تبرع
وقائع الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا
ابحث في fanack.com
Please enter search keyword.

القضية الفلسطينية في هوليوود

القضية الفلسطينية في هوليوود
صورة تم التقاطها للممثلة الأمريكية شارون ستون وهي تحمل كاميرا تصوير أثناء زيارتها لمدينة القدس القديمة يوم ١٢ مارس ٢٠٠٦. وكانت النجمة الهوليوودية في ذلك اليوم في المحطة الأخيرة من زيارتها لإسرائيل والتي كان الهدف منها دعم الجهود المبذولة لإحلال السلام. المصدر: Gali TIBBON / AFP.

نبيل محمد

المقدمة

لطالما لعبت هوليوود دوراً محورياً في تشكيل الوعي الغربي وخصوصاً الأمريكي تجاه القضية الفلسطينية. ولم يقتصر دور هوليوود على إنتاج الأفلام التي تناولت الصراع الفلسطيني الإسرائيلي فحسب، بل إن نجوم هوليوود كان لهم أثرٌ على الجمهور ورأيه عبر تصريحاتهم المرتبطة بهذا الصراع. وفي الوقت الذي يدعو فيه بعض النجوم الجمهور للوقوف إلى جانب الفلسطينيين، فإن البعض الآخر يطالب معجبيهم بتأييد إسرائيل في عملياتها ومخططاتها داخل فلسطين.

وعلى سبيل المثال، لاقت أحداث حي الشيخ جرّاح في القدس وما تبعها من اشتباكات في غزة، حضوراً على لسان كبار نجوم العالم. وشكّل حينذاك وقوف عددٍ كبير من النجوم في صفّ الفلسطينيين ظاهرة استثنائية، سيّما وأن هذا الأمر غير معتاد في عاصمة السينما العالمية. وتضم قائمة المشاهير الذين تضامنوا مع القضية الفلسطينية كلاً من فيولا ديفيس، الحائزة على جائزة أوسكار، ولينا هيدي، وجاك فالاهي، ومارك رافالو، والإسرائيلية ناتالي بورتمان، وغيرهم من نجوم وصنّاع السينما في هوليوود.

تاريخياً، وقف غالب إنتاجات السينما الأمريكية في صالح إسرائيل، مقابل أفلام قليلة كانت تنتج بين حين وآخر، تتميز بنظرة مختلفة للصراع ككل. وقد يعود السبب في ذلك إلى ارتباط شركات الإنتاج في هوليوود بإسرائيل. وتشير كتبٌ ودراسات كثيرة إلى تأسيس اليهود المهاجرين من أوروبا لعشرات شركات الإنتاج والإستديوهات في هوليوود.

اليهود في السينما الأمريكية المبكّرة

القضية الفلسطينية في هوليوود
صورة تم التقاطها في أكتوبر ١٩٧٢ لمارلون براندو أثناء تصوير فيلم “العرّاب” للمخرج فرانسيس فورد كوبولا. المصدر: AFP.

لا يمكن التطرق إلى مقاربة هوليوود للقضية الفلسطينية دون ربط ذلك بتطوّر شخصية اليهودي سينمائياً هناك. ففي مطلع القرن الماضي، لم تخل سينما هوليوود الصامتة من حضور الشخصية اليهودية فيها. واستوحيت تلك الشخصية من الصورة النمطية لليهود في العقلية الغربية بشكل عام. واتسمت شخصية اليهودي في الأفلام بصفاتٍ معينة، فاليهودي يتّسم بالدهاء ويمتلك المال، أما اليهود فهم غرباء يبثون الخوف في نفوس الآخرين[1]. كما شابت شخصية اليهودي المرسومة في السينما مبالغات جسديّة واضحة، فاليهود ذوو أنوف كبيرة، وظهور منحنية، وملامح حادّة.

مرت العشرات من الشخصيات اليهودية في السينما الصامتة. ومن الأمثلة على تلك الأفلام الفيلم القصير مخطط إعلانات كوهين المنتج سنة 1904، والحظ اليهودي المنتج سنة 1925. تلك الصورة ساهمت بتعميمها أدبياتٌ أوروبية تعود إلى فترات سابقة مثل مسرحية تاجر البندقية الشهيرة، للمسرحي الإنكليزي وليم شيكسبير والتي قدمت شخصية المرابي اليهودي شايلوك. تلك الشخصية كانت ممعنة بنمطيتها، حيث انعكست بسماتها على مئات الشخصيات الأخرى في أعمال سينمائية وتلفزيونية في عصور لاحقة.

هذه الصورة تغيّرت تدريجياً مع دخول رجال الأعمال اليهود المهاجرين إلى الولايات المتحدة، وعملهم بل وتأسيسهم كبريات شركات الإنتاج السينمائي. وتتضمن القائمة شركات MGM وParamount وColumbia وWarnerBros، وغيرها من الشركات التي ما زالت حتى يومنا هذا تتصدّر الإنتاجات الضخمة، بمختلف أشكال الأعمال الفنية.

تغيّر الصورة أزاح نمطية التاجر الغني والبخيل والاستغلالي، إلى شخصيات يهودية يمكن التعاطف معها[2]. ومن الأفلام التي أظهرت الانزياح الحاصل في تصوّر الشخصية اليهودية في السينما الأمريكية فيلم خيوط المصير المنتج سنة 1915، وفيلم مغني الجاز المنتج سنة 1927.

الشخصية اليهودية غابت عن هوليوود في عقدي الثلاثينات والأربعينات. ويردّ بعض الباحثين السبب وراء ذلك إلى الرغبة اليهودية بدمج اليهود في المجتمع الأمريكي[3]، وعدم إظهارهم كشخصيات مميزة، تجمعها الصفة اليهودية ونمطياتها.

بعد هذا اعتنت السينما الأمريكية أكثر بظهور اليهود كضحايا خاصة بعد “الهولوكوست“، ثم بمشروع إسرائيل في فلسطين. وكان لعشرات الأفلام دورٌ في تشكيل صورة إسرائيل، وصورة العرب والمسلمين أيضاً في الذهنية الأمريكية والغريبة عموماً. في المقابل، لم تعد هناك صورة نمطية في الشخصية اليهودية، إلا في مجال عرضها ضمن المشروع السياسي الإسرائيلي وفي بعض الاستثناءات القليلة.

في عقد الأربعينات، لم تنصب جهود هوليوود على إنتاج أفلام مؤيدة لإسرائيل وهجرة اليهود إلى فلسطين فحسب، إنما على الحملات الداعمة لإسرائيل، والتي قادتها كبار الشركات والشخصيات في هوليوود. وضغطت هذه الحملات على إنكلترا للرضوخ للمطالب اليهودية. كما تم تنظيم حملات لدعم العصابات اليهودية التي اشتهرت بإجرامها تجاه الفلسطينيين، مثل منظمة إرغون التي ثبتت مسؤوليتها تاريخياً عن مجازر ضد الفلسطينيين.

النجم العالمي مارلون براندو كان من المتحدثين الدائمين في تلك الحملات، والداعين المنتظمين لجمع التبرعات للمنظمة. على الرغم من أن براندو عرف فيما بعد بمواقف مختلفة ومناصرة للفلسطينيين، وبكونه فناناً يدافع عن القضايا الإنسانية العادلة، وضد التمييز بين الأعراق.

سينما ما بعد الحرب العالمية الثانية

القضية الفلسطينية في هوليوود
صورة أرشيفية تم التقاطها يوم ٢٧ فبراير ١٩٨٧ للمخرج الأمريكي فريد زينيمان والذي توفي يوم ١٤ مارس من نفس العام عن عمر يناهز ٨٩ عاماً في العاصمة البريطانية لندن. وأخرج زينيمان عدداً من الكلاسيكيات السينمائية مثل “High Noon” و”أوكلاهوما” وحصل على جائزة الأوسكار عن فيلمي “من هنا إلى الخلود” وفيلم “رجل لكل المواسم”. المصدر: JEAN-LOUP GAUTREAU / AFP.

اتجهت السينما الأمريكية ما بعد الحرب العالمية الثانية لأخذ القضية اليهودية بصورة أكثر جديّة. وبدأ اليهود القائمون على إنتاج السينما في هوليوود بتطوير أدواتهم في طريقة عرض الأفكار والقصص والشخصيات. وركّزت الأفلام بشكل أكبر على عدة قضايا مترابطة، كقضية الهروب والاختباء من النازيين[4]، وقضية اللاجئين اليهود في المخيمات في الولايات المتحدة وغيرها، والهجرة إلى الوطن الجديد. النقطة الأخيرة كانت بلا شك من أكثر النقاط التي وظِّفت للدفاع عنها أفلام شتّى بكاميرات مخرجين يهود وغير يهود.

سنة 1948 قدّم المخرج الأمريكي الحائز على جائزة الأوسكار فريد زينيمان فيلم البحث. ويروي الفيلم قصة أم تشيكية يهودية تبحث عن ابنها الضائع جرّاء الحرب. وتعرض القصة مأساة الأطفال اليهود في أوروبا، والمسؤولية الإنسانية تجاههم. ويظهر الأطفال وهم يعتريهم الخوف حتى من الفرق الإسعافية التي تريد مساعدتهم ما تعرّضوا له من جرائم من قبل النازيين.

ولا يندرج الفيلم ضمن قائمة الأفلام الأمريكية التي تركّز على جانب الشفقة على اليهود، إنما يذهب باتجاه عرض قضية تبحث عن حلّ. ويقدّم الفيلم آلاف الأطفال الذي يبحثون عن مأوى، بصيغة فنية تقارب الاعتذار من الضحايا، وضرورة تحديد المسؤوليات عن المستقبل القادم.

في عقد الخمسينيات، حضرت مجموعة من الأفلام التي روّجت لقضية بناء الدولة اليهودية في فلسطين. وقدّمت تلك الأفلام قصصها بطريقة كلاسيكية لا تخلو من الأسلوب الدعائي. وانصبت رسالة تلك الأفلام على هروب اليهود من الهولوكوست وضرورة بناء وطن لهم في فلسطين. في تلك الفترة، ظهرت فلسطين دائماً بصورة متوافقة مع الدعاية اليهودية التاريخية ومع الرواية الموجودة في الأدبيات الصهيونية. ففلسطين أرضٌ تكاد تكون خاوية من السكان. ويقطنها بعض من الجهلة الذي لا يملكون دولة حقيقية.

فيلم المشعوذ المنتج سنة 1953 عن رواية ميشيل بلانكفورت، يعتبر نموذجاً عن تلك الدعاية، وهو أول فيلم يتم تصويره كاملاً في فلسطين. ويرصد الفيلم حياة أحد الهاربين من المحارق النازية، والذي يلتمس وطنه الجديد في فلسطين.

Exodus الفيلم الأكثر تأثيراً

القضية الفلسطينية في هوليوود
صورة تم التقاطها للمخرج الأمريكي أوتو بريمنغير (١٩٠٦-١٩٨٦) في مهرجان كان السينمائي عام ١٩٦٢. المصدر: HA-1372-6 © Roger-Viollet / Roger-Viollet via AFP.

في عام 1960، قدّم المخرج اليهودي أوتو بريمنغير فيلمه الذي بات أهم الأفلام التي تقدم الرؤية الأمريكية لإسرائيل. ويقوم فيلم نزوح، المستوحى عن رواية ليون يوريس التي تحمل نفس الاسم، بسرد قصة آلاف اليهود النازحين من أوروبا باتجاه فلسطين. ومن بين هؤلاء آري بن كنعان، القيادي في عصابات هاغانا اليهودية.

الفيلم يمثل رحلة نضال لمجموعة كبيرة من “المظلومين نحو وطنهم القومي في فلسطين، وكفاحهم لأجل تحقيق حلمهم، وصراعهم ضد الإنكليز لنيل حقوقهم”.

يصنّف الفيلم بأنه من أهم أفلام الدعاية الصهيونية تاريخياً، ومن أكثرها قدرةً على التأثير في الجمهور الغربي، وخلق التعاطف مع اليهود الهاربين من جحيم المذابح، إلى أرض لا يريدون فيها سوى الاستقرار. وتصطدم تلك الإرادة في النهاية بـ “وحشية” الفلسطينيين، الذي يريدون قتل كل من جاء على متن السفن إليهم، لكن إيمان اليهود بالصهيونية يجعلهم ينتصرون في النهاية.

مشاهد الفيلم تدور أثناء سفر المهاجرين اليهود في البحر واحتجازهم في إحدى الجزر، ووضعهم في السجون، ليصلوا في نهاية المطاف إلى الخلاص. ببساطة يتنقّل الفيلم بين مراحل متعددة من الكفاح، لتحقيق الانتصار في النهاية. والانتصار هو بناء الدولة اليهودية.

لاقى الفيلم اهتماماً نقدياً كبيراً، وثناءً من قبل التجمعات اليهودية في هوليوود، ورشح لنيل عدة جوائز أوسكار، حصد منها جائزة أفضل موسيقى. وكانت موسيقى الفيلم لاعباً أساسياً في تقريب قصته من الجمهور، وفي اللعب على وتر العاطفة، خاصة في المشاهد المفصليّة.

ومع عدم تعرّض النقّاد إلى التوجه الدعائي الواضح في الفيلم، فإن أثره بقي واضحاً في السينما. فلا يمكن أن يذكر تاريخ الدور الصهيوني في السينما الأمريكية، إلا بالمرور على هذا الفيلم، كمحطة رئيسية.

إسرائيل في السينما الأمريكية الحديثة

القضية الفلسطينية في هوليوود
صورة تم التقاطها يوم ١٣ فبراير ٢٠٠٦ للمخرج الأمريكي ستيفن سبيلبرغ (يسار) إلى جانب والده أثناء وصولهما لحفل الغداء المقام على شرف المرشحين للفوز بجوائز الأوسكار في بيفرلي هيلز بولاية كاليفورنيا. وتم ترشيح سبيلبيرغ في ذلك العام لجائزة أفضل مخرج عن فيلم ميونخ. المصدر: SUSAN GOLDMAN / AFP.

لم تنقطع الأفلام التي تحاكي الدعاية الصهيونية في إحدى مكوناتها عن استوديوهات هوليوود. واختلف عدد هذه الأفلام بين عقدٍ وآخر. لكنها بالتأكيد لم تعد أفلاماً ذات أثر كبير، مقارنة بتلك الأفلام التي بدأت تنظر للقضية من منظور آخر. وبدأ هذا المنظور الجديد برصد أهمية عدم الانسياق المباشر خلف الصور النمطيّة، وخلف الدعاية السياسية الفاقعة. وعلى هذا النحو، فقد تحوّلت القضية في العقدين الأخيرين لتكون جزءاً من إنتاجات حديثة، كان لها حضورٌ وأثرٌ كبير في المجتمع الغربي، أو الأمريكي على أقل تقدير.

ويعد المخرج الأمريكي ستيفن سبيلبرغ من المخرجين البارزين الذين قدموا أفلاماً تناولت هذا الجانب. ولعل فيلمه ميونيخ المنتج سنة 2005 من أهم الأفلام التي قاربت الصراع العربي الإسرائيلي من منظور مختلف نسبياً عن الكلاسيكيات المعهودة في هوليوود.

الفيلم لاقى انتقادات من مختلف الأطراف الإسرائيلية والفلسطينية. فهو من جانب قدّم الإسرائيليين كضحايا تاريخيين بسبب ما مرّوا به. ويحضر في الفيلم بعض من ضحايا الهولوكوست وهم يدافعون عن وجودهم وينجبوا أبناء يكملون مسيرة آبائهم في الدفاع عن الدولة اليهودية. ومن جانب آخر، يقدّم الفيلم مفهوم الانتقام و”الرد على الإرهاب بالإرهاب” من خلال عمليات الاغتيال المتتالية للقادة الفلسطينيين المسؤولين عن تنفيذ عملية ميونيخ 1972 التي قتل فيها 11 إسرائيليا رياضياً كانوا سيشاركون في دورة الألعاب الأولمبية القائمة في المدينة الألمانية حينذاك.

الفيلم مختلف ولا يندرج ضمن أفلام الدعاية الصهيونية المعروفة في هوليوود. فالنقطة الأساسية التي يركّز عليها هي موضوع “مكافحة الإرهاب بالإرهاب”. وينظر الفيلم لجميع ممارسي عمليات الاغتيال بنظرة متعادلة تقريباً. ومع ذلك، فإن ممارس العنف الإسرائيلي يتمتع بسمات نفسية وجسديّة وفكرية أكثر اتزاناً وصلابة. وفي نهاية المطاف، يتطرق الفيلم إلى أحداث 11 أيلول في إشارة إلى نتائج العنف والعنف المضاد.

وقد يكون سبيلبرغ من أهم المخرجين الذين ناقشوا قضية المحارق اليهودية والظلم التاريخي الذي جعل اليهود يتطلعون إلى بناء دولة في فلسطين وفق رؤيته ووفق بعض الأدبيات الغربية. لكنه في ميونيخ، يدخل إلى التفاصيل التي تظهر جميع اللاعبين السياسيين كمجرمين لن تؤدي ممارساتهم إلا إلى مزيد من العنف. وقد لا يصل الفيلم بشكل شبه كلي إلى العدالة المغيبة التي ينتظرها الفلسطيني في السينما الغربية، إلا أنه لا ينساق خلف الدعاية السياسية التي كانت عنواناً للسينما الأمريكية لعقود طويلة.

فيلم ميرال المنتج سنة 2010 للمخرج الأمريكي جوليان شنابل، يختلف كلياً عن إنتاجات هوليوود الخاصة بقضية الصراع الإسرائيلي الفلسطيني. وتوجّه شخصيات وأحداث الفيلم أصابع الاتهام لإسرائيل بكل الدمار الإنساني الذي يعتري الفلسطينيين. وتظهر الشخصية الفلسطينية بمختلف تجلياتها في الفيلم، شخصية إنسانية، تنشد قضية عادلة وتتمحور حول إيواء الأطفال وتعليمهم.

الفيلم يعتمد على السيرة الذاتية للصحفية رولا جبريل التي ترعرعت في أحد دور رعاية الأطفال التي أنشأتها ناشطة إنسانية فلسطينية. وتدور أحداث الفيلم حول جبريل الطفلة وحوالي ألفين من الأطفال الفلسطينيين المحرومين الذين كان عليهم مواجهة الجرّافات الإسرائيلي أثناء بنائها للمستوطنات.

الفيلم عُرض في الجمعية العامة للأمم المتحدة، وواجه انتقادات إسرائيلية كثيرة، بل وشكاوى رسمية واتهامات بتواطؤ في الأمم المتحدة لتسويق الفيلم. ولم يكن الفيلم هوليوودياً بحتاً، بل كان من إنتاج فرنسي إسرائيلي إيطالي هندي مشترك. ولا يمكن اعتبار الفيلم انطلاقة نحو سينما أكثر عدالة فيما يخص القضية الفلسطينية، بل يمكن ببساطة تصنيفه كاستثناء غير وحيد، وسط سينما عالمية ترى المشهد الفلسطيني بعين إسرائيلية.

ناتالي بورتمان

القضية الفلسطينية في هوليوود
صورة تم التقاطها يوم ١٧ مايو ٢٠١٥ للممثلة والمخرجة الأمريكية/الإسرائيلية ناتالي بورتمان أثناء تقديم فيلم “قصة الحب والظلام” على هامش فعاليات الدورة الثامنة والستين من مهرجان كان السينمائي بمدينة كان، جنوب فرنسا. المصدر: VALERY HACHE / AFP.

يمكن اعتبار تجربة الممثلة الإسرائيلية الأمريكية ناتالي بورتمان حالة جدليّة في هوليوود حتى يومنا هذا. فالفنانة الحائزة على جائزة أوسكار، معروفةٌ بمواقفها المناهضة للممارسات الإسرائيلية في فلسطين. ورفضت بورتمان جائزة إسرائيلية بقيمة مليون دولار عام 2018، احتجاجاً على سقوط ضحايا فلسطينيين في غزة برصاص الجيش الإسرائيلي.

بورتمان تحاول بين حين وآخر إثبات موقفها السياسي. ويأتي إخراجها لفيلم قصة الحب والظلام عن قصة الكاتب الإسرائيلي عاموس عوز في إطار هذا التوجه.

الفيلم يحكي قصة والدة الكاتب التي عاشت في إسرائيل. ويدور الحدث فيه خلال فترتي ما قبل وما بعد تأسيس دولة إسرائيل. ويميل الفيلم إلى تصوير علاقات ودية بين العرب واليهود، وهو أهم المآخذ التي تناولها النقاد العرب عن الفيلم، حيث تم تقديم هذه الرؤية بطريقة جاهزة، وغير مقنعة. وفي أحداث الفيلم، يقول الكاتب الصغير لجارته العربية في إحدى المشاهد “إن المكان هنا يتسع للجميع”. وتظهر الجملة الأساسية كمحاولة لإظهار إمكانية الحياة المشتركة بين العرب واليهود في فلسطين على لسان طفل بعمر 7 سنوات.

عربياً لم يكن الفيلم مقنعاً، على الرغم من مواقف مخرجته المعروفة بمناهضتها لأفلام الدعاية الصهيونية. وتظهر في الفيلم المظلومية اليهودية التي أدت إلى إنشاء دولة إسرائيل. ويغيّب الفيلم الرواية الفلسطينية للحدث، وينظر إلى كل ما جرى من عين كاتب يهودي. بل ويروي التاريخ أيضاً من مرجع الرواية.

الفيلم يوجّه أصابع الاتهام للأوربيين في الحرب بين العرب واليهود في فلسطين، وهي أيضاً كلاسيكية هوليوودية ركّزت عليها عشرات الأفلام. ووفق نقّاد سينمائيين عرب وغربيين، فإن هذه الكلاسيكية تهدف إلى إظهار الطرفين كضحايا. وهي رواية مثلما لا تلقى تأييداً في الأدبيات وكتب التاريخ العربية، لا تلقى تأييداً أيضاً لدى كثير من المنظرين الإسرائيليين، سيّما وأنّ هذه الرؤية تلغي فكرة عدائية الفلسطينيين لهم، ورفضهم لمفهوم “الحق التاريخي”.

لم يحظ الفيلم بمراجعات هامّة أو بشعبية كبيرة، بل إنّ أغلب الأقلام دعت بورتمان للاكتفاء بمهنتها كممثّلة، بعيداً عن الوقوف خلف الكاميرا.

وفي نهاية المطاف، يمكن القول إن السينما الأمريكية فردت مساحة كبيرة للأفلام المناصرة للصهيونية تاريخياً. وكانت الرسالة مستمرة البث هي دعم حق الصهاينة بتأسيس دولتهم ومناصرة هذه الدولة ودعم كل ما تقوم به من أعمال. وفي الوقت الذي سعت فيه هذه السينما إلى تبرير سلوكيات إسرائيل، فإنها شيطنت الفلسطينيين ولم تترك سوى مساحة بسيطة لأفلام مناصرة لهم لم تحمل الأثر الكبير في تشكيل رأي عام أمريكي ينظر بطريقة عادلة تجاه القضية الفلسطينية.

 

[1] – Nathan Abrams, The New Jew in Film, Rutgers University Press, 2012
[2] Hanan Omary, Israeli Character Depictions in Hollywood Films, (1948-2008) (American University in Cairo), 2016.
[3] Nathan Abrams – مرجع سابق
[4] Hanan Omary – مرجع سابق

Donate
Chronicle of the Middle East and North Africa

The Palestinian Cause in Hollywood

Palestinian Cause in Hollywood
American actress Sharon Stone holds up a video camera as she visits Jerusalem’s Old City 12 March 2006. The Hollywood star was on the final leg of her visit to Israel in a bid to promote peace. Gali TIBBON / AFP.

Nabil Mohamed

Introduction

Hollywood has always played a pivotal role in shaping Western, especially American, awareness of the Palestinian cause. Hollywood’s role was not limited to producing movies that addressed the Palestinian-Israeli conflict since Hollywood stars also impacted audiences and people’s opinions through their statements on the conflict. While some stars encourage their fans to stand by the Palestinians, others call on theirs to support Israel’s operations and plans inside Palestine.

For instance, the events that transpired in the Sheikh Jarrah neighbourhood in Jerusalem and the ensuing clashes in Gaza drew the attention of world-class stars. At the time, many sided with the Palestinians – an exceptional phenomenon, as this was unusual in the capital of cinema. Among these celebrities were Oscar-winner Viola Davis, Lena Headey, Jack Falahee, Mark Ruffalo, the Israeli Natalie Portman, and other Hollywood movie stars and filmmakers.

Historically, most American cinema productions favoured Israel, in contrast to a few occasional movies, which relayed a different view of the conflict. This may be due to the association of Hollywood production companies with Israel. Numerous books and studies indicate that Jews from Europe established dozens of production houses and studios in Hollywood.

Jews in Early American Cinema

Palestinian Cause in Hollywood
Marlon Brando was filming in October 1972 for Francis Ford Coppola’s film “The Godfather”. AFP

Hollywood’s approach to the Palestinian cause cannot be addressed without linking it to the development of the Jewish movie character. At the turn of the 20th century, Hollywood’s silent cinema had a solid presence of a Jewish character. The stereotypical Western image of Jews inspired these characters and assigned them specific features: Jews were cunning and affluent. They were also strangers who scared people. Obvious physical exaggerations also marred the Jewish character depicted in cinema: Jews had large noses, curved backs, and sharp facial features.

This image was popularised by European literature dating further back, such as William Shakespeare’s famous play The Merchant of Venice, which featured the character of the Jewish moneylender Shylock. This character was stereotypical, as his characteristics were reflected in hundreds of other characters in cinematic and TV works in later eras. Dozens of Jewish characters were presented in silent cinema, such as the short movies Cohen’s Advertising Scheme, produced in 1904, and Jewish Luck, in 1925.

The image gradually changed as immigrant Jewish businessmen migrated to the United States, working for and establishing major movie production houses. The list includes MGM, Paramount, Columbia Pictures, Warner Bros and other companies still leading in the mass production of various art forms.

When the image changed, the stereotypes of the wealthy, stingy and exploitative merchant evolved into sympathetic Jewish characters. Among the movies that shifted the perception of the Jewish character in American cinema were Threads of Destiny in 1915 and The Jazz Singer in 1927.

The Jewish character was absent from Hollywood in the 1930s and 1940s. Some researchers attribute this to the Jewish desire to integrate Jews into American society instead of portraying them as distinct personalities united by the Jewish character and its stereotypes.

Later on, especially after the Holocaust, American cinema paid more attention to the appearance of Jews as victims before giving prominence to the project of Israel in Palestine. Dozens of movies played a vital role in conceptualising the image of Israel, Arabs and Muslims in the American and Western mindset. On the other hand, there was no longer a stereotypical image of Jewish characters other than those displayed within the Israeli political project.

In the 1940s, Hollywood’s efforts focused on producing pro-Israel movies and supporting the emigration of Jews to Palestine but also on campaigns supporting Israel, led by major Hollywood studios and personalities. These campaigns pressured the United Kingdom to acquiesce to the Jewish demands. Campaigns were organised to support notorious Jewish gangs for their crimes against Palestinians. One such organisation was the Irgun, which has been proved responsible for massacres against Palestinians.

Marlon Brando has been a regular speaker at these campaigns and was an advocate for fundraising for Irgun. Although Brando was later known for his different stance; supporting the Palestinians, defending just humanitarian causes, and against racism.

Post-World War II Cinema

Palestinian Cause in Hollywood
File photo dated 27 November 1987 of Austria-born American film director Fred Zinnemann, who died on 14 March at the age of 89 in London. Fred Zinnemann directed such classics as High Noon and Oklahoma and won oscars for From Here to Eternity and A Man for All Season. JEAN-LOUP GAUTREAU / AFP

After World War II, American cinema was inclined to take the Jewish cause more seriously. Jewish movie producers in Hollywood began developing tools for presenting ideas, stories and characters. Movies focused on interrelated issues, such as escaping and hiding from the Nazis, Jewish refugees in camps in the US and elsewhere, and emigration to the new homeland. This last point was defended in various movies by Jewish and non-Jewish directors.

In 1948, Oscar-winning American director Fred Zinnemann presented The Search. The movie tells the story of a Czech-Jewish mother in search of her son, who was lost in the war. The story covers the tragedy of Jewish children in Europe and the human responsibility toward them. The children appear terrified, even of relief workers, because of the Nazis’ violent persecution.

The movie does not focus on pitying the Jews but presents an issue that seeks a solution. It depicts thousands of children looking for shelter in an artistic form that resembles an apology to the victims and indicates the need to define responsibilities for the future.

In the 1950s, many movies promoted the cause of building the Jewish state in Palestine. They presented stories in a classic propaganda-filled manner. The message focused on the Jews’ escape from the Holocaust and the need to build a homeland in Palestine. In this period, Palestine always appeared in line with historical Jewish propaganda and the narrative found in Zionist literature — Palestine is primarily empty land, inhabited by some ignorant people without an actual state.

The 1953 movie The Juggler, based on the novel by Michael Blankfort, is considered an example of this propaganda and is the first movie to be shot entirely in Palestine. The movie chronicles the life of a Holocaust fugitive who seeks his new homeland in Palestine.

Exodus: The Most Influential Movie

In 1960, the Jewish director Otto Preminger presented his movie Exodus, which became one of the most significant movies relaying the American vision of Israel. Based on Leon Uris’ novel of the same name, it tells the story of thousands of Jews displaced from Europe to Palestine. Among them is Ari Ben Canaan, a leader in the Haganah Jewish gangs.

The movie portrays the struggle of a large group of oppressed Jews for their national homeland in Palestine, their struggle to achieve their dream, and their struggle against the British to obtain their rights.

The movie is pivotal in the history of Zionist propaganda movies, capable of influencing Western audiences and creating sympathy for the Jews fleeing the inferno of massacres to a land in which they search solely for stability. However, they collide with the ‘brutality’ of the Palestinians, wanting to kill all aboard the ships. Yet, the Jews’ belief in Zionism eventually led them to victory.

The scenes revolve around Jewish immigrants travelling the sea and their detention on an island where they are imprisoned but eventually reach salvation. The movie navigates various stages of the struggle to achieve the final victory: establishing the Jewish state.

The movie received significant attention from critics and praise from Jewish communities in Hollywood. It was nominated for several Academy Awards and won the Best Music Award. The music was vital in bringing the story closer to the audience and influenced emotions, especially in the pivotal scenes.

Although critics did not object to the apparent propaganda in the movie, its impact remained evident in cinema. It is impossible to discuss the history of the Zionist influence in American cinema without touching upon this movie.

Israel in Modern American Cinema

Palestinian Cause in Hollywood
US director Steven Spielberg (L), nominated for Best Director for Munich, poses with his father as they arrive for the Oscar Nominees Luncheon 13 February 2006 in Beverly Hills, California. SUSAN GOLDMAN / AFP

Movies involving components that mimicked Zionist propaganda prevailed at Hollywood studios, varying in numbers from one decade to another. These movies had a less significant impact than the new style of movies that followed and portrayed Israel and its conflict with the Arabs and Palestinians from a different perspective. This new perspective began by acknowledging the importance of using stereotypes and blatant political propaganda. In the last two decades, the issue has become part of modern productions, which had a significant presence and impact on Western or at least American society.

American director Steven Spielberg is one of the prominent directors who have made such movies. His movie Munich, produced in 2005, is one of the most important movies approaching the Arab-Israeli conflict from a perspective relatively different from the usual classics in Hollywood.

The movie drew criticism from various Israeli and Palestinian parties. On the one hand, it portrayed the Israelis as victims because of their ordeal. Holocaust victims appear as they defend their existence and have children who will continue their parents’ journey in defence of the Jewish state. On the other hand, the movie depicts the concept of revenge and responding to terrorism with terrorism through the successive assassinations of Palestinian leaders responsible for the 1972 Munich operation, during which 11 Israeli athletes, who were going to participate in the Olympic Games in Germany, were killed.

The movie is different and doesn’t align with Hollywood’s well-known Zionist propaganda films. Its main point of focus is fighting terrorism with terrorism. It views all assassinations equally. However, Israelis committing violence have more balanced and solid psychological, physical and intellectual characteristics. Finally, the movie deals with the events of 9/11, referring to the results of violence and counter-violence.

Spielberg may be one of the most influential directors to discuss the Holocaust and the historical injustice – prompting the Jews to aspire to build a state in Palestine – in accordance with his and Western literature’s vision. However, in Munich, he portrays all political players as criminals whose actions will only lead to more violence. The movie may not entirely amount to the justice the Palestinians await in Western cinema. Yet, it does not follow the political propaganda that has been a staple in American cinema for decades.

The 2010 movie Miral, directed by American director Julian Schnabel, is entirely different from other Hollywood productions about the Israeli-Palestinian conflict. Its characters and events point the finger at Israel for all the human devastation that is befalling the Palestinians. The Palestinian character appears as a humane figure, seeking a just cause that revolves around sheltering and educating children.
The movie is based on the autobiography of journalist Rula Jebreal, who grew up in one of the children’s homes established by a Palestinian humanitarian activist. The movie revolves around Jebreal as a child and about two thousand deprived Palestinian children who had to confront the Israeli bulldozers building settlements.

The movie was screened at the UN General Assembly. It received ample Israeli criticism, official complaints and accusations of UN complicity in promoting the movie. The film was not a purely Hollywood production but was a joint French-Israeli-Italian-Indian production. It can hardly be seen as a breakthrough as the majority of productions in world cinema portray the Palestinian cause from an Israeli perspective.

Natalie Portman

Palestinian Cause in Hollywood
US-Israeli actress and director Natalie Portman poses during a photocall for the film “A Tale of Love and Darkness” at the 68th Cannes Film Festival in Cannes, southeastern France, on May 17, 2015. VALERY HACHE / AFP

Israeli-American actress Natalie Portman is controversial in Hollywood. The Oscar-winning actress is known for her stance against Israeli practices in Palestine. Portman refused an Israeli award of $1 million in 2018 in protest of Palestinian casualties of the Israeli army in Gaza.

Portman, from time to time, attempts to substantiate her political stance. She has directed the movie A Tale of Love and Darkness, based on the story of Israeli writer Amos Oz, which aligns with Portman’s perspective.

The movie tells the story of the author’s mother, who lived in Israel. The events take place before and after the establishment of Israel. The movie tends to depict friendly relations between Arabs and Jews, which is its primary drawback addressed by Arab critics, as this idea was presented in an artificial, unconvincing way. In the movie, the young writer tells his Arab neighbour: “This place accommodates everyone.” Through the words of a seven-year-old child, the plot seems to attempt to show the possibility of a joint life for Arabs and Jews in Palestine.

Despite the stance of its director, known for her opposition to Zionist propaganda movies, the film did not convince Arabs. The movie shows the Jewish injustice that led to the establishment of Israel. It neglects the Palestinian narrative, looks at events through the eyes of a Jewish writer and chronicles history using the novel as a reference.

The movie blames Europeans for the war between Arabs and Jews in Palestine, a classic Hollywood concept on which dozens of movies have focused. According to Arab and Western movie critics, this classic aims to show both sides as victims. This narrative is supported neither in Arab literature and history books nor by many Israeli theorists, especially since this vision revokes the idea of Palestinian hostility towards them and their ‘historical right.’

The movie did not achieve success and received meagre reviews. Most critics called on Portman to stick to acting and refrain from directing.

In conclusion, it can be said that American cinema allocated ample space for pro-Zionist movies. Support Zionists’ rights to establish their state and support this state and all of its practices was the constantly relayed message. While this cinema sought to justify Israel’s behaviour, it demonised the Palestinians. It left such a tiny space for movies supporting the Palestinians that these could not move the American public opinion to look fairly at the Palestinian cause.

[1] – Nathan Abrams, The New Jew in Film, Rutgers University Press, 2012
[2] Hanan Omary, Israeli Character Depictions in Hollywood Films, (1948-2008) (American University in Cairo), 2016.
[3] Nathan Abrams – مرجع سابق
[4] Hanan Omary – مرجع سابق