تبرع
وقائع الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا
ابحث في fanack.com
Please enter search keyword.

المغرب: الصحراء الغربية

المغرب: الصحراء الغربية
صورة لجدارية في الرباط (2004) كُتب عليها “الصحراء المغربية” لتبرز مطالبات المغاربة بالسيادة على هذا الإقليم. المصدر: C.R. Pennell

المقدمة

تمتع المغرب والصحراء الإسبانية بثروة هائلة من الفوسفات. لذلك طمح مشروع الملك الحسن الثاني السياسي في منتصف السبعينيات الى دمج المناطق الإسبانية لإنشاء احتكار تصدير الفوسفات من جانب، وكذلك تأكيدًا للادعاء القومي بأن المناطق الممتدة في الجنوب جزء من المغرب. ونجحت المفاوضات الدبلوماسية في يونيو 1969 في إقناع الحكومة الإسبانية بالتخلي عن منطقة سيدي إفني في أقصي الجنوب المغربي. وبعد وفاة فرانكو، افتقدت الحكومة الإسبانية الجديدة الإرادة للإبقاء على الصحراء الإسبانية.

وفي عام 1973، أسس جماعة من الطلاب الصحراويين حركة قومية أسموها الجبهة الشعبية لتحرير الساقية الحمراء ووادي الذهب (البوليساريو)، وبدأت فورًا بمهاجمة المواقع العسكرية الإسبانية. وفي أكتوبر 1974، أفسدت الحزام الناقل للفوسفات من مناجم بوكراع وأوقفت تصديره. ولما أدركت الحكومة الإسبانية استحالة الإبقاء على الصحراء، أصرت على منح “حق تقرير المصير” للمستعمرة وإجراء استفتاء يتضمن خيار الاستقلال. لكن هذه الخطوة لم تحظ بدعم الحكومة المغربية أو الموريتانية.

صفقات سرية

اتفق الملك الحسن الثاني والرئيس الموريتاني المختار ولد داداه سرًا على تقسيم الصحراء الغربية بعد مغادرة الإسبان.

كما طالب الحسن الثاني محكمة العدل الدولية بالفصل في قانونية ادعاء المغرب وموريتانيا السيادة على الصحراء. وهل كانت المنطقة “أرضًا مشاعًا” لا تتبع دولة عندما استعمرها الإسبان؟ وإن لم تكن كذلك، فما الصلة القانونية التي تربط سكانها بسكان المغرب وموريتانيا؟

ودفع المحامون المغربيون بولاء المنطقة الديني التاريخي للسلطان. أما الحكومة الموريتانية فدفعت بهوية تاريخية مشتركة بين قبائل المنطقتين. لكن المحكمة اكتفت بإصدار رأي استشاري لرفض إسبانيا الاحتكام إليها.

وفي أكتوبر 1975، صدر رأي محكمة العدل الدولية بأن الراوبط التاريخية بين المغرب وموريتانيا وسكان الصحراء الغربية ليست روابط سيادية، ومن ثم فإن للسكان الحق في تقرير المصير.

المسيرة الخضراء

سعى الحسن الثاني سريعًا إلى مخالفة رأي المحكمة. فنظمت حكومته في نوفمبر 1975 “المسيرة الخضراء” لتعبر الحدود وتطالب بالمستعمرة. ومن الواضح أن المطالبة بضم الصحراء لقيت شعبية بين المغاربة، إذ شارك في المسيرة أكثر من نصف مليون مغربي.

فرض الحكم المغربي على الصحراء الغربية

نهاية الحكم الإسباني في الصحراء الكبرى
مقاتل صحراوي خلال عرض للبوليساريو في الذكرى الثلاثين للنضال الطويل من أجل الاستقلال / Photo HH

اتفق الحسن الثاني مع إسبانيا وموريتانيا على جعل المناطق الشمالية من المستعمرة مغربية والمناطق الجنوبية موريتانية رغم إصدار مجلس الأمن التابع للأمم المتحدة قرارات تستنكر المسيرة الخضراء. وفي 12 يناير 1976، احتلت القوات المغربية والجيش الموريتاني الصغير المناطق المتفق عليها.

ولم تستطع جبهة البوليساريو صدهم، لكنها بدأت، بدعم من الجزائر ردّ عصابات انطلقت من مخيمات اللاجئين في تندوف المتاخمة للحدود الجزائرية. وعندما انتهى الحكم الإسباني في 26 فبراير 1976، اعترفت الحكومة الجزائرية بقيام الجمهورية العربية الصحراوية الديمقراطية من مخيمات اللاجئين، وأمدتها بالسلاح والتدريب، وانضمّ العديد من القبائل الصحراوية -وقد قُدّرت بنحو نصف السكان- إليها في المخيمات، وسرعان ما استسلم الجيش الموريتاني. وفي عام 1979، توسطت الحكومة الجزائرية للتوصل إلى اتفاق تسقط به موريتانيا جميع مطالبها، لتعود بعدها القوات المغربية وتحتل المناطق الموريتانية.

وكانت الجزائر وليبيا الدولتين العربيتين الوحيدتين اللتين دعمتا جبهة البوليساريو دبلوماسيًا.. لكن حرب العصابات حققت نجاحًا كبيرًا. فقد عطلت جبهة البوليساريو الحزام الناقل لصخور الفوسفات وهاجمت منطقة العيون. وخلال العامين التاليين، أخرجت جبهة البوليساريو الجيش المغربي من المناطق الداخلية، ووصلت هجماتها إلى داخل المغرب. ولم تستطع الجبهة إجبار القوات المغربية على الانسحاب، لكن هجماتها العصابية على العاصمة الموريتانية نواكشوط، ومناجم الحديد التي تشكل نسبة كبيرة من دخل موريتانيا القومي، أدّت بها إلى الإفلاس.

وفي يوليو 1978، أطاح الجيش الموريتاني بالرئيس ولد داداه وقبِل عرضًا بوقف إطلاق النار من جبهة البوليساريو. واعترفت الحكومة الموريتانية في إبريل 1979 بعد انقلاب آخر بجبهة البوليساريو “ممثلًا شرعيًا وحيدًا عن الشعب الصحراوي”، وتخلت عن مطالبها. لكن الجيش المغربي تحرك جنوبًا واحتل ما بقي من المستعمرة الإسبانية السابقة.

السيطرة المغربية على الصحراء الغربية

لمواجهة النجاحات المتزايدة لقوات البوليساريو، تبنت الحكومة المغربية منذ عام 1979 استراتيجية ديمغرافية تمثلت في نقل سكان المغرب بشكل موسّع إلى المنطقة. بعضهم انتقل من المناطق الصحرواية المغربية في الجنوب إلى الشمال. كما انتقل الموظفون العموميون والعمال المهرة والأطباء والمدرسون من جميع أنحاء المغرب إلى المنطقة.

كما وفرت الحكومة منذ منتصف الثمانينيات فرصًا اقتصادية (إعانات، وإعفاءات ضريبية، وأجورًا مرتفعة مقارنةً ببقية مناطق المغرب) لإغراء المهاجرين ممن يمكنهم النهوض بالصحراء. وبالفعل ارتفع تعداد السكان فيها من 74,000 (حسب التعداد الإسباني لعام 1974) إلى 622,651 اليوم. ولم يندمج المهاجرون مع الصحراويين، لكنهم شكلوا غالبية السكان في المدن الرئيسة في الصحراء الغربية. وتعرّض الصحراويون للتهميش.

وكانت الاستراتيجية الأخرى عسكرية إذ شُيّد جدار دفاعي ضخم من الرمل عبر الصحراء بطول 300 ميل، وارتفاع سبعة أقدام، ومزود بأسلاك شائكة ورادارات. وبحلول عام 1982، كان هذا السياج قد أخرج جبهة البوليساريو خارج “الصحراء المفيدة” التي تضم منطقتي العيون والسمارة ومناجم الفوسفات. وفي عام 1985، بُني المزيد من الجدران في مناطق أخرى مستبعدة عصابات البوليساريو من أغلب مناطق المستعمرة الإسبانية السابقة. كانت هذه السياسة باهظة التكلفة لكن الحكومة السعودية تحملت التكلفة.

أصبحت مسألة الصحراء مركزية لبقاء الدولة المغربية. ولم يسامح الملك من عارض الحرب الصحراوية، وأنزل أبشع أنواع القمع بهم.

قراءة متعمقة

Donate
Chronicle of the Middle East and North Africa

Morocco: The Western Sahara

Morocco: The Western Sahara
This elaborate wall painting in Rabat (2004) accentuates the size of the letters to say “The Moroccan Sahara” (in the green part of the map), representing the conception of Moroccan claims over the territory. Photo C.R. Pennell

Introduction

Morocco was enormously rich in phosphates. So was the Spanish Sahara, and the opportunity to create an export monopoly was one consideration behind King Hassan’s great political project from the mid-1970s: to incorporate the Spanish territory. Another motivation was the long-standing nationalist claim to territories stretching far to the south. Diplomatic negotiations had already persuaded the Spanish government to abandon the tiny territory of Ifni in the far south of Morocco in June 1969. After Franco died, the new Spanish government lacked the will to hang onto the Spanish Sahara.

In 1973 a group of Saharan students set up a nationalist movement, the Frente Popular para la Liberación de Saguia el-Hamra y Río de Oro (POLISARIO). It soon began attacking remote Spanish military posts and then, in October 1974, POLISARIO sabotaged the conveyor belt to the Bu Craa mines and stopped the export of phosphates. Realising that it would be impossible to hold onto the Sahara, the Spanish government insisted on ‘self-determination’ for the colony, with a referendum to include the option of independence. Neither the Moroccan, nor the Mauritanian governments supported the move.

Secret Deals

King Hassan and the Mauritanian President, Moktar Ould Daddah, secretly agreed to divide Western Sahara after the Spanish left.

Hassan also asked the International Court of Justice (ICJ) to rule on the legality of Moroccan and Mauritanian claims to sovereignty. Was the territory ‘terra nullius’ (subject to no state) when the Spanish colonised it? If it was not, what legal ties linked its inhabitants with those of Morocco and Mauritania?

Moroccan lawyers argued for a historic religious allegiance to the sultan. The Mauritanian government said there was a common historic identity between the tribes of the two territories. Because the Spanish government refused to accept the ICJ’s jurisdiction, the court could give only an advisory opinion, not a judgement.

In October 1975 the ICJ opinion found that the historic links between Morocco and Mauritania and the inhabitants of the Western Sahara were not ties of sovereignty, so the population had the right to self-determination.

The Green March

King Hassan moved quickly to undermine the judgment. In November 1975, his government organised a ‘Green March’ across the border to claim the colony. Over half a million Moroccans took part: the claim to the Sahara was clearly a popular one in Morocco.

Imposing Moroccan Rule on the Western Sahara

The End of Spanish Rule in the Sahara
Saharawi figther during a POLISARIO parade commemorating 30 year long struggle for independence / Photo HH

Although the UN Security Council passed resolutions deploring the March, King Hassan made an agreement with Spain and Mauritania making the northern part of the colony Moroccan and the southern part Mauritanian. By 12 January 1976, Moroccan troops and the tiny Mauritanian army had occupied their allotted areas.

POLISARIO could not stop them, and with Algerian help, began a guerrilla campaign from its bases in the refugee camps in Tindouf, just across the Algerian border. On 26 February 1976, Spanish rule ended. A Saharan Arab Democratic Republic (SADR), based in the refugee camps was recognised by the Algerian government , which supplied weapons and training and several Sahraoui tribes, by some estimates almost half the population, moved to the camps to join them.

The Mauritanian army soon gave up, and, in 1979, the Algerian government brokered an agreement under which Mauritania dropped all its claims. Moroccan troops then occupied the Mauritanian zone.

Algeria and Libya were the only Arab states to support POLISARIO diplomatically. However, the guerrilla campaign was very successful. POLISARIO disabled the phosphate-rock conveyor belt and attacked Laayoune. During the next two years, POLISARIO expelled the Moroccan army from inland posts and even operated far into Morocco itself. They could not force the Moroccan forces to leave, but guerrilla attacks on the Mauritanian capital, Nouakchott, and the iron mines that provided most of the national income, drove Mauritania to bankruptcy.

In July 1978, the army overthrew the Mauritanian president Ould Daddah and then accepted a cease-fire offer from POLISARIO. In April 1979, after another coup, the Mauritanian government recognised POLISARIO as the ‘sole legitimate representative of the Saharan people’, and renounced its claim. The Moroccan army moved south and occupied the rest of the former Spanish colony.

Moroccan Control of the Western Sahara

To cope with the increasingly effective POLISARIO forces, after 1979 the Moroccan government adopted a demographic strategy: a large-scale transfer of population into the region. Some came from the Sahara regions of Morocco, just to the north. Civil servants, skilled workers, health professionals, and teachers were sent from all over Morocco.

From the mid-1980s, the government provided economic opportunities (subsidies, tax exemptions, and higher salaries than elsewhere in Morocco) to entice migrants who would help develop the Sahara. The number of inhabitants increased from 74,000 (Spanish census, 1974) to 622, 651 today. The immigrants never really fused with the local people but they became the majority of the population in the main cities of the Western Sahara. Indigenous Sahraoui were marginalised.

Another strategy was military: building a vast defensive wall of sand (known as the ‘berm’) across the desert, three hundred miles long, seven feet high, and protected by barbed wire and radar. By 1982, this perimeter had shut POLISARIO out of the ‘useful Sahara’: Laayoune, al-Samara, and the phosphate mines. Then new walls were built, further out, excluding POLISARIO guerrillas from most of the old Spanish colony by 1985. This was an extremely expensive policy but the Saudi Arabian government underwrote the cost.

The Saharan question had become central to the survival of the Moroccan state. The King made no allowances for those who opposed the Saharan War, and the most savage repression was directed against them.

Further Reading