تبرع
وقائع الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا
ابحث في fanack.com
Please enter search keyword.

المغرب: التحضيرات لتغيير النظام (1980-2000)

المغرب: التحضيرات لتغيير النظام
نعش الملك الحسن الثاني يُحمل إلى ضريحه حتى يُدفن في الرباط يوم 25 يوليو 1999. وقد ناهز عمره 70 عامًا، حكم فيها المغرب 38 عامًا. MANOOCHER DEGHATI / AFP

المقدمة

فشل الحسن الثاني في القضاء على جبهة البوليساريو، لكن ضم الصحراء الإسبانية السابقة، ثبّت أركان نظامه. ومنحه فرصة إعادة بناء شرعيته. وقد صورت الحكومة الضم أنه إحياءُ المغرب التاريخي الذي مزقه الاستعمار، واستعادة لوحدته. وقد دعمت جميع الأحزاب القومية، باستثناء الجناح اليساري منها، “المسيرة الخضراء” في أكتوبر عام 1975، وأيدت الحرب ضد جبهة البوليساريو. وتعرّض كل من عارض حرب الصحراء لقمع لا هوادة فيه. وقد ساعدت الحرب النظام رغم تكلفتها الباهظة لأنها جعلت من المغرب حليفًا للقوى الغربية التي أرادت لها حليفًا قويًا مستقرًا في شمال إفريقيا.

تجديد النظام السياسي

سمح دعم الأحزاب القومية لقضية الصحراء بإعادة دمجها في النظام البرلماني. فأعاد حزب الاستقلال هيكلة نفسه، وغيّر الاتحاد الوطني للقوات الشعبية اسمه ليصبح الاتحاد الاشتراكي للقوات الشعبية. وحتى الحزب الشيوعي المحظور سُمح له بإعادة تشكيل نفسه تحت اسم حزب التقدم والاشتراكية. وحصلت جميع هذه الأحزاب على مقاعد في انتخابات عام 1977.

وفي عام 1978، شكّل العديد من النواب المستقلين المنتخبين في البرلمان المغربي حزبًا جديدًا حمل اسم التجمع الوطني للأحرار بقيادة أحمد عصمان صهر الملك الحسن الثاني. لكن الأجهزة الأمنية ظلت تقمع بوحشية كل من رفض الاندماج في النظام من المنتسبين إلى اليسار الماركسي اللينيني والحركات الإسلامية الناشئة. وفي عام 1974، حُبس الشيخ عبد السلام ياسين بعد سؤاله إن الملك مسلم حقًا. وعندما أُفرج عنه عام 1979، كانت الثورة الإيرانية قد اندلعت وشجعت الأفكار الراديكالية الإسلامية.

المعارضة

رغم إسكات الأصوات المعارضة لحرب الصحراء، انطلقت مظاهرات منددة بالبطالة والتضخم، وقلة المحاصيل. واندلعت سلسلة من التمردات في أعوام 1980، و1981، و1984 قُتل فيها العديد. وكانت الثمانينيات ذروة “سنوات الرصاص” التي اعتقلت فيها الدولة القمعية والعنيفة الإسلاميين، والمعارضين السياسيين، والنشطاء الديمقراطيين وغيرهم ممن اعتبرهم الملك أعداءه وعذبتهم. وكان بينهم أطفال الجنرال محمد أوفقير الذي قاد الانقلاب الفاشل عام 1972. وقد وصفت ابنته مليكة أوفقير لاحقًا ما جرى لهم في كتابها الشهير “السجينة”. وكذلك أصدر ضحايا آخرون كتبًا وصفوا فيها سجن تازمامارت السري في جبال أطلس، الذي صار رمز الدولة القمعية.

دعم النظام خارجيًا

لجأ المغرب إلى الاتحاد الأوروبي لمساعدته. فقلص الاتحاد القيود على التجارة، ومدد صندوق النقد الدولي الائتمان للمغرب بموجب حزمة من “الإجراءات” بين عامي 1980 و1993. وكان ذلك مقابل تنفيذ برنامج الإصلاحات الهيكلية الذي تسبب في المزيد من التضخم والبطالة، رغم تطويره السياحة والزراعة الموجهة للتصدير. كما كانت الإعانات السعودية مصدرًا آخر للدعم.

ونتيجة لذلك، بدأت سياسة المغرب الخارجية تميل ناحية الملكيات الخليجية المحافظة والاتحاد الأوروبي. وبلغت العلاقات مع الدول العربية الأخرى أفضل حالاتها عندما تبنى الحسن الثاني سياسة ملتزمة ومعتدلة في نفس الوقت تجاه الصراع الفلسطيني الإسرائيلي، تضمنت زيادة التواصل مع المسؤولين الإسرائيليين، وكبار المفاوضين الفلسطينيين مثل محمود عباس الذي سيكون كبير المفاوضين في أوسلو. كما زودت الولايات المتحدة المغرب بالسلاح. وفي نهاية الثمانينيات، كان الحسن الثاني حليفًا صريحًا للولايات المتحدة ودول الخليج المحافظة.

وحتى يعزل جبهة البوليساريو، سعى الحسن الثاني إلى تحسين العلاقات مع الجزائر التي كانت توشك أموالها على النفاد. كما تمكّن من إصلاح العلاقات مع الجنرال الليبي معمر القذافي. أما بقية الدول العربية فكانت تدعم المغرب في قضية الصحراء، لكن جبهة البوليساريو وجدت الدعم من أماكن أخرى.

وبحلول عام 1984، اعترفت 73 دولة بالجمهورية العربية الصحراوية الديمقراطية، وتمتعت بعضوية كاملة في منظمة الوحدة الإفريقية. وتوحدت جهود منظمة الوحدة الإفريقية والأمم المتحدة عام 1985 وبدأتا عملية سلام. وفي أغسطس 1988، اتفق المغرب وجبهة البوليساريو على خفض عدد القوات في الصحراء تحت إشراف الأمم المتحدة وإجراء استفتاء فيها. ووافقت الحكومة المغربية إذ لم يكن من الواضح من سيقوم بالتصويت في الاستفتاء على وجه الدقة. كما قبلت جبهة البوليساريو بالاتفاق بضغط من الجزائر التي بدورها تعرضت لضغط من السعودية. وفي النهاية عادت العلاقات الدبلوماسية بين الجزائر والمغرب.

الحركات الإسلامية

اتجه الناس نتيجةً للركود السياسي إلى أنشطة أخرى، كان من ضمنها النشاط الإسلامي الذي نما في الثمانينيات، مع قوة تحدي جماعة العدل والإحسان تحت قيادة عبد السلام ياسين وابنته نادية. لكن لم ينجذب كثير من المغاربة إلى الإسلاميين، ويعود ذلك إلى حد ما إلى معارضتهم الطرق الصوفية والشيوخ التقليديين: فقد كان ثمة إحياء صوفي محدود في الثمانينيات. كما شدد الحسن الثاني على دوره بأن يكون أميرًا للمؤمنين. وفي هذا الإطار بنى ثالث أكبر مسجد في العالم في الدار البيضاء.

قضية الأمازيغ

كانت القومية الأمازيغية مصدرًا آخر للهوية المغربية التي قوّتها العلاقات التي كوّنها المغاربة في المهجر الأوروبي. وركز إحياء الثقافة الأمازيغية على السياسات الثقافية واللغوية. ففي أغسطس 1991، طالب ميثاق أكادير حول الحقوق الثقافية واللغوية أن تكون الثقافة الأمازيغية جزءًا من الهوية المغربية الرسمية. ودفع الموقف المحرج بعد اعتقال النشطاء الأمازيغ عام 1994 الحسن الثاني إلى التعهد بتدريس “اللهجات” المغربية في المدارس. وكان القصد من ذلك الحد من التوترات الإثنية، لكن لم يُبذل جهد كبير لتنفيذ تعهد الملك.

حقوق الإنسان

وجد النظام نفسه تحت ضغط لعجزه عن السيطرة على مصادر المعلومات في البلاد. ومع بداية التسعينيات، فتح انتشار أجهزة الفيديو والقنوات الفضائية آفاقًا جديدة في المغرب. وعلت انتقادات ضدّ الحكومة من الداخل والخارج على سجلها الحقوقي. وفي عام 1988، أسس الناشطون المغاربة داخل المغرب المنظمة المغربية لحقوق الإنسان. ولم تكن أول منظمة حقوقية في المغرب، لكن الانفتاح المتزايد في المجتمع المغربي، والضغط الخارجي منحاها القوة. وأصبحت قضية عائلة الجنرال أوفقير المسجونة قضية عالمية عام 1987 وأُطلق سراحهم عام 1991 بعد مظاهرات في فرنسا.

التحضيرات للخلافة

بدا واضحًا أن الهيكل السياسي بحاجة إلى تغيير. وقد وعد الحسن الثاني حليف الغرب بالمساعدة في إخراج صدام حسين من الكويت، لكنه لم يرسل إلا 1200 جندي.

ومع ذلك تظاهر المغاربة ضد مشاركة الملك المحدودة إلى الجانب الأمريكي في حرب الخليج. علاوة على ذلك، كانت هناك إضرابات للاحتجاج على نظام الرواتب والمعاشات والخدمة الاجتماعية. ولما أدرك الحسن الثاني الخطر المحدق على نظامه، بدأ التحضير لانتقال الحكم إلى ابنه محمد في ظل نظام ملكي مستقر واقتصاد معافى. فأُدخلت تعديلات على الدستور عامي 1992 و1996 لتعطي صلاحيات أوسع للبرلمان، وتعد باحترام أكبر لحقوق الإنسان. وبدأ الساسة المنفيون بالعودة. وحظيت خصخصة شركات القطاع العام وتحرير التجارة بدعم اقتصادي متزايد من الاتحاد الأوروبي في نوفمبر 1995.

وأسفرت الأوضاع الجديدة عن انتخابات جرت عام 1996 وكانت أكثر نزاهة من سابقاتها. وفي عام 1998 شكّل عبد الرحمن اليوسفي، زعيم الاتحاد الاشتراكي للقوات الشعبية والعائد من منفاه الطويل في فرنسا، حكومةً ائتلافية، رغم بقاء وزارة الداخلية في يد إدريس البصري. ومع ذلك كانت مهمة الإصلاح ما تزال في بدايتها. فقد بلغ نصيب الفرد في الناتج الإجمالي المحلي 1,227 دولار عام 1997، وكان يعيش أكثر من نصف السكان بأقل من دولار يوميًا، وكانت نسبة الأميين 50% على الأقل من السكان، و17% منهم كانوا عاطلين عن العمل.

وتُوفي الحسن الثاني عام 1999 تاركًا سياسات التغيير الحقيقي لابنه محمد السادس.

قراءة متعمقة

Donate
Chronicle of the Middle East and North Africa

Morocco: Preparations for Regime Change (1980-2000)

Preparations for Regime Change
The coffin of King Hassan II of Morocco is carried into the mausoleum where he will be buried in Rabat 25 July 1999. King Hassan died at the age of 70, 23 July, after a 38-year rule. MANOOCHER DEGHATI / AFP

Introduction

King Hassan had failed to crush POLISARIO, but the annexation of the former Spanish Sahara greatly strengthened his regime. It gave him the opportunity to rebuild his legitimacy. The government presented it as a resurrection, restoring the unity of historic Morocco that colonialism had fragmented. All the nationalist parties, even those on the left, supported the ‘Green March’ in October 1975, and they supported the war against POLISARIO. All opposition to the Sahara war was ruthlessly repressed. And although the war was immensely expensive, even that helped the regime too, because it made Morocco reliant on Western powers that wanted a stable local ally in North Africa.

Remaking the Political System

The support of the nationalist parties allowed them to be re-incorporated into the parliamentary system. Istiqlal restructured itself, the Union National des Forces Populaires (UNFP) renamed itself the Union Socialiste des Forces of Populaires (USFP) and even the banned Communist Party was allowed to re-launch itself as the Parti du Progrès et Socialisme. In the 1977 elections all these parties were given seats.

In 1978 many of the independents who were elected to parliament were welded together in a new party, the Rassemblement national des indépendants led by Ahmed Osman, a brother in law of the king. However, the security services treated brutally those who refused to be incorporated – the Marxist-Leninist left and the early Islamist movement. In 1974, Shaykh Abd al-Salam Yasin questioned whether the king was really a Muslim, and was imprisoned. When he was released in 1979 the Iranian Revolution had encouraged Islamic radicalism.

Opposition

Although opposition to the Saharan war was muted, there were plenty of protests against unemployment and inflation. Harvests were poor. There were serious riots in 1980, 1981 and 1984 when many people were killed. The 1980s were the high-point of the ‘Years of Lead’ (Les années de plomb) when a violent, oppressive state rounded up and tortured Islamists, political dissidents, democracy activists and others the king considered his enemies. Among them were the young children of General Oufkir, the presumed leader of the 1972 coup attempt. Malika Oufkir later described her experiences in a best-selling book, La Prisonnière (Stolen Lives). Other victims wrote books describing the secret prison at Tazmamart in the Atlas Mountains, which became a symbol of state oppression.

Foreign Support for the Regime

Morocco turned to the European Union (EU) for help. The EU reduced restrictions on trade, and the International Monetary Fund (IMF) extended credit under a series of ‘arrangements’ between 1980 and 1993. The price for this help was a programme of structural adjustments that brought increased inflation and unemployment, though export-led agriculture and tourism developed well. Huge subsidies from Saudi Arabia formed another source of aid.

As a result, Moroccan foreign policy was increasingly aligned with the conservative Gulf monarchies and the European Union. Better relations with other Arab countries came when the king adopted an engaged but moderate policy towards the Palestinian-Israeli conflict, with increasing contacts with senior Israelis as well as important Palestinian negotiators like Mahmoud Abbas (later a senior negotiator at Oslo). The Americans supplied arms. By the end of the 1980s, King Hassan was clearly an ally of the US and the conservative Gulf States.

To isolate POLISARIO, the king sought better relations with Algeria, which was running out of money. He even managed to repair links with Libya’s Colonel Gaddafi. Other Arab regimes generally supported Morocco over the Sahara, but POLISARIO found support elsewhere.

By 1984, 73 states recognised the SADR, which was a full member of the Organization of African unity (OAU). In 1985, the OAU and the United Nations (UN) joined forces and started a peace process. In August 1988, Morocco and POLISARIO agreed to a UN-supervised reduction of troops in the Sahara and a referendum. The Moroccan government agreed, as it was still not clear who would be eligible to vote in the referendum. POLISARIO conceded under pressure from Algeria, which was itself coerced by Saudi Arabia. Finally, Algeria and Morocco resumed diplomatic relations.

Islamism

Due to political stagnation, people began to turn to other sorts of action. One was Islamic activism which grew in the 1980s, with a vigorous challenge from the al-Adl wa al-Ihsan (Justice and Charity-JC) group led by Abd al-Salam Yasin and his daughter Nadia. Many Moroccans found the Islamists unattractive, partly because they rejected the tariqas and local religious notables: there was a minor Sufi revival in the 1980s. Also, King Hassan placed an increasing emphasis on his role as ‘Commander of the Faithful’, including building the third largest mosque in the world in Casablanca.

Amazigh Action

Another source of identity was Amazigh nationalism, encouraged by the contacts Moroccan migrants made in Europe. The Amazigh cultural revival essentially focussed on cultural and linguistic policies. In August 1991, the Agadir Charter for Linguistic and Cultural Rights, demanded that Amazigh culture be part of the country’s official narrative. When in 1994 Amazigh activists were arrested, the King was embarrassed into pledging that Moroccan “dialects” would be taught in Moroccan schools. The intention was to limit ethnic tensions and very little was done to put the king’s words into effect.

Human Rights

The regime was under pressure as it could not control the sources of information in the country. By the beginning of the 1990s, video and then satellite television opened up new horizons. The government was increasingly criticised for its human rights record, both from outside the country as well as inside. In 1988, Moroccan activists inside Morocco set up the Organisation Marocain des Droits de l’Homme. This was not the first human rights organisation in Morocco, but the growing openness of Moroccan society, and outside pressure gave it strength. The cause of General Oufkir’s incarcerated family became an international issue in 1987 and they were released in 1991 after French protests.

Preparations for Succession

It was clear the political structure had to change. Loyal to the western alliance, King Hassan promised help to expel Saddam Hussein from Kuwait, although he only sent a symbolic force of 1,200 troops.

Nevertheless, Moroccans protested against King Hassan’s very limited involvement on the US side in the Gulf War. In addition, there were strikes over pay, pensions and social services. Realising the risk to his regime, King Hassan began to prepare to hand over the reign to his son, Sidi Muhammad, with a stable kingdom and a sound economy. The constitution was reshaped twice – in 1992 and 1996 – giving more power to parliament and promising a greater respect for human rights. Exiled politicians began to return. Privatisation of state enterprises and liberalisation of trade won increased economic aid from the EU in November 1995.

The new mood led to elections, held in 1996, that were much fairer than before. In 1998 Abderrahmane Youssoufi, the leader of the USFP, who was a long time exile in France, formed a coalition government, although the Interior Ministry remained in the hands of the feared Driss Basri, the former head of the security services Even so, the task had only just begun. In 1997, GDP per capita was USD 1,227, half the population lived on less than USD 1 a day, at least 50 per cent of the population was illiterate and 17 per cent was unemployed.

King Hassan died in 1999 leaving the politics of real change to his son, Muhammad VI.

Further Reading