تبرع
وقائع الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

سوريا: الفتح العربي الإسلامي و الأمويين

سوريا الأمويين
صورة نُشرت في الثلاثينيات تظهر الجامع الأموي والجامع الكبير بدمشق (La Grande Mosquée des Omeyyades de Damas). (Photo by CHUSSEAU / AFP)

كان الدين المسيحي هو الدين الرئيسي في الإمبراطورية الرومانية في عهد يوستنيانوس. وقد كان هناك خلافات لاهوتية بين المسيحيين – تقريبا منذ البداية – بل حتى انشقاقات وصراع على السلطة، على سبيل المثال بين روما والقسطنطينية.

أدت الخلافات اللاهوتية إلى انشقاقات، وبالتالي تأسست الكنائس المختلفة التي لا تزال تتواجد حتى الآن في سوريا ولبنان.

الفتوحات العربية من شبه الجزيرة العربية
الفتوحات العربية من شبه الجزيرة العربية. @Fanack

في القرن السابع الميلادي، ظهر الفاتحون المسلمون في المنطقة، القادمون من شبه الجزيرة العربية. وقد كان العرب آنذاك يعيشون في سوريا منذ قرون – مع أن أصول العرب غير واضحة، إلا أن الإشارة الأولى لوجودهم هي كتابة مسمارية تذكر اسم شخص يدعى جندبو قادماً من أرض “العَرِبي” عام 854. كان العرب الذين جاؤوا في القرن السابع الميلادي مختلفين؛ كانوا من أتباع نبي اسمه محمد، وأطلقوا على أنفسهم اسم مسلمين. كما سعوا إلى نشر دينهم في المنطقة.

النبي محمد

عام 570 شهدت مكة مولد محمد بن عبد الله، مؤسس الإسلام. وعام 613 بدأ يدعو إلى الإسلام، بعد أن أوحي إليه بذلك. وعام 622 أُمِرَ محمد وصحابته بالانتقال إلى يثرب (والتي سميت فيما بعد بمدينة النبي أو المدينة المنورة). أصبح هذا الانتقال، الهجرة، والعام 622 ميلادية الذي تمت فيه، بداية التقويم الإسلامي. كما كانت الهجرة نقطة الانطلاق لبناء الأمة الذي شرع فيها محمد – بنجاح، واستغرقت عشر سنوات تقريباً. ومن المدينة، فتح محمد الجزيرة العربية بأكملها، ووحد العرب تحت راية الإسلام. وتمتع اليهود والمسيحيون والزرادشتيون (أهل الكتاب) بحرية العبادة.

بعد وفاة النبي عام 632، تابع صحابته مهمته. ورغم وجود صراعات في شبه جزيرة العرب، كان الفتح الإسلامي للمناطق الواقعة شمالاً سريعاً إلى حد ما، وذلك لعدة أسباب. أولاً، ضعف الإمبراطورية البيزنطية جراء الحروب والصراعات الداخلية، وقد ضجرت شعوب آسيا الصغرى من حكامها. ثانياً، قام العرب بنشر قبائل حليفة – تمت بصلة لأولئك الذين استقروا في المنطقة – لغزو هذه الشعوب. وعلاوة على ذلك، كانت أول سلالة من الخلفاء التي حكمت البلاد، الأمويون الذين حكموا من مدينة دمشق مثالاً للتسامح الديني مع اليهود والمسيحيين.

الأمويون

كان أبو سفيان، من نسل أمية بن عبد شمس، شخصية قيادية في مكة في القرن السابع، والذي اعتنق الإسلام لاحقاً في حياته بعد أن عارضه. وأصبح ابنه معاوية، أول حاكم لدولة “سوريا الكبرى”، أول خليفة أموي بعد انتصاره على حفيدي محمد: حسن وأخيه حسين، ابني الإمام علي، والذي يوقره الشيعة إلى يومنا هذا على أنه الخليفة الشرعي الوحيد.

دولة الخلافة الاموية
دولة الخلافة الاموية. @Fanack

استمرت الحروب على نحو متقطع، رغم المعاهدة بين معاوية والإمبراطور قسطنطين الرابع. واشتدت ضد البيزنطيين خاصة تحت حكم الخليفة الأموي الخامس عبد الملك بن مروان.

على الرغم من الحروب، ازدهرت الثقافة والفنون في الخلافة. بنى الخلفاء المساجد والقصور الرائعة، ومنها المسجد الأموي في دمشق، مركز الخلافة في ظل السلالة الأموية. في القرن الثامن، أصبحت دمشق أهم المراكز الثقافية والفكرية في هذا الجزء من العالم. وأنتجت المدينة علماء في الفلك والرياضيات، والأطباء، والفلاسفة.

شيئاً فشيئاً، تحول سكان سوريا إلى الفسيفساء التي نراها اليوم. واستقر أحفاد الفينيقيين والفرس والرومان واليونانيين والأرمن والآشوريين واليهود وغيرهم هناك على مر القرون. في عهد الأمويين، حلت العربية مكان السريانية (الآرامية) واليونانية، والتي كانت اللغات الشائعة حتى ذلك الحين. وأصبح الإسلام هو الدين السائد، ولكن – في المراحل المبكرة بالتأكيد – كان الأمويون متسامحين تجاه المسيحيين واليهود. وفي تلك الأيام، وفّر الجامع الكبير في دمشق، المبني على موقع كنيسة مسيحية قديمة، مجالاً لكلا الديانتين الإسلامية والمسيحية.

في وقت لاحق، تراجعت قوة الحكومة المركزية وتسامح الأمويين تجاه المسيحيين. وعام 750 ميلادي، تولت الخلافة العباسية ونقلت عاصمة الخلافة إلى بغداد.

في هذه المقالة: سوريا | التاريخ

Donate
Chronicle of the Middle East and North Africa

Syria: Arab Muslim Conquest and the Umayyads

Syria Umayyads
Picture released in the 30s showing the Umayyad Mosque, Great Mosque of Damascus (La Grande Mosquée des Omeyyades de Damas). (Photo by CHUSSEAU / AFP)

In Justinian’s life and times, Christianity was the main religion in the Roman Empire. Within the religion, there were – almost from the very beginning – theological dissensions, even schisms, as well as power struggles, for instance between Rome and Constantinople.

The theological dissensions led to scissions, and thus the foundations were laid of the different churches that still coexist in present-day Syria and Lebanon.

At about the same time, Islamic conquerors, arriving from the Arabian Peninsula, appeared in the region. There had been Arabs in Syria for many centuries – although the origins of the Arabs are unclear, the first reference to their existence is an Assyrian cuneiform mentioning a certain Gindibu, coming from the land of Aribi in 854 BCE. The Arabs who came in the seventh century were different; they were followers of a prophet named Muhammad and called themselves Muslims, seeking to spread their religion throughout the region.

Arab conquest
@Fanack

The Prophet Muhammad

Muhammad ibn Abd Allah, who was to become the founder of Islam, was born in Mecca in 570 CE. In 613 CE, after he had his first revelations, Muhammad started preaching. In 622 CE, he and his followers were invited to move to Yathrib (later renamed Madinat al-Nabi – City of the Prophet, or Medina). This move, the Hijra (Emigration), and the year in which it took place, 622 CE, became the starting point of the Islamic calendar. The Hijra also was the starting point of the nation-building that Muhammad undertook – with success, although it took him almost ten years. From Medina, he conquered the whole of the Arabian Peninsula and united the Arabs under the banner of Islam. Jews, Christians, and Zoroastrians – as People of the Book (Ahl al-Kitab) – enjoyed the freedom of religion.

After the Prophet’s death in 632 CE, his followers continued his mission. Although there were tribal conflicts in the Arabian Peninsula, the conquest of the regions to the north was relatively expeditious, for several reasons. Firstly, the Byzantine Empire had been weakened by wars and internal conflicts, and the population in Asia Minor was weary of its rulers. Secondly, the Arabs deployed friendly tribes – related to those already established in the region – to conquer these populations. The first dynasty of caliphs to govern these regions, the Umayyads, who governed from Damascus, was quite tolerant toward Jews and Christians.

Umayyads

Abu Sufyan, a descendant of Umayya ibn Abd Shams, was a leading figure in Mecca in the 7th century, who, after first opposing Muhammad, adopted Islam later in life.

His son Muawiya, the first governor of ‘Greater Syria’, became the first Umayyad caliph after having emerged victorious over Muhammad’s

The Umayyad
@Fanack

descendants Hasan and his brother Husayn, sons of Imam Ali, whom the Shiites to this day venerate as the Prophet’s only legitimate successor.

The wars continued intermittently despite a treaty between Muawiya and Emperor Constantine IV. The war against the Byzantines flared up especially under the fifth Umayyad caliph Abd al-Malik ibn Marwan. However, despite these hostilities, culture, and art thrived in the caliphate. The caliphs built splendid palaces and mosques, among which the Umayyad Mosque in Damascus, the center of the caliphate under the Umayyad dynasty. In the 8th century, Damascus became the most important intellectual and cultural center in this part of the world. The city produced scientists, astronomers, mathematicians, doctors, and philosophers.

More and more, Syria’s population composition turned into the mosaic that it remains to this day. Descendants of the Phoenicians, Persians, Romans, Greeks, Armenians, Assyrians, Jews, and others had settled there throughout the centuries. Under the Umayyads, Arabic supplanted the Syriac (Aramaic) and Greek, the common languages until then. Islam became the dominant religion, but the Umayyad were tolerant toward Jews and Christians, certainly in the early stages. In the early days, the Great Mosque in Damascus, built on the site of an older Christian church, offered room for both the Muslim and the Christian faith.

Eventually, both the strength of the central government and the Umayyads’ tolerance toward Christians declined. In 750 CE, the Abbasid dynasty took over and relocated the caliphate’s capital to Baghdad.