تبرع
وقائع الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

المغرب: السلالات البربرية: المرابطون (1040 – 1147)

المرابطون المغرب
المصدر: @Fanack

في بداية القرن الحادي عشر، توحدت الدويلات المغربية تحت لواء أولى الإمبراطوريتين الإسلاميتين المغربيتين. وخلال القرنين التاليين، توحدت إفريقيا الشمالية الشرقية بفعل الحركات السياسية الناشئة في الصحارى والجبال بدلاً من الساحل والسهول.

وحّد الإسلام قبائل الصحراء من خلال التجارة والحروب الدينية، غير أنّ الدين لم يكن قويماً. وفي منتصف القرن الحادي عشر، دعا زعيم قبيلة جدالة، إحدى أقوى قبائل الصحراء، أحد الدعاة لتعليم أفراد قبيلته أصول الدين القويم. كان هذا الداعية عبد الله بن ياسين، وكانت تعاليمه متزمتة للغاية إلى حد طرده من القبيلة. فلجأ مع بعض أتباعه إلى رباط، حصن و/أو مركز ديني، وأسسوا جماعة منظمة عُرفت بحركة المرابطين، أي “المقيمين في رباط” أو “القوم المرتبطين بالتقوى”.

لنشر رسالته على نطاق أوسع، تحالف بن ياسين مع قبائل صحرواية أخرى لتوحيد الإسلام على طرفي الصحراء، وذلك من خلال التحكم بطرق التجارة الصحراوية.

وتمكنوا من الاستيلاء على سجلماسة عام 1053 وعلى أوداغست في الطرف الجنوبي من الصحراء عام 1054. بحلول عام 1058 هزم أحد أهم قادة بن ياسين، أبو بكر بن عمر، مملكة أغمات الصغيرة شمال الأطلس الكبير. وهناك تزوج من زينب، أرملة حاكم أغمات الجميلة التي أُلهمت أنها ستتزوج فقط الرجل الذي يغزو المغرب كله. أسس أبو بكر قاعدة عسكرية أسماها “مراكش” قرب أغمات، ربما عام 1070، غير أنّه ترك زوجته وعاد إلى القتال في الصحراء. فتولى قريبه يوسف بن تاشفين القيادة وتزوج زينب محققاً نبوءتها، واحتل باقي المغرب وأسس إمبراطورية جديدة.

عام 1075، تحركت جيوش بن تاشفين الكبيرة شمالاً واستولت على فاس، حيث بدأ برنامج بناء كبير، فشيد المطاحن والحمّامات والفنادق (كاروانسرا). بحلول عام 1082، حكم تلمسان ووهران والجزائر. عام 1083، استولى المرابطون على سبتة وتهيأوا لعبور المضيق. تم تقسيم الأندلس بين صغار الأمراء الذين كانوا ضعفاء جداً لصد تقدم المسيحيين. فطلب ملك إشبيلية، عباد الثاني المعتضد، مساعدة المرابطين. وفي 23 تشرين الأول/أكتوبر عام 1806 أوقفوا التقدم المسيحي في الزلاقة، شمال شرق بطليوس.

كان المرابطون من السنّة الذين فسّروا القرآن حرفياً. ولم يقدم تشددهم القائم على النخبوية القانونية الكثير للشعب سوى الضرائب التي ينص عليها القرآن. جذبت مراكش علماء الإسلام من جميع أنحاء البلاد، غير أنّ ضيق أفق المرابطين اصطدم بالصوفية وبالكتابات الصوفية التي تطورت في نهاية القرن الحادي عشر. وكان فن عمارة المرابطين رائع الجمال، غير أنّها هُدمت على يد الموحدين الذين أتوا بعدهم: كانت مساحة القصر الهائل في مراكش تقدر بـ 9600 م2. وكل ما تبقى هو النظام المتقدم لقنوات الري تحت الأرض (الخطارات) التي كانت تروي الحدائق حول مراكش والأسوار العظيمة.

بدأت سلالة المرابطين بالانحدار في عهد علي بن يوسف (1106-1143)، الذي كان عالماً في الدين أكثر منه جندياً. وانقسمت الإمبراطورية إلى صحراوية ومغربية، مما حرم مراكش من اليد العاملة، مع بقاء التجارة غير مقيدة. استنفذت الحرب في الأندلس العمالة والمال. لم يستطع تاشفين بن علي (1143-1145) مقاومة المسيحيين في شبه جزيرة أيبيريا، وفي المغرب واجه “مهدياً” بربرياً جديداً.

Donate
Chronicle of the Middle East and North Africa

Morocco: Berber Dynasties: the Almoravids (1040 – 1147)

Berber Dynasties: the Almoravids
The Almoravid and Almohad Empires. Source: C.R. Pennell

Introduction

At the start of the 11th century, the Moroccan statelets were united by the first of two great Moroccan Muslim empires. For two centuries, northwest Africa would be united by political movements originating in the deserts and mountains, not the coast and plains. These empires were Amazigh, rather than Arab.

Islam had unified the desert tribes through trade and religious warfare, but the religion was not very orthodox, and trade was riven by rivalries. In the mid-11th century, Yahya bin Ibrahim, the leader of a powerful desert tribe, the Gudala, recruited a preacher to instruct his people in orthodox Islam. He was Abdallah ibn Yasin, and his teachings were so rigorous that the Gudala expelled him. In about 1030, he and some like-minded followers found refuge in a ribat, a fortified post or religious centre on the edge of the desert, and set up a highly disciplined society.

They were known as al-Murabitun, ‘people who dwell in a ribat‘, or ‘people who are bound together in piety’. The English name ‘Almoravid’ derives from it. Through rigour and purity of spirit they wanted to establish a just society by “condemning evil and proclaiming good.” They used force, undertaking a jihad hat unified the Sahara and made them rich.

The spread of the Almoravids

Ibn Yasin spread his message by allying with other Saharan tribes. After seizing control of the desert trade routes they unified Sijilmasa, which they took in 1053, with Aoudaghost on the southern side of the Sahara, which they occupied in 1054. By 1058 Ibn Yasin’s most important general, Abu Bakr ibn Umar, had defeated the small kingdom of Aghmat, near modern Marrakesh. There he married Zaynab, the beautiful widow of its last ruler, who had prophesied she would marry only the man who conquered all Morocco. Abu Bakr founded a military base called Marrakesh, near Aghmat, probably in 1070, but abandoned his wife and returned to fighting in the desert.

Abu Bakr’s cousin, Yusuf ibn Tashfin, took over as leader, and in 1075 used his huge army to take Fez, where he began a huge building programme, including mills, baths, and fondouks (urban caravanserais). He then married al-Zaynab, and founded a new empire, fulfilling the prophecy. By 1082, he ruled western Algeria and in 1083, he took Ceuta. Over the Strait, where the princelings of Al-Andalus were too weak and divided to fight the advancing Christians, the King of Seville, Abbad II al-Mutadid, asked the Almoravids for help. On 23 October 1086 they halted the Christian advance at Zallaca, north-east of Badajoz.

Almoravid culture

The Almoravids were Sunnis who interpreted the Koran literally. Their austere morality, which was based on a rigorous adherence to legalistic interpretations enforced from above, imposed strictly Koranic (and thus lower) taxes. These lower taxes had won them support. Marrakesh attracted Islamic scholars from many places, but the Almoravids’ narrow-mindedness collided with the Sufi mysticism that was developing at the end of the 11th century, and with it, its Sufi writings. Almoravid architecture was impressive. They surrounded Marrakesh with massive defensive walls and an elaborate system of underground irrigation channels (khattara) to water the gardens. The huge palace was estimated to cover 9,600 square metres and, as a sign of humility, Yusuf ibn Tashfin himself worked alongside masons building the great mosque. The Almohads destroyed the palace and mosques when they defeated the Almoravids.

BERBER DYNASTIES
Well head in a Moroccan oasis. Photo: C.R. Pennell

Almoravid collapse

During the reign of Yusuf’s son Ali (1106-1143), decline set in. Yusuf was more a scholar than a soldier and the family was split by rivalries. The empire was divided into its Saharan and Maghrebi parts, depriving Marrakesh of manpower, although trade continued unfettered. Warfare in al-Andalus drained both manpower and finances. Tashfin ibn Ali 1143-1145) could not resist the Christians in Iberia, and in Morocco he faced a new Berber ‘prophet’.

Further Reading