تبرع
وقائع الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا
ابحث في fanack.com
Please enter search keyword.

المنازل العراقيّة التّقليديّة ذات الفناء، تراث ثقافيّ خلّاب

المنازل العراقيّة التّقليديّة
تظهر هذه الصورة منظر لشرفات المباني القديمة على امتداد شارع الرشيد وسط العاصمة العراقية بغداد. يعتبر شارع الرشيد من أقدم وأشهر شوارع العاصمة العراقية حيث ما زالت المباني التاريخية القديمة قائمة. احمد الربيعي / وكالة الصحافة الفرنسية

كميل-جان حلو

للعراق إرث معماريّ غنيّ يمتدّ على آلاف السّنين، فقد شُيّدت فيها أوائل العمارات الطّويلة الأمد  وذلك خلال العصر الّذي عاشت فيه شعوب ما بين النّهرين، في الألفيّة العاشرة قبل الميلاد. إذ برعت الحضارات المتميّزة والمتعدّدة على مرّ العصور في احتلال المنطقة بالعمارة بالحجارة وإنتاج الطّوب. وقد شيّدوا مدافن ومباني عالية، معروفة بالزّقورات (وهي سَلَف الأهرامات)، كما أنّ البقايا الأثريّة لمدنهم تُظهِر عن بوادر تنظيم مدنيّ.

أصبحت البلاد، منذ القرن السّادس ميلاديّ، منزلًا لبعض أهمّ الأمثلة للعمارة الإسلاميّة التّقليديّة. فقد ازدهر الفنّ والثّقافة في العصر الأمويّ (661 – 750)، والعصر العبّاسيّ (750 – 1258)، وأوائل العصر العثمانيّ (1534 – 1704)، بالإضافة إلى حدوث تطوّر سريع في مجال العلوم. ولقد شكّلت هذه العوامل عناصر أساسيّة في تطوّر العمارة المتقدّمة والتّقنيّات الحرفيّة.

المنازل العراقيّة التّقليديّة
مسجد الإمام علي في وسط مدينة النجف العراقية. حيدر حمداني / وكالة الصحافة الفرنسية

بعد أن كانت مقسّمة سابقًا إلى أربع مقاطعات عثمانيّة، فالعراق قد استمتعت بفترة وجيزة من الاتّحاد والاستقلاليّة النّسبيّة بين عامَي 1704 و1831، وذلك قبل أن تنقسم مجدّدًا إلى ثلاثة أقسام إلى حين استحواذ الامبراطوريّة البريطانيّة عليها عام 1920. وبعد اثنتَي عشرة سنة، حازت البلاد أخيرًا على استقلالها، بعد أن خرجت مُنهَكة من الصّراع والحكم الأجنبيّ. سبّبت هذه الفترة الانتقاليّة، المَشوبة بالاضطرابات، انحدارًا في الإنتاج الهندسيّ للمنطقة عمومًا، وسقطت الأساليب التّقليديّة بفعل الوسائل المعيشيّة المتواضعة والتّأثيرات الأجنبيّة المفروضة.

فالعراق عانت كثيرًا لتحدّد هويّتها الثّقافيّة في العقود الأولى من تحقيق استقلالها. ولقد اتُّهم الفنّ والهندسة المحلّيَّين بالانقياد وراء آراء الغرب حول ثقافتهما، وبانشغالهما بسطحيّات الاستشراق؛ وتلك شكوى نمطيّة في دول ما بعد الإستعمار.

وعندما اغتنت العراق بأموال النّفط في خمسينات القرن العشرين، سعت نحو استيراد التّأثيرات الغربيّة، وذلك بالتّعاقد مع أهمّ المهندسين العالميّين، كوالتر غروبيوس، ولو كوربوزييه، وفرانك لويد رايت، لإنجاز مشاريع مهمّة متعدّدة.

وبعد سقوط الحكم الملكيّ عام 1958، استثمر صدّام حسين في البنى التّحتيّة والمباني الحكوميّة، لكن نادرًا ما يزدهر الفنّ في ظلّ الدّكتاتوريّة، لذالك فمن غير المفاجئ أن تكون الهندسة في هذه الفترة ضئيلة وغير ملحوظة.

لقد عانت العراق في العشرين سنة الماضية لتحافظ على السّلام ضمن حدودها، وكنتيجة لذلك تميّز الإنتاج الهندسيّ الحاليّ بالنّفعيّة والتّوفير.

كما أنّها خسرت الكثير من إرثها المعماريّ التّاريخيّ عبر سنوات من الصّراعات والاضطرابات. وبَيْد أنّ مساعي التّرميم ضئيلة ومتفرّقة، ما زال أمامنا الكثير لنكتشفه حول الحكمة المتراكمة عبر العصور، الّتي سجّلتها أجيال من المعماريّين من خلال بدائع العمارات العظيمة.

ومنها على وجه الخصوص، المنزل التّقليديّ ذو الفناء (القرن الثّامن حتّى الثّامن عشر) الّذي يشكّل تقريرًا قاطعًا عن التّصميم الحيّزيّ المفصّل خصّيصًا ليتلاءم مع طريقة عيش السّكّان، وهذه مهارة  أضحت شبه مفقودة في العمارة المبتذلة في أيّامنا هذه.

تعود أولى المنازل ذات الفناء إلى حضارة ما بين النّهرين، منذ أوائل الألفيّة الثّالثة. ونعتقد أنّ هذا التّشكيل المبدع للمساحات ألهمته طريقة نصب البدو الرُّحَّل خيامهم كحلقة مانعة حول قطعانهم. إذ خضع المنزل التّقليديّ ذو الفناء لتحوّلات متعدّدة قبل بزوغ الإسلام وبعده. وعلى مدى أجيال، تطوّر ليتلاءم مع عادات ساكنيه ومعتقداتهم، إلى أن اتّخذ شكل المنزل ذي الفناء النّموذجيّ المتعارف عليه والمحبوب.

قبل كلّ شيء، إنَّ المنزل العراقيّ ذو الفناء مثال للتّواضع ، فهو لا يتعدّى الطّابقين إلى الثّلاثة طوابق ارتفاعًا كحدّ أقصى. وعادة ما تكون الطّوابق الأرضيّة خالية من الشّبابيك، أمّا الشّبابيك في الطّوابق العليا فتكون مصفوفة بطريقة لا تنتهك خصوصيّة الجيران. يبدو أنّ إحدى القيم الأساسيّة المميِّزة للشّعوب الّتي بَنَت هذه المنازل كانت الإمتناع عن التّباهي بثرواتهم، وينعكس ذلك بالجدران الخارجيّة الخالية من التّلوين والزّخرفة الّتي تحجب المنزل عن أعين المارّة. غالبًا ما يتألّف المدخل من باب خشبيّ بسيط (مُعزَّز بصفائح حديديّة مخفيّة) ينفتح على فناء من خلال ممرّ صغير ومتواضع (مصمَّم على شكل “ل” ليعزل أعين المارّة عن داخل المنزل كلّما فتح أحدهم الباب ليدخل أو يخرج).

المنازل العراقيّة التّقليديّة
يعتبر شارع الرشيد من أقدم وأشهر شوارع العاصمة العراقية حيث ما زالت المباني التاريخية القديمة قائمة. احمد الربيعي / وكالة الصحافة الفرنسية

الوظائف المختلفة للمنزل موزّعة حول فناء (مساحة مشتركة متعدّدة الاستخدامات، مخصَّصة حصريًّا للعائلة). غير أنّ ثقافة حسن الضّيافة تستدعي وجود غرف للضّيوف، لكنّ الخصوصيّة تأتي بالدّرجة الأولى، لذلك غالبًا ما يكون لغرف الضّيوف فناء خاصّ بها، بالإضافة إلى انعزالها عمّا تبقّى من المنزل.

كذلك، أخذ تصميم هذا المبنى في الاعتبار، مبدأ الفصل بين الجنسين، بحيث يمكن للنّساء الاعتكاف إلى أعمق الأجزاء الدّاخليّة من المنزل، إلى حيث لا يُسمَح إلّا لهنّ ولأقرب أقربائهنّ الذّكور بالدّخول. ويمكنهنّ مراقبة ما يحدث في الجزء الرّئيسيّ من المنزل، من مواقع مراقبة مختلفة (وراء غرابيل من الخشب المعشَّق أو المشربيّات)،  دون أن يراهم الزّوّار أو أفراد العائلة الممتدّة (مستفيدات بذلك من رفاهيّة خلع الحجاب دون تعريض التزامهنّ بالتّقاليد الدّينيّة للخطر).

نُظِّم المنزل ذو الفناء بطريقة تراتبيّة تفريعيّة، بحيث تصبح الفسحات أكثر خصوصيّة تدريجيًّا كلّما دخلنا أكثر إلى عمق المنزل. وهذا ضروريّ لمنح السّكّان نوعًا من الخصوصيّة والاستقلاليّة على الرّغم من العيش ضمن عائلة كبيرة متعدّدة الأجيال، وتشارك بعض المساحات في ما بينهم.

تعمل العناصر الهندسيّة المختلفة للمنزل كمنظِّمات للخصوصيّة. وتصميم هذا المنزل مطاوع لحاجات سكّانه وظروفهم، سامحًا لهم بضبط معايير تفاعلهم مع العائلة والعالم الخارجيّ بحسب مكان حدوثه (نسبة الخصوصيّة، مجال الرّؤية، المخالطة، والتّراتبيّة الاجتماعيّة، إلخ.).

غالبًا ما تتضمّن المنازل التّقليديّة ذات الفناء مساحة أو أكثر تحت الأرض، تمتدّ على وسع المبنى، كجزء من نظام تهوية سلبيّ وتحكُّم مُتقَن ومدروس بالحرارة. وأثناء اتّخاذ القرار بشأن موقع الغرف، يُؤخذ في الإعتبار اتّجاه أشعّة الشّمس الموسميّة وتيّارات الهواء السّائدة، وذلك لتوظيف الظّواهر الطّبيعيّة لصالح السّكّان. أمّا بفضل التّنظيم الذّكيّ للتّراكيب المُظلِّلة، فلا يمكن لأشعّة الشّمس أن تصل إلى شبابيك الفناء إلّا في أشهر الشّتاء، حين تكون حرارتها مفيدة ومرغوبة. إضافة إلى ذلك، يخلق الهواء السّاخن المتصاعد، من الطّوابق العلويّة المكشوفة، ضغطًا هوائيًّا سلبيًّا يُخلي هواء المطابخ والحمّامات مباشرة، دون مروره عبر بقيّة أرجاء المنزل. في فصل الصّيف، تحدث عمليّة مماثلة تسحب الهواء البارد من الأقباء وتوزّعه في أنحاء الطّوابق العلويّة. واليوم يمكن إيجاد أنظمة كهذه ، في أكثر المباني الخضراء تطوّرًا وحداثة، ومع ذلك ها هي، مضمَّنة تلقائيًّا في تصاميم منازل شُيّدت منذ آلاف السّنين.

وبسبب الأهمّيّة الثّقافيّة والعمليّة للفناء، كان من الضّروريّ جعله مكانًا مريحًا، وتلك مهمّة صعبة إذا أخذنا في الاعتبار قيظ الصّيف العراقيّ. لذلك أدخل المعماريّون نافورات مقترنة بتراكيب مظلِّلة موزّعة في مواقع استراتيجيّة لتبريد المساحة الخارجيّة. كما أنّهم غطّوا الجدران بالياسمين والنّعناع، وأحاطوا المكان بشجر اللّيمون الحامض. ولقد اختاروا العناصر الزّراعيّة لفوائدها في مكافحة الحشرات والآفات، وليس فقط لجماليّتها. في الجانب الشّماليّ من الفناء الرّئيسيّ الّذي يتمتّع بالهواء العليل حتّى في أيّام الصّيف، غالبًا ما خطّط المعماريّون لتأمين مساحة استجماميّة مسقوفة تقع على منصّة مرتفعة، تُعرَف بالإيوان.

وعلى عكس المظهر الخارجيّ العاديّ للمبنى، كان داخله مزيّن بامتياز بواسطة المحفورات الخشبيّة وشغل الحجارة المُتقَن. زُيِّن بلاط الأرضيّة بأشكال هندسيّة، وصُفَّ ليشبه سجّادة شرقيّة واسعة لا محدودة. أمّا الأسقف فتشكّلت من ألواح خشبيّة مزخرفة ثُبِّتت على أطرافها عناصر متماثلة من الخطّ العربيّ مطليّة بالذّهب، وأنماط هندسيّة غير متواصلة تشكّل نسقًا زهريًّا.

المنازل العراقيّة التّقليديّة
قصر العباسي في حي الميدان، بغداد. صباح عرار / وكالة الصحافة الفرنسية

تتطوّر الهندسة مع الأزمنة، وتتأثّر بشكل كبير بالظّروف الاجتماعيّة-الاقتصاديّة، لكن عادة ما تتجاهل الحاجات الثّقافيّة لمستخدميها. نتجت عن الأزمة الاقتصاديّة حلول نفعيّة لا تحترم الفرديّة، وغالبًا ما تتأثّر بقيم الوضوح والأدنويّة الغربيّة. إنّ المنازل الحديثة المنفصلة والمباني السّكنيّة القليلة الارتفاع، منقولة عن منازل غرب أوروبّا وشمال أميركا، غير المطواعة للمناخ المحلّيّ ولموادّ البناء المتوفّرة، إضافة إلى أنّ تصاميمها الدّاخليّة غريبة كلّيًّا عن الثّقافة العراقيّة.

من المهمّ أن ندرك أنّه على الرّغم من تغيُّر الهندسة في المنطقة بشكل ملحوظ في القرن الماضي، بقيت العادات المحلّيّة وطرق العيش متجذّرة بالتّقاليد والمعتقدات الدّينيّة. أمّا النّاس فما زالوا يكترثون للطّبقيّة الاجتماعيّة، ويبذلون قصارى جهدهم للحفاظ على مظهر متواضع أمام النّاس، ويسعون إلى تكريم الضّيوف، ويعطون أهمّيّة بالغة لاحترام خصوصيّة الجيران والضّيوف، كما أنّهم ما زالوا يعيشون ضمن وحدات أسريّة متعدّدة الأجيال مع العائلة الممتدّة أو على مقربة منها. وما زالت النّساء أيضًا ملتزمات بارتداء الحجاب في الأماكن العامّة. كلّ تلك الممارسات قائمة في العراق الحديثة، إنّما يصعب تنفيذها في منزل عاديّ عصريّ.

ساهمت العوامل الاجتماعيّة والدّينيّة والطّبيعيّة، على مرّ العصور، في تشكيل التّصميم الأمثل للمنازل المبتكر خصّيصًا لتحقيق تفضيلات الشّعب العراقيّ. إذ يوفّر هذا التّصميم بيئة مثاليّة لحياة عائليّة حميمة تتمتّع بخصوصيّة فائقة ومناخ داخليّ مريح، كما أنّه يشكّل أداة مناسبة لضبط التّفاعل مع العالم الخارجيّ. فاضمحلال المنازل التّقليديّة ذات الفناء يجسّد تردّيًا للهويّة الثّقافيّة في المنطقة. أخيرًا يمكن لمهندسي العصر الحديث تعلُّم الكثير بدراسة الأمثلة المعماريّة الضّئيلة المتبقّيّة.

Donate
Chronicle of the Middle East and North Africa

Iraq’s Courtyard Houses, a Cultural Heritage to Behold

Iraq’s Courtyard Houses
This picture shows a view of balconies of old buildings along Al-Rashid Street in the center of the Iraqi capital Baghdad. Rashid Street is considered one of the oldest and most famous streets of the Iraqi capital, where old historic buildings are still standing. AHMAD AL-RUBAYE / AFP

Camille-Jean Helou

Iraq has a rich historical architectural legacy, spanning millennia. The first permanent structures were erected there during the Mesopotamian era, as early as the 10th millennium BCE. The various distinct cultures that occupied the region, became adept at stonemasonry and brick production. They built elevated places of burial and worship, known as ziggurats (the precursor to the pyramid). The archeological remnants of their cities show early signs of urban planning.

From the sixth century CE onward, the country became home to some of the greatest examples of traditional Islamic architecture. Art and culture flourished during the Umayyad (661 – 750), Abbasid (750 – 1258), and early Ottoman (1534 – 1704) periods. The sciences also progressed in leaps and bounds. These factors were critical in the evolution of advanced construction and artisanal techniques.

Iraq’s Courtyard Houses
The Imam Ali mosque in the central Iraqi city of Najaf. Haidar HAMDANI / AFP

Previously comprised of four Ottoman provinces, Iraq enjoyed a short period of unification and relative autonomy from 1704 to 1831, before being subdivided into three parts until its acquisition by the British Empire in 1920. Twelve years later, the country would finally gain its independence, weary from conflict and foreign rule. This transitional period, marred by great instability, caused an overall decline in the architectural output of the region. Traditional styles were overturned by modest means and imposed foreign influences.

Iraq struggled to identify its cultural identity throughout its first decades of independence. Local art and architecture were frequently accused of pandering to western perceptions of their culture, and of being too preoccupied with Orientalist superficialities – a typical complaint in post-colonial countries.

When Iraq became oil-rich in the 1950s, it opted to import Western influences by contracting several key projects from some of the world’s best architects, like Walter Gropius, Le Corbusier, and Frank Lloyd Wright, to mention a few.

After the fall of the monarchy in 1958, Saddam Hussein invested in infrastructure and government buildings. But art rarely flourishes under dictatorships, so the architecture of the period is unsurprisingly unremarkable.

In the last twenty years, Iraq has struggled to sustain peace within its borders. As a result, the nation’s current architectural output has been fundamentally utilitarian and frugal.

Iraq has lost much of its historical architectural legacy through years of conflict and instability. Restoration efforts are few and far between. But we still have a lot to learn from the cumulative wisdom of centuries, that generations of Iraqi builders recorded in the form of magnificent architectural marvels.

The traditional courtyard house in particular (8th to 18th century), is a masterclass in tailoring spatial design to the inhabitants’ way of life, a skill that is sorely lacking in conventional architecture nowadays.

The first courtyard houses date back to the Mesopotamian civilization, at the beginning of the third millennium. This iconic configuration of spaces is believed to have been inspired by the way nomads used to set up their tents, as a protective ring around their cattle. The traditional courtyard house underwent many changes before the dawn of Islam and afterwards. Over generations, it evolved to fit the habits and beliefs of its inhabitants, until it grew to resemble the typical courtyard house we all know and love.

No more than two to three stories high, an Iraqi courtyard house exemplifies modesty above all else. Ground floors are typically windowless, and windows on upper floors are carefully arranged so as not to infringe on the privacy of neighbors. One of the core distinctive values of the peoples who built such structure seems to have been to abstain from boasting about personal wealth, and this is reflected in the plain exterior walls that hide the house from the public eye. The entrance is often a simple wooden door (reinforced by concealed steel plates) leading to a courtyard through a small unassuming passageway (arranged in the form of an L, to obstruct the view of pedestrians into the house whenever someone opens the door to enter or leave).

Iraq’s Courtyard Houses
Rashid Street is considered one of the oldest and most famous streets of the Iraqi capital, where old historic buildings are still standing. AHMAD AL-RUBAYE / AFP

The different functions of the house are organized around a courtyard (a multipurpose communal space, dedicated exclusively to the family). A culture of guest-hosting necessitates the presence of guest rooms. But privacy is paramount, so guest quarters are often given access to their own private courtyard, in addition to being segregated from the rest of the house.

The entire building is planned out with gender segregation in mind. Women can retreat into the innermost sections of the house, where only they and their closest male relatives may enter. They can watch what’s happening in the main part of the house, from several observation points (behind intricate wooden screens), while remaining unseen by visitors or extended family (thereby benefitting from the added comfort of removing their veil, without compromising their adherence to religious traditions).

A courtyard house is organized in a branching hierarchal layout, where spaces get progressively more private, the further in they are. This is necessary to provide residents with a measure of privacy and autonomy despite living with a large multigenerational family, and sharing some communal spaces.

The various architectural elements of the house act as regulators of privacy. This design is responsive to the needs of the inhabitants, allowing them to regulate the parameters of their interaction with the family and the outside world (level of intimacy, visibility, familiarity, subservience, etc.), all structured by where the interaction takes place, and in what context.

Traditional courtyard houses often include one or more underground spaces as part of an elaborate building-wide passive ventilation and climate control system. Seasonal sunlight-orientation and prevalent wind-currents are considered when deciding the placement of rooms, so that natural phenomena can be induced to operate in the interest of inhabitants. Thanks to a clever arrangement of shading structures, sunlight can only reach courtyard-windows in the winter months, when its heat would be appreciated. Rising hot air from exposed upper floors creates negative air-pressure to ensure that kitchen and bathroom air is evacuated directly, without passing through the rest of the house. In summer, a similar process extracts cool air from basements and circulates it through the upper floors. Such systems can be found in the most cutting-edge green-buildings today, yet here they are, casually included in the design of homes built a thousand year ago.

Because of the cultural and functional importance of the courtyard, it was necessary to make it a comfortable space, which is no easy task, if you take into account the harshness of Iraqi summers. So builders introduced water-features in conjunction with strategically placed shading structures, to cool down the outdoor area. Walls were draped in climbing jasmine, mint bushes and lemon trees stood around the periphery. Vegetation was selected not merely for esthetics and scent, but also for their pest-control capabilities. On the northern side of the main courtyard, where cool winds are abundant during summer, builders often planned for a covered recreational space on an elevated platform, referred to as an iwan.

Unlike the building’s sober external appearance, the interior is highly decorated with exquisite wood-carvings and masterful masonry work. Colorful floor tiles are adorned with geometric motifs, and arranged to resemble a vast edgeless oriental carpet. Ceilings are comprised of ornate wooden panels festooned with symmetrical gold-plated motifs of Arabic calligraphy, and uninterrupted geometric patterns that often morph to imitate floral themes.

Iraq’s Courtyard Houses
Qasr al-Abbasi Palace in the al-Maiden neighborhood of Baghdad. SABAH ARAR / AFP

Architecture evolves with the times. It is highly responsive to socio-economic circumstances. But it often neglects the cultural requirements of its users. Economic crisis brought forth utilitarian one-size-fits-all solutions that are often highly influenced by Western values of straightforwardness and minimalism. Modern detached houses and low-rise residential buildings are imitations of Western European and north-American homes, poorly adapted to both local climate and material-availability. Their internal layout is entirely alien to the Iraqi culture.

It is important to remember that while the architecture of the region has changed considerably in the last century, local customs and lifestyles have remained firmly rooted in tradition and faith. People are still very mindful of hierarchy. They still make great efforts to maintain a humble public façade. They still invest heavily in hosting honored guests. They still make a great show of upholding the privacy of neighbors and visitors. They still live within multi-generational family units, with or in close proximity to extended family. Most women still commit themselves to wearing a veil in public. All these practices persist in modern day Iraq. They’re just harder to do in a modern conventional home.

Over the centuries, social, religious, and natural factors contributed to the formation of an optimized home design that is exactly tailored to the preferences of Iraqi denizens, providing an ideal environment for intimate family life, with outstanding privacy and a comfortable microclimate, as well as a convenient tool for regulating one’s interaction with the outside world. The disappearance of traditional courtyard houses constitute an erosion of cultural identity in the region. Modern day architects can learn a lot from the few examples that remain.