تبرع
وقائع الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا
ابحث في fanack.com
Please enter search keyword.

استراتيجية النظام السوري تجاه القوى الخارجية: الغرب وتركيا

استراتيجية النظام السوري
أرملة سورية نازحة تختبىء مع أطفالها تحت غطاء في مخيم بالقرب من قرية ترحين في منطقة خاضعة لسيطرة الفصائل المدعومة من تركيا في ريف حلب الشمالي في 5 أيلول 2021. تسبب تدهور الليرة التركية والتي أصبحت الآن العملة الرئيسية في الأجزاء التي تسيطر عليها المعارضة في شمال سوريا بمزيد من المعاناة للناس التي تعيش في هذه المنطقة الذي مزقتها الحرب وتحولت في السنوات الأخيرة إلى محمية تركية بحكم الأمر الواقع. Bakr ALKASEM / AFP

المقدّمة

لم تكن علاقة سوريا مع الغرب جيّدة تاريخيًا، خاصةً في فترة حكم الرئيس الأسبق حافظ الأسد ومن بعده ابنه بشار الأسد. وكانت صورة الغرب تُقدَّم للشعب السوري بشكل دائم، سواء عن طريق الإعلام الرسمي أو مناهج التعليم، على أنّه “إمبريالي” و”استعماري”. وكان الغرب ممثّلاً بالولايات المتحدة وغالبية الدول الأوروبية، ويوصَف بأنه حليف لإسرائيل؛ العدو التاريخي للنظام السوري.

ونفّذ الغرب العقوبات الاقتصادية والحصار تجاه النظام السوري مرارًا وتكرارًا في أكثر من فترة عبر الزمن. وتختلف الأسباب حسب الحدث، بدءًا من دعم حافظ الأسد للثورة الإيرانية في إيران عام 1979، وصولًا إلى الدور الذي لعبه الجيش السوري في لبنان في ثمانينات القرن الماضي، بالإضافة إلى الأزمة السورية المندلعة منذ مارس عام 2011.

ولكن مرّت علاقة النظام السوري مع الغرب، خاصةً الولايات المتحدة، بمراحل جيّدة نسبيًا، إلّا أنها كانت مؤقتة وقصيرة. ومنها ما جاء بعد تأييد الأسد الأب للتحالف الدولي ضد نظام الرئيس العراقي الأسبق صدام حسين عند غزوه الكويت عام 1990.

وفي عهد الأسد الابن، ورغم دعواته للانفتاح على الجميع في بداية فترة حكمه، إلّا أن العلاقة مع الولايات المتحدة والغرب لم تتحسّن. وبدأ التأزّم الحقيقي بعد اغتيال رئيس الحكومة اللبنانية الأسبق رفيق الحريري في بيروت عام 2005، حيث وجَّهت الكثير من الأطراف الغربية حينها أصابع الاتّهام إلى النظام السوري وحلفائه في الجريمة، كما اتّهمته بتعطيل التحقيقات حولها.

الولايات المتحدة

في بداية الاحتجاجات ضد النظام السوري، لم تُظهِر الولايات المتحدة نيّة حقيقية للتدخّل في سوريا قبل مواجهة النظام للشوارع المنتفضة بالأسلحة النارية. وفي ذلك الوقت، كان الملف الليبي شاغلًا واشنطن والدول الغربية بشكل عام، حيث كانت حازمة في مسألة إسقاط نظام الزعيم الليبي السابق معمّر القذافي. أما نظرتها لنظام الأسد فكانت متروّية، خاصةً وأن الأسد كان قد اتّجه قبل بداية الاحتجاجات للانفتاح على الغرب، كما أنه أبدى بوادر سلام مع إسرائيل.

واقتصرت التصريحات الأمريكية خلال عام 2011 و2012 على القول “إن أيام الأسد معدودة“. وكان ذلك من دون سلوكٍ حقيقيّ يتصدى لعمليات الجيش السوري العسكرية في البلاد، والتي كانت تحصد أرواح العشرات يوميًا خلال تلك الفترة.

استراتيجية النظام السوري
سوريون يتجمعون بالقرب من عربة خبراء أسلحة تابعين للأمم المتحدة أثناء قيامهم بتفتيش موقع يشتبه في تعرضه لهجوم مميت بالأسلحة الكيماوية في 28 أغسطس / آب 2013 في منطقة الغوطة الشرقية في الضواحي الشمالية الشرقية لدمشق. قالت جماعة ناشطة في الهيئة العامة للثورة السورية نقلاً عن قوات المعارضة إن مفتشي الأمم المتحدة وصلوا إلى منطقة الغوطة الشرقية تحت حماية مقاتلي المعارضة. محمد عبدالله / وكالة الصحافة الفرنسية

واتّهمت سياسة الرئيس الأمريكي الأسبق باراك أوباما سوريا بأنها “فاشلة ومتردّدة“، خاصّةً بعد التهديد الذي وجّهته الولايات المتحدة إلى نظام الأسد في حال استخدم الأسلحة الكيميائية ضد شعبه. وقال أوباما أن تلك الأسلحة هي بمثابة “خط أحمر”، لكن لم يحدث شيئًا من كل ما قيل رغم استخدام الأسد لتلك الأسلحة عدّة مرات. وكان أوّلها وأوضحها في منطقة الغوطة الشرقية في ريف دمشق عام 2013.

ومع بداية نشوء التنظيمات الجهادية في سوريا، وفي مقدّمتها تنظيم “الدولة الإسلامية“، كرّر النظام السوري تحذيره للغرب من مغبّة ما يحدث، لافتًا في أكثر من مرة إلى أنه يقاتل الجهاديين وأنهم سيحكمون البلاد في حال غيابه. وبالفعل، كان رد فعل الولايات المتحدة حاسمًا تجاه الانتشار الجهادي في سوريا. وكان التدخّل العسكري الأوّل لها هو ضد تنظيم الدولة الإسلامية، حيث بدأت بتوجيه ضرباتها في سوريا والعراق بالتعاون مع مجموعة من الدول الغربية والعربية. وكان ذلك في سياق ما عُرِف بـ “التحالف الدولي ضد تنظيم الدولة الإسلامية”.

وفي خريف عام 2014، نشر الرئيس أوباما 2000 جندي في سوريا. وبدأت أسراب المقاتلات الأمريكية بقصف مواقع التنظيم، كما بدأت الولايات المتحدة بدعم قوات محلية كردية لمقاتلة تنظيم الدولة على الأرض، إلى أن تمّ القضاء عليه بشكل شبه تام خلال عام 2019.

ولم يكن موقف الأسد من التدخّل الغربي العسكري في سوريا جادًا، حيث اكتفى بالقول بأنه تدخّل “غير شرعي“. وأشار في أكثر من مناسبة إلى أن الدول التي تحارب تنظيم الدولة، هي نفسها الدول التي ساهمت بنشوء هذا التنظيم.

واتُّهِم النظام السوري الذي شنّ عملياته العسكرية ضد تنظيم الدولة الإسلامية في البادية السورية ومناطق أخرى من البلاد، بأنّه يخوض في علاقات اقتصادية مع التنظيم ويشتري منه النفط، بل ويسهم في تسيير منشآت التنظيم النفطيّة. ولم يكن ذلك خافيًا عن الغرب، التي كانت من أوائل الجهات التي أصدِرت بحقّها عقوبات، هي وحلفاء النظام المتعاملين اقتصاديًا مع تنظيم الدولة الإسلامية.

ورصدت عدسات الإعلام في فترة الحرب ضد “تنظيم داعش” موقفًا واضحًا من قِبل الجيش السوري. فهذا الأخير يقوم باستهداف المدن والقرى السورية بشكل مركّز، لكنّه يتحاشى ضرب أهداف رئيسية لداعش داخل عاصمته الرقّة، على الرغم من سهولة رصد ومعرفة تلك المواقع بالنسبة للنظام. ويقول مركز واشنطن لدراسات الشرق الأدنى في بحث صادر عنه يرصد العلاقة بين تنظيم الدولة الإسلامية ونظام الأسد، أنه “لولا دعم النظام السوري وتسامحه، لما كان تنظيم الدولة الإسلامية ليتطوّر بين عامي 2012 و2015”. كما اتّهمَ البحث نظام الأسد بـ “تحرير الإرهابيين من السجون السورية والمساعدة في تمويل التنظيم من خلال شراء النفط والقمح منه”.

وكان هذا الدعم ذا أهداف واضحة خلال تلك الفترة، وهي إطالة عمر الصراع ضد التنظيم على اعتبار أنّه يلفت الأنظار بعيدًا عن ممارسات نظام الأسد في سوريا، ويخلق قضية عالمية كُبرى تُتيح له التصرّف في الظلّ. تلك القضية تجعل الأخبار عاجلة على كل الشاشات، خاصّةً بممارسات تنظيم الدولة لا بممارسات النظام السوري.

ولعِب وقف الصواريخ العشوائية، الموجّهة من قِبل النظام السوري ضد إسرائيل، دورًا كبيرًا في نظر القوى الغربية وتل أبيب لهذا النظام بصفته أداة فاعلة يمكن الاعتماد عليها لإيقاف هذه الظاهرة. وعليه، فإن هذا الدور ساهم في بقاء النظام على رأس السلطة في سوريا.

النظام ليس هدفًا للولايات المتحدة

بقي النظام السوري بعيدًا عن مرمى النيران الأمريكية إلى أن وجّه الرئيس الأمريكي الأسبق دونالد ترامب أوّل ضربة عسكرية استهدفت مواقع تابعة للجيش السوري في أبريل عام 2018، ردًا على استخدام النظام السوري للأسلحة الكيميائية. لكن، تلك الضربة كانت محدودة ولم يكن الهدف منها إسقاط النظام السوري حينها وفق التصريحات الأمريكية. فمن جهة، لم يكن يتجاوز رد النظام السوري على تلك الضربة حدود الشجب والانتقاد. لقد كان رد اعتاده هذا النظام تجاه العمليات العسكرية الأمريكية في سوريا، ما يدلّ على أنّه لا يريد فتح أي جبهة عسكرية مباشرة ضد الولايات المتحدة. ومن جهةٍ أخرى، استهدف النظام بعض الأهداف لحلفاء الولايات المتحدة داخل سوريا كما حدث عام 2016 مع الأكراد.

ومنذ عهد أوباما مرورًا بعهد ترامب ووصولًا إلى عهد بايدن، كانت العقوبات الاقتصادية هي السلاح الأوضح الذي تواجه به الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية النظام السوري. ولم يخل عام منذ 2011 وحتى عام 2022 من مرور قوانين وعقوبات استهدفت كيانات وشخصيات وشركات سورية، لتشمل بذلك كبار السياسيين والاقتصاديين وعائلة الأسد بتفرّعاتها، إضافةً إلى كُبرى الشركات والبنوك السورية. وتراوحت التهم بين علاقاتٍ مع إيران الخاضعة لحزمة عقوبات أمريكية وغربية كبيرة، وعلاقات اقتصادية مع تنظيمات مصنّفة إرهابية في الغرب، إضافةً إلى تنفيذ ودعم عمليات عسكرية ضدّ المدن والقرى السورية.

استراتيجية النظام السوري
جنود أمريكيون يقومون بدوريات في منطقة بالقرب من بلدة المالكية شمال شرق سوريا (ديريك باللغة الكردية) في 5 كانون الأول 2021. المصدر: Delil souleiman / AFP

وكانت ذروة قوانين العقوبات الأمريكية ضد النظام السوري حزمة العقوبات المسمّاة بـ “قيصر“، التي صدرت عام 2020. سُمِّي القانون بهذا الاسم نسبةً إلى مصوّر عسكري انشقّ عن النظام السوري في عام 2014، وسرّب عددًا كبيرًا من الصور التي توثّق سقوط آلاف القتلى تحت التعذيب في سجون النظام السوري. وأهم نقاط القانون كانت تلك التي فرضت عقوبات على أي شخص أجنبي يقدّم دعمًا ماليًا أو ماديًا أو تقنيًا للحكومة السورية، إضافةً إلى عقوبات على أي شخص أو مجموعة تلعب دورًا عسكريًا داعمًا للنظام السوري أو للقوات الإيرانية أو الروسية العاملة في سوريا. وشملت العقوبات أيضًا الكيانات التي تعمل تجاريًا مع النظام السوري، فتشتري منه أو تبيعه، وتلك التي تبرم عقودًا خاصةً بإعادة الإعمار في سوريا.

وساهم القانون، وغيره من قوانينٍ سابقة ولاحقة، بعزلة النظام السوري دوليًا. كذلك، تفاقمت الأزمة الاقتصادية والتضخّم الذي وصل إلى حدود كبرى رافقته أزمات متعدّدة بالموارد والقطع الأجنبي والخدمات، لتنهار العملة المحلية إلى مستويات لم تصل إليها تاريخيًا.

ولم يوفّر النظام السوري أي جهد للتهرّب من قوانين العقوبات التي تستهدفه، فقد اعتمد على طريقتين. الأولى هي دعم الدول الحليفة له من خلال قروض ماليةٍ ضخمةٍ تحصل عليها جهات سورية، وهي قروضٌ تضمن فيها استمرارية زمنية لنشاطها المالي والاقتصادي وحتى العسكري. والثانية، وهي الأهم، تتضمّن إنشاء شركات بأسماء وهمية، حيث تتجنّب بها الشركات والشخصيات الحقيقية قوانين العقوبات وتضمن سير أعمالها في سوريا.

أوروبا

يمكن اختصار الموقف الأوروبي مما يجري في سوريا منذ عام 2011 وحتى يومنا هذا، بما يعلنه موقع بعثة الاتحاد الأوروبي إلى سوريا، بالإيمان بالحلّ السياسي كمخرج من الأزمة. بالإضافة إلى ضرورة “اجتثاث داعش” وغيرها من الكيانات الإرهابية المدرجة على لوائح الأمم المتحدة. ويشير ذلك إلى أن التدخّل الأوروبي العسكري الوحيد تقريبًا هو ضمن سياق التحالف الدولي ضدّ تنظيم الدولة. أما في ما يخصّ بقية تفاصيل الصراع، فتراوحت دول الاتحاد الأوروبي بين ثلاث سلوكيات. أوّلها الإسهام بالدعم الإنساني، ثانيها الدعوة أو رعاية التفاوض، وثالثها المشاركة بالعقوبات الاقتصادية على النظام السوري وأطراف الصراع.

ولم يخفّ قلق غالبية الدول الأوروبية مما يجري في سوريا عند بداية مواجهة الاحتجاجات فيها بالرصاص. وتراوحت المواقف بين من دعا إلى وقف العنف وضرورة اللجوء إلى حلٍّ سياسيٍّ، ومن هاجم النظام السوري ودعا الأسد إلى الرحيل وفتح الأبواب للمعارضة السورية. وكانت فرنسا في مقدّمة تلك البلدان، ولعلّها كانت صاحبة الموقف الأوضح بهذا الخصوص.

وأوّل وأوضح ردود النظام السوري تجاه الدول الأوروبية، كان على لسان وزير الخارجية السوري السابق وليد المعلم الذي دعا حينها الشعب السوري إلى نسيان قارة أوروبا وتجاهُل وجودها على الخارطة.

كذلك استغلّ النظام السوري وجود فصائل إرهابية كتنظيم الدولة الإسلامية وسواها لتوجيه أنظار الولايات المتحدة بعيدًا عنه. كما تم استخدام ورقة الإرهاب كوسيلة للتعامل مع الدول الأوروبية، ولعلّ الخطاب السوري الموجّه إلى أوروبا تضمّن تهديدًا مباشرًا بالإرهاب. وقد جاء على لسان مفتي سوريا السابق أحمد بدر الدين حسّون تهديد مباشر بإرسال الانتحاريين إلى الغرب في عام 2011.

استراتيجية النظام السوري
شوهد الآلاف من طالبي اللجوء ينتظرون في طوابير التسجيل ودخول مخيم اللاجئين المؤقت الجديد في جزيرة ليسبوس في اليونان بعد الحريق الذي دمر مخيم موريا للاجئين وينتظر هؤلاءالخضوع لاختبار فيروس كوفيد 19 بعد التسجيل حيث يتم عزل الأشخاص المصابين بالفيروس في منطقتين محددتين. 18 أيلول 2020. المصدر:Nicolas Economou / NurPhoto / NurPhoto via AFP

وبالفعل انشغلت أوروبا بمكافحة العمليات الإرهابية على أرضها، والتي تبنّى تنظيم الدولة الإسلامية تنفيذ غالبيتها، خاصةً خلال السنوات 2015 و2016 و2017. وطالت يد الإرهاب مواقع مدنيّة وحيوية في كل من هولندا وفرنسا وبريطانيا وإسبانيا والسويد وبلجيكا وألمانيا وغيرها.

وكانت قضيّة اللاجئين هي الأخرى واحدة من الضغوطات التي تعرّضت لها أوروبا جراء ما يجري في سوريا، حيث تدفّق وما زال يتدفّق آلاف اللاجئين من سوريا نحو دول أوروبية عدّة، في رحلةِ لجوءٍ اختلفت طرقها وأساليبها. أما ألمانيا والسويد وهولندا وبلجيكا وغيرها من الدول الأوروبية، وجدت نفسها أمام موجات لاجئين هاربين من الحرب في بلدهم. ووجّهت بعض الدول الأوروبية حينها اتّهامات شتّى للنظام السوري وحليفه الروسي، بأنهما يستخدمان قضية اللاجئين للضغط على الغرب ولزعزعة استقرار الدول الأوروبية. وقد جاء على لسان وزير الخارجية الروسي عام 2018 قول: “أصغر خطأ في الحسابات في سوريا قد يؤدي إلى موجات جديدة من المهاجرين”.

وبدأ الاتحاد الأوروبي منذ عام 2011 بفرض أشكالٍ من العقوبات على كيانات سورية مختلفة، تراوحت بين منع شخصيات محدّدة من دخول دوله، وفرض عقوبات اقتصادية تستهدف أشخاص وشركات سوريّة أو متعاونة مع النظام السوري، بشكل يشابه السلوك الأمريكي. وكان موقف الاتحاد الأوروبي واضحًا بأنّه “لا يمكن التطبيع أو رفع العقوبات أو إعادة الإعمار قبل أن ينخرط النظام السوري في عملية انتقالٍ سياسيّ والتنفيذ الكامل لقرار مجلس الأمن رقم 2254″.

وكانت الحكومة السورية تنتقد باستمرار عقوبات الاتحاد الأوروبي، حيث حمّلها النظام السوري مرارًا مسؤولية تردّي أوضاع السوريين، بل وطالب الاتحاد الأوروبي بدفع تعويضات للشعب السوري جراء هذه العقوبات.

تركيا

تقلّبت العلاقات السورية التركية تاريخيًا بين توطيد ونزاع، إلّا أنها شهدت فترة ذهبيّة امتدّت خلال العقد الأول من القرن الحادي والعشرين. وكانت بداية تحسّن العلاقات مع توقيع اتفاق أضنة عام 1998، وهو اتفاق أمني، ثم جاءت قمّة التحوّل إلى علاقات وديّة مع توقيع اتفاقية التجارة الحرة عام 2004. وبدأ تبادل الزيارات بين الأسد ورئيس الحكومة التركية آنذاك رجب طيب أردوغان.

ومع بداية تأزّم الأوضاع في سوريا، بدأت الحكومة التركية تدعو النظام السوري لإجراء “حوار وطني”. وبعد عام من بداية الأحداث السورية، أغلقت سفارتها في دمشق وأعلنت تعليق العلاقات الدبلوماسية. وسريعًا ما بدأت باستضافة مؤتمرات وجلسات التكتلّات السياسية السورية المعارضة، ودعا أردوغان الأسد إلى التنحي عن الحكم.

وتحوّلت تركيا بسرعة من صديق للحكومة السورية إلى عدوٍّ لها. وعبّر الأسد في حوار أجرته معه جريدة “جموريت” التركية في يوليو عام 2012 عن استيائه من الموقف التركي، متّهمًا تركيا بالتورّط في “الأحداث الدموية” و”تأمين الدعم اللوجستي للإرهابيين”.

وأصبحت تركيا خلال عام 2012 وما بعده واحدة من المتّهمين الأوائل في كل ما يجري، إلى جانب دول عربية وأجنبية أخرى. ولم يكد يخلو خطاب أو حوار صحفي يجريه مسؤول أو محلّل سياسي داعم للأسد، من اتهامٍ لتركيا بدعم المجموعات المسلحة المعارضة، وبالتآمر “لإسقاط الدولة السورية”.

استراتيجية النظام السوري
رجال يحفرون قبرًا خلال جنازة مقاتل من قوات سوريا الديمقراطية في مدينة القامشلي ذات الأغلبية الكردية شمال شرق سوريا في 10 آب 2022 وذلك بعد يوم من مقتله إلى جانب ثلاثة آخرين في غارة جوية نفذتها طائرة تركية بدون طيار.. وكان المرصد السوري لحقوق الإنسان قد أفاد بأن الهجوم وقع بالقرب من مستشفى في القامشلي، العاصمة الفعلية لإدارة كردية ذاتية شبه مستقلة تدير أجزاء كبيرة من شمال شرق البلاد. وقال المرصد إن الضحايا الأربعة قتلوا أثناء قيامهم بحفر خنادق بالقرب من الحدود التركية تحسبا لهجوم جديد هددت أنقرة بشنه منذ أيار. المصدر: Delil SOULEIMAN / AFP

وفي الجانب العملي، كان أوضح سلوك قام به النظام السوري في سياق عدائه لتركيا، هو التغاضي عن نشوء قوى مسلّحة كردية في مناطق من الشمال الشرقي والغربي السوري، أي على الحدود التركية. واعتبرت تركيا تلك القوى جزءًا من حزب العمل الكردستاني الذي تصنّفه كحزبٍ إرهابيٍّ وتواجهه عسكريًا في مختلف مناطق انتشاره. وعلى الرغم من تسمية النظام السوري للقوى الكردية بأنّها “خائنة” ومدعومة من قِبل الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية، إلّا أنه تجنّب المواجهة العسكريّة معها، مع العلم أن هناك الكثير من مواقع الالتماس الجغرافي بين الجيش السوري والقوى الكردية في مدن وأرياف الشمال الشرقي.

وفي كثيرٍ من الأحيان، وُصِفت العلاقة بين القوى الكردية والجيش السوري بأنها “علاقة تحالف“، على الرغم من النفي الكردي المتواصل لذلك والتعبير عن أن مسألة بقاء الأسد أو عدمها ليست قضيتها. واعتُبِر السلوك البارد من قِبل الحكومة السورية تجاه انتشار القوى الكردية ونشوء الإدارات الذاتية الكردية، بمثابة ورقة ضغط يرفعها نظام الأسد في وجه تركيا.

وكانت القضية الثانية التي حكمت العلاقة بين النظام السوري وتركيا هي مسألة المناطق الخارجة عن النظام السوري، والتي تحكم أغلبها مجموعات متحالفة مع تركيا. وفي الواقع، يمكن القول أن علاقة النظام السوري مع تركيا في مناطق إدلب وريفها كانت محكومة من قِبل روسيا الحليفة للنظام السوري. وكان الجيشان التركي والروسي يسيّران دوريات مشتركة لضمان وقف إطلاق النار، بعد اتفاق بين أردوغان والرئيس الروسي فلاديمير بوتين.

ولكن بين فترة وأخرى، تخلّل الاتفاق معارك بين القوى التركية والقوى المعارضة السورية المدعومة منها ضد الجيش السوري.

وكانت بلا شك قضية اللاجئين – التي تمّت الإشارة إليها كوسيلة ضغط استخدمتها الحكومة السورية في وجه أوروبا – قضية ضغط أيضًا استُخدِمت في وجه تركيا التي ينتشر في مدنها العدد الأكبر من اللاجئين السوريين. وتُحدّد إدارة الهجرة التابعة لوزارة الخارجية التركية عددهم بـ 3,762,686 لاجئ سوري حتى نهاية أبريل عام 2022.

وفي ربيع عام 2022 تم تداول أخبار ومقالات صحفية تشير إلى بداية تقارُب بين الحكومة السورية والتركيّة، إلّا أن تلك الأخبار كانت مجرَّد تكهّنات إلى أن بدأت مصادر رسميّة تركية بالحديث عن بوادر تفاهمات جديدة مع دمشق. كلّ ذلك بالتوازي مع الحديث المتواصل للمسؤولين الأتراك عن اقتراب عودة اللاجئين السوريين إلى بلادهم، الذين يُعتبر الاتفاق حولهم نقطة من بين عدّة نقاط مطروحة في سياق العلاقات بين دمشق وأنقرة. وبلا شك، يأتي في مقدّمتها نشاط القوى الكردية في الشمال السوري.

Donate
Chronicle of the Middle East and North Africa

Syrian Regime’s Strategy Toward Foreign Powers: the West and Turkey

Syrian Regime's Strategy
A displaced Syrian widow huddles under a cover with her children in a camp near the village of Tarhin in an area under the control of Turkish-backed factions in the northern countryside of Aleppo on December 5, 2021. The nose-dive of the Turkish lira, now the main currency in the rebel-held parts of the war-torn northern Syria, which in recent years has turned into a de facto Turkish protectorate, has heaped further pain on the people living there. Bakr ALKASEM / AFP

Introduction

Syria’s relationship with the West has not been good historically, especially during the rule of the late President Hafez al-Assad and his son Bashar al-Assad after him. The West has constantly been presented to the Syrian people through state-run media or educational curricula as “imperialist” and “colonial.” Also, the West, represented by the United States and most European countries, has been described as an ally of Israel, a historical enemy of the Syrian regime.

The West has repeatedly implemented economic sanctions and embargoes against the Syrian regime throughout history. Such sanctions and embargoes were triggered by various events, including Hafez al-Assad’s support for the Iranian Revolution in 1979, the role the Syrian Army had in Lebanon in the 1980s, and the Syrian crisis that broke out in March 2011.

However, the Syrian regime’s relationship with the West, especially the United States, had also gone through relatively good phases, although temporary and short. One reason was Hafez al-Assad’s support for the international coalition against the regime of former Iraqi President Saddam Hussein when the latter invaded Kuwait in 1990.

During the reign of Bashar al-Assad, the relationship with the United States and the West did not improve, despite his calls for openness to everyone at the beginning of his rule. Tensions increased after the assassination of former Lebanese Prime Minister Rafik Hariri in Beirut in 2005, at the time of which many Western parties accused the Syrian regime and its allies of being responsible for the crime and accused it of obstructing investigations.

United States

When the protests against the Syrian regime started, the United States did not show any real intention to intervene in Syria, until the regime used firearms to confront the protesters. At that time, the Libyan file was preoccupying Washington and Western countries in general. They were firm about overthrowing the regime of former Libyan leader Muammar Gaddafi but patient about Assad’s regime, especially because Assad, ahead of the protests, had started to open up to the West and shown signs of peace with Israel.

Between 2011 and 2012, US statements were limited to saying that “Assad’s days are numbered,” without taking real action in response to the Syrian army’s military operations across the country, which claimed dozens of lives every day at that time.

Syrian Regime's Strategy
Syrians gather near a vehicle of the United Nations (UN) arms experts as they inspect a site suspected of being hit by a deadly chemical weapons attack on August 28, 2013 in the Eastern Ghouta area on the northeastern outskirts of Damascus. UN inspectors arrived in Eastern Ghouta area under the protection of rebel fighters, said the Syrian Revolution General Commission activist group, citing the opposition forces. MOHAMED ABDULLAH / AFP

The policy of former US President Barack Obama toward Syria was taunted as “failed and reluctant,” especially after the United States had warned Assad’s regime against using chemical weapons against its people. Obama said these weapons were a “red line,” but nothing happened even after Assad used these weapons several times, most evidently in the Eastern Ghouta area near Damascus in 2013.

With the emergence of jihadist organizations in Syria, on top of which was the ‘Islamic State‘ (IS), the Syrian regime repeatedly warned the West of the consequences of the situation, pointing out more than once that it is fighting jihadists and claiming that the jihadists would rule the country in the regime’s absence. Indeed, the United States reacted decisively to the jihadist spread in Syria. The first US military intervention was against IS, striking in both Syria and Iraq in cooperation with a group of Western and Arab countries that formed what has been known as the “Global Coalition To Defeat ISIS.

In the fall of 2014, President Obama deployed 2,000 troops to Syria and US fighter squadrons bombed IS positions. Also, the United States started to support Kurdish local forces to fight IS on the ground, until it was almost completely eliminated in 2019.

Assad’s position on the Western military intervention in Syria did not go further than describing it as “illegal“. He pointed out on more than one occasion that the countries fighting IS are the same that contributed to its emergence.

The Syrian regime, which launched military operations against IS in the Syrian Badia (desert) and other parts of the country, was accused of engaging in economic relations with IS, buying oil from it, and even contributing to the management of its oil facilities. This was not a secret to the West, which was among the first parties to put sanctions against it, and against the regime’s allies that dealt economically with IS.

During the war against IS, the media observed that clearly, the Syrian army mostly attacked Syrian cities and villages, while avoiding major targets in the organization’s stronghold, Raqqa, although it was easy for the regime to monitor and recognize such positions. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy said in a study on the relationship between IS and the Assad regime that “without this support from the Assad regime, the Islamic State group could not have evolved during 2012-2015 into the powerful terrorist group it became.” The study also accused Assad’s regime of “releasing terrorists from Syrian prisons and helping to bankroll ISIS by purchasing oil from ISIS and wheat from ISIS-controlled areas that ISIS was able to tax.”

Such support had a clear goal at that time, namely, to prolong the conflict against ISIS as it diverted attention from the practices of Assad’s regime in Syria and created a global scenario allowing it to act in the shadows. That issue, especially the practices of IS, was reported as breaking news on all screens, not that of the Syrian regime.

The Syrian regime refraining from firing indiscriminate missiles against Israel has played a major role for Western powers and Tel Aviv, which viewed the regime as an effective and reliable tool to stop the phenomenon. Accordingly, this role contributed to keeping the Syrian regime in power.

Regime out of US Range of Fire

The Syrian regime remained out of the US range of fire until former US President Donald Trump launched the first military strike against Syrian army sites in April 2018 in response to the regime’s use of chemical weapons. However, the strike was limited and not intended to overthrow the Syrian regime at the time, according to US statements. On the one hand, the regime’s response to the strike did not go beyond condemnation and criticism. Such a typical response by the Syrian regime toward US military operations in Syria was a sign that the regime did not want to open any direct military front against the United States. On the other hand, the regime attacked some targets of US allies inside Syria, as happened in 2016 against the Kurds.

Economic sanctions have been the most obvious weapon used by the administrations of Obama, Trump and Biden against the Syrian regime. Since 2011 up until 2022, US acts and sanctions have continuously targeted Syrian entities, personalities and companies, including senior politicians, economists, the entire Assad family and banks. Charges included establishing ties with Iran, which is subject to a broad range of US and Western sanctions, having economic relations with organizations designated as terrorist in the West, and carrying out and supporting military operations against Syrian cities and villages.

Syrian Regime's Strategy
US soldiers patrol an area near the northeastern Syrian town of al-Malikiya (Derik in Kurdish) on December 5, 2021. Delil souleiman / AFP

US sanctions issued against the Syrian regime reached a climax with a package of sanctions referred to as the “Caesar Syria Civilian Protection Act” issued in 2020. The act was named after a military photographer who defected from the Syrian regime in 2014 and leaked a large number of photos documenting thousands of deaths under torture in Syrian regime prisons. The Act most importantly imposed sanctions against any foreign person extending financial, material or technical support to the Syrian Government, in addition to sanctions against any person or group having a military role in support of the Syrian regime or Iranian or Russian forces operating in Syria. The sanctions also included entities that engage commercially with the regime, buying or selling from it, and those that conclude contracts for reconstruction in Syria.

The Caesar Act, as well as previous and subsequent laws, contributed to isolating the Syrian regime internationally. Likewise, the economic crisis and inflation, which reached major limits, were exacerbated by multiple shortages in resources, foreign exchange and services, causing the local currency to collapse to unprecedented levels.

The Syrian regime did not spare any effort to evade penal laws it was the target of, relying on two ways. The first was the support received from allied countries through huge financial loans obtained by Syrian entities to ensure the continuity of financial, economic and even military activities. The second, and most important, was the establishment of shell companies whereby real companies and personalities avoided penal laws and secured the continuity of their business in Syria.

Europe

The European position on what is happening in Syria since 2011 to the present can be summed up from what the webpage of the EU Delegation to Syria states, namely, that it believed in a political solution as a way out of the crisis and in the need for an “elimination of Da’esh” [Arabic acronym for IS] and other terrorist entities designated by the United Nations. This indicates that any European military intervention will be through the Global Coalition To Defeat ISIS. As for the other aspects of the conflict, EU countries’ responses varied, with some extending humanitarian support, others advocating or sponsoring negotiations, still others participating in economic sanctions against the Syrian regime and other parties to the conflict.

The concerns of most European countries about the situation in Syria increased when arms were used at the onset of the protests. Some countries called for ending the violence and urged a political solution, while others condemned the Syrian regime and asked Assad to leave and give way to the Syrian opposition. France was on top of these countries and perhaps has had the clearest position in this regard.

The first and clearest response of the Syrian regime toward Europe was made by former Syrian Foreign Minister Walid al-Muallem, who at the time called on the Syrian people to forget the European continent and consider that it did not exist on the map.

The Syrian regime has also taken advantage of terrorist factions such as IS and others to divert the attention of the United States away from itself. The terrorism card was used as a bridge for dealing with European countries, and perhaps the Syrian discourse directed at Europe implied a direct threat of using terrorism. Former Grand Mufti of Syria Ahmad Badr al-Din Hassoun threatened to send suicide bombers to the West in 2011.

Indeed, Europe has been preoccupied with combating terrorist operations on its soil, most of which were claimed by ISIS, especially in 2015, 2016 and 2017. Terrorism targeted civilian and vital positions in the Netherlands, France, Britain, Spain, Sweden, Belgium, Germany, and others.

Syrian Regime's Strategy
Thousands of asylum seekers are seen in queues waiting to register and enter the new temporary refugee camp on Lesbos island in Greece after the fire that destroyed the Moria refugee camp. Refugees and migrants are waiting in order to be tested for the Covid-19 virus after registering and people who have the virus are isolated in two specific areas. September 18, 2020. Nicolas Economou / NurPhoto / NurPhoto via AFP

The refugee issue also put pressure on Europe in view of the situation in Syria. Thousands of refugees from Syria have fled and still flee toward several European countries by different means. Germany, Sweden, the Netherlands, Belgium and other European countries found themselves in the face of waves of refugees fleeing their war-stricken homeland. At the time, some European countries leveled accusations against the Syrian regime and its Russian ally of using the refugee issue to pressure the West and destabilize Europe. In 2018, the Russian Foreign Minister said: “A small miscalculation in Syria may lead to new waves of immigrants.”

Since 2011, the EU has begun imposing forms of sanctions on different Syrian entities, barring specific personalities from entering EU countries, imposing economic sanctions against Syrian individuals and companies, or those cooperating with the Syrian regime, steps that were similar to the US. The EU position was clear, namely, that “it is not possible to normalize relations, lift sanctions, or start reconstruction before the Syrian regime carries out political transition and Security Council Resolution 2254 is fully implemented.”

The Syrian government had constantly criticized EU sanctions, with the regime repeatedly blaming them for the deteriorating conditions of the Syrian people, and even demanded the EU to pay compensation to the Syrian people as a result of imposing the sanctions.

Turkey

Syrian-Turkish relations have historically fluctuated. However, they experienced a golden time in the first decade of the 21st century. Bilateral ties started to improve with the signing of the Adana Agreement (a security deal) in 1998, and relations flourished into friendly ones after signing the Free Trade Agreement in 2004. Exchange of official visits began between Assad and then Turkish Prime Minister Recep Tayyip Erdogan.

As the situation started to deteriorate in Syria, the Turkish government began calling on the Syrian regime to conduct a “national dialogue”. One year after the Syrian unrest broke out, Turkey closed its Embassy in Damascus and announced that diplomatic ties were put on hold. Soon, it began hosting conferences and sessions for Syrian opposition political blocs, and Erdogan called on Assad to step down.

Turkey quickly transformed from being a friend of the Syrian government to an enemy. In an interview with the Turkish newspaper “Cumhuriyet ” in July 2012, Assad expressed dissatisfaction over the Turkish position, accusing Turkey of involvement in “bloody events” and “providing logistical support for terrorists.”

During 2012 and onward, Turkey became a main suspect in everything happening, together with Arab and other foreign countries. Almost every speech by or press interview with an official or political analyst supporting Assad accused Turkey of supporting opposition armed groups and of conspiring to “overthrow the Syrian State.”

Syrian Regime's Strategy
Men dig a grave during the funeral of a fighter of the Syrian Democratic Forces (SDF) in Syria’s northeastern Kurdish-majority city of Qamishli on August 10, 2022, a day after the fighter was killed alongside three others in an air strike carried out by a Turkish drone. The Syrian Observatory for Human Rights had reported that the attack struck near a hospital in Qamishli, the de facto capital of a semi-autonomous Kurdish administration that runs large parts of the country’s northeast. The four victims were killed while they dug trenches near Turkey’s border in anticipation of a new offensive that Ankara has threatened to launch since May, the Observatory said. Delil SOULEIMAN / AFP

On the practical side, the clearest position of the Syrian regime in its hostility to Turkey was overlooking the emergence of Kurdish armed forces in areas of northeastern and western Syria, that is, on the Turkish border. Turkey considered these forces as part of the Kurdistan Workers’ Party, which it designates as a terrorist party and confronts it militarily in the areas which it has had influence. Although the Syrian regime called US-backed Kurdish forces “traitors”, it avoided military confrontation with them despite many places of proximity between the Syrian army and Kurdish forces in the cities and countryside of northeastern Syria.

The Kurdish forces and the Syrian Army have often been described as “allies” despite the constant Kurdish denial and arguing that the question of whether Assad will survive is not their business. The indifference of the Syrian government toward the spread of Kurdish forces and the emergence of Kurdish semi-autonomy were pressure cards raised by Assad’s regime in the face of Turkey.

Another issue that governed the relationship between the Syrian regime and Turkey pertained to the areas outside regime control, mostly governed by groups allied with Turkey. In fact, the regime’s relationship with Turkey in Idlib and its countryside can be said to be controlled by Russia, an ally of the Syrian regime. The Turkish and Russian armies were conducting joint patrols to ensure a ceasefire could be put in place following the agreement between Erdogan and Russian President Vladimir Putin.

Despite the agreement, battles occasionally occurred between Turkish forces and Turkey-backed Syrian opposition forces, on the one hand, and the Syrian Army on the other hand.

Undoubtedly, the refugee issue – referred to as a means of pressure used by the Syrian government against Europe – was also used to apply pressure on Turkey, whose cities have the largest number of Syrian refugees. The Directorate General of Migration Management within the Turkish Ministry of Foreign Affairs sets the number of Syrian refugees at 3,762,686 as of the end of April 2022.

In the spring of 2022, news circulated indicating the beginning of a rapprochement between the Syrian and Turkish governments, but such news and articles were mere speculation until Turkish official sources started talking about signs of new understandings with Damascus. This happened in parallel with repeated talk by Turkish officials about the imminent return of Syrian refugees to their country. This was one of several points raised within the context of relations between Damascus and Ankara. Undoubtedly, the activities of Kurdish forces in northern Syria came on top of these points.