تبرع
وقائع الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا
ابحث في fanack.com
Please enter search keyword.

المغرب: العصور القديمة

المغرب: العصور القديمة
أطلال مدينة وَلِيلي (من عام 40 قبل الميلاد حتى القرن الثالث قبل الميلاد). Mazin Rosine / Aurimages via AFP

المقمة

المغرب واحد من البلدان التي تميّزت بتاريخ عريق من حيث الاستيطان البشري، لكن أولى فترات هذا الاستيطان لم نعرفها على وجه الدقة، وثمة آثار تدل على وجود ثقافات عرفت استعمال الأدوات في أزمنة سبقت العصر الجليدي الأخير، ولكننا لم نعرف حتى اليوم شيئًا عن أهل تلك الثقافات ولا عن أسمائها حتى.

كما اكتُشفت أدلة أركيولوجية تُبيّن آثار الوجود البشري في العصر البليستوسيني المبكر (أي منذ نحو 2.6 مليون إلى 781 ألف سنة)، ويتجلى ذلك من خلال الرسومات على جدران الكهوف والحجارة في صحراء المغرب. ورغم أن منطقة الدار البيضاء لم تحظ بالثراء الأركيولوجي الذي كُتب لغيرها من المناطق القديمة في شرق إفريقيا، فقد اشتهرت بتراثها العريق الذي يعود إلى عصور ما قبل التاريخ. وقد اكتُشفت آثار الوجود البشري المبكر هناك عام 1907، وذلك في أثناء بناء سكة حديدية أدت إلى اندلاع حرب قصيرة الأجل أعقبها احتلال الفرنسيين للمغرب.

وكانت أقدم البقايا من نصيب بعض العائلات الحيوانية مثل الخيليات والقوارض وآكلات اللحوم مثل الضباع. أمّا آثار الوجود البشري فقد اكتُشفت لاحقًا في مقلع طوما 1، مثل أحجار الكوارتزيت والصوان والبلط والمكاشط الحجرية، وهي كلها أدوات أشولينية. واكتُشفت في الموقع نفسه آثار عائلات حيوانية أخرى مثل فرس النهر والحمار الوحشي والغزال والثدييات الصغيرة. ويرجع تاريخ تلك الآثار إلى أواخر العصر البليستوسيني المبكر منذ نحو مليون إلى 1.3 مليون عام.

كما اكتشف علماء الأركيولوجيا في سيدي عبد الرحمن قرب الدار البيضاء آثارًا لأدوات عديدة ترجع إلى 3500 سنة مضت. وقد بدأت الصحراء الكبرى تجف عام 5000 قبل الميلاد تقريبًا. وبحلول الألفية الثالثة قبل الميلاد، اتسعت الصحراء لتفصل بلاد المغرب عن بلدان إفريقيا جنوب الصحراء الكبرى وتقرّبه من حوض البحر الأبيض المتوسط. وبحلول نهاية الألفية الأولى قبل الميلاد، أصبحت الظروف المناخية في المغرب شبيهة بالمناخ اليوم.

القرطاجيون

أمسى البحر الأبيض المتوسط بحلول الألفية الثانية قبل الميلاد ساحةً للتجارة ومركزًا للحضارة. وبحلول نهاية القرن الثامن قبل الميلاد أبحر التجار الفينيقيون البحريون من مدينة صُور، في جنوب لبنان حاليًا، غربًا نحو شبه الجزيرة الإيبيرية بحثًا عن الفضة والقصدير. وقد استقروا على السواحل ولم يحاولوا السيطرة على المناطق النائية ما عدا قرطاجة في تونس اليوم.

وفي القرن التاسع قبل الميلاد، أسس القرطاجيون في هذه المنطقة مدينة تجارية وزراعية كبيرة. ثم استقروا في الرسادير (مليلية حاليًا) بالمغرب، وأنشؤوا مراكز تجارية أصغر في مدينة تمودة بالقرب من تطوان وطنجيس (طنجة) عند مضيق جبل طارق. وفي القرن السابع قبل الميلاد، تحركوا جنوبًا على طول ساحل المحيط الأطلسي، مرورًا بالقصر الصغير ومدينة ليكسوس التي تقع بالقرب من مدينة العرائش حاليًا، حتى وصلوا إلى مدينة الصويرة الحديثة.

المغرب: العصور القديمة
المغرب في عصر القرطاجيين والرومان في عصر ما قبل التاريخ. المصدر: C.R. Pennell

الممالك الأولى الأصلية

منافسا القرطاجيين

بعيدًا عن الساحل، عاش شعب سمّاه العلماء قديمًا بالنوميديين. وفي القرن الرابع قبل الميلاد، اشتمل على اتحاد قبائل مملكة المور في شمال المغرب الحديث وشمال غرب الجزائر. ودخل مصطلح “مور” إلى اللغة اللاتينية واليونانية، ولكن غالبًا ما كان يُشار إليهم باسم البربر. وقد استُبدلت كلمة البربر اليوم باعتبارها وصفًا لغويًا وإثنيًا بمصطلح “الأمازيغ” (ومفردها أمازيغي وتعني “الحر” أو “النبيل”). وأما أبجديتهم فتُعرف باسم “تيفيناغ” ولم تُستخدم في الكتابة اليومية أو التجارة، بل وُجدت في نقوش ترجع إلى القرن الثالث قبل الميلاد. وقد اعتمد القوميون الأمازيغ المعاصرون هذه اللغة أساسًا للأبجدية.

الرومان

حاصرت جماعة من البدو الرعاة مدينة قرطاجة العظيمة التي استصعب حكامها السيطرة على الاتحادات القبلية في شمال الجزائر وجنوب تونس وصحاري منطقة فزان.

المغرب: العصور القديمة
شمال إفريقيا والإمبراطورية الرومانية. المصدر: C.R. Pennell

وكان هناك خطر أكبر على الساحل الشمالي للبحر الأبيض المتوسط. ففي منتصف القرن الثالث قبل الميلاد، شنّت روما حرباً على قرطاجة من أجل صقلية وانتهت الحروب البونيقية الثلاثة بهزيمة المدينة الفينيقية. وفي الحرب البونيقية الثالثة (149-146 قبل الميلاد)، دخل الرومان قرطاجة ودمّروها.

وفي المناطق النائية من شمال إفريقيا، اعتمد الرومان على علاقتهم بالحكام المحليين الذين لم يكونوا أهلًا للثقة. وقد استغرق الرومان ست سنوات (112-106 قبل الميلاد) حتى تمكنوا من هزيمة يوغرطة في نوميديا. ودمر الإمبراطور الروماني يوليوس قيصر الممالك الأصلية الأخرى التي دعمت مدينة بومبي في الحرب الأهلية. وفي عام 44 قبل الميلاد، قُتل القيصر وحاول الرومان حكم موريطنية (شمال المغرب) حكمًا مباشرًا. ولكن سرعان ما لجؤوا إلى النهج القديم واستعانوا بالحكام المحليين مرة أخرى. وفي عام 25 قبل الميلاد، سلّم أغسطس قيصر موريطنية إلى يوبا الثاني (48 قبل الميلاد – 23 ميلادية) حاكم مدينة أيول القيصرية (وموقعها شرشال في الجزائر). وصارت بعد ذلك مدينته الثانية وليلي (بالقرب من مكناس) مدينة كبيرة. وأعقب بعد موت يوبا تمرد، وضمت الإمبراطورية الرومانية موريطنية في عام 40 ميلادية.

ظلّت مدن أقصى الغرب موالية للرومان، وأصبحت وليلي عاصمة لإقليم روماني جديد هو موريطنية الطنجية. وفي نهاية المطاف، ضمت الإمبراطورية مملكة موريطنية بالكامل وقسمتها إلى ولايتين ثم ثلاث ولايات لاحقًا. لكن الرومان لم يبسطوا نفوذهم على الأراضي الداخلية. وكانت المعسكرات ذات الخنادق والأسوار وأبراج المراقبة تطوّق الأراضي الرومانية. وكانت المناطق داخل حدود الليمس الروماني من المحيط الأطلسي إلى الصحاري في جنوب طرابلس مقاطعات مقسمةً تخضع مباشرة للحكم الروماني، وازدهرت التجارة والزراعة فيها بفضل البدو والرعاة.

لكن مناطق أقصى الغرب لم تكن ثرية مثل الشرق. وكانت الجم في تونس ولبدة الكبرى في ليبيا مدينتين عظيمتين، في حين كانت وليلي منطقة منعزلة. وقد بلغ عدد سكانها نحو 20 ألف نسمة كان معظمهم من السكان المحليين. ومع ذلك حظيت بقسط يسير من الثروة، إذ فاضت محاصيلها الزراعية وكفت حاجتها وزيادة من الكثير من المنتوجات كالزيتون والحبوب عامة، فضلًا عن المعادن مثل الرصاص والفضة والحديد والنحاس. وزُيّنت بيوت الأثرياء الفارهة بتصاميم مستوحاة من اليونان وفسيفساء أرضية تشبه الأنماط الأمازيغية.

الديانات التوحيدية: اليهودية والمسيحية

المغرب: العصور القديمة
نظرة إلى مولاي إدريس. صلة تربط بين المدينة الرومانية ومدينة مولاي إدريس المسلمة القديمة. Photo: C.R. Pennell

تعددت الآلهة في الإمبراطورية الرومانية، لكن انتشارها الجغرافي سمح للتوحيد بالانتشار في شمال غرب إفريقيا.

وصلت اليهودية أولًا، على الأرجح من الشرق، ووصلت إلى قرطاجة في القرن الثاني الميلادي. ولا نعرف الكثير عن انتشارها غربًا، إذ لم يُعثر إلا على بعض النقوش اليهودية المتناثرة.

وربما تكون المسيحية قد وفدت من الشرق أيضًا، أو من روما نفسها، ثم انتشرت سريعًا في تونس خلال القرن الثالث. وقد حاول الأباطرة الرومان القضاء على المسيحية، لكن الاضطهاد الوحشي لم يحقق غرضه، بل أدى إلى تطرف المسيحيين. وكانت أرض الجزائر وتونس حاليًا موقعًا للمراكز المسيحية الكبرى. وبعدما اعتنق قسطنطين الأول المسيحية عام 306 ميلادية، تصالح بعض المسيحيين مع روما وهو ما نتج عنه انشقاق كبير بين الراديكاليين من الحركة الدوناتيّة بقيادة دوناتوس أسقف قرطاجة، وحلفاء روما المسيحيين. وتمكن الإمبراطور هونوريوس من سحقهم في بداية القرن الخامس الميلادي.

الفاندال والبيزنطيون

وقد وقع انقسام آخر في أواخر القرن الرابع. فقد كان الفاندال، وهم من الشعوب الجرمانية، يؤمنون بمذهب الآريوسية في تفسير المسيحية، وهو ما رأت فيه الإمبراطورية الرومانية هرطقة تامة. وغزا الفاندال أوروبا الغربية وإسبانيا. وفي عام 429، عبروا مضيق جبل طارق وغزوا شمال إفريقيا وسرعان ما وصلوا إلى الجزائر وتونس. وفي عام 442، تنازل لهم الرومان عن شمال إفريقيا. ولم يكترث الفاندال بمناطق أقصى الشمال الغربي، فلم يروا فيها من الثروة ما يجذبهم إليها. ولم يخلّفوا آثارًا تذكر في هذه المنطقة، ولم يلبث حكم الفاندال أن اندثر سريعًا.

وفي عام 527، أعاد الإمبراطور جستنيان الأول بناء الإمبراطورية الرومانية في بيزنطة (إسطنبول اليوم). واقتصر الغزو البيزنطي في المغرب على سبتة وطنجة. ومع ذلك عُثر على آثار بيزنطية في مدينة سلا، وكانت مدينة وليلي لم تزل مأهولة بالسكان آنذاك، وقد استغل زعماء القبائل الوجود البيزنطي ليعززوا حكمهم، وبقيت هناك بعض الممالك المحلية التي لا نعلم عنها سوى القليل.

قراءة متعمقة

Donate
Chronicle of the Middle East and North Africa

Morocco: Antiquity

Morocco: Antiquity
Ruins of the Roman city of Volubilis (from 40 AD to the 3rd century AD). Mazin Rosine / Aurimages via AFP

Introduction

Morocco has a long history of human habitation, but the earliest periods are very obscure. There were tool-using cultures in the temperate and semitropical era before the last ice age, but even their name is quite unknown to us.

There is archaeological evidence showing a human presence in the Early Pleistocene era (2.6 million to 781,000 years ago), evident in the drawings on the stone walls of caves and on stones across the Sahara. It is not as rich as the well-dated sites of East Africa, but the Casablanca region became well known for its prehistoric heritage when discoveries of very early human presence were made there in 1907, during the construction of a railway that led to a short war and the first permanent occupation of Morocco by the French.

The earliest remains were of fauna such as equids, carnivores (such as hyenas) and rodents. Humanoid remains and implements (quartzite and flint choppers, cleavers, and flakes), typical of the Acheulean industry, and the associated fauna (including hippo, zebra, gazelles, and micromammals) were later discovered at the Thomas-1 quarry cave site. They dated back to the late Early Pleistocene with a suggested age of around 1 to 1.3 million years.

At Sidi Abderrahman, also near Casablanca, archaeologists found extensive material around 3,500 years old. The Sahara began to dry up in about 5000 BCE, and by the third millennium BCE, it had expanded, splitting the Maghreb off from sub-Saharan Africa, and anchoring it more firmly in the Mediterranean basin. By the end of the first millennium BCE, the climatic conditions in Morocco were roughly those of today.

The Carthaginians

By the second millennium BCE, the Mediterranean was an arena of trade and civilisation. By the end of the eighth century BCE, Phoenicians, maritime traders from Tyre, in modern southern Lebanon, sailed westwards towards the Iberian peninsula, seeking silver and tin. They settled on the coasts, but did not try to control the hinterland, except around Carthage, in modern Tunisia.

There, they founded a great agricultural trading city in the ninth century BCE. In Morocco, they settled at Rusaddir (now Melilla) and set up smaller trading posts at Tamuda, near Tétouan, and Tingis (Tangier), on the Strait of Gibraltar. Then they spread southwards along the Atlantic coast, past Ksar es-Seghir (al-Qasr al-Saghir) and Lixus, near present-day Larache, and, in the 7th century BCE, as far as modern Essaouira.

Morocco: Antiquity
Prehistoric, Carthaginian and Roman Morocco. Source: C.R. Pennell

Indigenous kingdoms

The Carthaginians had two competitors.

Inland were the people earlier scholars called Numidians. In the 4th century BCE, they included the Mauri tribal federation in modern northern Morocco and northwest Algeria. The term “Mauri” was adapted into Latin and Greek, but they were often described as ‘Berbers.’ ‘Berber,’ is being replaced today, as a linguistic and ethnographic description, by “Amazigh,” (singular of ‘Imazighen’ meaning ‘free’ or ‘noble’ people.) Their script – commonly called Tifinagh – was not used for writing or commerce. It was epigraphic and there are examples dating back to about the third century BC. Modern Amazigh nationalists have adopted it as the basis of an alphabet.

The Romans

Semi-nomadic pastoralists surrounded the great city of Carthage, whose rulers found it hard to control the tribal confederations of northern Algeria, southern Tunisia and the deserts of the Fezzan region.

Morocco: Antiquity
North Africa and the Roman Empire. Source: C.R. Pennell

On the northern Mediterranean shore was a more potent threat. In the mid-third century BCE, Rome fought Carthage for Sicily and three successive Punic wars ended in the defeat of the Phoenician city. In the Third Punic War, (149-146 BCE) the Romans destroyed Carthage and laid it to waste.

In the North African hinterland, the Romans relied on local rulers who were not always trustworthy. It took them six years (112-106 BCE) to crush Jugurtha in Numidia. The Roman emperor Julius Caesar abolished other native kingdoms that backed Pompeii in the civil war. In 44 BCE, Caesar was murdered and the Romans tried ruling Mauritania (roughly northern Morocco) directly. They soon resorted to local surrogates again. In 25 BCE Augustus handed Mauritania to Juba II (48BCE-23CE), ruler of Iol Caesarea (Cherchell, Algeria). His second city, Volubilis (near Meknès) became a great metropolis. After Juba’s death, rebellion followed and in 40 CE, the Roman Empire annexed Mauritania.

The towns of the far west remained pro-Roman and Volubilis became the capital of a new Roman province, Mauritania Tingitana . Eventually, the Empire annexed all Mauritania and divided it into two provinces, and later three. Roman rule did not extend far inland. Military camps with ditches, ramparts and watchtowers ringed Roman territory. These limits, the limes, from the Atlantic to the deserts south of Tripoli, divided areas of direct Roman rule, with trade and settled agriculture, from nomads and transhumants.

The far west was never as rich as the east. El Djem (Tunisia) and Leptis Magna (Libya) were great cities but Volubilis was a backwater. It had perhaps 20,000 inhabitants, most of them locals. However, it was wealthy: it produced a huge agricultural surplus (olives and grain) and minerals (lead, silver, iron, and copper.) The comfortable villas of the richer inhabitants were decorated with Greek-inspired designs and floor mosaics which sometimes resembled Amazigh patterns.

Monotheism – Judaism and Christianity

Morocco: Antiquity
Looking toward Moulay Idris – connection between the Roman city with the early Islamic city of Moulay Idris. Photo: C.R. Pennell

The Roman Empire had many gods, but its wide geographical reach allowed monotheism to spread into northwestern Africa.

First came Judaism, probably from the east, reaching Carthage in the second century AD. Not much is known about the move westward, because there are only scattered Jewish inscriptions that give a clue.

Christianity may also have arrived from the east, or from Rome itself, and quickly took root in Tunisia in the third century. The Roman emperors tried to destroy it, but the vicious persecution radicalised the Christians rather than silenced them. The great Christian centres were in what is now Algeria and Tunisia. After Constantine I converted to Christianity in 306 CE, some Christians compromised with Rome and a great schism resulted between Donatist radicals, led by Donatus, the Bishop of Carthage, and Christian allies of Rome. Emperor Honorius crushed them at the beginning of the fifth century CE.

Vandals and Byzantines

In the late fourth century, there was another schism. The Vandals, a Germanic people with an interpretation of Christianity, Arianism, that the Roman Empire thought heretical, invaded western Europe and conquered Spain. In 429 they crossed the Strait of Gibraltar, invaded North Africa, and quickly moved on into Algeria and Tunisia. In 442 CE the Romans ceded North Africa to them. The Vandals largely ignored the far northwest, which was not rich enough to be attractive to them. They left little trace there, and Vandal rule was short-lived everywhere.

In 527 CE Justinian rebuilt the Roman Empire in Byzantium (modern Istanbul). In Morocco, Byzantine occupation was limited to Ceuta and Tangier, although Byzantine remains have been found at Salé, and Volubilis was still populated. Tribal chiefs used the Byzantine presence to strengthen their own rule, and there were several local kingdoms, of which we know little.

Further Reading