapport du Cinquantenaire‘ noted that Morocco was stuck at 124th out of 177 countries in the Human Development Index, with especially low levels of education enrolment.

This drove many skilled workers to migrate, leaving even fewer opportunities for the less well-educated women who remained. In the 1990s the government had privatised many state-owned enterprises, as part of its policy of economic liberalisation, and women’s participation in the public sector workforce had shrunk to 11% by 2003. Women now had to earn an income in a contracting labour market while becoming the effective head of the family after their husbands migrated to Europe for work.

Wealth was progressively acquired by a circle of elites at the expense of the wider population. Agriculture and tourism were two sectors which the government hoped to develop.

Agriculture

Agriculture, which accounted for around twenty per cent of GDP and nearly forty per cent of employment, was declining. More than two-thirds of Morocco’s total exports went to the EU, but the Common Agricultural Policy had raised agricultural production in the EU. That lowered the demand for agricultural imports. Between 1995 and 2006 agricultural food exports fell from 31 per cent to 19 per cent of total exports.

However, agriculture was still important: in 2006 it made up 16 per cent of GDP and employed 25 per cent of the workforce in the period 2003-2005, according to the World Bank Development Index 2008.

In 2008, the Ministry of Agriculture published the Plan Maroc Vert, which aimed to increase Morocco’s agricultural GDP by nearly 50 per cent (from 70 billion to 100 billion dirhams), create 1.5 million agricultural jobs and double or triple rural incomes. It had a budget of 147 billion dirhams over 12 years, mostly from outside Morocco: the African Development Bank, the European Union, the World Bank and French development funds.

According to the Plan, agriculture would encourage growth and reduce poverty. One part of the strategy was to incentivise large-scale farmers and develop a high-value added agricultural sector. The other part was to develop community-supported agriculture to fight poverty in rural areas. Most effort was put into the first aspect by prioritising crops that fetched higher export prices rather than those that met local needs. Citrus fruits and vegetables require large amounts of water, but only around fifteen percent of the agricultural land is irrigated and rainfall is very uncertain. Thus neoliberal economic policies further marginalised the poor, and poor women in particular. Rural poverty (those living below the poverty line) had risen from 18% in 1990/1 to 27.2% in 1998/9.

Tourism

In 2001 the government inaugurated the ‘2010 vision’ to promote tourism. This proved quite successful. The value of tourism in the GDP increased from 5.5 per cent in 2000 to 7.4 per cent in 2010. The number of tourist arrivals grew from 4.3 million tourists in 2000 to 9.3 million tourists in 2010.

Major focus points were Marrakech and Agadir. One scholar remarked that “Marrakech has become more of a product than a place” – its historical and cultural attractions won 2.05 million tourists in 2011. Agadir, the most important tourist city on the coast, was centred on luxury beach resorts.

More specialised were local initiatives and cultural festivals in cities such as Rabat and Salé (an annual festival of world music) and Casablanca (an annual hip-hop and rap music festival). The Festival des Musiques Sacrées du Monde that began in 1994 in Fez, was expanded in 2001. It was regularly opened by Princess Selma.

Cultural tourism also helped project Morocco internationally as a centre of tolerance. The expense raised criticisms and religious conservatives saw the festivals as challenges to Moroccan cultural values. More generally, tourism was an unreliable market in the political instability of the second decade of Mohammed VI’s rule.

Western Sahara

The push to solve the issue of the Western Sahara came from outside Morocco. In December 1997, UN Secretary-General Kofi Annan had appointed James Baker, the former US Secretary of State, as his personal envoy to mediate between Morocco and POLISARIO.

Although it seemed he had succeeded in getting agreement on who would be allowed to vote in a referendum, in December 1999 the negotiations stalled over how to handle the appeals process and the repatriation of refugees. Baker soldiered on, but POLISARIO refused a Moroccan offer of autonomy, provided it acknowledged Moroccan sovereignty and territorial integrity. Baker then proposed his own Framework Agreement of a referendum after five years, with Saharan local autonomy and Moroccan control over foreign relations, security and external defence.

Polisario rejected this. In 2003, Baker presented a new plan to the Security Council, giving each side an equal chance to win the referendum. The Moroccan government refused it, but POLISARIO accepted it and the Security Council adopted it (resolution 1495). After Moroccan counter-proposals led nowhere, Baker resigned in June 2004.

Moroccan troops, safely behind their sand barriers, controlled most of the Western Sahara territory. At the end of the decade, King Muhammad VI began his own initiative. In January 2010 he set up a Consultative Commission on Regionalisation (see local government) that offered the Sahara a large amount of autonomy.

Approach of the Arab Spring

By the end of the first decade of the king’s reign, political liberty was still limited. Censorship and bans of newspapers and magazines were left in place, although less than under Hassan II. The Saharan war had reached a stalemate, even if it was more favourable to the regime. It remained strictly off-limits to criticism though.

Attempts to rein in the rampant corruption in the administration were thwarted by the involvement of the monarchy in the private sector and the determination of the elites not to be called to account.

In short, the democratisation process had stalled. The emphasis on economic development served the regime well but the international economy was not favourable. In 2008 and again in the second half of 2010 there were global spikes in the cost of food and energy that increased the misery of those living close to the poverty line. The United Nations Food and Agriculture Organisation reported that in the second half of 2010, the maise price increased by 74 per cent, wheat by 84 per cent.

20 February Movement

The revolution in Tunisia late 2010 began with the self-immolation of a vegetable seller, Mohamed Bouazizi, protesting that police corruption meant he could not sell from his cart.

On 21 February 2011 a young woman, Fadoua Laroui, burned herself alive in front of the town hall of Souk Sebt, in central Morocco. She had been excluded from a social housing scheme because she was a single mother.

The day before, on 20 February, protests had erupted across Morocco. The demonstrators included liberals, leftists and Islamists. While the focus was not the king, protesters demanded a genuine constitutional monarchy and the dismissal of Prime Minister Abbas al-Fassi.

Outbreak of the Arab Spring

The revolution of 2010-2011 did not sweep away the monarchy. The Moroccan government had already begun to restructure how the country was run. In January 2010 the king set up a Consultative Commission on Regionalisation (see local government). |In addition, the events in Tunisia and Libya made the regime acutely aware of the dangers of such protests, and it quickly took account of them.

After the Casablanca protests of 20 February the king moved quickly. On 21 February, he declared he was committed to “pursuing the realisation of structural reforms.” In early March, he set up a Constitutional Reform Committee, to produce a new constitution. Published in June, it was approved in a referendum on 1 July. Although the numbers resembled the usual rigged results of Arab elections (98.5% “yes,” with a turnout of 73%), and the king retained important absolute prerogatives, including control of the military and security services, it transferred many powers to parliament and made Tamazight an official language.

Elections followed in November 2011, when Islamists won a plurality in Parliament. Abdelilah Ben Kirane, leader of the PJD, became prime minister of a coalition with Istiqlal, the Popular Movement and the Party of Progress and Socialism.

Further Reading