تبرع
وقائع الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا
ابحث في fanack.com
Please enter search keyword.

السجون العراقية: أهوال خلف الأسوار

السجون العراقية
صورة تم التقاطها يوم ٢٥ مارس ٢٠١١ لامرأة عراقية وهي تحمل صور أقربائها المعتقلين في السجن، وذلك في مظاهرة نظمتها أربع مجموعات في ساحة التحرير بالعاصمة العراقية بغداد للمطالبة بإطلاق سراح المعتقلين وللاحتجاج على الفساد والحكومة والتدخلات الأمريكية في العراق الذي مزقته الحرب. المصدر: AHMAD AL-RUBAYE / AFP.

علي العجيل

كان غياب العدالة السجنية في عهد صدام حسين السبب الرئيسي في وصول صيت العراق إلى أعلى المستويات خلال العقود الأخيرة من القرن الماضي. ويعود السبب في ذلك إلى استخدام صدّام وأبنائه ورجاله التعذيب بصورة منهجية لإنهاء كل انشقاق أو معارضة لحزبهم الحاكم.

ومع سقوط هذا النظام عقب غزو العراق عام 2003، توقع العراقيون أن تنتهي أعمال التعذيب في سجون بلادهم أو أن يتم الحد منها على أقلّ تقدير. بيد أنّ صرخات السجناء ما تزال على حالها حتى الآن ومن داخل السجون ذاتها التي بناها صدام، لكن مع صخب أقل هذه المرة، ورأي عام دولي غير مكترث.

وكان العراق قد سنّ القانون رقم (30) لعام 2008 بهدف تشريع انضمامه لاتفاقية مناهضة التعذيب وغيره من أشكال المعاملات والعقوبات القاسية أو اللاإنسانية والمهينة. إلا أن هذا القانون ما زال حبراً على ورق، ولم يجد طريقه للتنفيذ على أرض الواقع إلى يومنا هذا.

العراق الذي لا يتغيّر

حصلت وسائل الإعلام في العراق على مساحة أوسع لتناول قضايا التعذيب في السجون. كما أن هذا الموضوع يحظى بمتابعة مستمرة من النشطاء والمنظمات الحقوقية المحلية والإقليمية والدولية. لكنّ ذلك لم يمنع بعض عناصر الأمن من إساءة معاملة السجناء وممارسة التعذيب بحقهم. ووصل الأمر ببعضهم إلى تصوير أنفسهم بمقاطع فيديو وهم يعذّبون الضحايا دون أي رادع يمنعهم عن القيام بذلك.

وبمرور الوقت، اتسعت مساحة عمليات التعذيب في السجون العراقية. وازداد تنفيذ هذا النوع من الانتهاكات في حقبة “المخبر السري” التي طبقتها حكومة نوري المالكي بين عامي 2006 و2014. ولم تتوقف انتهاكات “المخبر السرّي” إلا بعد إصدار مجلس الوزراء في عام 2013 لقرارٍ أنهى فيه تطبيق مثل هذا النوع من الممارسات. ويكمُن أحد أسباب تفاقم هذه العمليات في دمج وزارة العدل لمئات الأشخاص غير المؤهلين من الميليشيات المسلحة ضمن صفوف ضباط وموظفي وزارة الداخلية. وجاء ذلك في إطار خططٍ سبقت اجتياح تنظيم “الدولة الإسلامية” لمدن العراق عام 2014.

ولم تختلف طرق التعذيب في العراق الجديد عمّا كان عليه في عهد صدام حسين. وبحسب تقرير صادر عن منظمة العفو الدولية، فإن الممارسات التي يتم تنفيذها تشمل “عصب عيون المعتقلين وتجريدهم من ملابسهم وتعليقهم من أرسغتهم في أوضاع قاسية ملتوية لعدة ساعات في كل مرة”. كما تشمل الممارسات تعريض المعتقلين “للصعق الكهربائي في أعضائهم التناسلية وآذانهم وألسنتهم وأصابعهم؛ وللضرب على باطني القدمين (الفلقة)”. ومن الممارسات أيضاً “الجلد والضرب بعصي الخيزران والخراطيم والقضبان المعدنية”. ويلفت تقرير المنظمة إلى حرق المعتقلين بـ “السجائر وثقب أيديهم بالحفار الكهربائي، أو نزع أظافر أقدامهم أو أيديهم”. وزاد على ذلك النموذج الذي تركته القوات الأمريكية بفضيحة أبو غريب المعروفة وغيرها من الانتهاكات الأخرى.

وتجدر الإشارة إلى معاناة السجون من الاكتظاظ وقلّة موارد الحياة الأساسية وضعف الإمدادات الطبية. وأدى ذلك إلى إصابة عدد من النزلاء بأمراض مثل الجرب والحساسية والطفح الجلدي وغيرها.

الابتزاز

لا يقتصر ملف السجون في العراق على التعذيب الممنهج وسوء التغذية واكتظاظ الزنازين بالنزلاء وانتشار الأمراض بينهم فحسب، بل تمتد القضية لتصل إلى ابتزاز أهالي السجناء والمعتقلين.

أبرز أشكال الابتزاز يتمثل في تدوين أقوال السجناء أثناء التحقيق من غير تعذيب، وإذا لم يرضخوا لهذا الابتزاز فإن المعتقل يتعرض للتعذيب ليدلي باعترافات قد توصله إلى عقوبة الإعدام. كما تضطر بعض العوائل إلى دفع رشاوي من أجل لقاء أبنائها أو إدخال طعام وملابس إليهم، أو لضمان عدم تعريضهم للتعذيب وسوء المعاملة، أو بهدف وضعهم في زنازين نظيفة تتوفر فيها مصادر هواء وتكييف وحمامات صحية. وفي بعض المحافظات كمحافظة نينوى، تقوم بعض السجون بتأجير الزنازين المكيّفة فيها للمعتقلين الميسورين، مقابل مبالغ كبيرة.

وأبشع صور الابتزاز تلك التي تتعلق بالمعتقلين المرضى، إذ يبتز السجانون ذوي السجناء من أجل السماح لهم بإدخال أدوية وأطعمة للمعتقل، أو إحالته إلى مستشفى للعلاج.

من صور الابتزاز أيضاً عملية نقل السجين من مكان إلى آخر أفضل داخل نفس السجن. وتصل تكلفة عملية النقل الواحدة إلى 4 آلاف دولار. وعندما يتعلق الأمر بالسجناء المهمين، فإن التكلفة تتجاوز عشرات الآلاف من الدولارات.

تمييز طائفي

لعبت الطائفية دوراً رئيسياً في الأزمة العراقية في مرحلة ما بعد انهيار نظام صدام حسين. ووصل التمييز الطائفي إلى جميع مناحي الحياة تقريباً. وبطبيعة الحال، فقد كان للسجون نصيبٌ من هذا التمييز.

معظم الانتهاكات التي وردت في التقارير والدراسات السجنية التي تلقي الضوء على حياة السجون العراقية، اتفقت على وجود بيئة عزل طائفي داخل السجون العراقية. وأفاد تقريرٌ أعده مركز بغداد لحقوق الإنسان بوجود فصل للسجناء داخل السجون بحسب المكون، ووجود قاعات سجنية مخصصة للشيعة وأخرى للسنّة.

وتفيد إحصائية للانتهاكات بوقوع 39 ألفاً من الرجال والنساء وعوائلهم تحت التنكيل وسوء المعاملة بسبب طائفتهم السنية. في المقابل، فإن لدى بعض المعتقلين في سجون الشيعة هواتف ذكية حديثة، وأجهزة لابتوب، مع توفير شبكة واي فاي أيضاً. ووصل الأمر بالبعض إلى “التشيّع لخوفهم من سوء المعاملة بسبب طائفتهم”.

للمرأة ما للرجل وأكثر

طريقة التعامل مع النساء داخل السجون تكاد تكون موحّدة في العراق الجديد. ويجري اعتقال العديد من النساء بين الحين والآخر إما من أجل التحقيق معهن بخصوص أقارب مشتبه فيهم من الذكور، وإما بدعوى دعمهن للمسلحين، وليس بسبب جرائم يشتبه بأنهن أقدمن على ارتكابها.

وفي بداية حقبة الاحتلال الأمريكي للعراق، أدرك الجنود الأمريكيون حساسية المجتمع العراقي في الاقتراب من المرأة. وعمل هؤلاء الجنود على استغلال هذه النقطة للضغط على المسلحين من خلال اعتقال قريباتهنّ، وإرغامهم على تسليم أنفسهم في مقابل الإفراج عن النساء. وفي مرحلة ما بعد الاحتلال، ترسّخت هذه الطريقة وازدهرت عصابات خطف النساء في بغداد والمحافظات العراقية المختلفة، لأغراض مختلفة. وتتضمن قائمة الأغراض كلّاً من المتاجرة بالأعضاء، أو الاستغلال الجنسي، أو الابتزاز المالي للعائلة لإجبارها على دفع فدية في مقابل الإفراج عن النساء المختطفات.

ولم تفلت السجينات العراقيات من التعذيب والتعرض للضرب والركل والصفع والصعق بالصدمات الكهربائية. بل أن الأمر قد وصل إلى الاغتصاب أحياناً وتهديدها بالاعتداء الجنسي عليها أو على بناتها.

نفي حكومي وصمت مهين

تنفي الحكومة العراقية وجود انتهاكات جسيمة داخل السجون العراقية. وفي الوقت الذي يتم فيه إنكار وجود أيّ من حالات التعذيب أو الانتهاكات الإنسانية داخل السجون، فإنّ الحكومة العراقية تعترف بمعاناة السجون من الاكتظاظ وضعف الرعاية الطبية.

وعلى الرغم من وجود تقارير كثيرة سجلت مزاعم التعذيب، فإنّ السلطات تتجاهل هذه التقارير في كثير من الأحيان. كما أنها لم تتخذ سوى الحد الأدنى من الإجراءات اللازمة لتقديم المسؤولين عن أعمال العنف ولم تعاقب المتورطين إلا نادراً. ونتيجة لذلك ولانعدام الثقة والخوف من الانتقام، فقد أحجم العديد من المحتجزين عن الإبلاغ عن مثل هذه المعاملة.

وإلى يومنا هذا، لا يوجد هناك إحصاءٌ دقيق لعدد السجناء الذين يتعرضون للانتهاكات والتعنيف في سجون العراق. ومع ذلك، فإن جميع التقارير التي تكشف عنها الجمعيات الإنسانية، والمنظمات الحقوقية، والمسؤولين في الحكومة والبرلمان، تؤكد وبشدة استمرار هذه الانتهاكات، بل وزيادتها، مع اتهام وزارة العدل العراقية بتسهيل العنف داخل السجون نتيجة عدم متابعة أوضاعها الداخلية.

وعلى هذا النحو، يبقى حال السجين العراقي على حاله بعد 19 عاماً مرّت منذ الاحتلال الأمريكي للعراق وسقوط النظام الذي اتفق الجميع على وحشيته.

Donate
Chronicle of the Middle East and North Africa

Iraqi Prisons: Horrors Behind Bars

Iraqi Prisons
An Iraqi woman holds pictures of relatives held in jails during a demonstration calling for their release in central Baghdad on March 25, 2011 as four different groups gathered at the capital’s Tahrir Square to protest against the government, the US interventions in the war-battered country, corruption and call for the release of prisoners. AHMAD AL-RUBAYE / AFP

Ali al-Ajeel

During Saddam Hussein‘s era, the absence of criminal justice was the main culprit responsible for Iraq’s infamous reputation at the end of the 20th century. Saddam, his sons and his men used systematic torture to end all dissent and opposition to their ruling party.

After the regime fell following the 2003 invasion of Iraq, Iraqis expected torture in their prisons to end or at least decrease. Prisoners’ screams, however, still echo to this day in those same Saddam-built cells. But now, with much less noise and an indifferent international opinion.

Iraq enacted Law No. 30 of 2008 to legalise its accession to the Convention against Torture and Other Cruel, Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or Punishment, which has, however, not yet been implemented.

Unchanging Iraq

Iraqi media have acquired more space to address torture in prisons. It is a subject constantly monitored by activists and local, regional and international human rights organisations. This has, nevertheless, not deterred some security force members from mistreating and torturing prisoners, in some cases going as far as videotaping the torture without obstacles preventing them from doing so.

Over time, the prevalence of torture in Iraq has intensified. Under Nouri al-Maliki‘s government, these violations skyrocketed during the era of the ‘secret informants system’ between 2006 and 2014. The violations committed by secret informants continued until the cabinet issued a decision in 2013 to end such practices. These practices were in part exacerbated by the Ministry of Justice’s incorporation of hundreds of unqualified armed militia members into the Ministry of Interior’s staff. This was part of the plans to counter ISIS before it invaded Iraqi cities in 2014.

Torture methods in the new Iraq were not very different from practices under Saddam’s rule. According to a report by Amnesty International, “detainees had been blindfolded, stripped and suspended by their wrists or hung in contorted stress positions for hours at a time”. In addition to being “subjected to electric shocks to the genitals, ears, tongue and fingers; beaten on the soles of their feet (falaqa), whipped and beaten with canes, hosepipes and metal rods; burnt with cigarettes or having their hands pierced by electric drills or having their toe or fingernails ripped out.” The report also mentioned the infamous Abu Ghraib prison scandal involving American Forces, amongst other violations.

It should be noted that Iraqi prisons are overcrowded, lack requirements to meet basic needs, and have poor medical facilities, resulting in the prevalence of diseases such as scabies, allergies, skin infections and other conditions.

Extortion

The case of Iraqi prisons is not limited to systematic torture, malnutrition, overcrowded cells and the spread of diseases among detainees but extends to the blackmailing of prisoners and detainees’ families.

The most prominent form of extortion is the recording and coercing of detainees’ statements while using threats of torture in interrogations. If failing to comply, detainees are tortured into confessing, possibly leading to their execution. Families may also be forced to pay bribes in order to visit their relatives, provide them with food and clothing, ensure that they are not subjected to torture and ill-treatment, or transfer them to clean cells with clean air, air conditioning and sanitary bathrooms. The cost of a single transfer can run in the thousands of dollars. Where it concerns prominent prisoners, the costs might exceed tens of thousands of dollars. In various governorates (e.g. Nineveh), certain prisons rent out their air-conditioned cells to affluent detainees in return for large sums of money.

Other forms of extortion are those related to sick detainees, as wardens blackmail their families in order to let them provide food and medicine to the detainee or refer the person to a hospital for treatment.

Sectarian Discrimination

Sectarianism played a significant role in the Iraqi crisis following the demise of Saddam Hussein’s regime. Sectarian discrimination has permeated almost all aspects of life, prisons being no exception.

Most reports and studies addressing violations in Iraqi prisons agree that Iraqi prisons are segregated. A report by the Baghdad Center for Human Rights stated that prisoners are separated according to sectarian affiliation and that some prison halls are specifically designated for either Shiites or Sunnis.

According to statistics on human rights violations, 39,000 men and women and their families have been subjected to abuse and mistreatment by reason of being Sunni while, contrarily, detainees in Shiite prisons might have access to smartphones and laptops with Wi-Fi networks. Fearing mistreatment because of their sect, numerous Sunni detainees have converted to Shia Islam.

Women Suffer Like Men, and Even More

The way women are treated in prisons is almost uniform in the new Iraq. Many women are arrested to be used as a pressure tool in the interrogation of suspected male relatives or for their alleged support of militants rather than for crimes they are suspected of committing.

Early on during the American invasion of Iraq, American soldiers realised the sensitivity of approaching women in Iraqi society. This was exploited by arresting militants’ female relatives and forcing the militants to surrender as a condition for these women’s releases. After the invasion ended, this method was consolidated, and gangs that kidnapped women for organ trafficking, sexual exploitation or financial extortion through ransom demands flourished in Baghdad and various Iraqi governorates.

Female Iraqi prisoners were not spared torture, beatings, kicks, slaps and electric shocks. Moreover, they have been subjected to rape or threatened with the sexual assault of themselves or their daughters.

Government Denial and Humiliating Silence

The Iraqi government denies the existence of grave violations inside Iraqi prisons. While it denies torture or human rights violations in prisons, the Iraqi government admits that the prisons suffer from overcrowding and poor medical care.

Although reports of alleged torture are ample, authorities have often ignored them, taken minimal measures to bring offenders to justice and rarely punished perpetrators. As a result, due to mistrust and for fear of reprisals, many detainees have been reluctant to report such treatment.

To this day, there is no accurate count of prisoners subjected to violations and abuse in Iraqi prisons. However, all reports disclosed by humanitarian associations, human rights organisations, government officials and parliament members strongly confirm the continuation and increase of these practices. Moreover, the Iraqi Ministry of Justice facilitates the violence inside prisons by turning a blind eye to their poor conditions.

Thus, the situation of Iraqi prisoners remains the same 19 years after the American invasion and the fall of a regime whose brutality everyone acknowledges.