تبرع
وقائع الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

سوريا: الحملات الصليبية (1095-1291)

سوريا الحملات الصليبية
قلعة الحصن هي قلعة صليبية في سوريا وواحدة من أهم القلاع العسكرية المحفوظة في العصور الوسطى في العالم. يُطلق على القلعة باللغة العربية قلعة الحصن. تم بناء القلعة الأصلية في هذا الموقع عام 1031 لأمير حلب. | “The Krak des Chevaliers, Homs, Syria” by Alessandra Kocman is licensed under CC BY-NC-ND 2.0

بدأت الحملة الصليبية الأولى عام 1095 عندما دعا البابا أوربانوس الثاني إلى حملة عسكرية إلى الإمبراطورية البيزنطية لمساعدتها على محاربة السلاجقة (الأتراك) المعتدين وللسيطرة على الأراضي المقدسة، والتي كانت حينها تحت حكم الفاطميين في مصر. وكانت هذه بداية قرنين من الزمن تحارب خلالها المسيحيون والمسلمون في أغلب الأحيان – وفي بعض الأحيان أبناء الملة الواحدة – في كل المنطقة الممتدة بين الأناضول وفلسطين وفي مصر. ومع ذلك، كان هناك فترات عملت فيها تلك الأطراف المتناحرة معاً.

انطلقت شرارة الصراعات عندما نجح نورمان بوهيموند عام 1097 في الاستيلاء أخيراً على مدينة أنطاكيا، إحدى الكراسي البطريركية المسيحية، من السلاجقة. وكان الصليبيون قد وعدوا إمبراطور بيزنطة بإعادة الأقاليم التي احتلوها، ولكنهم لم يفوا بالوعد. وبعد الاستيلاء عليها بوقت قصير، استعاد جيش بقيادة كربغا، أمير الموصل، المدينة. وفي النهاية، تمكن الصليبيون من الاستيلاء على أنطاكيا مرة أخرى، ولكن صراعاً داخلياً اندلع. فبقي البعض في أنطاكية، وأكمل البعض الآخر زحفه للاستيلاء على فلسطين، الأراضي المقدسة.

اتجه جيش جودفري حاكم بولون إلى الجنوب. وفي بادئ الأمر، لم يبدو القلق على الفاطميين بشكل علني من مرور الصليبيين عبر أراضيهم، بل وفكروا في مساعدتهم ضد السلاجقة. لكن هذا الأمر تغير عندما اقترب الأوروبيون من فلسطين ومصر. في عام 1099، استولى جودفري حاكم بولون على القدس. ومع ذلك، ثبت أن الأراضي اللبنانية والسورية أكثر صعوبة للاستيلاء عليها – بل حتى السيطرة عليها. وكانت التحالفات تتغير، فتجد عدو الأمس يصير حليف اليوم، أو العكس.[/vc_column_text][/vc_column][/vc_row]

صلاح الدين

فتح الأمير نور الدين (1116-1174)، من أصل حلبي، دمشق ووحد السوريين العرب باسم الجهاد. وكان حاكماً أسطورياً، ولكن خليفته صلاح الدين الأيوبي فاقه شهرة حتى. كان صلاح (صلاح الدين يوسف بن أيوب، 1138-1193)، كردي من مواليد تكريت ونشأ في حلب وبعلبك ودمشق، ابن أخي الأمير شيركوه الصديق الحميم للأمير نور الدين، هو من فتح مصر وأخذ ابن أخيه معه. وعندما توفي شيركوه، عين نور الدين صلاح الدين قائداً للقوات السورية في مصر ووزيراً. وأعلن نهاية الحكم الفاطمي (الشيعي)، الذي استبدله بسلالته الأيوبية والقائد صلاح الدين الأيوبي الذي انتصر في عدة معارك حاسمة – مثل موقعة حطين عام 1187 والتي أدت إلى سقوط القدس وإنهاء احتلال الفرنجة للمنطقة – لم تكن شهرته ترجع إلى فطنته العسكرية فحسب، وإنما أيضاً إلى بسالته ومآثره الفروسية كمحارب. فسمعته في هذا الصدد مماثلة لتلك السمعة التي كان يحظى بها خصمه ريتشارد قلب الأسد، وقد أفاد من عاصر تلك الفترة أن كلا الرجلين كان يحترم الآخر، بل حتى معجباً به.

الآثار المترتبة على الحروب الصليبية

لكن لم يوحّد لا المسيحيون ولا المسلمون صفوفهم على الدوام. في حين بقيت الإمارات الواقعة بين هاتين القوتين – خوفاً من السلاجقة الأتراك – منقسمة في ولائها. وأخيراً في عام 1292، المماليك، سلالة حكام مصرية –  مع أنهم من أصول تركية – هم الذين وجهوا الضربة القاضية للصليبيين. وفي ذلك الوقت، غزا المغول القسم الشرقي لدولة المماليك، ووصلوا إلى مشارف دمشق. واحتلوا بغداد (1258) ودمشق قبل أن يهزمهم المماليك في معركة عبن جالوت عام 1260.

كلفت الحملات الصليبية (ثمان حملات في المجموع) الكثير من الأرواح، وجلبت معها الكثير من الدمار والأمراض والفوضى. ولكن بوجه عام، سُمح للسكان المحليين – عدا العبيد وأسرى الحرب – بالبقاء أوفياء لإيمانهم. كما احتفظوا بسلطاتهم المحلية ونظامهم القضائي. ومن جوانب عديدة كان هناك تأثير متبادل بين الحضارتين الشرقية والغربية. وقد ازدهرت التجارة، وخاصة في المناطق الساحلية. وكان التجار من مسلمين ومسيحيين ويهود ينعمون بحماية خاصة عند عبورهم الحدود، حتى ولو اضطروا إلى دخول أراضي “العدو”. فكانت القوافل تجوب المنطقة بأسرها، وكانت السفن تبحر من مصر إلى صور إلى القسطنطينية، بل وإلى ما هو أبعد من ذلك.

بعد أن غادر آخر الصليبيين الساحل اللبناني، غادر العديد من التجار المسيحيين معهم واستقروا في قبرص.

Donate
Chronicle of the Middle East and North Africa
All

Syria: The Crusades (1095-1291)

Syria Crusades
Krak des Chevaliers is a Crusader fortress in Syria and one of the most important preserved medieval military castles in the world. In Arabic, the fortress is called Qal’at al-Ḥiṣn (Arabic: قلعة الحصن‎). The original fortress at this location had been built in 1031 for the emir of Aleppo. | “The Krak des Chevaliers, Homs, Syria” by Alessandra Kocman is licensed under CC BY-NC-ND 2.0

The First Crusade began in 1095 when pope Urban II called for a military expedition to the Byzantine Empire to help it fight the Seljuk (Turk) assailants and to take control of the Holy Land, which at that time was under the rule of the Fatimids of Egypt. This inaugurated a period of two centuries in which Christians and Muslims often fought one another – and sometimes their own co-religionists – all over the region from Anatolia and Palestine to Egypt. At times, they did however also work together.

The first troubles arose in 1097 when the Norman Bohemond took the city of Antioch, one of the patriarchal sees of Christianity, from the Seljuk Turks. The crusaders had promised to hand back the territories they conquered to the Byzantine emperor, but Bohemond did not comply. Shortly after his conquest, however, an army led by Kerbogha of Mosul retook the city. Eventually, the crusaders managed to re-conquer Antioch, but internal strife broke out. Some stayed; some went on to conquer the Holy Land.

Godfrey of Bouillon’s army went south. In the beginning, the Fatimids did not seem overtly distressed by the crusaders passing through their territory and even considered helping them against the Seljuks. This changed, however, when the Europeans approached Palestine – and Egypt. In 1099, Godfrey of Bouillon conquered Jerusalem. However, the Lebanese and Syrian territories proved more difficult to conquer – and even less easy to hold on to. There were shifting alliances, with former enemies fighting alongside or transforming into opponents.[/vc_column_text][/vc_column][/vc_row]

Saladin

Emir Nur al-Din (1116-1174), whose origins lie in Aleppo, conquered Damascus and united the Syrian Arabs in the name of the jihad. He was a legendary ruler, but his successor Saladin became even more famous. Saladin (Salah al-Din Yusuf ibn Ayyub, 1138-1193), a Kurd born in Tikrit and raised in Aleppo, Baalbek, and Damascus, was the nephew of Nur al-Din’s confident Asad al-Din Shirkuh, who conquered Egypt, taking his nephew with him. When Shirkuh died, Nur al-Din appointed Saladin both commander of the Syrian troops in Egypt and vizier. Saladin proclaimed the end of the (Shiite) Fatimid rule, which he replaced with his own Ayyubid dynasty. Subsequently, he won famous battles such as the Battle of Hattin in 1187 which led to the fall of Jerusalem and the end of the occupation of that region by the Franks.

Saladin was famed not only for his strategic acumen but also for his courageous and chivalrous feats as a warrior. In this respect, his reputation was similar to that of his adversary Richard Lionheart; there are reports that both men respected one another.

Consequences of the Crusades

However, neither the Christians nor the Muslims always closed ranks. The emirates in the region remained divided in their allegiance. Eventually, in 1292, it was the Mamluks, a new Egyptian dynasty – of Turkish origin – who brought the final blow to the crusaders. By then, the eastern part of their territory had been invaded by the Mongols, who took Baghdad (in 1258) and Damascus before eventually being defeated by the Mamluks in the Battle of Ayn Jalut in 1260.

The Crusades (eight in total) cost many lives and brought a lot of destruction, disease, and disorder. Most of the time, the local inhabitants were allowed to remain true to their faith – except for slaves and prisoners of war. They also retained their local authorities and justice system. In many ways, the eastern and western cultures influenced one another. Trade thrived, especially in the coastal regions. Traders – Muslims, Christians, or Jews – enjoyed special protection when crossing borders, even when they had to enter ‘enemy’ territory. Caravans crossed the whole region, ships went from Egypt via Tyre to Constantinople and further. After the last of the crusaders left the Levantine coast, many Christian traders also left and settled in Cyprus.

In this article: Syria | History