تبرع
وقائع الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

سوريا: الانتداب الفرنسي واتفاقية سايكس بيكو

سوريا الانتداب الفرنسي
ورقة نقدية بقيمة 250 ليرة ، صادرة عام 1939 عن بنك سوريا ولبنان آنذاك إبان الانتداب الفرنسي ، تُعرض خلال معرض في بيروت في 16 تموز / يوليو 2016 (Photo by ANWAR AMRO / AFP)

في أعقاب هزيمة الإمبراطورية العثمانية في الحرب العالمية الأولى، وقعت سوريا تحت الانتداب الفرنسي، رغم تعهدات البريطانيين والفرنسيين بالاستقلال خلال الحرب العالمية الأولى، الخيانة التي شوهت علاقات سوريا مع الغرب حتى يومنا هذا.

حرصاً على ضمان الدعم العربي ضد العثمانيين، عرضت بريطانيا دعمها لحركة قومية كانت ناشطة في ذلك الوقت في الأراضي العربية من الإمبراطورية العثمانية. تفاوضت لندن في 1915-1916 مع الشريف حسين بن علي، حاكم مكة المكرمة. ومقابل تمرد العرب ضد الأتراك، وافقت بريطانيا على الاعتراف باستقلال الأراضي العربية عن الإمبراطورية العثمانية، ضمن حدود معينة. كما اشترطت بريطانيا تطبيق استقلال الأراضي العربية فقط حيث لا يتعارض مع مصالح حليفتها في الحرب: فرنسا.

في حزيران/يونيو عام 1916، أطلق الشريف حسين الثورة العربية بدعم لوجستي من البريطانيين (بمن فيهم توماس إدوارد لورنس، “لورنس العرب”). وبعد أن سيطر الثوار على الحجاز، تحرّكوا نحو سوريا الكبرى بقيادة الأمير فيصل الابن الثالث لحسين، حيث عملوا بالتعاون مع الجيش البريطاني الذي كان قد غزا فلسطين على طول الساحل من مصر. في تموز/يوليو 1917، استولى فيصل على العقبة الواقعة على رأس البحر الأحمر، وفي أيلول/سبتمبر على مدينة عمان التي كانت وقتها أكبر قليلاً من قرية كبيرة. وسقطت القدس في يد البريطانيين بعد ثلاثة أشهر، وتم الاستيلاء على دمشق في تشرين الأول/أكتوبر عام 1918.[/vc_column_text][/vc_column][/vc_row]

اتفاقية سايكس بيكو

في الوقت الذي كانت فيه لندن تحث العرب على الثورة، مع وعود بالاستقلال، كانت تتفاوض بسرية على اتفاق معاكس مع فرنسا وروسيا. وأبرمت في أيار/مايو عام 1916 ما يسمى باتفاقية سايكس بيكو، التي قسمت المنطقة إلى مناطق نفوذ فرنسية وبريطانية. كان من نصيب فرنسا لبنان وسوريا وشرق تركيا وشمال العراق الحالية، وبريطانيا إسرائيل وفلسطين والأردن وجنوب العراق الحالية. وخضعت القدس وجزء من فلسطين إلى شكل من أشكال الإدارة الدولية، تقديراً لأهميتها الدينية.

في الوقت ذاته، في 2 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر عام 1917، وبعد مفاوضات مع الحركة الصهيونية، أصدرت لندن وعد بلفور الذي نص على نظرة البريطانيين “بعين العطف إلى تأسيس وطن قومي للشعب اليهودي في فلسطين”.

اتفاقية سايكس بيكو
خريطة اتفاقية سايكس بيكو. @Fanack ©Fanack

في أيلول/سبتمبر عام 1918، أعلن أنصار الثورة العربية إنشاء حكومة عربية برئاسة فيصل بن الشريف حسين، رغم احتفاظ بريطانيا بالسلطة الحقيقية في سوريا.

عام 1919، وافق مؤتمر السلام في باريس على إدارة الممتلكات السابقة للألمان والعثمانيين المهزومين كمناطق انتداب، وتحت إشراف الهيئة الدولية الجديدة: عصبة الأمم. وقد تقرر انتداب فرنسا على سوريا (بما في ذلك في لبنان الحالي) وبريطانيا على فلسطين (بما في ذلك في الأردن الحالي) والعراق.

الأمير فيصل

انعقد مؤتمر سوري عام ضم شخصيات وطنية في دمشق في آذار/مارس عام 1920، لاستباق المخططات الفرنسية، وانتخب فيصل ملكاً على سوريا المتحدة، أي الأراضي التي تشمل سوريا ولبنان وإسرائيل وفلسطين والأردن الحالية. وأعلن التسعة والعشرون عراقياً الحضور عبد الله الأخ الأكبر لفيصل ملكاً على العراق المستقل. إلا ان كل ذلك كان دون جدوى. ولإضفاء الطابع الرسمي على ما تم الاتفاق عليه في باريس، عقدت بريطانيا وفرنسا في سان ريمو اجتماعاً على عجل للمجلس الأعلى لعصبة الأمم.

الأمير فيصل
الأمير فيصل

وفي 5 أيار/مايو 1920، حصلت فرنسا على انتداب سوريا ولبنان وبريطانيا على فلسطين والعراق. لم يأت ذكر شرق الأردن بشكل صريح، وهي الأراضي الواقعة شرق نهر الأردن، ولكن ولكونها كانت تشكل جزءً من منطقة النفوذ البريطاني في معاهدة سايكس بيكو، كان من المسلم به أنها كانت تشكل جزءً من انتداب فلسطين. تحركت القوات الفرنسية إلى سوريا من لبنان، واحتلت دمشق في تموز/يوليو عام 1920. واضطر فيصل إلى الذهاب إلى المنفى، إلا أن البريطانيين قاموا بتعيينه ملكاً على العراق في العام التالي.

سياسة فرّق تسُد

اعتمدت فرنسا سياسة فرّق تسُد في سوريا، فقسمت البلاد إلى دويلات شبه مستقلة. عام 1920، تم تشكيل لبنان الكبير عن طريق إضافة المناطق الواسعة، المسلمة بشكل أساسي، إلى منطقة جبل لبنان، حيث يهيمن المسيحيون الموارنة، والتي كانت تشكل في العهد العثماني وحدة إدارية منفصلة تعرف بالمتصرفية. وفي العام ذاته، تم تقسيم ما تبقى من سوريا إلى دويلات دمشق وحلب وجبل العلويين (كانت هذه الأخيرة في شمال غرب سوريا، على طول الساحل، وهي منطقة مأهولة بالسكان إلى حد كبير من قبل الطائفة العلوية). عام 1921، تمت إضافة دويلة جبل الدروز، التي تركزت على معقل الدروز جنوب سوريا.

الانتداب الفرنسي سوريا
@Fanack

بموجب اتفاقية أنقرة بين فرنسا وتركيا في تشرين الأول/أكتوبر عام 1921، تم ضم سنجق (لواء) اسكندرونة، المختلط السكان من الأتراك والأرمن والعرب، إلى سوريا في ذلك العام كمقاطعة تتمتع بحكم ذاتي. وعلى خلفية مطالبات تركيا الملحة بالمنطقة، في عهد مصطفى كمال (دعي لاحقاً بكمال أتاتورك)، تم ضم لواء اسكندرونة إلى ولاية حلب عام 1923 مع الاحتفاظ بوضع إداري خاص. عام 1938، دخلت القوات التركية لواء اسكندرونة وطردت معظم سكانه العرب (العلويين في المقام الأول) والأرمن. وفي العام ذاته، تم إعلان استقلال لواء اسكندرونة تحت اسم دولة هتاي، إلا أن المجلس التشريعي في هتاي صوّت عام 1939 لصالح الانضمام إلى تركيا باسم مقاطعة هتاي، وميناؤها الرئيسي اسكندرون، اسكندرونه سابقاً. وفي تموز/يوليو من ذلك العام، غادر الفرنسيون سوريا.

في 1922-1924، اتحدت دويلات جبل العلويين ودمشق وحلب في اتحاد سوري. وفي كانون الثاني/يناير عام 1925، اتحدت دمشق وحلب في دولة سورية واحدة، في حين حافظت دويلة جبل العلويين على شبه استقلالها.

في هذه المقالة: سوريا | التاريخ

Donate
Chronicle of the Middle East and North Africa

Syria: The French Mandate and the Sykes-Picot Agreement

Syria french mandate
A 250 Lira banknote, issued in 1939 by the then Bank of Syria and Lebanon during the French Mandate, is displayed during an exhibit in Beirut on July 16, 2016. (Photo by ANWAR AMRO / AFP)

Following the Ottoman Empire’s defeat in World War I, Syria was governed under a French mandate, despite pledges of independence made by the British and French during World War I, a betrayal that colors Syria’s relations with the West to this day.

Keen to secure Arab support against the Ottomans, the British offered their backing to a nationalist movement that was then stirring in the Ottoman Empire’s Arab territories. In 1915-1916 London negotiated with Sharif Husayn ibn Ali, the ruler of Mecca, Islam’s holiest city. In exchange for an Arab rebellion against the Turks, the British agreed to recognize the independence of the Arab territories of the Ottoman Empire, within certain limits. Britain also stipulated that Arab independence would apply only where that did not conflict with the interests of its wartime ally, France.

In June 1916 Sharif Husayn launched the Arab Revolt, with logistical support from the British (including T. E. Lawrence, ‘Lawrence of Arabia’). Having taken control of the Hijaz the rebels, commanded by Husayn’s third son, the emir (prince) Faysal, moved into Greater Syria, where they operated in cooperation with a British army that had invaded Palestine along the coast from Egypt. Faysal took Aqaba, at the head of the Red Sea, in July 1917, and Amman, then little more than a large village, in September. Jerusalem fell to the British three months later, and Damascus was taken in October 1918.[/vc_column_text][/vc_column][/vc_row]

Sykes-Picot Agreement

While urging the Arabs to rebel, with promises of independence, London was quietly negotiating a conflicting deal with France and Russia. Concluded in May 1916, the so-called Sykes-Picot Agreement divided the region into French and British spheres of influence. The French were allocated a zone corresponding roughly to modern Lebanon, Syria, eastern Turkey, and northern Iraq, and the British were allocated an area corresponding to modern Israel, Palestine, Jordan, and southern Iraq. Jerusalem and part of Palestine were designated for some form of international administration, in recognition of their religious significance.

Sykes Picot map 705
Map of the Sykes-Picot Agreement. Click to enlarge. ©Fanack ©Fanack

On 2 November 1917, meanwhile, following negotiations with the Zionist movement, London issued the Balfour Declaration, which affirmed that the British viewed ‘with favour the establishment in Palestine of a National Home for the Jewish people’.

In September 1918 supporters of the Arab Revolt declared an Arab government headed by Sharif Husayn’s son Faysal, even though Britain remained the real power in Syria.

The 1919 Paris Peace Conference agreed that the former possessions of the defeated Germans and Ottomans would be administered as mandates, under the supervision of a new international body, the League of Nations. It was resolved that France should have a mandate for Syria (including present-day Lebanon) and Britain should have Palestine (including present-day Jordan) and Iraq.

Prince Faysal

To pre-empt French designs, a General Syrian Congress of nationalist figures convened in Damascus in March 1920 and elected Faysal king of a united Syria, that is, the territory today encompassing Syria, Lebanon, Israel, Palestine, and Jordan. Twenty-nine Iraqis present proclaimed Faysal’s elder brother, Abdullah, king of an independent Iraq, but these were vain gestures. To formalize what had already been agreed in Paris, Britain, and France hastily convened a meeting, at San Remo, of the Supreme Council of the League of Nations.

Sharif of Mecca
Prince Faysal, son of the Sharif of Mecca and leader of the Arab military uprising

On 5 May 1920 this granted France mandates over Syria and Lebanon and Britain mandates over Palestine and Iraq. Transjordan, the territory east of the Jordan River, was not explicitly mentioned, but, as it formed part of the Sykes-Picot Treaty’s zone of British influence, it was understood to form part of the Palestine mandate. French troops moved into Syria from Lebanon and occupied Damascus in July 1920. Faysal was forced into exile, although the British installed him as King of Iraq the following year.

Divide and Rule

France adopted a divide-and-rule policy in Syria, dividing the country into semi-autonomous statelets. In 1920 Greater Lebanon was formed by adding extensive, mainly Muslim, areas to the core area, Mount Lebanon, where Maronite Christians dominated and which, under the Ottomans, had been a separate administrative unit known as a mutasarrifiya. The same year the rest of Syria was divided into the states of Damascus, Aleppo, and of the Alawites (the latter was in north-western Syria, along the coast, a region inhabited largely by the heterodox Shiite Alawite sect). In 1921 a Jabal al-Druze State, centered on the southern Syrian heartland of the Druze, another heterodox Shiite sect, was added.

Syrian french mandate
@Fanack

Under the Franco-Turkish Ankara Agreement of October 1921 the Sanjak (sub-province) of Alexandretta, with its mixed Turkish, Armenian, and Arab population, was that year added to Syria as an autonomous province. Against a background of insistent claims on the territory by Turkey, under the rule of Mustafa Kemal (later to be named Kemal Atatürk), Alexandretta was, in 1923, joined to Aleppo State while retaining a special administrative status. In 1938 Turkish forces entered Alexandretta and expelled most of its Arab (mainly Alawite) and Armenian inhabitants. The same year, the province proclaimed independence as Hatay State, but in 1939 Hatay’s legislature voted for annexation to Turkey, as the province of Hatay, whose main port is Iskenderun, the former Alexandretta. In July of that year, the French departed from Syria.

In 1922-1924 the Alawite, Damascus, and Aleppo states were joined in a Syrian Federation. In January 1925 Damascus and Aleppo were united into a single Syrian state, while the Alawite State maintained its quasi-independence.