تبرع
وقائع الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

المغرب: بنو مرين (1245 – 1358)

بنو مرين
ساحة مدرسة ألو العنانية في فاس. المصدر: HH

كان بنو مرين قبيلة بربرية في جيش الموحدين. وهم من البدو الرحل الذين استوطنوا شمال شرق المغرب، وبسطوا سيطرتهم على الجبال حول فاس وتازة مع تداعي سلطة الموحدين، كما احتلوا مكناس عام 1245. وبحلول عام 1269، كان بنو مرين قد احتلوا معظم المغرب الحالية. ونظراً إلى أنّهم لم يتوسعوا شرقاً أو يقوموا بأي دور عسكري دائم في إسبانيا، يمكن اعتبارهم المؤسسين الفعليين للمغرب. وعلى خلاف المرابطين والموحدين، لم تكن المرينية حركة دينية إصلاحية، وإنما صادقوا العلماء وشددوا على التعاليم الدينية القويمة والعلوم التي شجعوها من خلال إدخالهم “المدرسة” التي انتشرت في مصر في عهد صلاح الدين. وكانت المدارس مؤسسات للطلاب الداخليين (حيث يعيش الطلاب)، تقوم على المساعدات، وتدرّس الكتب الإسلامية. وشكلت تلك خطوة هامة في توحيد معايير التنشئة الإسلامية في المدن.

وكان الريف والجبال والصحارى مواطن الطرق الدينية الصوفية التي تعاظمت قوتها سريعاً. ادعى العديد من زعماء تلك الجماعات (الشرفاء) نسبهم للنبي محمد وانتماءهم فكرياً إلى المعلم الصوفي العظيم عبد السلام بن مشيش (توفي عام 1227)، والذي كان ضريحه أحد مواقع الحج الأكثر قدسية في جبل العلم في جبالة. ولأن الطرق الصوفية كانت قوية جداً، حاول المرينيون بشكل عام الاندماج مع الشرفاء والصوفيين من خلال مصاهرتهم.

تنعكس سلطة المرينيين الدينية والسياسة في عاصمتهم فاس، حيث بنوا مدينة جديدة إلى جانب المدينة القديمة لإسكان موظفيهم وجنودهم. وكانت محصنة تحصيناً عظيماً بأسوار سميكة ذات شرفات وعدد قليل من البوابات القوية كانت تغلق بإحكام ليلاً. واتبعوا ذات النمط في قلعة شالة-سلا التي بنوها خارج الرباط. وكانت المدارس المباني الدينية الأكثر إثارة للإعجاب، كتلك التي بناها السلطان أبو عنان فارس (1348-1358) في مكناس وفاس، وسوق العطارين في فاس الذي أظهر أهمية التجارة في اقتصاد المرينيين. وكانت فاس المركز الاقتصادي الرئيسي، نظراً إلى أن طرق الذهب في الصحراء الكبرى تحولت نحو الشرق، مما أدى إلى انحدار مراكش. واشتُهرت فاس بصناعة الجلود والملابس.

بلغت سلطة سلالة المرينيين ذروتها في عهد السلطان أبو عنان فارس، الذي مات خنقاً على يد وزيره، مما أدى إلى نشوب صراع طويل بين السلاطين والوزراء. وفي نهاية المطاف، أصبح المرينيون ضعفاء إلى حد أن حاكم غرناطة تحكّم بالدولة، قالباً بذلك المقاييس: إذ كان حكام الأندلس يعتمدون على المغرب في الماضي.

كانت غرناطة آخر النقاط الإسلامية في الأندلس، ونقلت البرتغال وقشتالة حروب الاسترداد إلى إفريقيا. عام 1415، استولى البرتغاليون على سبتة، ومن ثم على سلسلة من القلاع على ساحل الأطلسي: القصر الصغير (1458)، وأصيلة وطنجة (1471). واستولى الأسبان على سانتا كروز دي لامار بيكينيا قرب أغادير عام 1476. وبدأت السلالة المرينية بالانهيار. احتكرت قبيلة بني الوطاس البربرية منصب الوزير. وعام 1472، أعلن أحد أفرادها نفسه سلطاناً. بعد سقوط غرناطة (1492)، استولى الأسبان على مليلية في أقصى الشمال الشرقي عام 1497، وصخرة الحسيمة وجزيرتين صغيرتين قريبتين منها عام 1559، وصخرة قميرة في الغرب عام 1564. في حين سيطر البرتغاليون على الساحل الأطلسي باحتلالهم لأرغين (موريتانيا الحالية، 1499) وآنفا (الدار البيضاء الحالية، 1458) وأغادير (1505) وآسفي (1507) وأزمّور (1513) ومازاغان (الجديدة) (1515).

جلبت نهاية حرب الاسترداد المسيحية في شبه جزيرية أيبيريا غزواً من نوع آخر: لجأت موجات من اللاجئين من شبه جزيرة أيبيريا إلى المغرب واستوطنت المدن الساحلية الشمالية. ولم يكن جميعهم من المسلمين، فقد كان بينهم 10,000 يهودي على الأقل. أدت خسارة أيبيريا والغزو المسيحي للساحل إلى موجة من المشاعر الجهادية عبر المغرب، بشكل خاص في الجنوب قرب الجيوب البرتغالية الرئيسية. تزعّم هذه الحركة الشرفاء والطرق الصوفية، التحالف الذي وضع أساس سلالة جديدة.

في هذه المقالة: المغرب | التاريخ

Donate
Chronicle of the Middle East and North Africa

Morocco: The Banu Marin (1245 – 1358)

Morocco: The Banu Marin
Bou Inania Madrasa court, Fez. Photo: HH

The Banu Marin was a Berber tribe in the Almohad army. Originally nomads from north-eastern Morocco, they dominated Fez and Taza’s mountains as Almohad power faltered and occupied Meknes in 1245. By 1269, they had conquered most of what would become Morocco. Because they did not expand eastwards or play any lasting military role in Spain, they can be called Morocco’s real founders. Unlike the Almoravids or Almohads, the Marinids were not a reformist religious movement. Instead, they befriended the scholars and emphasized religious orthodoxy and scholarship, which they encouraged by introducing Saladin’s Egypt’s madrasa. Madrasas were residential colleges where students lived, supported by charity, and studied the great Islamic texts. It was a major step in the standardization of Islam in the cities.

The countryside, mountains, and deserts were home to Sufi religious brotherhoods (tariqas) growing rapidly stronger. Many of their leaders (called sharifs) claimed blood descent from the Prophet Muhammad and, intellectually, from the great Sufi teacher Abd al-Salam ibn Mashish (d. ca. 1227) tomb is at Jabal Alam, in the Jebala, was one of the holiest pilgrimage sites. Because the tariqas were so powerful, the Marinids generally tried to incorporate the sharifs and Sufis by marrying into their families.

The Marinids’ religious and political authority can be seen in their capital of Fez, where they built a virtually new city beside the old one to house their bureaucracy and soldiers. It was heavily fortified, with thick crenelated walls and a few strong gates closed securely at night. They used the same pattern at Salé-Chella, their fortified necropolis just outside Rabat. Otherwise, their most impressive religious buildings were madrasas such as those built by Sultan Abu Inan Faris (1348-1358) in Meknes and Fez and the Suq al-attarin (spice market) in Fez, which demonstrated the importance of trade in the Marinid economy. Fez was the main economic center because the gold routes through the Sahara had shifted eastwards, and Marrakesh declined. The leatherwork and cloth of Fez were famous.

The reign of Abu Inan Faris was the zenith of the Marinid dynasty. He was strangled by his chief minister (wazir), and a long struggle between sultans and wazirs began. Eventually, the Marinids became so weak that Granada’s ruler effectively controlled the state, a reversal of the past, when the rulers of al-Andalus had been dependent on Morocco.

Granada was the last Muslim outpost in al-Andalus, and Portugal and Castile pursued the Reconquista into Africa. In 1415 the Portuguese took Ceuta and then a series of fortresses on the Atlantic coast: Ksar es-Seghir (al-Qasr al-Saghir) (1458), Asila, and Tangier (1471). The Spanish took Santa Cruz de la Mar Pequeña near Agadir in 1476. The Marinid dynasty began to break up. The Berber tribe of the Banu Wattas monopolized wazir’s position, and, in 1472, one of them declared himself sultan. After the fall of Granada (1492), the Spanish took Melilla in the far north-east in 1497, Peñon de Alhucemas and two nearby islets in 1559, and Peñon de Vélez in the west in 1564, while the Portuguese seized control of the Atlantic coast by occupying Arguin (in modern Mauritania, 1499), Anfa (modern Casablanca, 1458), Agadir (1505), Safi (1507), Azemmour (1513), and Mazagan (al-Jedida) (1515).

The end of the Christian Reconquista in Iberia brought an invasion of another kind: a flood of refugees from the Iberian peninsula sought refuge in Morocco and settled in the north’s coastal cities. Not all were Muslim – there were at least 10,000 Jews. The loss of Iberia and the Christian invasion of the coast led to a wave of jihadist feeling across Morocco, particularly in the south, near the main Portuguese enclaves. The sharifs and the tariqas were led by an alliance that laid the foundation for a new dynasty.